• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

This facility has a large number of Medical Guests. Our concern for their health has led us to restrict pets to those that provide a verifiable medical service. If non service pets are found we will asses a 250 fine and evict. No refund will be given.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Reliant Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Texas Medical Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Houston Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.45MI
Attraction:
Museum Of Natural History & Science
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:79
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open Parking Lot. Only one parking space available per room!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:56
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD
View More

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's and St. Luke's hospitals. Another perk for visitors in Houston, Texas is the Medical Center shuttle. The hotel's free shuttle runs to the area hospitals and Reliant Park.

Our central location close to the Houston Zoo and other downtown attractions, including the Rice Village shopping center, provides you with endless opportunities for entertainment during your visit. Reliant Stadium, just across the street, is North America's largest event complex, so you can rest assured there is always an exciting event to check out nearby.

Stay smart and eat smart every morning when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel with the free Express Start breakfast bar, which offers our signature, cinnamon rolls. If you indulge a little too much on great Texas barbecue, visit the on-site Fitness Center. Book your reservations in Houston, Texas today and start relaxing.

View Less
Features
From free parking to free Wi-Fi access to free breakfast, we make affordability a priority. With businesses and attractions like Reliant Park nearby, our hotel's guests benefit from the location, too.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 354 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Check in We arrived early to the hotel and asked if we were able to check in. They informed us that it would be able a 15 min wait. We decided that we would wait. Over 1 and 1/2 hours later, we complained about our wait and they got us a room 20 min later. September 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No hot Water While everything looks nice, no hot water is a biggie, having to return 4 times just to checkin not good. No pre check in procedures or not offered even after asking, after all I did have a reservation. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location& great Value. I like this location for my business needs. There are also great dinning in this area. I also like the full service restaurant on the property if I don't want to leave the property. They also have good bar with plenty of friendly patrons and a great bar tender. They truly is my home away from home. August 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Parking Not sure why we would have to pay for parking. I felt like if i was paying you to give me a chance to stay at your hotel. But i did enjoy my stay. August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay Enjoyed the stay. came back two nights later and stayed again. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay in Houston This is the 4th time we've stayed at this hotel. It's not the most luxurious hotel, but if you are looking for a clean, comfortable hotel with spacious rooms and a friendly and helpful staff, I highly recommend this hotel. It is consistently a great experience and we will definitely return. The gentleman who checked us in was extremely courteous and friendly. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Staffs are really helpful. Good location and spacious, well kept room. I will return! August 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed with the service of the hotel. I selected your hotel because you have a contract with North American Spine located 1.3 miles from the hotel. I was in Huston for a serious back surgery and needed a hotel where I could rest and was close to the surgery center. Our first night was a nightmare with loud noise next door that carried on for hours and kept us from getting ample rest for post-op the next day. Upon leaving the hotel the next morning, the shuttle driver refused to take my wife and I to the surgical center because he insisted he cold only go to MD Anderson. He was very rude about it. That made me late 45 minutes for the appointment which made the surgical staff upset with me. It also cast me a taxi fee. I had to pay for a taxi for 3 days, which I did not plan on, and added to the expense of my trip. If you have a contract with the surgical center, you need to fulfill that obligation or not advertise it to attract business. Staff at the desk were apologized for the shuttle driver's attitude and his lack of willingness to accommodate our needs. They informed me that he was wrong and was suppose to take us to the Surgical Center. In other words, he was wrong. But, that didn't help as it was too late. On a positive side, the room was clean and we were happy with it. The staff at the main desk were pleasant and very professional. We ate in the dining area on four occasions and the meals were wonderful. The service was good with the exception of the shuttle disaster which caused me two problems with scheduling at the Spine Institute. There is a chance I will need to return for a second surgery. I doubt if I will stay there again after the shuttle mess that took place. The schedule at the Surgery Center is tight and they cannot be waiting for patients because of transportation issues, especially when I gave myself 90 minutes extra to make sure I wasn't late. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to respond. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfy, We stayed here because my husband had to visit MD Anderson for his Leukemia. The hotel room was clean and quiet, The Bed was super comfortable and the large Fluffy pillows are Awesome! We will stay here again! Was a wonderful experience. The staff was so kind and professional. I only wish we had been here on Vacation! August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by front desk staff Your staff on the front desk are the most helpful of any of the hotels we stay at. My wife and I have been staying at the Crowne at least 2 nights a month for the last 10 months. The front desk staff treat us like family, even family you would want to be around. We have recomended The Crowne River Oaks to all our friends that will be in the Houston area. This is the only hotel we have stayed in that we feel at home when we arrive. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Very friendly and helpfull staff. comfortable and quite room. The property location is perfect in the nice Rover oaks area of Houston. Close to galleria and nice eating venues. The staff werr helpful and saw to your needs. Rooms are clean and quite August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by worked out perfect for our needs! We had to be in houston for a long stretch! The staff at this property is amazing ! They make you feel like family. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Great Place, great beds, nice bar and good breakfast August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Stay The hotel is big enough to have the amenities and services for an executive business trip. The only problem was no maid service in my room between the first and second nights. Everything else was good. August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk The reason why I gave 10 for the front desk and staff, was only because of the lady that I am speaking of at the front desk (young black lady) It should be on the registration, she checked me in, so they can find out her name from there. She has made my stay enjoyable every time I've been there, and I've stayed at the hotel probably 4 to 5 time in the last 3 months and I've recommended other to stay there. Excellent employee. August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location but weird smell Travel for business 3 weeks a month and always stay here but noticing that the weird, musty smell in the hallways and rooms is getting worse. All of my clothes and luggage pick up the smell and have to be washed twice when I get home. Rate it good for the area and location is convenient but would look for a hotel that did not smell like this if there was a comparable rate. August 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by friendly and efficient staff Good location for MD Anderson visit with the special discounted rate. Front desk staff and concierge service were excellent. Overall rating was reduced due to hotel experiencing broken A/C system during our stay and we had to relocate to another hotel. August 10, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by no hot water in morning 4 out of five days. I showered with cold water due to high demand in the morning .. weekend was ok August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice staff staff very helpful and attentive. Only knock is my a/c went out that night and the parking garage is super tight. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value in Houston Very comfortable room with refrigerator. Excellent central location. $9 daily self park fee. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by my stay may thru july My stay each week was comfortable efficient and the staff makes the difference on a property that needs a little renovation. These people are the friendliest people in regards to taking care of any issue efficiently with a smile. Thank you Mandi Paul Jerri Jorge and Carlos for making the difference for over 2 months in houston. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome front desk personnel Our stay was very, very comfortable. The front desk personnel was very helpful and went beyond to help us during our stay. The room was very comfortable and was very quiet. We enjoyed our stay. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay was highly satisfied with room service and employees except loud neighbors we received in the night August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great pillow and nice place went for a weekend and it was great only thing was there was hardly any water pressure and the hot water would take awhile, but then again we where in the 16 floor great place to stay August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful accomodations and great service The staff is amazing, the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. We love the idea that the hotel arranges for transportation to restaurants, the mall and the hospitals. The concierge was helpful and knowledgeable How easy this made a difficult situation. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My recent stay The hotel is very convenient to the Houston Medical Center. The staff treated me very well and was very friendly. My family really enjoyed staying at the Crown Plaza River Oaks. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room and Friendly Staff We have stayed with Crowne Plaza on numerous occasions, this hotel was especially accommodating and comfortable. It is in a great part of town with lots of shopping and restaurants close by. We were in town for some medical tests and therefore what was a very stressful occasion was eased by the comfort of the room and helpful attitude of the staff. August 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for the price This hotel is in a great location. Although the hotel is older, The room and bed were comfortable and clean. We didn't find the parking garage objectionable at all. It was well-lit and easily accessible - and there is no parking charge! We still like to have some sort of breakfast included in our room charge though, but none of the Crowne Plazas that we have stayed in seem to agree. The front desk was very helpful with our questions regarding Houston, places to eat, etc. August 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Old, smelly hotel I normally stay at the Crowne Plaza on Kirby, by the Texans Dome. However, I thought Id stay someplace different, and regretted it the moment I walked in the door. The lobby was warm and stuffy and the hotel reeked of a smell that is hard to describe. Like a musk, herbal, spice incense and it was really strong. Im assuming it was to cover the stench of the hotel (which you could really smell in the elevator). The room was small, bed was hard, sheets were like plastic. There was a gatorade on the window sill, that was so old it had a fungus growing on it….. The pillows were hard. The bathroom wall paper was peeling off the wall toward the floor. The towels were rough and smelled just like the hotel… nasty. I was going to eat at the restaurant but a guest of the hotel stopped me on the way in and told me it was the nastiest food she ever ate. My car was hit in the parking garage, and the shuttle to MD Anderson only ran like every 2 - 3 hours. The other hotel ran every hour on the half hour. Who wants to sit and wait on a shuttle for 3 hours ???? I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who prefers a clean, pleasant hotel experience. I will NEVER go back!!!! July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service with clean rooms and great staff. My overall experience was great will recommend hotel to friends and relatives. Staff And service was over my expectations.Rooms were very clean. July 31, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading