Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 262 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent all round Super situation next to the canal and marina. Dogs can stay and so there are lovely walks along the canal tow path. One of the best Italian restaurants (closed Sundays) is a 5 minute walk down the canal to the Calzoni Pizza - Good prices and superb pizzas and pasta dishes especially the shellfish ones. Dogs allowed only at tables outside the restaurant. There is e also a pub with typical pub food a minute walk away. But why go there when the Calzoni Pizza is only a few minutes further (unless it's really pouring with rain) I've stayed in the HIX there at least a dozen times so consider myself to be a good authority. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would definitely return! Randomly chose this hotel so had no expectations of what to expect on arrival here, and therefore couldnt have been more surprised and delighted with the whole experience. The rooms were comfortable and clean, with a good powerful shower and excellent room facilities. Parking at the hotel was secure and included in the price. The hotel employees were definitely an asset during our visit; they were friendly, helpful and gave good recommendations about local facilities, eg. eating establishments, transport, and just generally made us feel welcomed. Will definitely return - its a great base for exploring. Well done Holiday Inn express! February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Great Express, clean & comfortable. A great customer experience February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to M25 and M1 I stayed here again last week and the hotel was full to bursting no spare rooms at all. The staff stepped up a gear and therefore we (the guests) were well looked after. I have to say that I am always made to feel welcome by all the staff, management and even the maintenance engineer was chipper but busy. See you soon ! ;) February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous service and great location There is always a little worry about the place you have booked for your stay as to whether it will meet your expectations, so let me tell you about ours. We booked this hotel as we were visiting the Harry Potter studio tour on the Friday with our teenage son and daughter and then going into London on the Saturday by train, train station opposite the hotel which was great and just half hour journey into London, Harry Potter was no more than 4 to 5 mile down the road and very easy to get to.The drive down was pleasant enough as car journeys go, on approach to the hotel which by the way was closer to the motorway network than I thought. A good thing in my opinion, it was easy enough to find and was well lit, as well as looking clean, on entering the reception area we were met by friendly and sociable staff who dealt with our arrival quickly and courteously, as it was quite late when we arrived the staff kindly pointed out some of the local places we could get a bite to eat, which we did. To be honest nothing seemed to much trouble for the staff that we had any dealings with and I am now really glad we booked this hotel and would definitely recommend this hotel with out hesitation to anyone. Overall a very pleasant stay in a nice hotel February 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reception staff made the hotel enjoyable The room was noisy, difficult to park but the two ladies on reception made it a pleasure. Remembering my name, personalising the service and making me feel welcome February 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, decent hotel The hotel is relatively new and in good condition throughout. The free car parking is very useful and the breakfast included makes it a very good value hotel. The main selling point of this hotel in my opinion is the location. Coming down from the North it was 10 minutes off the M1. Its also just across the road from Apsley train station which has direct trains in London Euston every half hour, making it perfect for a quick trip to the capital (especially combined with the free parking at the hotel). Watford Gap is only a couple of stops down which advertises itself as the place to get off for the Harry Potter world. It's also just down the road from Hemel Hempstead, and there's a nice big Sainsburys 100yds down the road. All in all, great value, great location and a nice clean hotel, cant fault it at all. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay One of the better 'Express' hotels, great staff and comfortable rooms January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Sofa bed is great and a wonderful service I and my fiancee show the place to relax after our engagement party. It was awesome, we are planning to make another trip to the place again. We recommend to a friend. January 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for money Lovely clean room, very helpful staff, children enjoyed the little trip away. Would strongly recommend this Holiday Inn. The only negative is that we would like to visit again, upon enquiring we found that the cost has more than doubled. January 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly welcome and great service I always stay at this hotel because I feel that I'm always welcome and the staff are brilliant. Nothing is too much trouble and they manage to keep smiling even when their patience is tested to the limit. Ron is a top bloke a real unsung hero and a decisive helpful chap. Top bloke!! January 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room left unlocked by housekeeping Have stayed on several occasions and on the whole believe this hotel offers good value for money. However on my last stay I was severely let down by housekeeping who left my door unlocked on a busy corridor next to the landing door. Fortunately nothing was taken but despite reporting it I am yet to receive an apology and explanation and it did not make me feel confident for the rest of my stay. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service. My wife and i were very impressed with the whole 2 day experience. staff could not be more helpful, room very comfortable and variety at breakfast was really good. We shall certainly stay again. Apsley station 100 yards away makes excursions into London so stress free and simple. January 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Average Small rooms, terrible wifi connection, terrible breakfast, average service January 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality HI Express One of the better Holiday Inn Express hotels, comfortable and in a good position next to the Grand Union canal & close to Hzarry Potter Studio January 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay Stayed here to visit Harry Potter studios which was only a ten minute drive down the road. We had a pleasant stay, the hotel is in a lovely area with the canals and a quaint little pub just in front. the hotel itself was lovely, clean and great value. the staff were friendly, accomodating and helpful also. Would reccomend and stay here again. The only downside to our stay and this is not reflecting the hotel at all, is that there wasn't much to do near by. January 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and super breakfast Stayed here during a trip to nearby Harry potter tour. Rooms as expected, clean and compact. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast included and plenty of choice for everyone. Would definately recommend and would stay again. Great value for money and ideal for family's. January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant place to stay! Fantastic rooms, breakfast & staff! Only down side was the room was so hot that we struggled to sleep. We tried to lower the temperature but it just blew hot air. Over all I would certainly recommend! January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by weekend break this really was a superb weekend,very nice hotel close to train station to London,and lovely views of the canal,would highly recommend terrific value for money January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceeded expectations We stayed at this hotel for one night in a family room with a double and a sofa bed when visiting the Harry Potter studios. We wanted a cheap stay just somewhere to sleep and avoid two lengthy car journeys in one day with two children. I didn't expect much more than a bed for the night but I was extremely impressed with this hotel for the money we paid. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and efficient. The hotel and room were clean, tidy and well maintained. The breakfast experience was easy and again the staff were quick to help, clear away and keep everything well organised. The manager of this hotel should be very proud of his/her staff - they were brilliant. The only (slight) issue was the traffic noise as it was a wet and busy evening but obviously there is nothing that can be done with that. I would definitely recommend and will use again if ever back in the area with the family. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff As soon as we got to the hotel we were greeted with a smile. The receptionist checked with the local restaurant to see what time they stopped serving and contacted us right away. just over the road from the station and only 30 mins to London. Good breakfast, lovely, clean, modern hotel with free parking. will stay again. January 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Drop in standards I have stayed in this hotel twice before, each time happy to return. Not so this time, would think twice before booking this hotel again. Staff brushed aside complaints and thought smiling and saying sorry was enough. Breakfast time food not replenished, no cups or other items required. Cheapest wine sold at a greatly inflated price at bar. January 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal Location great stay Stayed for 2 nights between xmas and new year. Parking wasn't a problem. Staff at check in were very friendly and pleasant. Room was very small for a family of 4, we were told that all rooms were the same size! Room and bathroom were clean although 2 of our towels were wet but they were soon changed. Bar and lounge area very good as was breakfast, people moan about no "bacon" but there are plenty other items to choose from and the coffee mocha superb. We didn't eat there in the evening so can't comment we did however eat at Calzone which is nearby and is recommended. Train station across the road direct to London and Harry Potter Studios 10 mins drive away. Would definitely stay here again and recommend even though bedrooms are small, you're only in it to sleep. January 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Another Holiday Inn Express Was visiting family in Hemel Hempstead and stayed at this Holiday Inn Express. It is not in the city center and is actually next to Apsley train station. Staff was friendly but was not welcomed as a Platinum member and I had to be the one to ask about the benefits. Breakfast was nice and included in the rate like all of the Holiday Inn Express. January 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horribible and a nightmare experience My experience with guest service manager was horrible at the Stationers Place, Hemel Hempstead, HP3 9RH. Disposable cups and paper napkins that are the normal stuffs one would find in a hotel were missing. When a request for those were made I was met with an aggressive negative answer by a supposedly guest service manager. I do not recommend this hotel to anybody. I will not return in a million years. The room was too hot and toilet paper was like sand paper. January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast perfectible The quality of pastrie was low, honey was lot available. Manager was not smilling too. My previous breakfast the day before in Portmouth Holyday in express, the breakfast was perfect. Croissant and Pain au chocolat were very good. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable beds My son and I stayed in a twin room for two nights in December whilst visiting Harry Potter Studios. The location was lovely with nice places to eat nearby. The staff were friendly and very helpful with directions and information on quality of local restaurants. The rooms were very clean and beds super comfy. I had a really good two nights sleep here. Fairly limited choice for breakfast but what was on offer was delicious. January 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Very convenient and comfortable Staying here again a few years after the last time. Still in a very convenient location, opposite the station, by the attractive canal, and with several restaurant possibilities nearby as well as a big Sainsburys. Parking spaces quite difficult to find when the hotel is busy. I had a ground floor room on the road side, but fortunately it was quite quiet all night. The staff were mostly very helpful, although when I arrived after a stressful long journey down the motorway it took them a while to check me in. Somebody was arguing on the phone, another person was taking a long time with a group of customers. At breakfast on the first morning, there was a group of staff discussing things right in the way of the entrance to the servery, and as it's quite crowded in there, this was annoying. It really should be enlarged, as there are no trays so people have to come and go all the time to get everything they want, and then hang around chatting or waiting for the toaster. And the staff have to keep coming round to fill things up too, so that makes it terrible if it's busy. But the breakfast is a good buffet, and comes with the room. Other members of staff were very friendly and helpful, so I suppose it depends who you speak to. I would certainly stay here again for the location, but I do wish they'd extend the breakfast area! January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great value/ideal location All excellent value for money. Very convienient for trains into London. Only complaint is the lack of allocated parking which is an issue if the hotel is busy. January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value A very good stay which was only spoilt by a lack of hot water. We managed , after running the hot tap for ages, to get a shower that was just warm enough. Certainly NOT hot. Also one of the bedside lights was broken....not just the bulb but the whole thing was hanging limply and should have been obvious to whoever checked the room over. I have reported these two items and hope that staff will take notice and check rooms more thoroughly. Apart from the above our stay was very comfortable. January 1, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>