Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-23-2014)
(e.g. Apr-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 35 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1 Was attending LSPR and the location was perfect... October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Everything! I was impressed by everything about this property. The room was spotless, the toiletries (shampoo, lotion, conditioner) were not some cheap knockoff, and the staff incredibly friendly and willing to go out of their way for you. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Houghton area. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable beds and great service Our stay was very nice, comfortable and enjoyable. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and quiet. Really enjoyed our stay. The check in clerk was really personable and courteous. I asked for a quiet room away from any noise and we certainly received that. Would stay there any time we are in the upper UP. Very clean rooms. October 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great home away from home 5 stars for everything. This is THE place to stay in Houghton/ Hancock area. The people are very friendly and want to insure a great stay. Breakfast was over the top in selection. Security and quiet are included for a real nice sleep. September 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and a great staff easy check in I have stayed at this hotel many times because of the great service they are far and away the best hotel in the area. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spotlessly clean great staff - always so friendly - all areas of the hotel were extremely clean September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place in Houghton We have stayed at this hotel several times since our son enrolled at MTU. It is a very short drive from the college and located near shopping and restaurants. The staff is always great, the rooms are clean & comfortable, and the area is safe with plenty of parking. We love the continental breakfast in the morning. If you are staying at the hotel to visit someone at MTU you will learn quick you can avoid the downtown Houghton traffic by taking the road the hotel is on and come into campus from behind the residence halls to save some time. There is also a pool and small fitness area. We have never had any complaints when staying here and already have reservations booked here for upcoming visits. Houghton is a beautiful area and this hotel is a great place to stay even if you aren't visiting the college. September 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pricey but Nice Great place!!. Clean and comfortable. Little pricey considering the view I got. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stop on our UP tour We stopped in to shower, regenerate our bodies, and do some much needed laundry. It is a great hotel. Clean, friendly, safe, and easy to find. Laundry facility was nice, pool was great, and even loved the sauna. The staff seemed to really like their jobs and were helpful with any requests. The room was clean and well taken care of. No complaints! simply a great break on our camping tour of the UP! August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great, quiet place to stay! I couldn't be happier over the experience of staying at the HIE in Houghton. The staff was extremely nice and helpful, the room was very clean and quiet, the location was excellent for all activities, the breakfast was tasty and ready at the appointed time, etc. The only issue I had was that sometimes it took several attempts using the room key card for the light to come on. Otherwise, I thought this was an excellent choice. The next time I come to the Keweenaw, I'm sure I'll stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Houghton. July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pricey but comfortable I have traveled extensively and always stay at Holiday Inn Express. The HIE at Houghton is very nice but I paid more here than any other I have stayed at. Why? I don't know why this one charges more. July 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel, good location A new hotel with good size rooms. The staff was great; was able to change to another room when we checked in due to parking considerations. Lots of shopping and restaurants close. Will stay here again. July 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a pleasant stay My wife and I were in town for the FinnFest and stayed 6 nights. We were pleased the hotel participated in welcoming the event to the area. The signs on the tables and the coffee, cookies, mini-subs from Jimmy Johns in the conference room were a nice touch. I brought my road bike and the location enabled me to to connect to the bike path that took me to Michigan Tech where many of our lectures and events were located. A nice breakfast allowed us to get a good start to a day full of activities. The room was spacious and comfortable especially considering the length of time we were there. Staff reflected the friendliness and hospitality we would expect from people living in the UP. We stayed an extra day past the event so we could relax and unwind. An extended bike ride followed by a nice sauna (one of the better hotel saunas I've been in, actually had good heat) and a dip in the pool provided a pleasant ending to our stay. July 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst stay at a Holiday Inn Express ever I choose HI Express because they have been high quality for the past few years. This stay took me back to the days of inconsisent service. I am Platinum and realized when they did not recognize my status at check in that this was going to be a "questionable service" stay. They gave us room 211 which is right above the smoking area outside the front door. It stunk. When I mentioned they should make that a "smoking room" or at least warn people, they just said "we'll tell the manager." No effort to correct the problem. Breakfast service was terrible. The juices had the "refill needed" light on the whole time we were down there. No protein was offered except the saugage gruel. When I asked if bacon or sausage was going to come out (one of the trays was always missing) I was told "No, just the gravy today." I asked about the juice and was told "I'll get to it." I remember stsys like this years ago before the breakfast standard was raised. Hopefully it isn't a foreshadowing of things to come with HI Express. June 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Recent 3 Night Stay We recently spent 3 nights at this great hotel. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff helped us every time we asked. The breakfast was good. The hotel is very convenient to Houghton and Hancock, as well as to lots of shopping and restaurants. . June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay Enjoyed stay. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Such a nice breakfast. So many options that there must be something for everyone. Pancakes are fabulous! Treat bag is nice touch. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was great! Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was courteous and helpful. Breakfast was more than adequate. May 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rooms,friendly staff Clean modern rooms,staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, breakfast bar had ok selection.wouldn"t hesitate to book again. April 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! This a very nice property! The staff is very accommodating! Hoping that they keep up the great customer service! March 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SERVICE Carla and her staff at the Holiday Inn Express are awesome. We have been staying at the Holiday Inn for the last 3 years every time we come to Houghton for a home football game and lots of times in between. They are no doubt the best hotel in Houghton. Yes we have tried ALL the others and they are #1, Friendly service, great breakfast, newly remodeled rooms, and everything always just feels clean... I would highly recommend giving them a try! February 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Accomodations Staff was helpful and friendly. Clean and comfortable. February 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, with one complaint. Very nice night and evening staff, great room, nice pool. Loud, continually barking dog early at 6 in the morning in a neighboring room, and less-than-friendly and unapologetic morning desk staff made a great stay average. January 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Issues with room We stayed 4 nights and had issues with out key to our room every day. Had to have a person from the front desk let us in our room 4 times. One person sayd this happens with a number of rooms. Really? this need to be fixed. Otherwise a nice stay. Other issues was that the room cleaning crew refused to take anything down from a breakfast tray. Why, first time in 100 stays a year that this happened. January 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Craig from SW Oakland County Great place to stay. Very friendly and competent staff. Simple layout but the people make it very comfortable and a worthwhile place to stay. October 26, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Family Stay The HI Express Houghton always provides a comfortable place to hang our hats while visiting our son @ MTU. Nice breakfast, clean room, friendly staff. October 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location for visiting College Great Location for visiting College. Not within walking distance to college, but not far by car (mile or two). Very Close to Shell Gas station (had nice low price). Also close to Walmart(took college student shopping), Mcdonalds, Culvers, Applebees. Stayed three nights and family enjoyed pool several times. Loved new pancake machine that makes two pancakes within 2 minutes for you. Used it each morning.They rotate the sausage and I missed having that each day. Breakfast was above average. This summer we have spent at least three weeks spread across 15+ hotels with hot breakfasts, and this was a good one. We also went site seeing and found this a great point to start our visiting of the UP/Mines, Light Houses, Army Base, etc. We will stay here again next vacation up to the UP in spring/summer and our visit to the College.. October 16, 2012
<<prev2