• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

This facility has a large number of Medical Guests. Our concern for their health has led us to restrict pets to those that provide a verifiable medical service. If non service pets are found we will asses a 250 fine and evict. No refund will be given.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Hermann Park
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Reliant Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
The Downtown Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Bayou Place
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:79
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open Parking Lot. Only one parking space available per room!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:56
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD
View More

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's and St. Luke's hospitals. Another perk for visitors in Houston, Texas is the Medical Center shuttle. The hotel's free shuttle runs to the area hospitals and Reliant Park.

Our central location close to the Houston Zoo and other downtown attractions, including the Rice Village shopping center, provides you with endless opportunities for entertainment during your visit. Reliant Stadium, just across the street, is North America's largest event complex, so you can rest assured there is always an exciting event to check out nearby.

Stay smart and eat smart every morning when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel with the free Express Start breakfast bar, which offers our signature, cinnamon rolls. If you indulge a little too much on great Texas barbecue, visit the on-site Fitness Center. Book your reservations in Houston, Texas today and start relaxing.

View Less
Features
From free parking to free Wi-Fi access to free breakfast, we make affordability a priority. With businesses and attractions like Reliant Park nearby, our hotel's guests benefit from the location, too.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 319 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 No Professionalism Cold and Un friendly The hotel was just barely ok, the front desk personnel was not friendly at all at check in it was just a routine and lukewarm reception. When I went back out to park my car a random taxi driver that was just hanging out in front of the hotel, who by the way, saw me get out of my car and walk in to the hotel, approached me and said " oh did you call for a taxi? I said yeah I did just let me go and park my car real quick lol so he proceeded to follow me to my car to hit on me, really? I did not feel safe at all. The room was kind of tore up curtain puller broke and sitting on the ledge, I didn't get a newspaper at my front door on the first morning like everybody else did. I ordered a Rueben sandwich from room service it the absolute worst Rueben I've ever had in all my years. The corned beef was so dry, they used coleslaw instead of sauerkraut #yuck# and I could hardly taste the thousand Island dressing. I asked for a wake up call which I did not get on the first morning and their policy is that if you don't get a wake up call they will refund your money for that night. I have yet to get that refund. When I called several times including the morning that I did not receive my call to inquire about it I was hung up on by one of the front desk staff members I think her name was Karen bc she didn't want to hear my story. I was promised that the manager would call me the next day, never got that call. I called back the next day to speak to the manager who was un friendly and not helpful at all! They were acting like I was asking for a first born child when that is their policy I really wanted to see if they would honor it. I wouldn't have even asked if it had not been put out there don't offer what you can't deliver. I will be contacting their corporate Headquarters, and giving names. If this policy is not going to be honored they need to stop advertising it. I was very displeased with my experience at this raunchy hotel needless to say I will never stay here nor will I recommend it to anybody. BTW I am civil service and work on a military installation and we travel to Houston and other areas in Texas and around the world frequently. I work in the travel office where we create their travel orders and pick their hotels : )))) July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tranquilidad y buen ambiente Ha sido una estancia de diez días muy agradable. Ha sido muy cómodo acceso a las dependencias. La habitación muy agradable para el descanso. El pero ha sido la conexión WiFi a internet desde la habitación. July 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Service was the worst and would prevent me from return Need to work on menu and quality. Food was practically inedible and a waste of time. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 舒適乾淨地點優 這hotel很乾淨舒適, 有很好的休息環境. 地點也很方便, 距離主要商業區很近, 減少舟車勞頓. 對面商圈有許多購物商場, 購買飲食, 補給品都很容易 July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great value and location I have visited the Crown Plaza multiple times. It is convienently located between th Medical District and the shops and restaurants of Westheimer. It has a friendly staff, a good on site restaurant. It is a little dated, but always clean and a great value for the money. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean comfortable room, bath and bed Good size room for 3 adults to move around in. Bed was very comfortable. The sleeper sofa was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. July 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Age Is Showing The staff is excellent. The hotel is showing its age, room would not cool, taking a shower and the water just stopped and would start back up. Parking not good, car was damaged this time around. Just was not a pleasant experience this time around. Room also was not clean this time. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful big rooms This is the best hotel I been in. I travel every year to conventions and from now on I will stay at Crowne Plaza. This hotel has very reasonable prices and they are located close to main freeways. The staff is very professional and friendly, always ready to help. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel for the money We stayed 4 nights at the end of June and only had good service, nice room, friendly staff, good location. July 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean. Nice facility for wedding reception The hotel was very nice and clean. The bar should open a little earlier and stay open a bit later but overall, I would stay here again July 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Run down Crowne Plaza When you book into a Crowne Plaza you expect a higher quality of hotel. This one does not deliver. The feeling was of an old, tired hotel that is desperately in need of renovation - although I would recommend IHG to remove it from their list of hotels. It has no outside space. The pool is crammed into a small space with very little room to sit around. No gardens. Car Park costs $9/night. One of the towels in my room was mouldy and another was stained. Staff try hard to compensate with a great attitude but this cannot hide the reality of a low-grade hotel. Any positives ? Room was OK with comfortable bed and good air conditioning. However, it had a connecting door to the next room which was not well sound proofed and my neighbours decided it would be nice to have their sound system on loud ! I would not return to this hotel. July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Bathroom Facilities I was very disappointed in my stay at Houston River Oaks. Although the room was clean, the plumbing in the room was more than inefficient. The toilet would not flush sufficiently creating an unsanitary situation. Also, there was very little hot water for the sink and shower. I alerted Guest Services on my first day there, but never received any kind of notification that anything was reviewed. Based on the second day, there were no improvements, so I can only guess that nothing happened to correct the situation. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and great hotel Every member of the staff, from the front desk to the shuttle to housekeeping, gave exceptional service. Had a small complaint about the bill, and they handled it immediately. The room was very spacious, and free of noise. Only complaint about room is that the bathroom door would not close all the way..but that is no big deal. We will use this hotel often in the future. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great staff. facility very clean and rooms very accommodating. Always a great place to stay. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Something that may be you could improve The experience during our stay was very good, and we have no complaints. The kindness of the staff must be remarked. The only comment about something that could be improved, without thereby detracting from the rest is that the guest room is lit only by soft lamps and there´s no bright or strong light that can fully iluminate it in case or prefering this way. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel execelente para ubicarse en HOuston Muy buena atención, servicio de personal y extras de atenciones para sus clientes: ej, café y té gratuito para los clientes las 24 horas. Servicio de Wi-fi, ordenadores, impresora... Y servicio gratuito de chofer para trasladarse al centro, supermercado, galeria de compras y centro médico. Excepcional. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by para mi la cama no es muy comoda Seria mejor que tuvieran camas mas comodas. la verdad es que para mi lo unico que no me gusto del hotel fue ese detalle, porque del resto todas las cosas estuvieron bien. Muchas gracias por toda la colaboracion. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent all around We have been staying here frequently for many months for visits to the medical center. We have been very pleased. Large, clean rooms and comfortable beds. The staff is among the best anywhere. They are friendly and efficient and have helped us out with our needs. Adam and Paul are names I remember, but I'm forgetful and they all deserve recognition. Thanks for making this available for medical center. June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Rooms were comfortable and clean Cleaning staff were professionals and so were the staff at the desk Plus the front was attentive to our needs June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The location of the Crowne Plaza is excellent and very convenient to the Medical (Hospital) community of Houston. This makes my life less complicated while on the road. The staff is amazing...taking care of all my needs. I really appreciate the Concierge, Mandy, does an Outstanding job!, I believe she honestly cares about each and every guest. The lounge is a great, Carlos makes it a fun, friendly place to unwind at the end of a stressful day of business. Sammie, the hotel operator, also makes me smile. I will continue to make this my home base when I am in the Houston area. June 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not great The entire hotel has a musty smell, the pool is green, it is hard to sleep with the freeway being right next to the hotel, there is not enough elevators for the size of the hotel and it is WAY over priced for the experience June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Room and Heavenly Bed! The Crown Plaza at Houston River Oaks was one of the most wonderful hotel experiences I have enjoyed in the last couple of years. I usually don't sleep well in hotels but I slept very peacefully and comfortably - awesone bed. The service was first class. The only thing I didn't enjoy was the Long Island Ice Tea - it was too sweet. I will definitely stay at this fine hotel on my next business trip to Houston. Thank you Crowne Plaza staff! June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff The staff at this hotel was exceptional. I would stay at this property again. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The hotel staff really go the extra mile to satisfy their clients. Room was very clean, organized, with lots of light. I'd recommend this hotel any day. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall Experience We are here at least once a month. We enjoy the location, easy access to work, restaurants and shopping. The hotel staff is very friendly and professional, always making us feel very welcomed. The ambiance is very nice and the rooms are clean and comfortable. This hotel is awesome but it is the staff (front desk) and Zara's team that keep us coming back. June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great clean large room. Staff was wonderful. Staying for medical reasons. Rate was great and much appreciated. Rooms were big and comfortable. Staff was super. Mandy was full of info. June 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fluctuating rates Although the hotel was very nice and the staff courteous, I will not be staying at a Crowne Plaza in the future. When staying my first time, I was given the medical rate since I am a patient at MD Anderson. This rate is listed on a website called Joe's House, which list hotels with medical rates for MD Anderson. Upon trying to reserve a room again for subsequent medical appointments (two weeks later), the rate had doubled. I suspect the reservation clerk was not quoting me the right rate, but she insisted that was the medical rate. I told her that it had increased by 100% in two weeks, but she could not explain the discrepancy. Needless to say, I did not book the room again. I want to again state that the staff was wonderful, and the hotel very nice, but the fluctuating medical rate will have me staying at other facilities when I visit Houston. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience I really loved the size of the rooms and the updated feel. The location is great and is close to down town and the med centers. I also appreciated the shuttle service that was offered to near by locations. June 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room was nice but hot! I've stayed at this property several times and it was nice. This time the air was not cooling and overnight it was hot. I thought it was a fluke, but the next night the room was hot again. When I reported it to the front desk, they said all the maintenance staff was gone but they could send up the security guard. Not once was there an offer to change rooms. I like the area so when I need to stay again, I will look at other properties in the area. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I would highly recomend this fabalous hotel. We were treated like we were important to them. The greatest staff I've seen in a long time. We have spent over sixty nights in hotels since Jan. 1 and this has been the very best. June 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Front Desk
Select to close.
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading