• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.6KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. French
  3. Polish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals or guide Dogs only allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Snow Centre
Distance From Hotel:1.0KM
Attraction:
St Albans
Distance From Hotel:9.6KM
Attraction:
Watford (including Leavesden Park)
Distance From Hotel:12.8KM
Attraction:
Central London - 30 minutes train direct to Euston
Distance From Hotel:48.2KM

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Free car parking is available and is allocated on a first come first served basis but may be limited in busy periods. Additional overflow parking is available at the adjacent Paper Mill pub, with access available during trading hours.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:116
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:65
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:29
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:116
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Welcome to our modern, budget friendly Holiday Inn Express hotel in Hemel Hempstead.

While in Hemel Hempstead, there is plenty to see and do to keep the kids and the big kids amused. A tour of the Warner Bros. Studios will delight all Harry Potter fans, especially as it is just a 10-minute drive from our hotel.

For an amazing wildlife adventure, Whipsnade Zoo is popular with visitors of all ages. A short drive from Hemel Hempstead, you’ll be able
View More

Welcome to our modern, budget friendly Holiday Inn Express hotel in Hemel Hempstead.

While in Hemel Hempstead, there is plenty to see and do to keep the kids and the big kids amused. A tour of the Warner Bros. Studios will delight all Harry Potter fans, especially as it is just a 10-minute drive from our hotel.

For an amazing wildlife adventure, Whipsnade Zoo is popular with visitors of all ages. A short drive from Hemel Hempstead, you’ll be able to admire some spectacular animals including lions, cheetahs, elephants as well as a brilliant indoor adventure centre. Save even more money for the nearby attractions as guests under 18's stay for free when sharing a room with their parents.

Get a great night’s rest in en-suite and spacious guest rooms, complete with air-conditioning and flat screen TVs. After a good night’s rest, wake up to a tasty and free buffet breakfast, with hot and continental items on the menu.

Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead is within easy reach of both Luton and Heathrow Airports, just 25 and 35-minutes away respectively and we offer free parking. Relax in our lounge bar after a busy day, enjoy a tasty dinner and catch up on any emails using our free Wi-Fi service.

With great overnight rates as well as excellent, professional conference facilities, we provide brilliant value, business accommodation.

View Less
Features
The hotel is conveniently situated on the Grand Union Canal and is a great base for visiting London or the local attractions, Wembley Stadium, Harry Potter Studio Tour and Whipsnade Zoo.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 177 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, rooms and facilities. We chose this hotel for its close location to the Harry Potter Studio Tour and its facilities.We are a large family group so booked adjoining rooms with interconnecting door (we were surprised this is not standard in other hotels we have stayed) . Room 204 was a pleasure to walk into, it is very large, spacious, and set up with all beds - 1x double, 4 x sofa bed singles. This room exceeded our expectations. Room 205 is a standard double room set up. Both rooms together was perfect for our group. The booking included dinner and breakfast, the discounted price was excellent. The swimming pool was popular with the children although the chlorine level seemed a bit strong as some had stinging eyes, sauna was well patronised when ever we went in. The restaurant was closed for dinner the evening we were there but we had the option of bar service or room service, they have the same menu,it was ok nothing exceptional. We waited longer then advised but we put this down to everyone else in the hotel ordering meals at the same time, breakfast was standard business hotel fare. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant being closed and the lengthy wait for room service prevents 5* . We would forgo cheaper alternative hotels and book IHG if the service/facilities continues to be this great and we can take advantage of hotel discounts. January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The front desk staff are very friendly. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi are also nice, my son thoroughly enjoyed it. There were other children in the pool with their parents, therefore my son was able to make some friends there: yes, very family friendly. It was not crowded there on the weekend so we had a relaxing time in the pool. Coming back again this weekend so that my son can enjoy swimming again! January 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not as good second time around I stayed here in Jan 13 with a friend to visit the HP studios and it was a great experience here then so I don't want this to sound all bad. However this time it wasn't recognised that I was a priority club member, my Mums room had to be set up twice as she had the kids in with her and first they forgot to set up the sofa bed, then when they did it was only for the one child so we had to call them again to set up the second single bed. We also had to get them to unlock the adjoining door to our rooms, then we had a poor nights sleep in both rooms due to the air conditioning that kept turning on despite us repeatedly turning it off. However through all of this the staff were helpful and sorted the room issues out immediately and also promised to get someone to look at the air con. I was given additional points as an apology. I would come here again as I'm sure it was only a one off bad experience. I understand nothing can be perfect all the time. January 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by new years eve 2013 I would just like to say we had a really good night ..but the food was not as good as last year .and I don't think we should have to pay full price for kids over 12 as they don't drink and they still have to share a room with over 18 .also its not really a cheap night for me as I only drink vodka and that not in the deal .and friends and family said the wine was not very nice very cheap ..but as a big group we had a great night .... January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect hotel for a leisure stay Comfortable facilities, excellent breakfast (well done chef), nothing too much trouble! Will stay again. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Lovely, clean and comfortable room. Very good facilities, friendly staff and excellent breakfast! January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room. If your looking for a clean, comfortable, spacious, child friendly hotel room look no further. The room was all this. My two children age 11 & 6 had comfortable beds all made up for them. This isn't always the case in other hotels when paying for a family room. The space in the room even with the fold out bed being set out was great. The children's menu was great, something for everyone. Our menu also had a good selection of food. The hotel and it's staff were also fantastic. They couldn't do enough for us. We felt very welcomed throughout our stay and shall certainly be using this hotel again. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent all round experience! What a lovely hotel! My family and I used this Holiday Inn as a base for visiting the Harry Potter studio's just 15 minutes drive away. We received a warm welcome from all the staff we encountered, from the front desk namely Charlotte and Patsy to all the staff in the restaurant. Breakfast offered an exceptional selection and the food was hot and fresh. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday evening and opted for the 3 course buffet carvery which was also delicious and as our 2 boys ate for free this represented great value for money. The staff in the fitness centre were also very welcoming and the pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room were great after our journey and before breakfast. A great hotel if you have children as they are more than accommodated for. If we are ever visiting this area again we know where we'll be staying! January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and staff were excellent Couldn't fault our stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Hotel just as advertised, staff v friendly and helpful, especially reception. Would recommend to anyone December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thrilled and delighted For what was on offer i.e. gorgeous breakfast, lovely swimming pool at no extra charge, plus free parking, this hotel represented excellent value for money. It was indeed a pleasurable experience and I will certainly be staying again. And thanks to a lovely girl at reception called Chrystal for seeing to our needs! December 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No sleep! Very uncomfortable hard bed and noisy fire door banging until 3am. Spa facilities nice, great location, nice staff, lovely breakfast buffet December 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No particularly DIsabled friendly I regularly stay at the Hol Inn Hemel Hempstead and find it a pleasant and relaxing hotel however I could not recommend this hotel to any disabled visitors due to availability of Disabled Parking. The hotel has 7 "disabled" bay which should be ample however they are consistently filled with cars not displaying "Disabled" badges despite plenty of other parking spaces being available. Following numerous complaints to the Hotel Management they appear unable or un willing to tackle the problem and the standard spaces are not suitable for anyone who needs full door opening to get in or out of their car. If you do need guaranteed disable parking I would not advise staying at this hotel. December 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed I was disappointed by the size of the bed, who has a 4ft bed these days? most hotels have at least a 4ft 6" beds. It wasn't because the room was small - it was big. Apart from that we enjoyed our stay. December 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room good breakfast The hotel was a quick stopover on way to London having used Holiday Hotels before there appeared to be no problems.Upon arriving we had problems parking to be told the hotel was busy with several Xmas parties and we had been allocated a back room away from the noise Great!! Parties ended as told at reception about 12.30 and expected some noise for a while.This noise continued till 4.15am Great!!! The staff were surely aware of people moving along corridors there a cameras!! in the lifts/stairwells. It is surely the responsibility of the management to ensure that all guests get a decent sleep not just taking money from a big Xmas party. December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A bit noisy There was a coach load of young lads, and was quite noisy at night, so i didnt sleep very well. The hotels amenities are very good, this is the 3rd time ive stayed due to doing a course with the FTA. I would recommend. December 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy Bed, hotel decor and soft furnishing very tired I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions. Staff on a whole are friendly enough. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast good but room service often turns up cold and past it's best. The hotel soft furnishing and environment is very tired in this property. Also the fridges in the rooms have no products but are still on wasting electricity and contributing to environmental issues which us very poor. Switch them off or fill them up. November 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by When will holiday inn learn? The Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead is fine, in comparison to other holiday inns. Compared to other leading chains, not even close. Dated, average (at best) food. And Internet? Holiday inn finally claim to offer free internet, but the free version is slow and poor. Why not stay in a more modern hotel for same premium with free fast internet? November 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty room My husband and I stayed at the Hemel Hemstead Holiday in on 22 and 23 November. We were disappointed for a number of reasons. The room had a very musty almost smokey smell. The size of the bed was smaller than a conventional double. There were stains on one of the towels, the bathroom top and spotting on the wall between the bed and the bathroom. There was a dirty sock left from the previos guest. On the positive side, the breakfast was nice and the staff helpful and friendly. Due to the dirtiness we would not stay again. November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Staff I have got to say that staying at M1 Junction 8 Hemel Hempstead is like home from home. The reception staff (especially Katie and Charlotte) are everything that you want to be greated with after a long hard days work. They are always extremely pleasent, polite, thoughtful and make the whole checking in experiance a delight. The girls who work of an evening in the restaurant area are great as well. November 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The hotel's policy is to over book When I got there they informed me that to protect company profits and ensure 100% occupancy they over book the hotel. They offered me a room in a sister hotel half an hour away buy would not pay for me to stay in a more local establishment that was not part of the IHG group . Truly shocking when you put profits before customer service ! November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very enjoyable stay and close to M1 for London Very enjoyable stay in a family room. Good location out of London but near enough to commute to visit family in North London. Shop and petrol station nearby and other food outlets and restaurants too. Good clean large room, very comfortable staff very helpful with extra towels etc. Nice coffee shop and bar. The breakfast was superb, stayed at many 4* + places and breakfast not as good, not the biggest selection but hot food was hot and plentiful and tasty, pastries, cereals all good. Thanks, November 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We always stay at this Holiday Inn whilst in London My family have to be in London on a regular basis at weekends. This is a great hotel in a great location. On a weekend you can drive into central London in around 30 - 40 minutes and you dont have to pay silly London prices. The service is really good and the staff are very helpful and pleasant to deal with. November 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Regular Guest I have been staying at this hotel now for c.4 months, one of the main reasons is the friendliness of the staff November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend We had a fantastic time here 5 of us in the large family room, the pool was great hot tub sauna etc , Rooms spot on, the highlight for us was breakfast superb choice and quality, quite busy on the Saturday but the staff worked their socks off! always plenty of food plates cleared away every need catered for infact all of the staff at the hotel are excellent always helpful and friendly. A credit to holiday inn. Would book this hotel again if we are visiting London or Harry Potter. November 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, good service and great breakfast buffet Attended a wedding as a guest and stayed overnight. The whole package went smoothly for the bride, groom and guests. Arrived at check-in with pleasant receptionist to meet and advise us. Room was clean, and well presented with tea and coffee facilities. Had a good night's sleep and then a very good breakfast buffet with lots of variety to choose from. All in all a pleasant visit to the Hemel Hempstead Holiday Inn. Would recommend to others and no hesitation to stay again in the future and may well have time to use the swimming pool, spa etc. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It's difficult to find fault with this hotel It is the second time my wife and I have stayed at this hotel. Excellent accommodation in quite a pretty setting and no motorway noise. The local village, a 15 minute walk from the hotel, is also pretty and has good shops and hostelries. The staff were very helpful and courteous, offering prompt attention at check in and check out. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and served hot. Really good all-round value. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast and comfortable and clean room. our first time at a holiday inn. very impressed with it. we had 2 rooms for a family of 6. very comfortable and clean room. great selection at breakfast. Would definitely recommend the hotel and would choose a holiday inn again. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value From check in to check out we were delighted with every aspect of our stay and most importantly of all, we considered this to be superb value. In fact the interaction and help from the HI team was exceptional - only 1 of the restaurant greeters let their colleagues down on the Saturday night, but that was quickly and efficiently dealt with. All facilities used so the gym and swimming pool enjoyed to the full. Breakfast amazing and the dinner from the buffet was further value as kids eat free. A la carte steak option cooked to perfection. Cannot wait to come back November 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Comfort We had a lovely stay at this hotel due to the friendliness of the staff, we encountered many members of staff from reception to dining room and found them all to be very helpful, professional and approachable. Our only slight disappointment was with the pillows.... they were not very comfortable....even the so called "soft" ones were not of a great standard. Well done ladies in the breakfast room and reception, you definitely made us feel very welcome! November 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Select to close.
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead The Grand Union Canal is visible from our hotel Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Hemel Hempstead Reception at Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead Narrow boats pass just metres from our hotel near Apsley Marina The Grand Union Canal, just minutes from our Hemel Hempstead hotel Apsley Marina and the Grand Union Canal near our hotel The charming canal-side setting Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead viewed from the canal
Select to close.
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading