• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

This facility has a large number of Medical Guests. Our concern for their health has led us to restrict pets to those that provide a verifiable medical service. If non service pets are found we will asses a 250 fine and evict. No refund will be given.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Hermann Park
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Reliant Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
The Downtown Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Bayou Place
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:79
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open Parking Lot. Only one parking space available per room!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:56
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD
View More

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's and St. Luke's hospitals. Another perk for visitors in Houston, Texas is the Medical Center shuttle. The hotel's free shuttle runs to the area hospitals and Reliant Park.

Our central location close to the Houston Zoo and other downtown attractions, including the Rice Village shopping center, provides you with endless opportunities for entertainment during your visit. Reliant Stadium, just across the street, is North America's largest event complex, so you can rest assured there is always an exciting event to check out nearby.

Stay smart and eat smart every morning when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel with the free Express Start breakfast bar, which offers our signature, cinnamon rolls. If you indulge a little too much on great Texas barbecue, visit the on-site Fitness Center. Book your reservations in Houston, Texas today and start relaxing.

View Less
Features
From free parking to free Wi-Fi access to free breakfast, we make affordability a priority. With businesses and attractions like Reliant Park nearby, our hotel's guests benefit from the location, too.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 402 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This hotel is excellent in all catagories the only con we can come up with is the bathroom was rather tight quarters . the bed was very comfortable and quiet hallways too boot. March 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza Houston Near Reliant - Medical was quite pleasant After reading mixed reviews about this establishment, we warily made our way there. We were not disappointed. It is an older building so one must accept certain things like rooms that are just a bit smaller. However, everything was so clean, so nice. It was like a touch of old world charm. Great lobby area and reception by front desk staff. On-site restaurant was such a pleasant experience. We each enjoyed our menu selections and the accommaations to the menu which I required were charmingly taken care of. The servers were obviously well-trained, at least the two we came into contact with. We were able to park close to our entrance, parking was free, and free from-the-menu or buffet breakfast came with the room. Easy in, easy out, too. We will stay there again for our Houston needs. March 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent place to stay Place was very nice inside the lobby and the room was decent. Good presence of security personnel. Negatives: Fire alarms malfunctioned at 1:28am on second night, and received no formal apology. Bathroom mirror was too short/low for me. No visible easy access from the side parking lot to the entrance. March 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room but disappointing maid service! We stayed in the same room in the rio grand area for 3 nights and everyday I had to search for a maid to replenish coffee, sugar, etc. My coffee cup stayed on the counter dirty the whole time. Trash bag was not in trash can and low toilet paper. The bed was made and new towels was given otherwise the room was actually not cleaned. The weekend before I stayed in the tower and the service was very good and did not have a complaint I definitely will make my future reservations for the tower only. The tower offers more updated rooms ! March 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by rude front desk staff unwilling to resolve billing issue I am a platinum and ambassador club member and have not experienced the level of rudeness y the front desk staff and unwillingness to resolve my billing issue. I was charged for 2 nights (March 19-21)when 1 night was reserved as a reward night. (confirmation #62899487 for the reward night and confirmation # 62896376 for the paid night). I showed the front desk personnel my paperwork at check in and check out. The check out personnel told me that I had to pay for 2 nights despite proof that 1 night was a reward night. They told me that they could not resolve my problem and that I had to complain with priority club directly. On top of this, the room was outdated and the bed sank in the "middle". I am not accustomed to this poor level of service from Crowne Plaza or any of the priority club hotels. March 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel My husband and i have been staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel for years here in Houston and it has always been an excellent stay very relaxing and personnel/staff are always there to help. Room service is also excellent. We will always return to this hotel. We have known some staff over the years. Great Job!!!!! March 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Lower tier Crowne Plaza hotel Avoid this hotel if you are not staying in the main building. My room was in building 4 and it definitely didn't feel like a Crowne Plaza. There was a dirty towel on the floor in the bathroom when I checked in and there was a constant popping sound outside my window all night long. The clerk at the front didn't seem to care either. Not a good experience. March 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Many Issues First off, there was a very noisy water pipe that would vibrate periodically for different amounts of time all during the stay. The place was very busy since the rodeo and concert was across the street. People were yelling until all hours of the night/morning. After only a few hours of sleep, we got up to absolutely no hot water! Not even luke warm. After freezing inthe shower I walked over to the door to find a receipt for room charges when I booked using points. I had to go down to the front desk to have the lady fix the bills for both of my rooms. March 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I have stayed here since 1986 because I have been a medical patient at MD Anderson Hospital. Crowne Plaza has always been very courteous and aware of my needs. They have went out of their way to give me a nice room and make my stay comfortable. I will continue to stay here on every medical trip I make to Houston. March 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was comfortable. This hotel was ok for what we needed. The bar was understaffed and the food was so so. This would not be a high choice for a hotel stay under normal conditions. It also was poor that you had to pay for one night in advance and no possible refund. This was a very average experience at best. March 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Service i know the hotel was sold out dueto George Strait but come on....get more people to work that weekend. our room wasnt ready, the staff wasnt friendly, and the room did not have a nice smell. March 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Billing Second time I have problems with billing...I had booked in advance using priority points and cash and was still charged the full amount for the room. Called front desk, the day of check out and was assured billing would be corrected. Of course, it was not and calling to correct error had me jumping through hoops to prove my point. Front desk had no documentation of advance reservation and advance charge of money and points. March 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to Reliant Stadium Room was dirty, bed was worn, bathroom was dated, tv was old tube type, elavators did not work and got stuck twice, stairwells had vomit in them, room was very very overpriced, that being said it is the closest hotel to Reliant Stadium. Having stayed in many Crown Plaza Hotels around the country I am amazed they allow their name to be on the front of this facility. They definitely know they have you for location and charge for that because it certainly wasn't the facility. March 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Smallest bathroom I have ever seen! Guess I was expecting more since this is a Crowne Plaza, but that is not what I got. Beds where very comfortable as usual but the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen, and don't lift your arms in the shower you will hit the ceiling! Very old complex, needs help! Never was I recognized as a Priority Club member. Space for a fridge, but no fridge! March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by MD Anderson Trip Great bed, great buffet in the morning. Only wish hotel shuttle went to hobby airport. Only found vending machine in lobby area. Most higher end hotels don't have though. Complimentary WiFi was great for iPad use! Angela at the front desk very helpful to accommodate March 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT. Employees are always helpful. Hotel is Very clean and resturant is very good. Safe . Consider it my home away from home. March 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you for being our home away from home. We were there with my Mother as a patient at M.D. Anderson. The staff at the front desk- David and Daniel were more than exceptional as a first impression representative for your hotel. This being our first visit to that hospital, we were very anxious and concerned about where to stay as far as comfort, convenience, and reliability. We were there for a week back and forth with testing and appointments and the shuttle was a huge help in dropping us off where we needed to be. Your entire hotel staff was so courteous, so friendly and helpful and always with a smile. The food in your restaurant was delicious and room service was more prompt than we have ever seen. And we would like to mention Edward our server in the restaurant, he was absolutely the best we have ever had. He was so kind and friendly and joyful, especially at a time when we were not feeling so joyful. He made us laugh and made my Mother feel like a Queen. He is a huge asset to your team. We live in Monroe, Louisiana and your hotel felt close to home in our hearts. Thank you for making our stay the best it could be under the circumstances. We will be staying with you again this week as we are returning to M.D. Anderson for another trip. Thank you to you and your excellent staff for being our home away from home. You will be highly recommended. Family from Monroe, Louisiana March 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room wonderful Room was clean and in good shape. Elevator broke down and we had to take our luggage down ourselves. While elevator working housekeeping staff filled it and didn't let paying customers use it. March 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated and dilapidated a buildings The building we were placed in was cavernous, dirty, dingy and outdated. The entrance felt like we were entering a seedy, place in a back alley. The security system only worked half of the time. The one elevator in the building was slow, small and way past its time. This is not what I thought a Crowne Plaza property is supposed to represent. That said, the extra security and they way they conducted themselves was appreciated. The Front Desk was very professional and courteous. March 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor experience We stayed at the Crowne Plaza HOUSTON NEAR RELIANT - MEDICAL while visiting Houston, the hotel needs mayor remodeling, the rooms are not clean, one of the beds the sheets were dirty (like somebody had a nap). Very disappointing experience, I will not recommend this property, nor I'll be back. March 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, great location, but poor service The location is fabulous for events at Reliant Stadium. Were greeted poorly at the front desk and were shooed away at breakfast the following morning by the restaurant manager. Imagine that! Elevators never worked the entire stay so flex your muscles for your walk up and down the stairs! Or hope that you stay in a first floor room! March 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 2 DISAPPOINTED ! There are 5 out connected buildings to this hotel. My room in building 3 needed maintenence in three areas. The parking was the worst due to the hotel selling parking passes to people not staying in the hotel. I had a confrentation every time I entered the lot ! The shuttle was also a problem with getting picked back up, the staff was not informed of the area and made it difficulte to be picked up... I walked back to the hotel on my longest day of my stay... I cut my stay short ... NOT HAPPY AT ALL ! March 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Awful this place was awful. the rooms we're filthy, the sheets had dirt, hair and dead ants in them. when asked to be moved to another room or new sheets put on the bed, they delivered the sheets to us to do them ourselves. This hotel is not kept up at all. In the 3 complete buildings, (housing 100's of rooms per building) there was 1 working elevator, making guest walk all over to get to a 3rd story room. The hallways and carpets were filthy, even hair weave in the hallway, and was the next day, so no one even attempted to clean it. Will never stay here again, a complete waste of reward points. March 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Served its purpose Stayed for medical reasons. Room was about as far away from lobby as it could be. It was on second floor. Elevator only worked half the time. Room small and in old section. Maid service erratic at best. Never new when of if they would show up. Had them go right by door without stopping. Had to call a couple of times. Room service on the other hand was excellent. Food showed up quickly and was always hot. Shuttle was good most days but if you went too early it ran late. Couldn't depend on it if you had a firm appointment. Front desk staff excellent. Dining room great food but some of the wait staff severed you then forgot about you. Overall value okay since room was medical rate. Served its purpose but could have been better. March 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Don't stay here! This ranks up there as one of the worst properties I have ever had the misfortune to have reservations. While the lobby area is nice, it goes downhill from there especially if you are not staying in the main building; however, I heard from friends that the rooms in the main building are in dire need as well. Maid service in the outside buildings were terrible & when they did come to service your room finally, it sounded like a 'riot' was going on outside. Two out of four nights I had to ask for maid service & then clean glasses after they left. We would have moved but with the rodeo in Houston, everything was full. I will never stay there again and am disappointed that Holiday Inn has that property at all much less as a Crowne Plaza! By the way, my husband has been a Priority Club member for 30+ years & we have stayed at Holiday Inns all over the U.S., this is truly a disappointment. March 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by location and service hotel close to reliant stadium and medical center. the hotel's customer service were was sub-par. the room service and dining room food was delivered cold. March 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfectly Comfort Our King suite was perfectly comfortable. The room was quiet. The air worked properly. The rock solid firm bed had a plush pillow top which yielded a terrific nights sleep. We will definitely recommend this Crowne Plaza to others and stay here again in the future. March 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unacceptable stay I have stayed at this hotel on several trips to Houston. I have had the best stay I have every had at a hotel at this location. About a year ago I was here for the livestock show and had a bad experience here but thought Ok if you stay somewhere enough times you could possible have a bad stay. Again I came back the next year and had the worst stay at a hotel ever, my room key did not work, the bed was terrible, and the toilet was lose and wobbally. They also charged me $30.00 a day for an additional car parked in the parking lot. I understand that parking is an issue during the livestock show and rodeo, (my stay was during the first week of the livestock show) but during my stay the hotel was not full nor was the parking lot. There were a lot of parking spaces available. I hate to say it, but this was the last time I will stay at this hotel. March 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Great beds and services, overall We experienced a terrific and very helpful staff, that was to a person....always ready and cheerfully willing to assist. us with our needs. March 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by An awful experience.... We met there in two vehicles. Were not told ahead of time that there would be a $40 additional parking fee for the second vehicle...on top of what was already a much too expensive room. We had reserved a room with a king size bed...when we got to the room it was a small room with two double beds. We called the front desk and were told that even though we had a confirmed reservation (that we had for over a month) that there were no king size beds available. The room was old and the furniture was worn and looked pitiful.There was no refrigerator, no safe, and a toilet that ran constantly. When we went down to the restaurant the next morning it took an hour from the time we placed our order until the time we got our food! The only good thing about this stay is that it was only for one night. And we are Priority Club members! March 5, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading