• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

This facility has a large number of Medical Guests. Our concern for their health has led us to restrict pets to those that provide a verifiable medical service. If non service pets are found we will asses a 250 fine and evict. No refund will be given.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Reliant Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Texas Medical Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Houston Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.45MI
Attraction:
Hermann Park
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:79
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open Parking Lot. Only one parking space available per room!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:56
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD
View More

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's and St. Luke's hospitals. Another perk for visitors in Houston, Texas is the Medical Center shuttle. The hotel's free shuttle runs to the area hospitals and Reliant Park.

Our central location close to the Houston Zoo and other downtown attractions, including the Rice Village shopping center, provides you with endless opportunities for entertainment during your visit. Reliant Stadium, just across the street, is North America's largest event complex, so you can rest assured there is always an exciting event to check out nearby.

Stay smart and eat smart every morning when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel with the free Express Start breakfast bar, which offers our signature, cinnamon rolls. If you indulge a little too much on great Texas barbecue, visit the on-site Fitness Center. Book your reservations in Houston, Texas today and start relaxing.

View Less
Features
From free parking to free Wi-Fi access to free breakfast, we make affordability a priority. With businesses and attractions like Reliant Park nearby, our hotel's guests benefit from the location, too.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 319 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just Meh I travel a lot. I'm also not easy to please. My stay at the Crowne Plaza was only average. Nothing awful, nothing special. I had a valet attendant trying to come up to my room, asking me if I was staying alone. Totally inappropriate. The person at the front desk whose attention I brought this to seemed hardly concerned. Room service was prompt, and only slightly over priced. But the food was pretty awful. Chances of me staying in another CP property are moderate. Chances of me staying at this one again, slim to none. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay Once again the staff at the Crowne Plaza exceeded expectation and remains the standard to which al other Houston hotels should be judged. Thank you June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 10 The River Oaks Crowne Plaza has a great central location and is a beautiful property. Once you arrive the front desk, vallet and concierge staff are amazing. Jerry and Mandy are always attentive to my needs and get me whisked away to my room promptly. The service and attention to details are the best here and if you need a meal or drink to unwind, well, then the Restaurant staff will have you covered. Carlos is always mixing some great spirits in the lounge and serving some delicious food too. This is one of my all around favorite hotels where I feel at home and I am treated each visit like family. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable and excellent service I stay at this facility whenever I am in Houston on business, and I am very satisfied with my overall experience. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet service has been exceptional in providing me great vegetarian options. Zara and her team is outstanding. The front desk staff, valet, and all others have provided excellent service, always. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. Thank you June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Conveniently located comfortable hotel Good hotel with comfortable well-appointed rooms, good facilities and amiable, well-intentioned staff. Housekeeping uneven with regard to vacuuming and replacing ice bags and coffee pods but good overall. A comprehensive array of services and features make this hotel stand out: 1) complimentary shuttle service within three-mile radius; 2) in-room refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker; 3) self-service laundry adjacent to fitness center; 4) 24-hour brewed coffee in business center; and 5) covered smoking area with comfortable seating and ashtrays removed from nonsmokers' view. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great job working with medical patients Thank you for helping the MD Anderson patients with your rates and shuttles. We already go through a lot so your motel helping us is awesome. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great experience My first reaction when entereing hotel was "WOW". Beautiful decor throughout lobby, public areas, and rooms. Employees extremely nice and helpful. Food is priced reasonable and is very delicious. June 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is right off of a major highway This hotel has seen better days. Although, it appears clean there is an "ole" musty smell. The furniture and drapes are shabby and has a real 1980's feel and not in a good way. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Staff Every time I have the pleasure to stay at this Crowne, the staff always amazes me. I could not ask for any better service or accommodations. The staff makes you feel like family! I love this place!!! It gets no better than Mandy, Carlos, Debbie and Paul!!!!!! June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a pleasure The front desk staff is always very nice to me and I love the aroma therapy sample kits. June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Price/Qualtiy = very good Location : excellent (for both business as pleasure), easy access to highway and city center Staff : very helpfull and pro-active !! Excellent ! My congratulations to the female concierge. Rooms: spacious, comfortable bed. One of my better experiences with the Crowne Plaza hotels. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Again Staff is the friendliest you will ever experience. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stuck in Houston I got stuck in Houston due to an issue with the Airlines and the staff was great in setting me up with a room quickly at a great rate. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by R All went well. Just wish the Bar would stay open later. We like to entertain guest and unwind after a show. May 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, comfortable beds Excellent friendly staff. Beds were comfortable but did not care for plastic feeling sheets. Food very good in restaurant. May 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room Condition I was disappointed with the room condition. Carpets were stained and rundown. I fortunately did not have any bad smells in my room however 2 of my travel companions complained of bad orders in their rooms. Bathrooms had signs of mildew in the corners. Also, I had 6 rooms booked and was not able to obtain a discount. We are from a major airline company not recognized by your hotel chain. Staff were very friendly and helpful. May 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Five Star Experience My stay at the Crowne Plaza River Oaks was excellent to say the least. The staff was extremely friendly from the moment I walked into the door to the moment that I left. Jerry at the front desk made sure I had everything that I needed and Mandie at the customer service desk always had great advice on where to go and what to do. The workout facility was better than most other hotels I've stayed at and allowed me to keep up my workouts while on the road. There are several fun bars, restaurants and shops within walking distance as well. They treated me like a prince even though I'm much closer to a pauper. Thank you all for your kindness. I highly recommend this hotel. May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay at the River Oaks Crowne Plaza This a very convenient location for the Galleria area, Greenway Plaza, Medical Center, Downtown, and University of Houston campus. Staff is always very professional and supper friendly. I always enjoy my stay since I am being treated like family each time. There are lots of dining choices that are all within walking distance of the hotel. Great hotel! May 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average: some good, some bad First the good: Great location, friendly and responsive desk personnel, clean and attractive lobby. Now the bad: Have you ever felt that you get a less than desirable room when you use rewards points to pay for your stay? We used points and were given a room next to a noisy ice machine. One of the valets gave us a hard time about where we could park at check-in. This hotel charges extra for parking. Final opinion: Barely good enough to recommend. May 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by needs a makeover if you like dirty carpets and mustiness, this is the perfect place. the breakfast buffet featured partially washed plates and bowls but the food was ok. the staff was quite friendly however and did the best they could. May 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Home away from Home My sister and I met here in Houston for our niece's wedding. We arrived Friday afternoon and as we did not rent a car we ended up eating two lunches and two breakfasts here as well as having a few drinks in the bar before our taxi picked us up for the Rehearsal dinner. The food was excellent- loved the chopped salad and the breakfasts were delicious and good selection of fresh fruit. Most of all the staff and team of the restaurant were super friendly and treated us like royalty. Blanca was a gem. The room was also very nice. The beds super comfy. The only problem was the room was very cold and we kept turning the heat up but other than that it was perfect and served us well. We even sat out by the pool on Friday night. No alcohol allowed out there was too bad and the road noise was very loud over the wall but we still enjoyed the sunshine. We took the shuttle to the Galleria and had a nice shopping experience. The drivers and outdoor staff as well as the desk staff were super friendly. May 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel in Houston for business The view from the room was outstanding. We drove 1/2 mile to find all kinds of restaurants. The prices seemed to be slightly lower then the Galleria area options with no sacrafice in service or food quality. Hotel staff was great warm welcome and very friendly. Try the egg while omelet with vegetables. Worked well for my "travel diet." April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Hotel and Staff! Sid, Debbie, Jim, Jackie, Mandy and Carlos are just a few of the outstanding staff that makes this property the very best in Houston! Thanks to these folks and the entire staff for a great Hotel experience. April 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and accommodating staff. It was a last minute booking and I had not been to this Crown Plaza prior to this visit. Concerned about how to navigate to and from various locations in Houston, the staff clearly addressed my needs and helped with great directions. They were very re-assuring! The room was also was pristine. April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel so far..Happy I stay at this hotel for a week. And I must say It was one of the greatest stay I have ever had at a CROWNE Plaza in Houston TX. I wish this hotel thought would offer a free breakfast room service. It doesn't have to be much just something to get my day going.And also I did not like having to pay to park as a guest. But all and all I have at the most remembered place to stay.. and It is and will always be my first choice, Thanks to all the staff that made my stay grand. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by remarkable guest services Everyone from house keeping to the Concierge services works to make your return visit enjoyable. Mandy at RiverOaks has worked diligently to arrange our next visit. The bar staff, resurant personel, and front desk clerks all have a friendly smile and kind word. We even got a chance to use the pool area for a while last visit. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Third stay at the River Oaks location Thank you....staff was friendly and very helpful. Room was clean, large and very comfortable. Slept like a baby! Third time we have stayed at that location and they are consistent with wonderful service. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome STAFF!!!!! As a returning guest on a regular basis, I have to say that I LOVE, LOVE the staff. Everyone is very friendly and kind. Always wanting to know if I need anything additional. Mandy has been very helpful from the very first stay here. I was very impressed with how the staff took care of everything. I will not stay anywhere else and that is saying a lot. I am here every 11 days, so I spend a great deal of time with my Crowne Plaza family. Last but not least . . . The Amazing Carlos! I love him!!!!! Most awesome bartender ever!!!! Sincerely, Wendy April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I was in Houston for a charity event and the Crowne Plaza offered the best value within the IHG chains. The service was excellent the restaurant was great and they heaped on the Platinum Elite benefits. I had one small problem the was immediated taken care of by Mandy from the Front Desk staff. She even stayed past het 11:00 PM quitting time to ensure that I was happy with the resolution! Highly recommend! April 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick Visit to Houston Staff was very friendly and check-in was quick. We will be staying here again. April 15, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading