• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We accept only ADA pets

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Downtown area Houston
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
George R Brown Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Toyota Center
Distance From Hotel:0.01MI
Attraction:
Minute Maid Park
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:92
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is available in the front, side and back of the hotel at no charge for your first car.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:112
  • Total number of suites:22
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:46
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:108
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
On behalf of the Management and staff at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown / Convention Center I want to express our gratitude for choosing us in Houston. We are always looking for ways to improve our service to you, our valued guest. We appreciate the fact that you want to stay with us, and if there is anything we can do better to serve your needs or make your stay more enjoyable, please feel free to inform us of how we can help.
Features
We offer all our valuable guests free Internet service, free hot breakfast, free cookies and milk every evening but we are the only hotel who offers free parking for the 1st vehicle.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 287 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Servicio Excelente Excelente hotel para descansar, habitacion limpia, excelente atención del todo el personal que integra el staff, muy buena ubicación, lo recomiendo ampliamente. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and service. We stayed at this hotel because we had to go to the passport office downtown. We only had to walk 2 blocks so that was very convenient. The hotel is very clean and the service is great. Our breakfast was delicious also. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Always a great stay, from check in to check out. Great staff makes this property one to recommend to others. Quite simply this is my home away from home. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, friendly staff, convenient location The Crowne Plaza downtown Houston was a comfortable, friendly convenient hotel for meetings I had at the nearby Houston Technology Center. It was a good value and the only negative is that the rooms are somewhat dated. The breakfast buffet which I bought in advance for $10 was good and included different items each day in addition to all the basics which made for nice variety and helped make up for the lack of an omelet station. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I had a steak from room service one night and thought it was above average and a decent price and was also very promptly delivered. I would stay here again if were needing to be in this area. August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by freezing Checked in late (around 12:30 a.m.) and when I got to the room the thermostat was set on 60F, which isn't the first time this has happened. The heat is off, so it takes the room ALL NIGHT to warm up. I think my feet were frozen all night. Also, the ellipticals always seem to have something wrong with them; during the last visit, the one on the right has a very limited channel selection (no ESPN# but at least it was working this time and the left one has a problem with the left tread #was also making a really loud clicking noise). Love the smoked salmon on the breakfast buffet, though. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and Elegant Our stay was comfortable and quiet. Exactly what we were looking for! The lobby was small but elegant, and the staff was welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The room was wonderful. A bit on the small side, but well done and very clean. Big brownie points for complimentary bottled water and WiFi that actually works. We even streamed Netflix for a while with no issues! The tempurpedic mattress was amazing. I highly recommend. The shuttle service was handy. In the morning, the valet took us where we wanted to go, and in the evening, we called and they came and picked us up by Discovery green about 10 minutes later. Overall I was very impressed by the quality and service at the downtown Crowne Plaza. If given the opportunity, I will stay here again. I wonder what they would charge me to move in :-) August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ...a pleasant short stay I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Downtown Houston and was immediately impressed upon arrival. The valet attendants were extremely helpful and cheerful, check-in took only a matter of seconds, and the trip to my room seemed like I was at a much larger resort. When I requested a refrigerator for my room, someone knocked on the door to deliver it within just a few minutes and actually caught me off guard because they were so responsive. The staff seems to go to great lengths to ensure customer satisfaction so you're encouraged to simply ask.... August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience A clean, convenient and well maintained hotel. Excellent staff with attention to detail August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top Hotel A great hotel in the downtown Houston, Tx. region. Friendly and customer focused staff; great Guest Experience Manager and caring housekeeping and engineering staff. This hotel has it all. I recommend this property to anyone with a desire to be cared for by the best! August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Sleeping Bed was extremely comfortable, the pillows were perfect, and the sheets were so smooth and felt nice. I want a set of those sheets! August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great getaway hotel Second time here for a weekend visit. Staff was extremely courteous and professional, and I would like to thank management for acknowledging my Priority Club membership. Lobby very open and inviting, and the location is perfect for visiting Midtown, theater district or the sports venues. I selected the sports package which is an excellent value for the price. I personally like that the rooms are a bit vintage style, but the bathroom may not be large enough to suit everyone's taste. By any measure however all the amenities are there. My only negative observation is that the carpet had a bit of a musty smell, but that did not detract from the overall experience. Didn't have time to patronize the lounge/restaurant this year, but last year the food quality and service was first rate. Definitely coming back! August 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 clean hotel/ poor service shuttle only goes 1 mile from hotel, daughter wasnt given a key because her name wasnt on the room reservation then when she got a key it didnt work and needed more information just to get help with door which ended up being battery not working and in process got scratched with hanger while employee tried getting door open/ valet lost my keys couldnt find them, was charged an extra 50.00 dollars and I dont remember seeing that on web site. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Staff was very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make you feel welcomed. No hassles checking in or out. We loved our stay! August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The people at this hotel were absolutely wonderful which made the experience great! July 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Needs serious improvement The front desk staff was very pleasant and so was the shuttle driver. Upon my arrival there were 2 persons in uniform standing around as if they did not know what to do. I had to go over and ask for assistance. Then it was as if they expected me to offload my luggage. They were completely disorganized and lacking direction. Once checked in I found out I was 2 doors down from the elevator and asked to be moved away from the elevator. I went to lunch and came back to see I had been moved 2 floors down to a room 2 doors away from the elevator. I again asked to be moved and they got it right this time. The rest of my stay was marred by an unruly housekeeper. She was very rude and on two separate occasions would knock on the door repeatedly even after I acknowledged her first knock or two. I finally opened the door and she was offering water. I declined. She did this again 1 day later. I now she could hear me through the door because the front desk came up shortly after her and I did not change to volume of my voice to answer and they heard me the first time. In addition Housekeeping did a lousy job on cleaning the room even after I complained to the front desk on the 2nd day. These events are what will keep me from frequenting your establishment again. It was like being in a 1 star hotel. I am very disappointed. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Efficient, Friendly Staff and a Great Night's Sleep A great location for sport venues, medical facilities or museums, our trips to Houston are always more relaxing knowing we can stay at the Crown Plaza-Downtown. The staff always makes sure we get in quickly, get water and snacks, and enjoy a quiet night so we are well rested for the next day. Multiple stays always resulting in no issues. Just what we want in an overnight stay. Thanks. July 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A little stumble, but great stay I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Staff was very friendly and showed appreciation. We had a small issue with our key being deactivated after 12pm. Front office tried to get the key to work (twice for that matter) but couldn't get it to work, A technician had to come and open the door for us, luckily we didn't need the key after that so it wasn't a big deal that they couldn't get our key to work. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Royalty Traetment Staff treated us like royalty. Transportation to sporting event was easy. Room was very classy and clean. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience. I stayed in this hotel for a conference and enjoyed every minute. All staff members were friendly and helpful, and I appreciated how the manager on duty expressed interest in me and in making sure my needs were being met. The food served by the hotel for our lunches and banquets was absolutely delicious! Kudos to the chef and kitchen staff. The facility itself is lovely and well situated for getting to a variety of places in downtown Houston, and the free shuttle offered by the hotel to many of these was a real plus. In conclusion, I don't usually take the time to offer my opinion like this but I do believe in giving honor where honor is due - hence this review! July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Falls Short Room was great. Hotel fell short with ammenities. Shuttle service on a Friday night with a huge event downtown stopped at 11:00 pm. By time we returned room service had stopped, the store was closed, and to disbelief the vending machines were turned off as well. During checkout staff including manager on duty didn't seem to be very knowledgeable of their job. To end my brand new 2014 truck was in valet when coffee was thrown spilled or whatever across my hood splashed onto my windshield and dripped down my grill but no one felt it was relevant to inform me. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room Great Staff An excellent downtown hotel that offers great comfort and a genuinely friendly staff that wants you to enjoy your stay. I highly recommend this hotel. Great beds, great pillows, quiet, and has a great lounge to wind down in. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a Great Visit I am a frequent guest and have always enjoyed staying at the downtown Houston Crowne Plaza. I am welcomed by the front desk staff and attention is given to every detail to make my visit special. The Guest Experience Mgr. and the entire staff are first rate. The exercise facility and dining facility are excellent. I would recommend this hotel to all visitors in downtown Houston, Texas July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Good to stay Excellent one to stay in Houston Downtown area. Good Amenities. July 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bathroom entrance was wet I would have expected a cleaner room at the Crowne Plaza being more of a business hotel July 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at Crowne Plaza Downtown Huston At my request we located near the elevators the first night because my wife has mobility problems. Big mistake. The staff moved us promptly on request. Overall a good stay for Houston July 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable Sheets & bad water pressure The hotel itself was nice, but the valet did not offer to help with my or my girlfriends luggage. The room was nice, but oddly arranged. There was a chair in between the window and bed to where you could not exit the bed from the left. Also the tv channels started to get blurry past channel 30. My girlfriend took a shower and halfway through the water pressure cut down severely. Due to the lack of pressure, she had to rinse the remainder of her conditioner out with the tub faucet. When it was time for bed, the top sheet was about as rough as printer paper. We ended up taking it completely off the bed. The manager signed and sent a nice personalized letter, but the hotel really did not exceed my expectations. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a very good hotel to stay The hotel offers good value for money and I thoroughly enjoyed this stay. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Model Hotel The downtown Houston Crowne Plaza Hotel is a model hotel when It comes to hospitality. Beginning with the smiling staff at the front desk during check in and continuing with the Guess Experience Manager and the General Manager, great attention is given to all details to ensure your stay is the best possible. In my opinion, this is the BEST HOTEL in the downtown Houston Texas region. July 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location with comfortable bed. Hotel is nice and comfortably located near 45 freeway. Rooms are decorated nicely with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom a little small and tight to move around in but nicely decorated and stocked with toiletries and plenty of towels. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant not very good. I was in town for a celebration party being held in one of the hotel's ballrooms and the food served was not too tasty either. Did not like the ideal of having the buffet tables set-up out side of the ballroom in a common walk-way used by the hotel's guest to connect to another building. There was a large group of children and young peoples from Taiwan staying at the hotel. Some of the kids were running all around and near the buffet tables. Some even approached guest of the party and myseIf to asked for restrooms location. I expressed my concerns to the Event's Coordinator Heather, who was aware of the problem and taking care of it. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay and would certainly recommend this hotel. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Everything was good. Staff was very helpful and polite. Room was very nice July 11, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Downtown Aquarium Area Attractions Hobby Center Hotel Exterior--Toyota Center Area Attractions Hotel Exterior Metro Light Rail Hotel Lobby Area Attractions Area Attractions Hotel Exterior Reliant Stadium Hotel Lobby Metro Light Rail Toyota Center Minute Maid Park Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk Area Attractions Minute Maid Park Meeting Room View Area Attractions
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading