• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 6.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi
  4. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

This facility has a large number of Medical Guests. Our concern for their health has led us to restrict pets to those that provide a verifiable medical service. If non service pets are found we will asses a 250 fine and evict. No refund will be given.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Reliant Stadium
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI
Attraction:
Texas Medical Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Houston Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.45MI
Attraction:
Museum Of Natural History & Science
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:79
  • Car Parking Available
  • Open Parking Lot. Only one parking space available per room!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:79
  • Total number of suites:56
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD
View More

Guests Love Houston Hotel's Free Medical Center Shuttle

Searching for Houston, Texas Medical Center hotels? Look no further than the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel, which is thoughtfully located just moments from the hospital campus. You can easily access the Museum and Theater District in downtown Houston with the hotel's central location off Hwy-90.

Medical specialists, hospital patients and their families all appreciate the hotel's proximity to MD Anderson, Memorial Hermann, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Children's and St. Luke's hospitals. Another perk for visitors in Houston, Texas is the Medical Center shuttle. The hotel's free shuttle runs to the area hospitals and Reliant Park.

Our central location close to the Houston Zoo and other downtown attractions, including the Rice Village shopping center, provides you with endless opportunities for entertainment during your visit. Reliant Stadium, just across the street, is North America's largest event complex, so you can rest assured there is always an exciting event to check out nearby.

Stay smart and eat smart every morning when you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Houston Medical Center hotel with the free Express Start breakfast bar, which offers our signature, cinnamon rolls. If you indulge a little too much on great Texas barbecue, visit the on-site Fitness Center. Book your reservations in Houston, Texas today and start relaxing.

View Less
Features
From free parking to free Wi-Fi access to free breakfast, we make affordability a priority. With businesses and attractions like Reliant Park nearby, our hotel's guests benefit from the location, too.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 380 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel in Houston...friendliest too! Terrific hotel and staff, just like being at home! November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First timer Everyone was very cordial and helpful. We hd a hot water issue and Mandy--I hope her thumb is better--gave us an upgrade without batting an eye. We will stay with you gain if eve in Houston. Many thanks October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and service If you are looking for a nice hotel that is closed to downtown and walking distance to several restaurants and River Oaks Crowne Plaza is a great place to stay. The staffs are very friendly and the hotel provides free shuttle to mall, rice village and other places. The only thing I would like to say if the hotel can upgrade their fitness center- add more space and fitness machines that would be nice. October 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by location-location-location NOT No where near downtown $25.00 cab ride --- one way. Walking in the area is limited. Not a triple threat for location. Better off paying a little more and staying downtown. October 28, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible service and terrible staff attitude I was unlucky to stay at the Crown Plaza River Oaks. I had a terrible experience and I do not recommend this hotel to any of my colleagues or friends.Most of my lectures at the conference I attended started early at 6:30 a.m. and there was no shuttle or any mode of transportation from this hotel to the convention center. Add to that the attitude of the staff when you request anything starting with wake up calls to a cab. It was awful!!!! October 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I Recommend This Hotel to Any one staying in Houston The staff and rooms were AMAZING, they helped me find were i need to go and had Great knowledge of the area. The Beds were GREAT and the room was very clean if your going to be in the Houston area this is the place to stay October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing hotel We were a little leery when we booked this hotel but for some reason all the hotels I called were full. I accepted that this probably would not be very good. I was so very wrong! This hotel was wonderful, from the people outside, to the receptionist and the concierge. I am so impressed with this property. We were treated so well . I highly recommend this hotel. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay!! Very comfortable and convenient location!! I chose this location for the close proximity to my home office, which is just a few blocks away. I have stayed at this location many times and always enjoy the convenient ease of parking and the comfortable rooms. The staff is always friendly and polite, which makes for a really relaxing stay! October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room Deposit policies not explained When I booked the room, I was not explained that there is a $50 a day deposit made on my credit card (Visa Check) which is deducted directly from my checking account. Not only I wasn't advised, but I find that charge excessive. If I had stayed there 10 days, that would have been $500.00 deducted from my account. That's unsat. I can understand the need to cover incidentals and other hotels do the same, but no where near the amount y'all charged. You had my card on file anyway, so those charges were not necessary. October 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms need new beds and to be upscale. Beds are not comfortable, light in bathroom don´t work. We called for assitance and nobody came after two hours. October 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mandy Is Awesome!! I really enjoy staying here at this property mostly because of the great and friendly attitude and customer service offered by Mandy and others at hotel. I like that they remember me when I arrive and greet me. The lobby is always clean and the snacks they offer upon arrival are always quality name brand items. I like that they give you a good sized bottle of Fiji water. That speaks volumes. The cookies and other little nice extras make the stay wonderful. I really don't the parking guys when you first drive up. I feel they are a little rude. You are pretty tired when you arrive so you want to park check in and go. The system just seems un-welcoming. Getting pass the initial parking for check in, you enter into an entirely different world and I love it. I like that the property is so easy to access and there are plenty of things close by like the River Oaks area. I wish they wouldn't put those throw pillows on the beds because the first thing I do is throw them off! Just don't put them on. Otherwise, everything was great. Thank you guys. October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliest Staff The Crowne Plaza River Oaks has an extremely friendly, very helpful staff. The rooms are comfortable, and there is minimal noise from the highway, which is a problem in a lot of Texas Hotels. It is my favorite hotel that I stay in. October 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza is Fantastic! Our most recent stay was fantastic! As usual, the staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was great, we slept like we at home. This location is terrific and is close to some of the best shopping and entertainment in Houston. We will definitely stay here again. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We always try to stay here I have reviewed this hotel before , the hotel is great., and it is still the same . We love this hotel and the staff are great. My husband goes to MD Anderson and the staff always helps us. Thank you. CKWhip October 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice place, but carry few extra money Hotel is good and rooms are comfortable, but don't understand why guest need to pay extra for car parking and breakfast. October 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just ok Refurbished look just ok pricey for a make over I would have rather been downtown conference chose this hotel October 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by over 20 stays and still coming back. This hotel has become nearly a second home due to our many visits to the Medical center. The drive to and from the hospital is very easy, even those afraid of city highways can manage the trip without much stress, or the shuttle is available. The view from the rooms is a little less than pretty, and the parking garage doesn't scream elegance, but the lobby is bright and clean, and the rooms are cozy and spotless. The breakfast buffet is an upcharge, but on a busy morning it is worth it. There are also several fast food or chain restaurants nearby for those nights when you come in late or must leave early. The neighborhood visually is a little sketchy but we have never had trouble. The templespa toiletries are a nice touch, and the sleep aromatherapy spray is potent but effective. The linens are bright and soft, and the staff is prompt without being hasty. We stayed once on a lark and have consistently been back, easily for at least 20 stays. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place.. Love the Valet! GREAT GREAT GREAT!! I actually liked this visit, the staff was super friendly! September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room OK Fitness Center needs some work. Everything else was 4 star. September 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service for the last time!!!! I've been staying at this property in Houston for the last seven years on business trips. I've always recommended the hotel to others, and I set up our company discount for this hotel. The service and condition of the property continues to decline. The last trip I stood at the counter waiting to check in for almost 10 minutes listening to their front desk staff talk about their weekend. Finally received service when the manager stepped out from the office and asked if I had been helped. The final straw is that they never submit your stay for points. You will have to submitt a missing stay EVERY time you stay at this property. I'm actually writing this review in another Houston IHG property! September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! As a MD Anderson patient I make frequent trips to Houston under some stressful circumstances. Our stays at Crowne Plaza are always wonderful. The staff is courteous, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Wouldn't stay anywhere else! September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Safe parking and great service I stay at this location every time I come into Houston for business which is about twice a month. Very satisfied with the service, location and security of the parking garage. Comfortable and clean rooms and cold beer at the bar. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Hotel was very comfortable and the rooms were very clean and spacious. What set it apart though was the great staff - everyone from the best concierge I've ever met Mandy to the shuttle van drivers made this a very enjoyable trip. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Crowne Property in Houston We travel to Houston from Dallas about ten times per year and have stayed at many different hotels around the medical district and downtown area. We have also stayed at several different Crown Plaza’s in the Houston area and have found that the River Oaks property not only meets, but exceeds our expectations. The entire hotel staff is exceptional! I have written several letters to their corporate office regarding the excellent customer service we have always received at this property! They just don’t go through the motions as if it were just their job, but they are genuinely warm and friendly from the time you check in until your check out. The Hotel is very clean, staff is friendly, and the property is centrally located near downtown Houston, close to the museum and medical districts. They have a really great group of people running this hotel property and we now stay exclusively at this Crowne Plaza property when we visit Houston! September 15, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noise ALL Night Long Stayed over the Labor Day weekend. The rooms are nice and clean. But half the hotel (and my room) fronts the freeway. Traffic noise was an issue until after 11:00pm each night. But the issue the ruined my stay was music from an adjacent room. I called the front desk at 11:30, at 2:00 am, and again at 3:00 am. I got a different person each time that told me they would send someone right up to address it. But nothing was done that I could tell, meaning no one checked in on me to confirm the problem was resolved and no one of course mentioned the issue upon my checkout. I'll choose another hotel next time. September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good Hotel but..... Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. My only negative critique of the hotel is paid parking. The elevator from the garage to rooms was not working so had to walk down the ramp to the entry to get to the working elevators. Parking costs $9 to self park and $15 to valet. How can it be justified to make people park when the elevators are not working. We parked on the 4th level and had to walk down to the bottom with luggage as the shuttle was not to be found. With a 3 year old and a 6 year old, who were tired from the trip, this was not an easy process. On top of having to walk with luggage and kids 4 flights, I paid to do it. Wasn't happy with having to pay to park for 2 days. Other than that hotel was good. I'd recommend free parking until the elevators get fixed. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great value and location We are regulars at this facility, it is a great value and location, but its the staff that keeps us coming back. They are always friendly and very helpful. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Everyone played their part in making our stay enjoyable. Andrew at the front desk was especially helpful in suggesting great places to eat around town. Will definitely choose the hotel for future visits to Houston. August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay, affordable price Very nice place to stay for the price. Very clean and comfortable. I will visit stay here next time I am in town. Thanks. August 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very well appointed I am always happy to stay at this hotel the staff always exededes my expectations thank you staff August 21, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Exterior Feature Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Lobby Lounge Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading