• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

This facility has a large number of Medical Guests. Our concern for their health has led us to restrict pets to those that provide a verifiable medical service. If non service pets are found we will asses a 250 fine and evict. No refund will be given.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Reliant Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Texas Medical Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Houston Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.45MI
Attraction:
Museum Of Natural History & Science
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:79
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open Parking Lot. Only one parking space available per room!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:56
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD
View More

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's and St. Luke's hospitals. Another perk for visitors in Houston, Texas is the Medical Center shuttle. The hotel's free shuttle runs to the area hospitals and Reliant Park.

Our central location close to the Houston Zoo and other downtown attractions, including the Rice Village shopping center, provides you with endless opportunities for entertainment during your visit. Reliant Stadium, just across the street, is North America's largest event complex, so you can rest assured there is always an exciting event to check out nearby.

Stay smart and eat smart every morning when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel with the free Express Start breakfast bar, which offers our signature, cinnamon rolls. If you indulge a little too much on great Texas barbecue, visit the on-site Fitness Center. Book your reservations in Houston, Texas today and start relaxing.

View Less
Features
From free parking to free Wi-Fi access to free breakfast, we make affordability a priority. With businesses and attractions like Reliant Park nearby, our hotel's guests benefit from the location, too.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 239 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice bed great service The location was close to M D Anderson and shopping was within walking distance. The bed was nice and the A/C worked well, however the dresser was broken and the chair was worn, but comfortable. The pool and hot tub were nice. My steak was ok but overpriced at the sports bar and they had soft music playing instead of sports volume, but the bartender put my NASCAR race, which I could not get in my room, which was strange. It would have been nice to have a small refrigerator in the room. May 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Staff and clean rooms The best thing I can say is the front desks staff was great. The hotel is fine, in a good location however floors were poorly decorated - nothing inviting. I ate breakfast in the restaurant once and it was nothing to brag about not to mention overpriced. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Double Queen room Room and service were great. Everyone was courteous. Shuttle was on time and helpful. Breakfast buffett was good everyday. Fresh fruit. Internet was fast and reliable. We relied on the internet a lot and appreciated the free internet. Plenty of food locations near plus two stores and a walgreens. Near metro bus. May 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by REDO This property is ready to be remodeled. I know the desire to keep making money is the "American Way", but you have to spend a little to get a little and whomever owns this property obviously doesn't realize that. I suppose being at Reliant Stadium creates a perfect opportunity because most people are staying overnight, or us business travelers are stuck because we don't have time to change hotels. The wi-fi is very, very bad. I had two co-workers, each on a higher floor and they said same thing; you can't browse regular pages and the 800 number staff play games by having you perform functions that most people would think are helpful, but I work in IT and had to call them out on it on the second call, plus they return you call the following morning (when they know you're at work). I say this because I told them specifically to call me back before midnight (twice); I got a call the next morning around 9:00 on the first try and no callback the second time around. The A/C unit stopped on its' own the second night, and a co-worker said he had the same issue, so I called and had someone come fix it and while they claimed they fixed the wi-fi and A/C problems (and I do not know how they could have fixed the wi-fi because the problem is the owner is too cheap to add more wi-fi routers/access points), I still wi-fi that crawled and would not connect 90% of the time or would connect and not proceed to the next webpage and an A/C unit that needed to be put in FAN mode first, then switched to COLD mode in order to work. Housekeeping was great and the only bright spot as my room always had perfectly made beds, neatly placed towels (and all of them). May 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Great location, quiet hotel! My only concern would be that our room was a little dirty. I found cobwebs in the corners, and our table had not been cleaned under the glass. The housekeeping is excellent! They were friendly ladies, if we needed anything from laundry, to extra towels or wash clothes, coffee, etc...they were always ready and willing to help. The front desk was very helpful in helping us extend our stay at a short notice. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accommodating and professional Clean and accessible facility, professional and accommodating staff. I have preferred to stay close to the HQ office downtown on my stays, but this proved to be equal in quality--just farther from my destination. The fact that I did not have to pay for parking was a plus. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service! Easy check-in. Nice room on the top floor - we called it "the penthouse". Pat & Jose were extremely helpful with the only difficulty - a plugged drain when we arrived. Wish the bar/restaurant still had a happy hour. Great selection of hot and cold food at the breakfast buffet. We were comp'd #thanks!# but check to see if breakfast is included in your reservation. Thanks for an enjoyable stay. April 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, comfortable bed, clean room BUT very tired decor The decor is rough, getting to plugs for computers and phones almost impossible by desk. Bed is comfortable and bathroom clean. Staff very nice and good. April 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, wonderful time Check in time was a breeze. The lobby clerk was friendly and helpful. The room was what I wanted and comfortable, if you know what I mean. Sometimes, at other places, you ask for a certain kind of room but when you get there, your room has changed from what you wanted, so I was pleased with my room. The only thing I did desire in my room that wasn't there was a bottle of water. I got thirsty during the night and I sure could have used a bottle of water. Above all, everything else was great. April 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Great! That's all I want to say! Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you April 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Reliant Park Area Houston This hotel is located right across from Reliant Stadium and close to area restaurants and grocery stores. It is a "full service" Holiday Inn with a restaurant and bar. It services many cancer patients visiting the great hospitals in the area. The outside of the hotel was very well kept. Each room had a microwave and fridge. The furniture was old and had stains/spots/scratches everywhere. The carpets were clean but still had an odor. Everything worked well in the room including Wi-Fi and there was a 6 plug adapter by the desk for charging devices. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Bathroom was good size and everything in there worked well. Price for room was WAY TOO HIGH and price for breakfast buffet was also TOO HIGH. Hotel staff including check-in and buffet were friendly and helpful. March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay but needs a few updates We stayed for a trip to the Medical Center and first thing at check in, Telisa gave us EXCELLENT customer service. She made sure that we had sufficient time to check out the next day since I had a dr's appt that morning. The rooms were nice and had a great view of Reliant Stadium. They did need some updating and the mattresses DEFINITLY need to be replaced but it was clean and quiet. The shuttle driver, George, was very friendly and helpful. Room service was okay for coffee but buffett is way expensive. I will be coming back to Houston for a surgery in the near future and I will make another stay here. March 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room--VERY BAD FOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Our room was very comfortable and clean. The food in both cafes was too expensive for food that is almost inedible. A hotel as good as this one should have much better food. March 26, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst experience ever! In over 30 years of travel this is by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in! Staff was semi unprofessional and we had to change rooms 3 times in four nights. We booked this hotel 1 year in advance as I have a neuromuscular condition and the convenience to the stock show made it possible for me to rest. However, our entire trip was a nightmare and rest was the last thing I got. Such a shame that just because you are closest to the show you can treat people that way. I plan on registering a complaint with your corporate office . I have stayed in five star hotels that were worth more than what I paid. This hotel wasn't even worth half of the price. We will never stay at that hotel again and have recommended our friends do the same. So disappointed!!!!!! There are many hotels in Houston that will provide so much more next year and that's where we and many of our friends will be staying. March 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very disappointed We stayed at this hotel because my daughter had a doctor's appointment with MD Anderson. The initial check in to get a room took somewhere between 30 min to an hour before we even got to speak to a representative to get our hotel room. We requested a stay for 2 nights thinking that the doctor's appointment would be possibly 2 days-thinking there might be some tests to be ran on my daughter the next day. When we got to our room--the door to our hotel room was ajar. You could clearly see that something was wrong with the door/doorjam. My husband went into the room and checked it out and we(my daughter and I# went into the room after his saying it was ok. Since we were Hilton honor members the hotel representative gave us the extended checkout time of 2pm. We went to my daughter's doctor appointment the next day at 1pm and the doctor released my daughter so we didn't need to stay a second night. We got to the hotel pretty close to 1:45 - 2pm. Once again--there was at least a 20 to 30 min #maybe longer) wait on getting a representative to talk to about not needing a second night. We asked the representative if we could not be charged for the second night.. He in turn --went and asked the manager--- and came out and told us no we would still be charged the second night. So...disappointed we said ok, went up to our hotel room and our key cards would not work. So we went back down to the desk, once again it took 20 - 30 min to be waited on and asked to why our key cards wouldn't work. AFter 3-4 times of going back and forth to our room and back down to the check in desk--we heard the reasons that our key cards wouldn't work was 1)that we had already checked out 2) that we possibly put our key cards against our phone. Finally--after speaking with the manager and her telling us that she would only charge us for half the room rate, we told her we didn't want to stay another night and by the way...just fyi...the door was ajar when we checked in last night. SHe said she wouldn't charge us at all after hearing that. We still had the issue of getting our belongings out of the room because our key cards wouldn't work to the door. They finally sent up security and a maintenance person and determined that the key card battery was dead. It was certainly a fiasco!!!!! I am hoping it was just the weekend and not the normal service. Thank you for letting me share. March 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast bar was a nice way to start the day. March 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and clean rooms. I have stayed at this hotel many times as an M.D. Anderson patient. Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean and tidy. Hotel is quiet and staff are friendly. The breakfast buffet has a lot to choose from. I especially appreciated the buffet staff. They are friendly and made me feel at home when I had to be away from mine. March 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Horrific For starters Associate Greta who checked us in was extremely rude, we were sweating every night I have a 9 month old and he slept in just a diaper and was sweating,mirror fell off the wal at 1137 pm which woke my baby up. The next night we received a phone call about a credit card issue at midnight to which I hung up also woke my baby up. There is no free breakfast to which is 9.00 for just cereal and juice. I needed an adjoining room for my babysitter to which Greta acted like was a horrific ordeal I was room 701 she got room 714 those accommodations were not met March 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Our stay is always excellent because of the staff. From Gretta at the front desk to Pat in security, we are always well taken care of. These women go out of their way to be helpful. I am sure there are better and less expensive hotels, but the staff here makes the difference. March 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyable facility we enjoyed our stay at your facility and had a great rest February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best people We picked it because it was the cheapest on the list with a van service to M. D. Anderson. The van drivers are really great. Over time we have come to appreciate the front desk as well. They are very helpful. Even the snack shop has very friendly and helpful people with surprisingly good selection. Maintenance was also prompt and helpful as well. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, friendly and helpful staff. Great location for restaurants, target and grocery store. If attending events at Reliant Stadium it's virtually right out the back door. Unfortunately I was here for a medical reason. Hotel offers shuttle to all medical facilities. February 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by return to the 1970's We stayed at this property due to it's proximity to Rice University. It felt like I had been transported back to a Holiday Inn in the 1970's based on the room and the amenities. The property was clean and the bed was comfortable, but having to move a nightstand & plug my phone charger into a dusty triple-plug shoved into a recepticle just above the floor was an upleasant flashback and paying for a spartan continental breakfast was not something that I would seek out to do again. Thx. February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by medical stay Great service, great location. Everyone very friendly. Housekeeping personnel extremely helpful. Can't remember the names, but excellent . Its awesome to have a shuttel available to the Hospital appointments. The Holiday Inn deserves a great big pat on back for helping us, who are there so much, due to spouses fight with cancer. The discount is a great help. Thankyou so much. February 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Houston Reliant Park The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows and blankets were terrible. House keeping never left coffee or cups in the room. Always had to ask. Ordered coffee thru room service and the dishes smelled dirty. Very hard to control temp in room. Not the experience we expected from Holiday Inn. February 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A bit run down Stayed a night on business. Check in was quick and I was treated well as platinum. My 7th floor room was below HI standard and hallway carpets were worn-out/dull. Iron board leg was broken and I had to request a replacement, which was prompt. I wish I had stayed elsewhere but my PC loyalty probably made me choose this. Noticed another IHG property close by. February 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by best staff in the world best restaurant food ever The hotel is older and needs some cosmetics. But the rooms were comfortable and clean. Heating units worked well and were quiet. Just time for a little paint. THE STAFF. I travel 200 plus days a year and the staff was excellent. Friendly and helpful. They must be treated well by their management as I never ever saw a frown on anyone's face. They were concerned with our safety as well as our needs. If I could, I would hire each and everyone of them. Truly one of the best staffs I have ever seen. FOOD Normally when I travel knowing I have to order in is generally not to exciting. But I had four of the best meals I have ever had including at 5 start resorts. This was just good simple food done right. We all like a 5 star meal sometimes, but generally you really want just good food cooked right. The steaks were perfect, the sandwiches were great. The buffet was well done. It was not elaborate just everything was cooked well and a great selection. The prices were reasonable. Who ever was cooking knew their stuff. The seasonings on the meat dishes were great and not overdone. I know I am going on about this but when you eat at hotels over 100 nights a year, you will appreciate this. Really a great stay. February 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lost our clothes and goodies We made a reservation to stay on Friday because of construction in our house, called next day to extend the reservation one more day. Went home to get more clothes and received a call indicating that the room was empty. We told them that we had extended the reservation and left some clothes and goodies at the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel, only a small personal bag was in the lost and found and the rest of our possessions were missing. It has been over a week and we have not received even a call from anybody indicating what happened to our possessions. Will never go back and would never recommend it. February 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated and paper thin walls Stayed here on Friday and Saturday night. First impression was that it was a nice lobby with somewhat friendly staff at check in. Immediately surprised by how dated everything was upon arriving on our floor. In room was met with same outdated feel. More importantly, most rooms have adjoining doors (con in my opinion). Furniture looks as though it has been dragged behind a moving truck. That night we knew immediately when our neighbors arrived to their room because I woke honestly thinking someone was in the room with us. Could hear everything! (Including the sound of them urinating in bathroom!!) Next night asked to be moved to another room. Met with same worn furniture and that night there were people being loud in hallways. Security was quick to come and breakup upon calling front desk (pro). I know I am not the only one who has stayed here and had a problem with the thin walls because at checkout I mentioned it to front desk and was told that she hears that a lot and hopefully this would be addressed with an upcoming renovation. Needless to say, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and will not be returning. February 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Will never stay here again We had an ordinary check-in. I gave them my credit card, they swiped it, I signed the forms. It was a pre-paid rate. On our third and last night I was woken up at 11:30 pm. The phone rang and it was the receptionist telling me my credit card had been rejected and I had to go down stairs and pay for my room. I explained I was already asleep and would take care of it in the morning. And asked why they waited until 11:30 pm on my last night instead of anytime during my previous 3 days. She said it was a mistake. Their mistake. I refused to go downstairs. I had a 10-hour drive home the following morning and needed to sleep. Three minutes later, the hotel general manager was knocking at my door telling me "all my cards had been rejected and had to go downstairs and provide payment or else vacate the room". The threat made me furious. So I got dressed and went to the front desk, paid for my room, and the hotel manager walked over to apologize and offer me free breakfast. The restaurant food is awful. I wasn't interested in a free breakfast, I needed to rest. This manager ruined a great weekend with his attitude and poor management skills. February 11, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading