• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: HOUSTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We accept only ADA pets

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Downtown area Houston
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
George R Brown Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Toyota Center
Distance From Hotel:0.01MI
Attraction:
Minute Maid Park
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:92
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is available in the front, side and back of the hotel at no charge for your first car.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:112
  • Total number of suites:22
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:46
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:108
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
On behalf of the Management and staff at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown / Convention Center I want to express our gratitude for choosing us in Houston. We are always looking for ways to improve our service to you, our valued guest. We appreciate the fact that you want to stay with us, and if there is anything we can do better to serve your needs or make your stay more enjoyable, please feel free to inform us of how we can help.
Features
We offer all our valuable guests free Internet service, free hot breakfast, free cookies and milk every evening but we are the only hotel who offers free parking for the 1st vehicle.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 308 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel This is a great hotel, one that will attend to your every need and make your visit enjoyable. Wonderful staff, Guest Experience Manager, Management, and front desk staff. I recommend to anyone who has a reason to visit the downtown Houston, Texas area September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Our room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. The pool was nice. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. September 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Troy's Stay Great hotel and a great staff. Enjoyed the lobby area. Very comfortable seating and good access to downtown. Will definitely make a return stay. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Romance package If you and your significant other want a night of unparalleled "it's just about us night" we highly recommend the romance package! Luxury accommodations, Champagne with 6 scrumptious chocolate covered strawberries at check in. Complimentary valet parking with a late 5 PM check out. And -oh- did I mention the room service breakfast???!!! The Crown on Smith Street in downtown Houston TX never fails to please. This is the go to place to take your one special someone! 100% perfect. September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great visit Great hotel in the downtown Houston area. Very pleasant front desk and hotel staff. Guest Experience Manager and Management are first class. September 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience I work for KBR - so direct access to the tower is a convenience that trumps all other hotels. Room was clean and the service was immediate and friendly. September 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel First time staying at this hotel in Houston downtown . It was a great stay ! September 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cozy Room & Wonderful Service I had a wonderful stay at the Crowne Plaza in Downton Houston for the LSU game. I actually became ill upon our arrival from Baton Rouge so when I called down to the front desk they immediately granted my request by delivering water and tums to my room when I was too sick to go down and pick it up. I was so thankful and felt like we received excellent service. My only complaint is on the bathtub in our room. The tub was chippped and pealing in serveral places so I chose not to bathe just in case it chipped off in the water, but overall a great experience and I would highly recommend the hotel. Rooms were cozy, great lighting to get dressed for the game and beautiful views at night! September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best A great hotel property in the downtown Houston, Tx. area. I stay here regularly because of its (1) staff and management and (2) convenient location. I would not stay anywhere else. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Trip to Mother Ship Houston Perfect location for the business meetign I was to attend. Dinner @ the Hotel made the logistics simplier due to late work days. Overall experience was very popsitive. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great downtown location friendly and efficient staff, quiet downtown location September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown Oasis Too many times when I stay at a Crowne Plaza the staff is a little stiff. These folks in Houston were welcoming and friendly. Tuesday night had a nice reception, with an excellent selection of light food, along with wine and beer. The staff was outstanding. Internet was the best I've experienced in awhile. No trouble logging on, and no service interruptions. The place was well kept and appeared to be in excellent condition. I had a great stay. August 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great price, great hotel. Regardless of the very great price that I paid, the hotel was great. I would stay here again, for sure. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service!! The front desk manager and Louise were professional, attentive and knowledgeable of the Houston metro area. Extremely patient, flexible and understanding when addressing requests and concerns. The items on the breakfast buffet were nutritious, plentiful and great :-) August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well maintained hotel and friendly service Compared to similar accommodations in the area, I would consider the Crowne Plaza a good value for the money and conveniently close to major highways and downtown offices. Thank you. August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable sleep The room was quiet and dark. There were no disturbing sounds from residents or outside traffic etc. The drapes made the room quite dark and beneficial for sleeping. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Management The management team was amazing.. I stay at a lot of IHG properties for both business and leisure and this was by far one of the best hands down. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Weekly Stay Houston Been staying at the Hotel for over a year. Rooms are a bit dated and the TV service is only average. Cleanliness and staff are excellent. Will Continue to stay there. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Buffet The breakfast buffet food was fresh and had many variety of food to choose from. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beyond Expectations On this occasion, my wife was able to travel and spend a week with me at the downtown Houston Crowne Plaza. She always enjoys time at this hotel. In her own words, they always treat me like royalty. The visit was beyond expectatations due maily to the hotel staff and management. A great hotel. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience The room, the staff and service, was great. Tasty food, nice ambience and good location made for a wonderful experience. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Servicio Excelente Excelente hotel para descansar, habitacion limpia, excelente atención del todo el personal que integra el staff, muy buena ubicación, lo recomiendo ampliamente. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and service. We stayed at this hotel because we had to go to the passport office downtown. We only had to walk 2 blocks so that was very convenient. The hotel is very clean and the service is great. Our breakfast was delicious also. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Always a great stay, from check in to check out. Great staff makes this property one to recommend to others. Quite simply this is my home away from home. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room, friendly staff, convenient location The Crowne Plaza downtown Houston was a comfortable, friendly convenient hotel for meetings I had at the nearby Houston Technology Center. It was a good value and the only negative is that the rooms are somewhat dated. The breakfast buffet which I bought in advance for $10 was good and included different items each day in addition to all the basics which made for nice variety and helped make up for the lack of an omelet station. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I had a steak from room service one night and thought it was above average and a decent price and was also very promptly delivered. I would stay here again if were needing to be in this area. August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by freezing Checked in late (around 12:30 a.m.) and when I got to the room the thermostat was set on 60F, which isn't the first time this has happened. The heat is off, so it takes the room ALL NIGHT to warm up. I think my feet were frozen all night. Also, the ellipticals always seem to have something wrong with them; during the last visit, the one on the right has a very limited channel selection (no ESPN# but at least it was working this time and the left one has a problem with the left tread #was also making a really loud clicking noise). Love the smoked salmon on the breakfast buffet, though. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and Elegant Our stay was comfortable and quiet. Exactly what we were looking for! The lobby was small but elegant, and the staff was welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The room was wonderful. A bit on the small side, but well done and very clean. Big brownie points for complimentary bottled water and WiFi that actually works. We even streamed Netflix for a while with no issues! The tempurpedic mattress was amazing. I highly recommend. The shuttle service was handy. In the morning, the valet took us where we wanted to go, and in the evening, we called and they came and picked us up by Discovery green about 10 minutes later. Overall I was very impressed by the quality and service at the downtown Crowne Plaza. If given the opportunity, I will stay here again. I wonder what they would charge me to move in :-) August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ...a pleasant short stay I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Downtown Houston and was immediately impressed upon arrival. The valet attendants were extremely helpful and cheerful, check-in took only a matter of seconds, and the trip to my room seemed like I was at a much larger resort. When I requested a refrigerator for my room, someone knocked on the door to deliver it within just a few minutes and actually caught me off guard because they were so responsive. The staff seems to go to great lengths to ensure customer satisfaction so you're encouraged to simply ask.... August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience A clean, convenient and well maintained hotel. Excellent staff with attention to detail August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top Hotel A great hotel in the downtown Houston, Tx. region. Friendly and customer focused staff; great Guest Experience Manager and caring housekeeping and engineering staff. This hotel has it all. I recommend this property to anyone with a desire to be cared for by the best! August 10, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Downtown Aquarium Area Attractions Hobby Center Hotel Exterior--Toyota Center Area Attractions Hotel Exterior Metro Light Rail Hotel Lobby Area Attractions Area Attractions Hotel Exterior Reliant Stadium Hotel Lobby Metro Light Rail Toyota Center Minute Maid Park Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk Area Attractions Minute Maid Park Meeting Room View Area Attractions
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading