• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

This facility has a large number of Medical Guests. Our concern for their health has led us to restrict pets to those that provide a verifiable medical service. If non service pets are found we will asses a 250 fine and evict. No refund will be given.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Reliant Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Texas Medical Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Houston Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.45MI
Attraction:
Museum Of Natural History & Science
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:79
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open Parking Lot. Only one parking space available per room!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:56
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD
View More

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's and St. Luke's hospitals. Another perk for visitors in Houston, Texas is the Medical Center shuttle. The hotel's free shuttle runs to the area hospitals and Reliant Park.

Our central location close to the Houston Zoo and other downtown attractions, including the Rice Village shopping center, provides you with endless opportunities for entertainment during your visit. Reliant Stadium, just across the street, is North America's largest event complex, so you can rest assured there is always an exciting event to check out nearby.

Stay smart and eat smart every morning when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel with the free Express Start breakfast bar, which offers our signature, cinnamon rolls. If you indulge a little too much on great Texas barbecue, visit the on-site Fitness Center. Book your reservations in Houston, Texas today and start relaxing.

View Less
Features
From free parking to free Wi-Fi access to free breakfast, we make affordability a priority. With businesses and attractions like Reliant Park nearby, our hotel's guests benefit from the location, too.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 316 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Stayed at hotel because loved one receiving services at MD Anderson (also a recommended hotel) by the hospital. Highly disappointed in hotel stay--no hot water and loved took cold shower before going through test. Lack of care seemed to absent when brought to the attention of a staff member. In addition, on the day of check-out housekeeping staff came by to clean room early in the morning and it was not time to check-out. In one instance, the person just entered the room without knocking. Totally felt rushed to get out of hotel and some staff not equipped to deal with hotel guests. November 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, however the dirty room absolutely ruined it The staff really was nice here. I guess looking back, maybe I should have asked for a different room, but I was on a business trip and just didn't have time for the hassle, while needing to make multiple meetings in just 24 hours. There were crunchy Cheetos in the bed...between the sheets. And we are not talking in a bag, so there were dirty orange smears all over the sheets. So I know there is no way the sheets were cleaned or changed.... I slept on top on the comforter. Also there were dirty towels with strange brown/red smears all over them still hanging in the shower in the bathroom. There did appear to be clean towels in there as well, but... And since they had been hanging in the shower with the curtain closed I didn't really note their presence until late at night after my first business meeting. Pretty unacceptable if you ask me. November 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay in new renovated sleeping room New rooms are very impressive and modern. WOW Had dinner both night in the restaurant and the best was the Salmon. Great job to the kitchen staff. I will definitely be back. November 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel staff great, Restaurant staff not Rooms are nice, though double beds are a little too narrow for 2 adults to sleep comfortably. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. If not for the issues with the restaurant and the full hot breakfast included in our reservation, I would rate this hotel as a great place to stay. But, both days we were there, breakfast was a problem. The first day, we were told the vouchers we were given were not for the breakfast buffet, even though the front desk said they were. And they tried to bill us for our 12 year old when we were told 12 and under eat free. Someone needs to get their facts straight so other guests don't have to be embarrassed like we were. The second day, they took down the buffet a full 45 minutes early, so there was no food when we came down for breakfast. Was offered left overs, gave a quick no to that and ended up stopping for breakfast somewhere else on our way home. If they are going to include a full hot breakfast with reservations, then they need to make sure guests get what they are promised without all the mess we had to deal with. November 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Getaway Didn't give all excellent as there is remodeling going on so a bit noisy during the day. all employees from the front desk, restaurant personal and housekeeping are so nice an accommodating. November 20, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Please renovate this place ASAP! Pros: The guy running the dinner shift and the lady night auditor at the front desk were as genuinely friendly and accommodating to everyone as possible. Cons: Find jobs for everyone. Gut the building. Advertise grand opening. Hope for the best. Location: The location was good, there were places to eat, you need a car. The Reliant arenas are within walking distance, which is why I went there. Holiday Inn has been the family "go to" for 40 years. The front desk told me that everything was going to be renovated soon. I hope so. That still won't be enough for me to return. I only made it through one night of a three night stay and couldn't wait to leave. I actually went through 3 rooms and that surprised my friends because they know me as a laid back kind of person. The third room was really no better than the first two but I knew I was running out of good will. They were depressing affairs looking rundown and worn out, like nothing had been replaced or done with them in 40 years... The 3 bathrooms were literally scary-looking. I've never been in a flop house, but this is what I imagine it to look like. I expected much better for a Holiday Inn. If you're a guy going to the arena or the cattle show next door, you may not care about this place as is. It was full of people and I saw many ordinary people coming out of the elevators seemingly comfortable with the place. As a single woman, I noticed a few creepy-looking middle aged men, who I stayed away from. No real families with kids, however. The restaurant was the best part of this stay, and I would have stayed there all night if I could have because it was the only place that was truly comfortable. The breakfast, lunch, and dinner wait staff there belong in a much better place. The front desk staff, day and night, were very cordial and accommodating and belong in a better place also. It's just not fair for any of them to be there at this time. November 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything a hotel should be Stay was perfect, The staff were very helpful, kind and courteous. And they all had a great sense of humor. November 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rude staff no guest service Staff was rude shuttle service was unorganized room was stuffy and stinky no recognition of rewards club November 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by texans football Reasonably priced and adjacent to NRG stadium made this the perfect location o stay and catch the Sunday game. November 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and simple logistics The location is optimal. Easy check in. bed is soft. people are kind. shuttle ran on time. November 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by close to the stadium I chose this hotel because I am a priority club member and because it was within steps of NRG stadium as I was in town for a football game and business. Can't be beat as far as closeness to the stadium, can walk out the door and be in the parking lot. Staff was friendly, courteous and professional. Hotel lobby, bar, store and restaurant are all four star. Rooms are older but clean and adequate. The person in the adjoining room was loud and I could hear his booming voice, but he did not talk all night and with the air and the tv on it wasn't bad. I could also hear the people talking in the laundry room which was directly accross from my room. I would not let these observations keep me from booking this hotel. Great stay! November 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value The hotel was a good value. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. There were no unpleasant odors anywhere. Really, our only "complaint" was that the paint job in the hallways looks like it was done by the lowest bidder. It is a very poor job. So much so, that it is off-putting. However, don't let that deter you from staying here. Our stay was just fine. November 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very accommodating staff Enjoyable stay. They promptly moved my room when the room they had placed me in had a strong smoke smell. The room was non-smoking but my neighbors may have been breaking the rules. They were very kind about changing my room without questioning. Overall great experience. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk Service Excellent, efficient, and professional, especially Alex. November 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service My stay at the hotel was excellent as it usually is. I stay at this hotel every year in connection with my medical checkup foe Cancer. I have no problems with this hotel as the rates are what I expect. Thank You for a nice experience in my stay as well as I received a clean bill of health from my doctor. November 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Sleep Great place to lay down your head get some rest. The movie selections were sparse but up to date. The water was hot immediately and the noise from outside did not interfere with my rest. The front desk arranged for a late check-out and I was able to make my connections without any trouble. I return to Houston in May and expect to stay at this venue again. November 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice people / no wine list / no quality wines The people are very nice, attentive, and helpful but the bar is lacking in wine selections and high end spirits. Everything on the old wine list was sold out and what they had wasn't even on the wine list and it was cheap stuff from the grocery store. We took a cab to nice restaurant and enjoyed our evening elsewhere. November 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Property being updated, Staff makes up for rooms The property has some good rooms and then some OK rooms. The ok rooms are dated, but clean and comfortable. Great value at a good location. The staff at this property is amazing. They are helpful, friendly and gracious. Erika and all the desk staff are always so pleasant. Everyone here works hard to make the stay comfortable. I cant wait till the property is totally updated, I just hope I can afford to stay at it once it is redone. November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Houston Stay Excellent facility even though there was remodeling in progress. Check in was efficient and quick. Rooms were comfortable. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others. November 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I stayed at this hotel and would really recommend it. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all our needs. Our housekeeper was just great. I would stay here again. The shuttle service was wonderful. A great place to stay and would stay again. November 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK Hotel Decent location. Room was ok. Appeared dated (currently renovations in progress). The room key did not work after two trips back and forth to the front desk. We were questioned whether we knew how the key worked in a hotel room. The bathroom is cramped and one of the lights wasn't working and the sink area was dark. November 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location - really appreciate the shuttle service - in the room, some improvements required on the desk (power outlet difficult to reach, optical mouse does not work on the shiny surface of the desk) November 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK stay but won't be back Need to replace lighting with fluorescent bulbs. The incandescent bulbs in the bathroom and side table lamp made it too warm. Took the AC a long time to get to a comfortable temperature and we had to set it way below what we would have normally set it. When the neighbor's door shut, it shook the headboard. Don't know what can be done about that unless you replace the door-closers. The hotel was easy to get to and if you are going to an event at the NRG Center, it would be very convenient. I'm supposing that things will be better once the remodeling is done. The description online said newly remodeled 2014 but failed to mention that it had just started the week before. November 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by great room poor service Had reservations for 3 days. During check in Ashley cancelled the second 2 day king nonsmoking reservation. The next day she could only offer a smoking room which was unacceptable and I had to move to another hotel. Later that evening I spoke to the manager and she was very pleasant and apologetic but it was too late for her to do anything. I believe if she was there that morning the problem would have been rectified. November 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight Stay Had a few issues but staff is very friendly and tried to accommodate. Mattresses not to our liking, and had hoped for more coffee in the room. Carpets need to be shampooed - wreaked of smoke. Updates needed. Didnt care too much for the purple room doors, but that's just my opinion. October 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Resturant / Bar Fairly busy on a Thursday night, but only one person staffing the entire bar area. Ordered a BLT, which took 40 minutes to be brought out to me, and then it only had four small pieces of on it. I sent it back, payed my bill for one beverage, and went somewhere else for dinner. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant and comfortable stay. The hotel was doing renovation but it was still a great stay and we were not distracted or bothered by the construction. The area was close to many places to eat and right across the road from a food store. The shuttle service is the very best that I have ever used. The drivers were very helpful and genuinely cared about the passengers. They also really seemed to enjoy their job which is hard to find these days in the customer service arena. The breakfast was average. I have had better with a continental breakfast. I came with my sister-in-law who has stayed here many times in her trips to M.D. Andersonand she said they recently changed up the menu some in what they serve and how they serve it. She liked the old way better. The room was clean and nice and the bed was comfortable. I would love to stay here again. Maybe I can come watch the Texans play. I am a Saints fan of course but I like the Texans too. Cant stand the Cowboys...lol October 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by bathroom cleanliness The hotel staff was polite and efficient. The shower was not clean enough for my liking. Mold was growing in the grout of the shower. I have frequented this location numerous times, this is the first time I've encountered this problem at this location. Other than that it was a pleasant stay and I would stay again. October 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Basic Amenities Hotel is next to NRG convenient to stadium. Room had a musty smell. Sports bar disappointing. Only stayed here because I thought the sports bar would have all sports tiers available on the DISH service. Did not have the SEC network so was not able to watch football game I desired. Could have basically stayed anywhere. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 customer service all of the hotel staff was very friendly / the desk staff gave the best directions and the waiter in the restraunt was very friendly and the gift store man was very nice that makes all the difference in the world October 20, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading