• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

This facility has a large number of Medical Guests. Our concern for their health has led us to restrict pets to those that provide a verifiable medical service. If non service pets are found we will asses a 250 fine and evict. No refund will be given.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Reliant Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Texas Medical Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Houston Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.45MI
Attraction:
Museum Of Natural History & Science
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:79
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open Parking Lot. Only one parking space available per room!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:56
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD
View More

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's and St. Luke's hospitals. Another perk for visitors in Houston, Texas is the Medical Center shuttle. The hotel's free shuttle runs to the area hospitals and Reliant Park.

Our central location close to the Houston Zoo and other downtown attractions, including the Rice Village shopping center, provides you with endless opportunities for entertainment during your visit. Reliant Stadium, just across the street, is North America's largest event complex, so you can rest assured there is always an exciting event to check out nearby.

Stay smart and eat smart every morning when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel with the free Express Start breakfast bar, which offers our signature, cinnamon rolls. If you indulge a little too much on great Texas barbecue, visit the on-site Fitness Center. Book your reservations in Houston, Texas today and start relaxing.

View Less
Features
From free parking to free Wi-Fi access to free breakfast, we make affordability a priority. With businesses and attractions like Reliant Park nearby, our hotel's guests benefit from the location, too.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 99 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by location great clean, friendly great hotel, all areas of hotel were clean and staff extremly friendly and helpful October 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Motel This is a nice motel. It is a little hard to find if you are not familiar with its location but it is very clean and staff were very nice. October 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fine for a 3 night stay Staff was friendly and room was clean, comfortable and adequately equipped. Noise level was low. October 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My stay This property is good for what we needed which was a base for a family member being treated at MD Anderson Cancer Center. The reason for the bed comfort was I am a large person and sleeping on a fold-out mattress is never good. Over all it suited our needs. October 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Houston Candlewood a good place to stay Comfortable, good friendly staff, will allow you 4 legged traveling companions. In-hotel store is convenient. While I was there no pool was available. This is the only negative about my stay. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliness and comfort The staff at Candlewood Suites were very friendly, which is welcoming when one is in an unfamiliar city. They were understanding and helpful when contacting them for directions and information. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cozy home from home Very nice old quaint hotel with kitchen. It's missing all the bells and whistles of a higher quality hotel however you can't beat the comfort. No cleaning of the rooms provided your entire stay so those with kids will have to clean as you go. For me, a single business traveling, this was not a problem. Lastly, bring your own...everything, coffee, milk, shampoo, etc. BUT, sleep well, safe and protected. October 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Awful stay We have stayed at this property the last four trips to Houston for hospital stays. The first time it was fine, however, has gotten progressively worse. This time the internet connection only worked 2 of 10 tries. The smoke smell in elevators and room has also gotten progressively worse. We are IHG rewards members and almost always use an IHG property. The Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express and Candlewood seem to switch on who offers hospital discounts. I would suggest the other two if they offer and another brand if they do not. We have to use the internet to make appointments and check schedules. We had to leave room and use fast food places to do this. It has been reported every time we use the hotel and has only gotten worse. October 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Makes navigating MD Anderdson much easier Bed was a little hard but the staff more than made up for it. From first to last they were friendly, helpful and lived up to their reputation. September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service All associates were courteous, friendly and accommodating. All services were excellent, and the shuttle service was extremely important in my case. The rooms, interior, and exterior of the building were clean. The location is very convenient to accessing stores, pharmacies, grocery stores, restaurants, and other needs. My wife and I will stay with you again and again. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff My husband was having surgery at MD Anderson. The room was much bigger than I had anticipated, with a kitchenette. Very clean. Easy route to the hospital, though we didn't need to worry since they offered a shuttle service. The staff was very friendly and most helpful. Would definitely stay at this location again. September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SRVICE I HAVE CANCER AND WAS GOING BACK AND FORTH TO MD ANDERSON. THE STAFF WAS GREAT AND THE COURTESY VAN WAS A LIFE SAVER. I HAVE STAYED HERE SEVERAL TIMES THROUGH OU THE COURSE OF MY TREATMENTS AND THE HOTEL IS ALWAYS CLEAN AND A GREAT ATTENTIVE STAFF. September 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by check in From previous notes, had trouble because reservations werent made by the staff and then checking out, they charged the wrong card, not the buisness card on file. Yes they were told to charge the buisness card and not my card I used for incidentals. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice One of the better places to stay in the area. I would recommend Candlewood over other places just about everywhere. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by multiple stays We have made several trips to M.D. Anderson and almost every stay has been with Candlewood Suites. The staff is nice and helpful. Rooms are clean and comforable. Free transportation to and from medical center is a plus. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable room I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, and found the provisions to be adequate, clean, and comfortable. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice facilities and service Clean and pleasant place to stay. They have a shuttle to the Medical Center which was a real added bonus. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service Indeed the Candlewood Suites provided top rated service. In addition, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were spacious and tidy along with comfortable and suitable furnishing. I look forward to staying at the Candlewood Suites time and time again! By the way the prices are affordable and the locations are within walking distance from local establishments. August 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE Unprofessional front desk. Not familiar with hotel layout when assigning rooms. There was a 30 minute delay in checking in. Only one person at the desk with others waiting to check in all while the clerk isanswering incoming calls. Stayed at this location before...it is always the same problem...the manager and or owner has done nothing to improve the situation. I do alot of business travel and this is the worse yet. This was my last stay!! August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay This is a good hotel for the price. The staff was very accommodating.. I recommend this hotel. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Above and Beyond! Candlewood Suites at the Houston Medical Center was more than I expected for my stay in Houston. Every hotel employee I had the pleasure of dealing with was extremely pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Kim, D'Avonti and Claudia stood out above all of the rest. The hotel itself was very nice and kept very clean. It was a wonderful experience! August 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great price, but lacking some basics The hotel is very clean, rooms are clean. Furniture in my room was very worn and cracked, The room temp was tough to get consistent. It was either very cold or hot. Don't like how AC shuts off in the middle of the night due to in activity. I stay at this hotel because it is next door to my companies Houston offices and rely on the little store for breakfast. Choices were very slim, only had diet non caffeine cold drinks. I have stayed here a few times and it has always been a great value for the price, but this time I was very disappointed. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific service I have nothing but praise for this hotel. We were in town for doctors visits. We were called immediately after checking in to see if there was anything that we needed. Upon checking out, we were told to have a great day. Actually, the clerk made my day. The room was clean and well supplied. The cost of the room was well below what we expected to pay compared to other hotels in the area. We will return next year!! August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service at Candlewood Suites Loved my stay at Candlewood--great value, but best of all great staff. The service was outstanding! I completely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Texas Med Center. It is wonderful in every way! August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Easy access to 610. Very comfortable room with good amenities. Would definitely stay again for extended reasons. Good shower pressure. Slept well every night. Love the free laundry. July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Decent hotel for the money The staff is nice, the place is kept clean, but there are a couple things to consider. First the location is terrible if you are not in town for medical treatment at Medical Center, or going to an event at NRG. There is nothing around, it is a grimy part of town, and ugly. Also, I stayed here for nearly two months, and in that time only two out of five washing machines worked. The problem was brought to the attention of management, they brought out a repair guy, which accomplished nothing. When I left, two machines worked. That is annoying and inconvenient, especially when Candlewood makes such a big deal about this amenity. Read other reviews from between May and now and you will see many guests mention this, and one response even says it was taken care of, this is not true as of July 23rd. Besides them being broken it looks like they have never been cleaned, which was also mentioned to management, and not addressed. The internet is garbage, if you need good fast internet on your stay you wont get that here. There is a pool but they dont use it. Its hot in Houston, you may want a place with a pool. We got a good medical rate, we never felt unsafe, and like I said, they keep the place pretty clean and the staff is friendly, so if the location works for you and you won't be staying for an extended period you can probably save some money staying here. But for long stays where you need to have internet and washing machines, you may want to weigh your options. July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Staff was great!!!! Hotel was clean and rooms were comfortable. July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PLACE NO POOL gREAT PLACE TO STAY BUT THERES NO POOL. VERY CLEAN AND COMFORABLE NICE KITCHEN IN ROOMS July 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by very bad smell overall the hotel As I'm a platinum IHG member, I never experienced this stay in any hotel around the world. They have to change the carpet, the smell is bad and it is not upto the living standards, I have to change hotel, even i complain to the front desk, they can't do anything, I was surprised that management didn't bother to call and try to do something, July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent, helpful staff We found the staff to be very customer friendly; always willing to help and to be available for assistance. July 23, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading