• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

This facility has a large number of Medical Guests. Our concern for their health has led us to restrict pets to those that provide a verifiable medical service. If non service pets are found we will asses a 250 fine and evict. No refund will be given.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Reliant Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Texas Medical Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Houston Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.45MI
Attraction:
Museum Of Natural History & Science
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:79
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open Parking Lot. Only one parking space available per room!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:56
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD
View More

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's and St. Luke's hospitals. Another perk for visitors in Houston, Texas is the Medical Center shuttle. The hotel's free shuttle runs to the area hospitals and Reliant Park.

Our central location close to the Houston Zoo and other downtown attractions, including the Rice Village shopping center, provides you with endless opportunities for entertainment during your visit. Reliant Stadium, just across the street, is North America's largest event complex, so you can rest assured there is always an exciting event to check out nearby.

Stay smart and eat smart every morning when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel with the free Express Start breakfast bar, which offers our signature, cinnamon rolls. If you indulge a little too much on great Texas barbecue, visit the on-site Fitness Center. Book your reservations in Houston, Texas today and start relaxing.

View Less
Features
From free parking to free Wi-Fi access to free breakfast, we make affordability a priority. With businesses and attractions like Reliant Park nearby, our hotel's guests benefit from the location, too.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 448 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Value, comfort, hospitality excellent ! When we checked in, front desk staff were courteous, friendly, helpful after our long drive to Houston at early evening. They showed sincere concern, patience and made checking in that much easier, very eager to assist. The hotel is huge so our grandkids were happy to "run around ". The rooms were very clean, spacious just like the hotel photos showed. Beds were very comfortable, security outside was a nice touch if needed. The staff was so attentive and friendly. Small drawback was the noise at night- nearby traffic noise was bothersome but you quickly got over that as you laid on those comfy beds ! Stetson restaurant meals were plentiful for the price paid, we loved it! Very attentive service. We will definitely stay again! Mr. G June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff! Stayed here for on night to attend the memorial service for 4 of Houston's Bravest. Hotel is within a short walk to Reliant Stadium. Pool view room showed some wear but was clean and comfortable. Pool area looked nice and was clean and well maintained. Staff was excellent. They were top notch! Overall a very nice experience. June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Care and Service from the entire staff I was overwhelmed with the friendliness of the entire staff and their thankfulness to us for attending the HFD Memorial. The food service was great and they even served Guinness. This hotel went over the top on every detail of my stay. It is a beautiful hotel. June 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay great place to stay .the rooms are big and clean loacation is great easy on and off to interstate 10 June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service great Service and location were great. We would not expect anything less. June 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant Due to a medical complication we arrived about 9pm and were delighted to find two eating areas still open at the Crowne Plaza. We ate in the main dining area and were impressed with the variety of food available. We ate the pumpkin- seed encrusted salmon salad and it was marvelous. The portion of salmon was extremely large, about what we get elsewhere in two servings, and the salad, which included apples and fresh raspberries, was fresh and crispy. The service staff was excellent and made us feel relaxed. They never rushed us and continued to refill our beverages, checking to see if we needed anything else. We knew the restaurant closed at 10pm but the staff never pressed us to leave - what a great way to end the day. June 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by They hotel cancelled my reservation I am utterly disappointed in my most recent vacation experience on May 24th. I was let down on my vacation to Houston, TX. When we arrived at the Crown Plaza Reliant Medical and gave the confirmation number, they said they did not have a reservation for our booking. After further investigation, I was told that someone reservation department had cancelled the reservation. After a long day of work and long flight I was in no mood to wait around for people to figure out PREPAID travel arrangements. Why would a prepaid reservation be cancelled by anyone other than the person that booked? While the room issue was eventually solved and Daniel at the front desk did offer breakfast voucher for the inconvenience, it should not have happened in the first place. Logistical improvements need to be made to ensure complications are prevented/corrected prior to travelers arrival. June 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and nice facilities As a business traveler I always try to stay at Crowne Plaza. They are consistently good at providing quality facilities with above average service. This location is not different. I have stayed at this location over 30 times in the last year and for the most part, they have been top notch. The only detraction could be that the staff appears to be thin and checking-in and out sometimes takes longer than it should. This location boasts more rooms than the average location however the front desk staff appears to light at best. The only major drawback is the housekeeping staff. I was also disappointed to be woken by the housekeeping staff before 7:00 am asking if I wanted my room cleaned. Even though I had a "do not disturb" sign hung on the door. Then I had to listen to them knock on all the adjoining rooms as well. In addition, room amenities like coffee and associated condiments are never replaced once used. For someone like me that drinks coffee while working, this becomes a problem since waiting in line at the front desk for something as simple as coffee should not happen. they are also inconsistent when recognizing Platinum Club Members. Sometimes I was given perks, sometimes they were overlooked. I have only been given a room upgrade once even though it is supposed to be guaranteed. Minor criticisms. All in all, I was very happy with the stay. May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My stay at Crowne Plaza I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Crown Plaza. The room that I had in Tower one was excellent. Location is superb. I felt like a VIP in every aspect of my stay. May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short, but wonderful stay My visit to this particular Crowne Plaza was only for one night, but it was an excellent stay. My room was very nice, comfortable, and a pleasant place for my son and I to sit and talk and to sleep. I was a bit concerned with the location being noisy since it adjacent to loop 610, which is heavily used. I hardly noticed the traffic at all and my room faced in that direction. I could not have asked for a better night's stay and was very pleased. May 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This was not a good stay at this hotel for me. At this time I do not have anything good to say about my stay at this hotel. I thought that it was a nonsmoking hotel but the floor I stayed on had a constant smell of cigarette smoke. The first time I attempted to use the toilet it would not flush. The inside was totally rusted and the piece broke. Then there was reside coming up from the drain in the tub. The bottom of the bathroom door was warp and chipping. My last night there the housekeeping did not make up the bed or clean the room or change the towels. Once we got back to the hotel we had to call housekeeping to come at least clean the bathroom and give us towels. I have had much better stays at other hotels. They did not give me a receipt for the first two nights stay. I would not recommend this particular hotel. May 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful reception, lobby and front desk...doesn't extend to rooms tho When I first walked into the property I was impressed with the lobby and all the beautiful flower arrangements, optimistic about my hotel choice for the evening. That's where it ended tho. After waiting 15 minutes in a very long check-in line, I was given a room in "building number 4". It was explained that I must leave this building, go through building 2, through building 3, into building 4, take elevator up to second floor to find my room. I never found the elevator and had to lug my suitcase up the stairs #in heels!#. I later learned the elevator is located between buildings 2 and 3. I would have appreciated having this pointed out to me! The room was very warm when I arrived even thought the air was on so I turned the air on max. After an hour it still wasn't cool so I called to request a new room. I was told I would have to bring my luggage and come back to the lobby but they only had a handicap room available. Knowing there was no way I could sleep without the A/C working I opted to lug my suitcase back to the lobby to retrieve the new room key. The new room was marginally better with cooling but the outdated A/C was still unable to remove the Houston humidity adequately. I thought I was upgrading by choosing the Crowne Plaza. Turns out the Holiday Inn I stayed at last time less than a mile away was much better! I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone during warmer months. It is understaffed #leaving them overwhelmed and rude#, dingy, and in need of updates to the outer buildings. May 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service Each encounter with hotel employees was pleasant. All are well trained and courteous especially the front desk personnel. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay! We always try to come here when my husband has to go to M D Anderson. It is such a nice place to stay and the breakfast is awesome! The shuttle service is also awesome! May 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dated This hotel looks good from the outside, but is dated and the staff are not customer focused. The rooms are small, the bathrooms even smaller! It needs a total renovation. The food was average, the service not good either! May 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by One of the worst experiences Went to Houston for OTC as this hotel was exactly in front of the Reliant Center. They charged me and my folks almost $300 per night and the service and rooms were horrendous. Just to say a couple of things, the bathroom's ceiling was BROWN (due to the humidity) and the rooms seemed that was not painted for at least 5 years. I went for a quick jog in the morning and when I asked for a gatorade or at least a bottle of water they didn't have neither... (the room had fridge, which was empty). Being nice, overall experience: 1 May 17, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza The only thing going for this hotel is location. The hotel needs to be leveled an rebuilt. The carpets in the rooms are actually sticky. I had to go to the front desk twice because they couldnt code the key correctly. May 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No Improvement 3 years in a row I could write the same review I wrote last year... but i don't think it makes a difference to IHG. For fellow travelers I would NOT recommend this hotel. It is probably the worst Crowne Plaza Hotel I have ever stayed in... sorry IT IS THE WORST. Guests staying in the back forty were complaining of brown water, the internet connection is horrible I drove to a local Starbucks so I could get internet access. Makes life for a business traveler very difficult. My wake up call was 45 minutes late, the staff at Crowne Plaza honored their promise to pay for the room if the call was not on time. Restaurant food was marginal. I need to compliment the attitude of the Staff at the Hotel however, they were friendly and responsive. The room was clean and I felt safe at the Hotel. May 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad airco dirty room I got sick by the bad airco which was dirty and poorly maintained. We stayed during OTC so I can accept higher cost but the quality was not like I am used to from Crowne Plaza. Improve, Improve!!! May 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Crowne Plaza Floors were dirty, toilet paper holder was broken, ac sounded like a plane taking off, wifi wasn't working, breakfast was poor, silverware consisted of little plastic packs with forks so weak you couldn't hold the sausage to cut it, door didn't close tight, carpeting was torn in places, and the last paint job had gone right over the electrical outlets. Everything felt dirty. To top it all off the room was a 10 minute walk from the lobby. This is the worst Crowne Plaza I've been in, and the worst hotel overall I've been in for several years. Pleasant staff and proximity to Reliant center were the only saving graces for this place. I was there with a group of about a dozen from my company and all had similarly unpleasant experience. May 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Renovation The room was OK, but it was in serious need of renovation. The porch door deadbolts would not work, and the room was in serious need of remodeling it just seemed old. I have stayed at Holiday Inn Expresses that were nicer than this place. Also $50 breakfast for the same stuff you can get at another hotel with a continental breakfast is a ripoff! I am not very impressed with the quality of this hotel at all. May 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by another MDA patient I choose this hotel because it offered shuttle service to M D Anderson, which was an important amenity for me. They were also flexible in the scheduling of my visit, which was must in my circumstance. The staff was pleasant, the shuttle service was timely, except the departure time was not strictly adhered to (I missed a departure on my second day because the shuttle left 10 minutes early. Fortunately for me, it did not cause me to miss my appointment as I had planned to be earlier than I needed). There was also some mis-handling of scheduling a pickup for the airport on my day of departure, but, again, as I planned ahead to ensure no delay would cause me to miss my flight, I didn't. I would choose this hotel again if I need to visit MDA again in the future. May 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dusty, not clean..unlike my previous stays I was in Room#2133 - the entire building was like dungeon, the carpets are dusty and smelling with dust. Toilet was bad with falling toilet paper holder Pillow were stained May 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean rooms Hotel is conveniantly located for hospital. Very nice people and nice rooms. Will continue to stay here. May 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Above and beyond Always great service -- friendly, delightful staff, quick check in and check out, and delicious breakfast buffets and room service. This past visit however, was exceptional. I had just bought a new car and accidently left the driver's window down -- and a spare key in the compartment. Yeow. The security guards caught it right away and watched my new car all through the night -- and even into the morning when I went out and was greeted by one of the guards. What a relief. The security persons on duty I found out from inquiring, were Ahmed, Malik, and Ali. That was a true blessing. The hotel went above and beyond! Signed, Beverly from Texas May 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The staff accommodated us by giving us the room we wanted at the rate we wanted. When we discovered the room did not have a fridge or microwave (we thought it did) they sent both right over. This remains one of my favorite hotels April 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is best yet Entire Staff is EXCELLENT; front desk, restaurant, maids, etc. Service to MD Anderson is EXCELLENT April 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the money The lobby is nice, but the rooms are horrible. I didn't see any bugs, but the walls and carpeting in my room were filthy. The bathroom is 5x6 and extremely tight. The entry door had a 1.5 inch gap at the floor. The room was also small, making me wonder why the used such bulky furniture. The breakfast buffet was enjoyable, but that definitely doesn't justify the steep price. April 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by noisy elevator Our room was right next to a noisy elevator. I'm not sure what was going on, but you could hear what sounded like a hydraulic pump everytime the elevator went up and down. - ALL NIGHT LONG. I did not complain because when we arrived people were standing in line asking for rooms and they were told it was booked up. Also, on the internet it mentioned private balconies and our room had a balcony but the door had a sign saying that you could no longer open the door. The main part of the hotel looks like it has been remodeled, but the part we stayed in was very old and outdated. April 24, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst crowne plaza ever This was the worst Criwne Plaza I have been in and I have traveled all over the world. It was dirty, in disrepaire, and had a bad order. The elevator door slammed shut with a loud noise clearly indicating the need for repair. This hotel does great damage to the Crowne Plaza brand. I will never stay here again April 23, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 16 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-15-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Availability
Loading