• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed in the hotel. Treat bags, pet toys and hotel policies are available at check in. A 25 dollar pet fee per night, up to three nights will apply. Please announce your pet prior to your arrival.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Independence Center Shopping Mall
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Blue Springs, MO.
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Golf Stop- Driving Range/ Putt Putt/ Par 3
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Lee's Summit, MO.
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:99
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outside Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:91
  • Total number of suites:25
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:36
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:54
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:91
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MO5008

Independence, MO Hotel's Close to Everything

Situated off I-70 in the charming, historic city of Independence, our hotel's property is near Kansas City and is surrounded by restaurants, shopping centers and local businesses. When you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® Independence - Kansas City hotel, you'll enjoy our great location, as well as perks like free Wi-Fi access.

Are you visiting the area on business? We offer a well-equipped meeting room with A/V equipment and catering
View More

Independence, MO Hotel's Close to Everything

Situated off I-70 in the charming, historic city of Independence, our hotel's property is near Kansas City and is surrounded by restaurants, shopping centers and local businesses. When you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® Independence - Kansas City hotel, you'll enjoy our great location, as well as perks like free Wi-Fi access.

Are you visiting the area on business? We offer a well-equipped meeting room with A/V equipment and catering options if you need to hold a corporate board meeting, and a business center which includes copy, print and fax services is provided for our hotel's guests. Independence, Missouri is home to companies like State Farm Insurance and just 15 minutes from big corporations in downtown Kansas City.

We're also near a variety of leisure attractions including the Truman Home, National Frontier Trails Museum and Independence Event Center. The Independence Center Shopping Mall is just two miles away, as well. Because our hotel's near Kansas City, guests can also easily see a game at the Arrowhead and Kauffman Stadiums or walk the bustling streets of downtown.

Once you're done touring the city, head back to the hotel's accommodations in Independence, Missouri and relax in the indoor whirlpool. We serve the piping hot Express Start Breakfast Bar each morning which is complimentary to our valued patrons. Call today and let us help you plan your next Midwest getaway!

View Less
Features
In Independence, MO, our hotel's property is located less than a mile from the Independence Event Center, within walking distance of numerous restaurants and only 20 minutes from downtown Kansas City. We are also the only Independence, MO hotel to offer an indoor salt water pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 446 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not enough staff Booked online thinking that the price overall would be better. NOT.. We arrived at the hotel Friday pm to notice crowds of people, one person handling front desk, lines everywhere. We should have cancelled and gone elsewhere. Person in line with us got a room price quote way under what I was booked for, and the water park was only way cheaper for him as well. Desk clerk indicated that she can not change online book prices. Can not say anything positive about the water park. Life guards were inattentive, very few did I see watching OVERCROWDED water areas, water MURKY and not looking very healthy. We will not stay or use this facility again. Power outage first night, only one person at desk, evidently new hire had little or no idea what to do, she could not reach other staff, and when the back up generators went out she had no batteries for her flashlights !! The overall appearance of the hotel even coming thru the front entrance was shabby at best. Basically probably the worst stay I have ever had at any hotel. Even soda and ice machines were empty.... August 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT FOR THE PRICE! WATERPARK: This was my first visit to Coco Keys and we decided to stay the night and booked in advance. The kids LOVED the waterpark although it was extremely crowded and a little hectic (it was a Saturday though). One of thechildren actually slipped and fell walking to the slides due to the amount of people pushing past to get through. He got a minor cut from the incident and we went found the first aid staff to help us. They were very good and prompt in dealing with his cut. After they cleaned it up and bandaged it he was good to go the rest of the evening! FOOD: The food everywhere here is fantastic. We ate at Trade Winds in the lobby hotel (Under $30 to feed 6 because kids eat free with paying adults) One of the kid's orders did not arrive on time so the manager gave all 4 kids free ice cream! We ate again the next day at the food stand inside the water park. The pizza we ordered was a little pricy but very good! ROOM: The room was a little smaller than expected. Cleanliness was decent and beds were comfortable. However there were 6 of us staying in 1 room with two double beds. I figured 2-3 kids would pile on one bed, 2 on the other then they also specify on the website and in the receipt that they do offer extra fold out beds at the guest's request for an extra $20.00. When I called to request an extra bed they said they do not offer them to rooms with double beds. I was a little confused because it stated the beds are based on availability not what type of room you are staying in. Anyhow we never go the extra bed I was planning on so not all of us slept comfortably (me). STAFF: From the lobby to the food service to the lifeguards to the First Aid team, to the arcade staff..everyone was wonderful! Even when things don't go as planned, having a caring staff really makes all the difference. They went out of their way several times to correct any issues as stated in this review. TIPS!! Renting a room pays off when the Water Park is too crowded you can always go to the pool provided exclusively for staying hotel guests! Be sure if you stay the night with over 4 people to bring extra blankets!! We did not have enough and went to the lobby to get more, all they offered were more sheets. OVERALL: I would bring my children back to Coco Keys, just not on the weekends, and even though we did have a few mishaps I can't complain because you really do get what you pay for. August 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay Our room was nicely updated. Our family enjoyed the water park, it was well staffed and clean. We went to the Royals, the hotel offered a shuttle it was too busy to be of use-they could use a second shuttle. August 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Housekeeping lacking The breakfast was great and the room was fine. Was disappointed in the housekeeping. They didn't get to our room at all 1 day and then said the would "try" to get to it the next. Not sure the service was worth the price. August 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Coco keys is nasty! The water was nasty..very murky, and almost dirty looking. It took 3 showers before I didn't smell like Clorox. The room was not necessarily what I would consider clean. My pillow was nothing but lumps. But worst of all the water park was freezing. Not the water but the air. Everyone was shivering. It was warmer outside. Took long hot showers afterward to warm up. Couldn't wait to leave. Staff was nice and food was not bad. Not worth the money..spend extra to go to another water park. Dissapointed. August 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by CoCo Keys I booked our stay over the phone and verified it. There are 4 in the family, 2 kids my husband and I, so I asked for a room with 2 full or queeen beds. At check-in the room reserved for us had only a king size bed. I was told to wait until after 6pm to see if there were any cancellations. I waited until 6pm and I was told there were no rooms available because there were 3 reunions booked for that weekend and there were no rooms to accomodate us. At that point I asked to speak with a manager and was told the same thing. Only after asking for our money back and threatening to leave did they suddenly find a room to accomodate us. The pool/play area was over crowded and poorly lit. The water looked mirky and most of the walkways were to narrow. The whole area looked run down. I would not recommend this place to anyone. August 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by waterpark during daytime many kids are bused in making it very crowded lifeguards need supervision August 1, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable When me and my wife got to the Hotel, the lady on the front desk didn't give me eye contact or welcome us, this was the first failure, then it was around 11 pm and we were sleeping and there were a bunch of people making a lot of noise and slamming doors, so I called front desk and nothing stop them and the stopped till 1:30 am. Next day I went with my wife and child to the Pools and suddenly a bunch of kids came from outside (don't get me wrong I adore kids) but it was overcrowded and very poor supervision, I was very concern that someone would get hurt, I believe it was over the capacity, so I wasn't happy at all. We went to eat at the restaurant and the service and food were excellent. In general I don't think I would like to go back unless there's no other options. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fun for family of all ages Our stay was amazing. There were so many perks to staying at this property, of course the water park and children under 12 eat free, close proximity to the staduim and FREE shuttle- hard to beat. The gym and indoor pool were in excellant condition and kept clean. All the staff were beyond helpful with printing our tickets to the game, and reaffirming the FREE internet. We will be back next year, Mjw July 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Kauffman Stadium Very close and in walking distance to Kauffman Stadium. More kid friendly, not so much for adults. Back entrance very poor. Good amount of parking. Breakfast a bit over priced for what you get. July 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lots of Fun for the kids What a great waterpark attached to the hotel. Well worth it! July 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Visit 1st room had an a/c that did not work, no other rooms avail, room temp was 84^. They brought a fan which was loud, would not stand up and put out little air. Both of the full size beds had water & Gatorade bottles underneath them and the fridge had food inside & would not cool. 2nd room the 2nd night still had a room too warm (both rooms have a 'set' thermostat showing 72* but never cools down to 72 or lower despite setting it lower, and the fridge did not work. I told guest services I wanted a credit on my bill which did not happen, instead they sent 2 different repairmen who said they did not know what was wrong with the a/c in the 1st room. Upon check out I was told there WASN'T any manager on duty to approve my credit; really? REALLY? Today - one week later after leaving 2 messages on the GM's vml and after leaving 2 messages for the front desk manager who I was told last Tuesday would call me back once she was off another call, has not returned my call. They couldn't care any less than what they do about taking care of their guests. POOR POOR POOR customer service at every level. And I did not get a receipt upon check out & had to ask for one. The on-site restauraunt did have much on the menu & was over priced. The only positive was the breakfast buffet selection. Oh .. and the chips/salsa/queso we bought for a snack was really pathetic - chips were small & broken like from the bottom of the sack and honestly the cheese wasn't even a 1/4 full in the cup; really?!!!! We came up to stay so we could visit Coco Keys and it was over crowded, lifeguards weren't attentive, the facility was too small and dark. TRUST me ---- it's better to spend more money & get stellar service, a fantastic room and great amenities at the Great Wolf Lodge in KC Kansas!!!! July 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, helpful staff Overall we had a great stay. The hotel was very crowded and the wait for the elevators got lengthy. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and helpful, especially when my son got sick in our room. There was not adequate parking in the lot however and we had a hard time as a guests of the hotel finding a place to park. My children loved the water park and the staff did a job of monitoring the areas that were for adults only (hot tubs). July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for Family Reunion I was just amazed at the service. We had the hospitality room booked for our family all three days that we were there. The lady that covered our room was amazing, so nice and was there the whole day on Friday. Then the manager guy came in to check on us each night. They let us stay there really late and he was so flexible about if we wanted them to clean the room at night or in the morning so we could stay in there later. We actually only did Coco Keys once because the kids were happy with the hotel pools. And the shuttle to and from the Royals game was very convenient. I ordered a pizza for us late Saturday night from the bar and it was very reasonably priced. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone planning a family reunion in KC. July 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed with Stay We stayed here for two nights as we went to the Royals games across the highway at the stadium. The hotel was overly crowded, we had to wait over 10 minutes to get up or down on the elevator. We had to take the stairs up 12 floors a few times to avoid waiting in line. Our room was where we requested (we asked for a high floor facing the stadium). We did get what we asked for and the view was amazing, however, the cooling/heating system in the room seemed to be not working well. It took almost 30 hours for our room to cool down enough where it was okay. We had it on high and at the lowest temp it would go. The refrigerator wasn't keeping our items cold, and the bathroom exhaust fan didn't work, making our room humid after we would take showers. I have stayed in many high rise hotels in much warmer areas, and they had no problems with the cooling of the room. So, I know it wasn't because we were on a high floor. After talking with a few other guests at the hotel, they noticed the same things wrong with their stay too. We even noticed staff carting out old refrigerators from rooms during our stay. The managers, staff, and others working there were extremely friendly and nice, but the hotel seemed a bit overwhelmed by the amount of guests staying at the hotel. Before I stay here again, I would need to see that they improved their rooms and made sure that things worked properly. July 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Early Check-In Fee... Got charged 50 bucks for checking in 15 minutes early, and wasn't notified by the front desk that this would occur. Shuttle to Kauffman Stadium is convenient, but be patient after the game for your ride back. Wanted to kill some time at the arcade before the game, but the machines only took this card thing or something, and I had a lot of quarters. Room was decent. July 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay. Stayed for one night. Older Hotel, clean room. Bar staff was very friendly. July 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Bad but... I've taken my family here twice. We aren't sure that we will return however. The hotel room would not go below 72 degree's no matter what we set the thermostat to, and the humdity level in the room was very high. The staff was willing to try to help, but because the location was completely full, all they could do was give us a fan. So we sweletered our entire visit. The elevators are always a problem here. We stood on our floor for 15 minutes waiting for one to arrive, and when it did, it was going the wrong direction. We took it anyway because it's that or the stairs and those aren't an option with luggage and a family in combination. They charge you 10% of your overall room rate for incidentals at check in. But they don't tell you that. Really should have been communicated when they did it. Was afraid someone was scamming my credit card. The staff is always friendly, and helpful. So that helps, but in the end, if you aren't comfortable at a hotel, then your not getting your moneys value in my opinion. July 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a good stay I was pleasantly surprised when checking in, there was only one agent at the desk but it was slow. He was friendly and had a good personality. Upon arriving at the room it was clean and cool, just not as cool as I'd like it. Even with a West facing room, it cooled off and was comfortable the remainder of our stay, even at mid-afternoon. The pools were clean and towels were replenished reguarly. Beds were comfortable and linen was clean, the room could use a small microwave for convenience. Getting to the indoor pool/fitness center was a little confusing the first time (taking 2 elevators). The food in the restaurant was good but priced a little high for a breakfast buffet. Service was really good, very attentive. You should remove the Starbucks signs since they have moved out. The replacement coffee bar is ok but it's not Starbucks. Overall a good stay and someplace I'd stay again. July 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean but some issues Our room was clean but the hallways and spaces near the elevators were not. The elevators were extremely slow and could not accomadate the facility. There was a constant line waiting for the elevators and when they did arrive they were usually full. Some people had to wait 15 minutes or more. We were lucky to be able to use the stairs. The waterpark was fun but was not happy that they ask you to pay a fee just to watch your kids swim. Seemed like everything had an extra charge. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service from all associate, front desk personell to housekeeping personell awesome Stayed for a short family vacation. The rooms were very clean, and accommodating. great staff very attentive to our needs. July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel Hotel was nice. Bathroom needed a little better cleaning. Front desk needs a little help on thier customer service. July 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Windows need updating nice place but the rooms heat up because the windows are dated. The A/C just does not keep up. Rooms were very hot. July 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, Fun place for kids of all ages We visited Coco Keys for 5 night stay with a baseball team. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had families with kids age 5 to 13, all had a great time at the water park and outdoor pool. The food was great at the restaurant. The rooms were a bit stuffy, we had our air condition worked on once during the visit, that seemed to help some. Overall, this was a great trip and I would definitely stay here again! Thanks! July 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good place to stay Stayed at hotel as part of a convention. The air conditioning was not working properly and was very loud as it turned on and off during the night. Room was not made up until after 4PM each day. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Arrived early and friendly staff accomodated our family of 4 with a very clean room on 3rd floor. Outdoor pool was fantastic being it was quite hot outside. Air conditioning and ice machine worked great. Lots of activity due to waterpark but was a festive atmosphere. Hotel shuttle to Royals game was timely with funny interactive driver. Parking was fine and the Denny's restaurant close by was within walking distance. We will stay at Holiday again if we return to KC. July 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I excpected. Family was taking a long, much needed vacation and was not impressed with the hotel. I wanted entertainment for the kids but everything closed early....... the game room was closed early which they were not happy about, the pools are closed early. kids look forward to staying up as late as possible on vacation. Break out of a routine. So I tried to order a movie for them and got a NO signal message, called the front desk and they said they needed to send some one up. Are you for real, I dont want someone coming up to my room at night. The store/market did not have much available. The air conditioning was terriable the room did not get cold at all, after being out all day all you want to do is come to a nice cold room, the HALLS were much colder than the room, the service man says the building is replacing blower .......so in the mean time if you get a room that doesnt have upgraded blowers your out of luck. This is the first time I was really disappointed with a hotel. Seriously was upset with the conditions of the hotel. July 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor quality for a Holiday Inn We stay at Holiday Inn everywhere we travel. I do not recommend this one. First, our air was broke so, they gave us a fan. Never fixed the air. Employees had to use the guest elevators because their's is broke and has been for some time. The outdoor pool had hair in it. Every time my daughter and I went swimming I had to pull it off one of us. People swimming with clothes on...disgusting! The food in the restaurant wasn't very good and it was expensive for what they offered(stay at an Express HI and have better free breakfast). The beds were uncomfortable and the carpets were disgusting. My kids took their shoes off to walk around and their feet turned black on the bottoms! Very disappointing for a Holiday Inn. And the last thing was we had to check in everyday because Holiday Inn reserved our room on 3 seperate reservations. Worst experience ever!!!!! July 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Problems taken care of professionally I had issues the 1st night of my stay in 1404, I explained the situation to a manager and the issue was immediately taken care of and I was moved to 255. I was completely satisfied with the way the problem was addressed and resolved. I stay at this location or a competitor across the street, but considering the problem I had, and the professional way it was handled, I am sure I will stay with Holiday Inn on my next visit to the KC area. July 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It was okay... The beds "say" they are Queen. Nope more like a Full size and not comfy AT ALL!! The rooms are very nice though. The kids loved the indoor water park, but the water was a bit cool to the temp. The little ones zero depth pool was warmer then the other part. The kids eat free was okay of a deal. Took awhile for serive and food to arrive and when you have hungry kids from swimming it should cater to that! But over all it was okay and can now say I went. Will I return? Probably not. Everyone fighting to use the elevators to get to their rooms?! It was just a different experience I will say. You REALLY should have post cards in the gift shop for COCO KEY!!! July 12, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 16 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Availability
Loading