• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed in the hotel. Treat bags, pet toys and hotel policies are available at check in. A 25 dollar pet fee per night, up to three nights will apply. Please announce your pet prior to your arrival.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  25.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Independence Center Shopping Mall
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Blue Springs, MO.
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Golf Stop- Driving Range/ Putt Putt/ Par 3
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Lee's Summit, MO.
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:99
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary Outside Parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:91
  • Total number of suites:25
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:36
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:54
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:91
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:MO5008

Independence, MO Hotel's Close to Everything

Situated off I-70 in the charming, historic city of Independence, our hotel's property is near Kansas City and is surrounded by restaurants, shopping centers and local businesses. When you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® Independence - Kansas City hotel, you'll enjoy our great location, as well as perks like free Wi-Fi access.

Are you visiting the area on business? We offer a well-equipped meeting room with A/V equipment and catering
View More

Independence, MO Hotel's Close to Everything

Situated off I-70 in the charming, historic city of Independence, our hotel's property is near Kansas City and is surrounded by restaurants, shopping centers and local businesses. When you stay at the Holiday Inn Express® Independence - Kansas City hotel, you'll enjoy our great location, as well as perks like free Wi-Fi access.

Are you visiting the area on business? We offer a well-equipped meeting room with A/V equipment and catering options if you need to hold a corporate board meeting, and a business center which includes copy, print and fax services is provided for our hotel's guests. Independence, Missouri is home to companies like State Farm Insurance and just 15 minutes from big corporations in downtown Kansas City.

We're also near a variety of leisure attractions including the Truman Home, National Frontier Trails Museum and Independence Event Center. The Independence Center Shopping Mall is just two miles away, as well. Because our hotel's near Kansas City, guests can also easily see a game at the Arrowhead and Kauffman Stadiums or walk the bustling streets of downtown.

Once you're done touring the city, head back to the hotel's accommodations in Independence, Missouri and relax in the indoor whirlpool. We serve the piping hot Express Start Breakfast Bar each morning which is complimentary to our valued patrons. Call today and let us help you plan your next Midwest getaway!

View Less
Features
In Independence, MO, our hotel's property is located less than a mile from the Independence Event Center, within walking distance of numerous restaurants and only 20 minutes from downtown Kansas City. We are also the only Independence, MO hotel to offer an indoor salt water pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 454 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Lack of empathy and poor service. Probably my last visit to an Holiday Inn property on business. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service & location I've stayed at this location several times in the past and always have enjoyed my stay. Smooth check-in, clean room, great service and good food, Tessie in the bar is wonderful . The only downside is the outside of the building is starting to show its age. September 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Kansas City Holiday Inn Other than food all was great. Perfect for our purpose of watching Royals game. Easy-on, easy-off highway and SHORT, EASY & SAFE walk to the ballpark. Stayed for entire game and was back in our room within 30 minutes with neither rushing nor feeling delayed. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service. Overall great stay. I really enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn. Waterpark was excellent. Had a great time. Rooms and Beds were a little small but comfortable. Loved the dinner meal. However, the breakfast buffet could have been better. My overall stay was wonderful and I will definitely visit again. September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk and food service staff. Was not able to utilize swimming pool or internet, other than that everything was fine. September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Only way to go We are elderly and your Hotel is a wonderful place to stay and attend the Royals games. The rooms are so Spacious, Clean, and Comfortable. The staff is very nice and helpful and the bus to and from the ball games is the ONLY WAY TO GO when you have Health Issues. We are very pleased and tell everyone about our stay. September 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Near the ballpark The rooms are quite big and comfortable. It is an easy walk to the ballpark. A shuttle is also available. The sports bar was understaffed. September 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Going to a Royals game? This will do. I read a lot of reviews about this hotel and most of them are actually true! 45 mins+ to check in? Yep. Once you get checked in, room not ready? Check. Lousy A/C in room? You got it! We showed up on a Sunday afternoon. There was a line 20 people deep and had 2 employees checking in. The guy had no idea what he was doing, so the lady had to keep helping him. So technically, 1 employee. Then another employee came out of the back and was checking in people 3 to 1 vs. the other two employees! While this is all happening the manager is just standing around, watching. There was a 4th computer, why couldn't he have helped out too? Once we finally got checked in, our room wasn't ready! We were told to hang out in the lobby and it would be 20 more minutes! We immediately got back in line because it would take that amount of time to get back through it! After 1 hour and 2 times through the long line success! Only to be meet by an old room, with a mattress that was too big for the box spring and an A/C that's only setting were freezing and non-stop... Only Pros: Proximity to Kauffman Stadium, they have a shuttle to and from the game. September 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AMAZING breakfast, seriously! We stayed there after a Royals game which didn't end until about 11:30pm. The hotel was very close to the stadium and really nice. The bed was really comfortable and the windows had darkening blinds which helped us sleep later than we normally would have. The breakfast was amazing, so much better than a typical continental breakfast. We hope to check out the waterpark sometime too! September 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 2nd rating per STOLEN TABLET Not sure what happened to the first review, but I received an email indicating that my review had been approved and was available online. However, when I checked, it was NOT. Bottom line, I left my tablet in the room and expected a prompt reply to my inquiries about the status of the lost item. Instead, I keep getting the run around. PLEASE someone contact me and leave this review up until the matter is cleared up. Thanks September 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stolen tablet I recently stayed in the hotel over the labor day weekend and was pleased with the stay. Room, bar, restaurant, and even the water park facilities were great, but the cleaning staff appears to be suspect. I'm not sure that it is the folks actually doing the cleaning, but I blame the management and quality control. Of course mistakes can be made, but the managers should catch dirty rags hanging from the shower curtain. Not a big deal, but at check out, I left my tablet behind and didn't notice until on my way home. I called the next day, but could not get anyone to assist to retrieve the property. Again, I blame the managers, as there should be some SYSTEM in place to track items left behind, perhaps go the extra mile and call the guest, but at the very least, log the items found in a way that the housekeeping and/or front desk clerks can inform the guest about the status. I am on DAY 4 of minimal communication with the hotel staff and will gladly amend the review if something changes. As of today though, I would not recommend this property. September 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by only 3 stars We enjoyed our stay and the water park. It would be nice to get a discount on the water park tickets with a reservation for a room. It would have been even nicer to have had a mini fridge and microwave and Continental breakfast in the morning before check out. Otherwise peaceful and relaxing atmosphere September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Great place to stay. I was checked in very quickly. The bar was nice and so was the water park. I wish the beds were more comfortable. Overall my family and I had a great time. September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room, parking lot & lobby restrooms when I first get there my room was hot so I had to call downstairs and they put me in another room. Then down in the libby area later had to use redtroom and someone had tsking care of their business, and it was hot and humid in there like it wasn't any circulation at all. Then the parking was a mess, seems like it was people parking over there to ride the shuttle to the baseball game. If that's the case I think there should be a special parking area in the back gor them to get on the shuttle bus. And let the guest park in yhe front and the closer parking spaces to the hotel. September 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Stay! After reading many negative reviews on this hotel we were hesitant, however our stay was pleasant. Our only complaint would be the bed in our room was not as comfortable as most Holiday Inn's we've stayed at. Otherwise we were pleased overall. Thank you! September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by family of 4 Desk went above and beyind to ensure we had the best possible stay. cant beat the fantastic shuttle servuce. Would love an option of queen beds though September 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Water park closed tub stopped up 100 degree day and waterpark was closed ? Tub drain was so slow had standing water when using shower. Close to ball parks ! No working vending machines. August 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, Affordable Price Not a better location for a KC sports fan or visiting sports fan. Felt like a hotel for tourist/vacationers. August 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed We stay at this hotel almost once a year. Twice now. The sheets have either not fit the bed or the cleaning staff put them on wrong. I think it was the later choice. The tub also drained poorly. I think when poor service is received the hotel should try to make it right with a discounted room or a discount on a return stay, but I hardly even received an apology. I expect better from this hotel brand that I stay at rather loyally every time I travel. August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms, great service, friendly staff Clean, comfortable rooms with friendly staff. Nice shuttle to stadium. Very nice experience. August 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Really disappointing I was obviously placed in an "overflow" room, which was disappointing since I booked in advance and am an ihg member. The room was downstairs away from the main lodging area. The hallway was dirty at check in with a garbage bag, dirty glassware, and trash littering the hall. The dirty glassware and trash bag were still there at 10 pm. The trash bag was still there in the morning. The clock in the room wouldn't set. The ice bucket was cracked and leaked. A light was out in the already dark bathroom. The air conditioner never cooled the room. The soda machine on the floor didn't work. I stay in motels at least a dozen times a year. I have never experienced a Holiday Inn brand property like this one. It makes me move the brand down my list when looking for a place to stay in the future. August 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by needs work desk clerk was very rude and short.. not good signage- hard to get around. no information in the room about times, offerings of the hotel. busy hotel and only 2 of 3 elevators working. the caseys restaurant was good food- not much variety and poorly photocopied menus!!! very cheesey. dirty and needed cleaned badly. the restroom in lobby was a disgrace!!!! no soap, broken parts of soap dispencer sat there for 2 days, 3 stall- no toilet paper in any for 2 days. in the Coco Keys part....the bathroom was a disaster!!!!stunk terrible! towels all over the place, no paper towels in holder but dirty towels and toilet paper all over, trash over flowing!!! filthy!!!! in the pool area- wet towels all over, barely any dry to use. prices very high for food and drinks in that area. lazy river had lots of trash stuck in the vents along the way as you floated around. had alot of potential in the hotel but needs lots of TLC August 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable value It was a nice hotel with reasonable prices close to the baseball stadium. Small issues only with telephone and missing coffee cups for the room. Don't expect luxury but definitely acceptable. August 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by HORRIBLE EXPERIANCE We stayed at this hotel with a wedding party who had a block of rooms since the NFL schedule came out. We had reservations "lost"/cancelled the day before and the day of the wedding. the management staff was rude (however the front desk ladies were great) and the rooms were not up to par. My room for the night smelled like death and I was told had an air purifier in it all day (clearly it did not work). The carpet was wet and there was so much moisture in the air our beds felt wet. we were told the hotel was booked and no other rooms were available. this is all at 11:30PM! The suite we visited was not worth the amount you pay each night as there were stains on the furniture and broken outlets in the rooms. This is just a couple of the problems we had throughout the weekend. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff Everyone at the hotel was very friendly, helpful, and accomodating. We had a great experience. I can't remember staying at a hotel with such friendly staff. Would recommend staying here to anyone. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Based upon other guest online reviews my initial expectations were fairly low. However, my experience was excellent. The room was clean, the lines were short , the staff was very friendly and efficient and the shuttle to the game was the icing on the cake. I was very happy with our weekend stay and the overall experience. Other than the Chiefs stinking the weekend was great. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay always What a great staff!!!! I stay here for the CHIEFS games every year. It's nice to know that they remember me and my family. They go the extra mile ever time I stay A++++ August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location for Pro Football or Pro Baseball games in KC!!! My family and I stayed at this hotel during the Vikings vs Chiefs preseason football game. This is a great location for either games at Arrowhead Stadium or the KC Royals stadium. This is a family friendly hotel and has many amenities for their guests. The hotel provided to and from shuttle services to the game free of charge. This was a great perk, expecially since we had children with us. We did not pay extra to utilize the CoCo Keys water park, however, the hotel has an additional indoor and outdoor pool free of charge for guests. We did swim in the indoor pool which was clean, and the water was well heated. The hotel also had a pretty decent arcade for kids that offered games such as skeeball, a wide variety of video games, air hockey, etc. Here kids can play games to win tickets for prizes. A nice addition for people traveling with children, who want to pass some time. The food at the hotel's bar/grill restaurant was reasonably priced and good quality. The draft beer at the bar was way overpriced, but likely to keep sports fans from getting hammered for the games. The room was clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but a nice room with comfortable beds. We had two beds in the room. The beds were a little small, but comfortable. The breakfast buffet is very good. It runs about $15.99 per person, so not cheap by any means, but it had a good variety of food, and everything tasted well. You can probably do a little better budgetwise by booking a hotel further from the stadiums, but if you take into account the cost to park at the stadiums, plus fighting traffic etc. it is probably a wash moneywise. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not Bad, But a Bit Pricey I read earlier reviews about bad carpet and poor service. Much of the carpet does indeed need to be replaced. Service was outstanding. My biggest complaint would have to be the cost of the room and that for the high price of the room, they want you to spend even more money in their restaurant. Parking can be an issue on the weekend of a Chiefs game. We waited about 15 minutes for shuttle after game and decided to walk back to motel. Overall a good experience, but a bit pricey for what you get. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rooms, close to stadiums We enjoyed our visit, we will be back again. Our kids enjoyed the waterpark and we enjoyed the relaxation time. August 26, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading