• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

This facility has a large number of Medical Guests. Our concern for their health has led us to restrict pets to those that provide a verifiable medical service. If non service pets are found we will asses a 250 fine and evict. No refund will be given.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Hermann Park
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Reliant Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
The Downtown Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Bayou Place
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:79
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open Parking Lot. Only one parking space available per room!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:56
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD
View More

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's and St. Luke's hospitals. Another perk for visitors in Houston, Texas is the Medical Center shuttle. The hotel's free shuttle runs to the area hospitals and Reliant Park.

Our central location close to the Houston Zoo and other downtown attractions, including the Rice Village shopping center, provides you with endless opportunities for entertainment during your visit. Reliant Stadium, just across the street, is North America's largest event complex, so you can rest assured there is always an exciting event to check out nearby.

Stay smart and eat smart every morning when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel with the free Express Start breakfast bar, which offers our signature, cinnamon rolls. If you indulge a little too much on great Texas barbecue, visit the on-site Fitness Center. Book your reservations in Houston, Texas today and start relaxing.

View Less
Features
From free parking to free Wi-Fi access to free breakfast, we make affordability a priority. With businesses and attractions like Reliant Park nearby, our hotel's guests benefit from the location, too.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.4 out of 5 by 385 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average We were there for a continuing education conference, but did not use one of the rooms that was blocked for the conference attendees. We chose a different room because we wanted a king size bed. The difference in price was neglible if we paid ahead and accepted the fact that there would be no refund if we had to cancel. However, when we found out that we were going to be in town a day earlier than originally planned and called to make sure we could get the room a day earlier, the room charge was exhorbitant for the one night. The room was pretty average as was the bathroom and pretty much everything else about the hotel. The bed was so high I had to use the ottoman to climb up on the bed. The meeting rooms were so far from our room there was no way we could go by the room on a ten minute break. It was right across the street from Reliant Stadium, so if you are going to a game, it would probably be a good place to stay. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience! This hotel was very accommodating to your every needs. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the Crown Plaza! The exterior was beautiful and I felt special when the door man held the door open for us. The lobby was beautiful as well as the restaurants. The room was beautiful and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small and needed a little upgrade but it was not a problem. The staff was excellent. They were always so helpful and friendly. We stayed in the tower. Also the shuttle drivers were so nice and helpful and kind. I was very pleased with our stay. April 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service We stayed on the weekend of the 2014 Houston Supercross. This hotel has over 600 rooms and only had 2 staff working the front desk. My son and his girlfriend both work at a hotel at the front desk and made the comment how understaffed this front desk was with a sold-out hotel. With that said, the daytime front desk staff were amazing and patient and very accommodating to our requests and we had a wonderful stay. We will definitely be back again! April 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service desk staff and housekeeping was all smiles and helpful. Great assest. Reservation staff very friendly and helpful also. April 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by So so experience I booked my room here because it was close to Reliant Stadium and my experience at the motel next to the Crown Plaza was horrible. My room was in the Rio Grande building, I'm guessing that they are doing some renovation work as it smelled like paint and all of the floor molding was gone. If you are 6'3 and above, you will have to duck down while walking through the hallways as the ceiling are low. We used the elevator and it sounded like it was going to breakdown at any time. The room itself was nice, first hotel I've stayed in were the thermostat was located on the wall and not the wall unit. Downside of the room was there was no microwave, mini fridge and you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the rooms next to each other. I'm not sure what was going on, but it sounded like a pump was being used every 10 mins. First hotel I've ever stayed at were breakfast was not complementary. I figured for what it costs to stay here, something would come included. I know it sounds like I'm knit picking but If you are going to spend your hard earned money somewhere, you want what you paid for and I don't feel for the price, it was worth it. The other thing I wasn't able to use my company discount as I had prepaid for my room. Next year I will probably stay in a different hotel. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient We went to Supercross next door at the Reliant Stadium and chose to stay here at the last minute because of the location. The convenient walk to Reliant Stadium made it worth the price. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay while undergoing treatment at MD Anderson Once we got a TV Remote control and a couple of bath towels the night we checked in, everything was excellent. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Good food. Comfortable beds. Was a good experience while undergoing treatment at MD Anderson. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for MD Anderson patients As an MD Anderson patient for seven years, I have found this hotel to be one of the best choices for me and my husband, based on the patient number price, the shuttle service, the free hot breakfast, the very comfortable beds, the inside restaurant, and the peaceful quiet. The shuttle runs every half hour and it will take you to all and any places medically that you have an appointment. Once you are done for the day, you call the shuttle number and let them know where you are and they will pick you up and return you to the hotel. It is just that easy! And the staff is very friendly, and the food is good! April 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location but in need of a face lift Nice public areas. Hotel is a bit run down and in need of some upkeep. Carpets need replacing, etc. Given it's location next to reliant stadium I can only imagine the difficulty the staff has in keeping the facility nice and clean. Breakfast buffet was just o.k. April 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay The staff (ESPECIALLY, Angela, Ameenah & Steve) made our stays a lot more stress free. Breakfast buffet is awesome. Just wish bathrooms were bigger & there had been an ottoman in the room to put my swollen feet on. April 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by decent For the price I would have thought the room and bathroom would be exceotional. Unfortunately, the shower was not nice at all. with all the cracks and space openings in the tiles above the shower head i was scared to shower in it. The room was not worth the price. April 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible old smell Small bathroom, broken AC, Terri le "old" smell, public bathroom really stunk, bad area March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decor was tired, but staff and location are great The lobby area looks great, but the rooms and buildings are definitely a little "tired" and could use some updating. The location is great for activities at Reliant. The staff is friendly and customer service was top notch which helped us to overlook the worn down look of the room hallways and the very tired, decrepit elevator. Upon check-in, we determined our bathroom had not been fully cleaned as there were toiletries from the previous guest(s) present in the shower. We called the desk and immediately housekeeping was dispatched and did a thorough cleaning of the room (we were offered another room, but because it was not adjacent or near our travelling companions, we opted to have our existing room cleaned) The restaurant staff was great as was room service personnel. All in all, it was a good experience. March 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what expected Check in went smoothly. Then we get put in the old run down part of hotel. Doors don't seem to close properly had to get new room keys twice. Rodeo parking takes away from hotel guests parking. Pricy restaurant and breakfast was horrible. Definitely not what we expected from crowne plaza. March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk staff Nicole P. at the front desk was very helpful , for several weeks, with my requests at time of check out. Very helpful. March 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't book this hotel I have stayed at a Crowne Plaza before and was very impressed so I did not check the reviews. If I had read the reviews in advance I would not have made reservations as most of the negative things I read came true. the only redeeming feature of this hotel was the lobby; however it was misleading. the decor in the "New Part" was dismal at best; think retro 70-80s gold tone carpets and faux velvet drapes that needed a clip to stay together; The service was terrible; there was no greeting when we pulled up; the associate at the desk was rude and while in the middle of our conversation with her someone walked up abruptly and told us we had to move our vehicle. A parking pass was provided but I was concerned about the safety of putting our room number on it and it expired the next day instead of at the end of our stay. Further, they were selling parking to the rodeo participants and would not guarantee us a parking space. We therefore felt that we needed to walk to dinner as the hotel menu was pricy. The good news is one night was paid for with points and the second night with a medical rate. It was good that I was not out much money, but my points would have been better spent. The regular price of a room is not a value March 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great girls weekend in houston I recently typed a review and not sure if it actually was submitted. A girlfriend and I was in houston march 21 and 22, 2014 for a girls weekend of shopping and to attend the rodeo. We booked rooms in the tower and was pleased with the hotel. We visited the hotel bar Friday and Saturday night and had a wonderful time and made new friends. The parking is a challenge when there is an event at reliant stadium and I would rather a sign on my dash than the sticker on my windshield that is a challenge to remove. Also, the breakfast is a little pricey but the restaurant is nice and quiet to enjoy a cup of coffee. We look forward to returning next year and hopefully seeing some of these friends that we made. March 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel. questionable staff First ill start by saying that'll the reviews that state the hotel is a dump...are wrong! Sure it's not the Taj Mahal but very clean and comfy. The room was very clean. Beds were super comfy. Room was updated and modern. Now to the staff. Majority of them were rude and seemed put out that you asked any questions. I left my room one day at 11am and returned at 5pm and it had not been cleaned yet. Minutes later the maid came to the room and yelled at us to leave because she needed to clean it. I called to have one of the refrigerators brought to our room. They never delivered it. Days later we got it when we called again. We had to get to a breakfast voucher every morning for our included buffet that we paid for. Depending on who was at the front desk they would question you like you were trying to steal the food. And they would sigh and roll their eyes when you asked for it. Hotels location was amazing and close to rodeo. Rooms were spotless and comfortable. Staff in restaurant was super friendly, but other hotel staff was terrible. March 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Updated Nice updates to the hotel. Clean facility. Needed more people at check in to help get guest registered. Only had two. Restaurant staff at breakfast was lacking in waitress skills. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Girls weekend at the rodeo 2014 We came to houston for a girls weekend for shopping and rodeo 2014. The hotel is a fantastic location and very nice. We visited the hotel bar Friday March 21 and Saturday March 22 while staying. The staff was very friendly and efficient at the bar. The band was fantastic and we met and made many friends. My only complaint was that the breakfast is a little pricey. We will definitely be back for the rodeo next year. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location/service This hotel is excellent if you plan on attending something at the Reliant Park. We were able to park our car and then walk all weekend to the Rodeo. The doorman showed us that we could walk by walking all the way down the hotel hallway and then just go across the street vs walking all the way outside of the block like we had planned to do. The room service food was good. How often do you find a Homemade hamburger patty in room service?! The fries were your typical fast food but the burger was awesome! Everyone was nice and helpful. Will be staying again when we go back next year! March 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 checking in I made 14 group reservations for our group in December and in Feb. I made a rooming list and did not get the list back until a week before our stay. Every room during check was incorrect including my one and I made the reservations. They had my brother who was not even staying there checking in and nothing for me, but we all got rooms and the personal at the front desk were very helpful. We stay at a lot of hotels and I make all the group blocks and this was the worst one and it is safe to say we will not be back. I check in at midnight and get a key to our room and go the room and the key would not work because someone else as already checked into the same room, now I have two kids and a wife, that was not much fun. But we got a room. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I really like this property. Not being from Houston, you hear stories of places that you DON'T want to get off the highways at. This hotel was recommended to us by a friend last year when we went watch Jeff Dunham. This time however apparently there was a rodeo/fair across the street that we had NO knowledge of. Of course that's no one's fault really I would have just liked to have seen something on their site. Of I would have known that I'd have to fight with a bunch of drunk Cowboys to get a parking spot which was two building (almost) away.from the door to our room I would honestly found somewheres else to stay. We do love this facility though. It's always clean. Staff is always nice. Area is safe. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tops We come to Houston at least once a month for multiple day. You guys are tops. March 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected When I arrived at your hotel I thought I was getting a good deal, it looks nice and the door man were a nice touch, but come to find out the hotel was a complete waste of my money. I arrive and seems like I had gotten the smallest room on the property. The bathtub had old stains in it which was completely unacceptable. I had made simple request to have a refrigerator in my room because my family member needs to refrigerate her medication and the staff member was very rude. The central air kept turning off and we kept waking up in a sweat. We were in a foreign city and didn’t know our way around, so we asked the door men where the Famous Galleria was, and none of them spoke English, that alone set us off about your hotel. I am happy to say that this experience helped me learn that Crowne Plaza is not a place to stay or have any of my friends/ family stay here. March 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay Excellent staff and very helpful. Rooms could use updating. But all in all, awesome stay. Plan on staying there again! March 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unhappy at breakfast We had a great stay at the hotel until the breakfast. First, the buffet food was extremely cold and cost way too much. $31 for a cold breakfast did not make for a happy ride home. March 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by dishonest When I booked the room, I asked if a shuttle service would be provided to nearby locations. I was told yes. I booked the room although the rate was quite expensive. When I arrived I was told they did not provide a shuttle service to the nearby location I needed. I asked to speak to the manager and he was quite rude. I would not recommend staying here. March 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and friendly service It was close to the venue but provided no shuttle,the parking was horrible. Our room didn't have good plumbing, and was loud at night. Everything else was fine March 23, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Front Desk
Select to close.
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Availability
Loading