• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

This facility has a large number of Medical Guests. Our concern for their health has led us to restrict pets to those that provide a verifiable medical service. If non service pets are found we will asses a 250 fine and evict. No refund will be given.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Reliant Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Texas Medical Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Houston Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.45MI
Attraction:
Museum Of Natural History & Science
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:79
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open Parking Lot. Only one parking space available per room!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:56
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD
View More

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's and St. Luke's hospitals. Another perk for visitors in Houston, Texas is the Medical Center shuttle. The hotel's free shuttle runs to the area hospitals and Reliant Park.

Our central location close to the Houston Zoo and other downtown attractions, including the Rice Village shopping center, provides you with endless opportunities for entertainment during your visit. Reliant Stadium, just across the street, is North America's largest event complex, so you can rest assured there is always an exciting event to check out nearby.

Stay smart and eat smart every morning when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel with the free Express Start breakfast bar, which offers our signature, cinnamon rolls. If you indulge a little too much on great Texas barbecue, visit the on-site Fitness Center. Book your reservations in Houston, Texas today and start relaxing.

View Less
Features
From free parking to free Wi-Fi access to free breakfast, we make affordability a priority. With businesses and attractions like Reliant Park nearby, our hotel's guests benefit from the location, too.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 522 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Old Hotel Needing Updates - TERRIBLE PARKING!! The room was decorated nicely, but the building itself was old and in need of many repairs. The windows were very old and drafty, the ceiling in the bathroom looked like it would cave in at any minute. The common hall areas were old and falling apart. At night, there was no place to park in the lots. I spent over ten minutes driving around looking for a place to park. I even called the front desk to ask them what I should do, and they said there was nothing they could do to help me. I will never stay here again, there are too many other nice hotels to choose from in the area. November 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice clean room! Nice clean room with comfortable beds. I felt very secure and safe since the entire parking lot was fenced with a security person at the entrance. The hallways are in need of an update but the rooms and staff were nice! November 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and convenient Recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza on Kirby for business purposes. The breakfast was included with the room and was excellent. Different every day, fresh, and pleasant atmosphere. Rooms were large, comfortable, and clean. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay for the price. November 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by No available management, moldy rooms smelly lobby, billing errors Crown Plaza policy not told to guest is billing customers $20.00 per night extra on credit card which your credit card must dispute for you. The lobby and rooms smell of molded paint and famaldihyde. The front desk initially turned down our reservation though reservation # was provided; and lied about a vacancy. The front desk staff are untrained, inattentive to guest request, no manager was available for 3 days, and we were not told to avoid walking half a mile to our room that hotel parking and back door entrance was in the next 2 blocks behind the hotel. Stay at Crown Plaza if you want no amenities, poor location, unclean moldy smelly room, noisy lobby and noisy room, inattentive and unavailable management, and over billing beyond your room receipt. Crown plaza fails to meet minimum guest expectations although advertised as a sister company of Holiday Inn Express. November 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The worst hotel in my life This is by far the worst hotel I see in my life. Room was very far away from the reception and lobby and nobody helped me to carry my luggage. They said you have to carry it your self ! Elevator was out of order. Room condition is very old and bad. Breakfast is very limited, you have only egg and expired croissant ! It was bad stay for me and I will stop dealing with Crown Plaza Hotels. Dr. Yousef November 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Are they renovating? I booked this at the last minute as my usual hotel was busy. This massive property appears only partially used & the staff is fractionally engaged. An unidentified motor was making terrible noise near my room. Breakfast was included in the room price but it was charged on my bill. The room was missing towels & shampoo. I asked staff about each of these issues & got indifferent shrugs to all of them - and no refund on breakfast. Though not evident, this felt like a property about to be closed for renovation. November 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loss of large shuttle to Hospitals I typically select this hotel for all my medical treatment. This past treatment I discovered that the main large shuttle which is a great convience was not functional but sitting on the parking lot. We needed to use the smaller SUV which is way too small for the number of MD Anderson patients which use your hotel. Please get your larger shuttle repaired. Thank you November 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great services Great services. Staff was always willing to accommodate our needs cheerfully. November 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Sprawling property, run-down equipment, lack of service personnel This property consists of multiple buildings sprawled over a large campus. Very long walk from one building to another, such as from the most obvious lobby when entering from the street to the building where my guest room actually was located. Elevator was very slow and noisy; the closest external door had a card reader on the outside (for secured guest entry only) but the card reader did not work. The building where my guest room was located, Rio Grande, had its own lobby and reception desk but that reception desk was frequently not manned at all. Not just the person who should be there had stepped away for a second, but the lights behind the counter would be turned off. November 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service First time for me to stay in this hotel. The service was superb especially from the front desk. Will definitely stay here again in my next trips. November 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible bed, poor service, no shuttle driver Asked for a handicap room in the tower. Were told that none were available even though the hotel was relatively empty. Room could have been cleaner. The mattress was terrible, sagging on both sides so bad we had to use pillows to keep from rolling onto the floor. The wait staff in the dining room (a BUFFET breakfast) only had to take care of our drinks. I asked for water and coffee. I never got the water and never got a refill on my coffee. Then went to wait for the shuttle for transport to the Texas Medical Center to M.D. Anderson Cancer Center for appointments. After asking the desk clerk a question about the shuttle's cell phone number, I was advised that the 8:30am shuttle run would be the last of the day even though it is scheduled to run from 6:30am until 10:30pm and many hospital and medial center patients and family members depend on this service. And we would not have known had I not asked a uestion about the shuttle. November 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable Hotel Hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was very hospitable and I would definitely stay again November 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by forgot coffee forgot coffee needed a frig in room. they took one out. November 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay This location has a great atmosphere. There are not many full service like this around anymore. I was very satisfied with the restaurant and its staff. they were friendly and avery caring abut my needs. What a great way to start the day....smiling faces each time. The staff as a whole made every eforrt to make my visit a good one and they succedded beyond measure! November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Friendly I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Reliant Center for a business gathering and was so pleased with my experience and the services that I will make this hotel a leisure destination as well. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet room, great service and food in lounge. Overall, great experience. I stayed for 11 nights. I rare eat at Hotel when I travel for business. This was the exception. I loved the service in the lounge. I really loved the food. Especially the Pupkin seed ecncrusted salmon salad. I ordered it several times. I would return to this Crowne Plaza. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel I frequently stay at this same hotel when I am in the Houston area. The staff are really nice and they get to know you by name after just a few visits. The breakfast buffet is excellent and they will custom make an omelet with your choice of ingredients. The only thing that would be an improvement in the lounge is frozen glasses and draft beer. November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. Nice rooms, staff very helpful, great location, and the shuttle very helpful in getting us to our appointments at M D Anderson. November 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Hotel Stay The Crowne Plaza Reliant was an excellent choice for us - walking distance to the stadium, huge property and very secure/safe. Our room was huge and overlooked the Houston skyline as well as the stadium - we were on the 8th floor. The breakfast buffet was nice for both mornings and the staff at the front desk and restaurant were friendly and helpful and always greeted us with a hello! November 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience The room was comfortable. TV selection adequate. The rooms were ALL far from conference area and the access poor. Elevators very small. Halls in my building had odor from previous smoking evidently. Did not visit other buildings except front desk and conference area. Had to check pillows due to feather allergy. Pool and hot tub were wonderful. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Houston Crowne a Jewel One night stay ... everything was great ... service .. room ... restaurant. Good night sleep away from home. No issues will come back. November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall response I was there for medical reasons and in the hospital for a week. My wife felt comfortable staying there until iwas able to join here November 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Dowdy Facilities but Good Service The bathroom in my room was not properly clean. The bed needs replacement as it seems everyone sleeps on the same side of the mattress which has left it with a distinctive incline. The AC unit needs replacement, and was leaving condensation in the shower. The WI-FI constantly cut in and out--usually while working. The security latch on my door was loose and had to be tightened to hold. My room key needed constant replacement as it would only work a few times before it failed to open the door. The bathroom door needed replacement as the bottom was entirely chewed up. The front doors to the hotel are way too heavy and should be amenable to automatic opening without pressing a button, especially when one is carrying luggage. The staff, however, did provide a mini-fridge and a microwave upon request. The facility needs an overall remodeling, it is clearly an old property and it is showing its age. This Crowne Plaza is not indicative of a top level hotel. November 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay We enjoyed our visit and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only issue was the noise from the big fans running outside beneath our rooms. Had a roaring noise. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cama muy comoda y servicio muy excelente Es para mi mas que un placer usar estos hoteles Siempre estare pendiente de que mi equipo de trabajo se quede en estos hoteles. October 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, Comfortable, and Clean Stayed at this hotel for a week while in Houston. Great location easy access to the city and Hobby Airport. The staff was friendly and attentive to my needs. The room was clean and comfortable. I will stay here again when in the area. October 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not What I Expected I reserved a double room with a view of Reliant Stadium. I got a room with small uncomfortable beds and a view of the air conditioners which roared all night and a slight view over the trees of the stadium. The room was small and dated. Lamp shade was torn and furniture was scratched. Overall the room was dated. The plus was convenience to the medical center we were headed to. In fairness the front desk guy was friendly and the a good size flat screen TV. We didn't use any of the other hotel amenities. October 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by old hotel news upgraded! Air conditioner didn't work properly, I either froze or I had to physically turn it off and then it got too hot. old musty smell in the room. old 60's styling in room, restaurant, etc. Food was not good. Breakfast and dinner. Dinner made me ill. Noise from nearby highway was extremely loud and kept me awake all night. Cost was excessive, especially for a corporate account Nick name is not being accepted for this survey! October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel I stayed here for a conference and was plenty surprised how nice the hotel was. The hotel is in a great location and perfect for large conferences. The staff was very helpful and courteous. October 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor staff performance I am a platinum IHG member and rarely do I post poor reviews but the poor performance on the part of the Crowne Plaza staff needs to be noted so that other travelers are forewarned and that the management can take the necessary corrective actions. I had a shipment of trade show materials shipped to the hotel and was received 2 days before my arrival. The shipment was received just like any shipment of materials to the hotel and put in a storage room with everything else shipped there. When I tried to retrieve them on Monday morning before the show the front desk had no idea of where to find them. I had to show them the shipment record including the signature of the receiving person before they could take any action. It took me until noon through a multitude of staff communication snafus before I was able to retrieve the goods. On other complaints, lobby coffee urn was left empty on each of three mornings, or no cups available, or no covers, etc. Incorrect walking and driving directions were given on 2 occasions. The room was mediocre. GPS directions to the hotel continuously led to a gate that was permanently closed. This was the worst staff performance that I ever witnessed at an IHG property anywhere in the world. If IHG management cannot or will not correct deficiencies at this hotel I recommend that it be sold or shut down. It is an embarrassment to the rest of the chain. October 22, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading