• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: JACKSONVILLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 7.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Finnish
  4. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed, pet fee 25 USD for pets under 25 pounds, 50 USD for pets over 25 pounds. Regulations apply, must be friendly, and not allowed to be left in the room by itself. Pet wavier must be signed at check in. Maximum of 2 pets per room.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Jacksonville Indoor Sports
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
University of North Florida
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
EverBank Field Stadium-Jacksonville Jaguars
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI
Attraction:
Jacksonville Baseball Grounds - Minor League
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:92
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking is available all around the hotel with four entrances into the hotel

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:88
  • Total number of suites:38
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:38
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:50
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:50
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:FL4684

Welcome to the Best Hotel in Jacksonville, Florida

The 100% nonsmoking Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - South places visitors near the area's top businesses and attractions, including Mayo Clinic, and Everbank Stadium.

Since our hotel's located in Jacksonville, FL, you'll be near numerous area businesses, including Southpoint Business Park, Deerwood Office, Cypress Point Office Park, Brooks Rehabilitation Hospital, and Mayo Clinic. The beaches are only short
View More

Welcome to the Best Hotel in Jacksonville, Florida

The 100% nonsmoking Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - South places visitors near the area's top businesses and attractions, including Mayo Clinic, and Everbank Stadium.

Since our hotel's located in Jacksonville, FL, you'll be near numerous area businesses, including Southpoint Business Park, Deerwood Office, Cypress Point Office Park, Brooks Rehabilitation Hospital, and Mayo Clinic. The beaches are only short drive away. Our modern facilities boast a Business Center, which offers print and copy services, as well as computer access. You can also take advantage of the 825-sq-ft meeting room if you need to host a meeting while in the area.

The Holiday Inn Express® hotel in Jacksonville, Florida places you near area attractions like Drew Park and St. Johns Town Center. Other nearby attractions includes the Morocco Shrine Center, and Dave & Buster's Restaurant and huge video arcade for the whole family! Come watch an exciting Jaguars' game at Everbank Stadium.

We proudly offer a sparkling, outdoor pool and Fitness Center for your convenience. Thanks to the free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel, it's easy to stay connected. Be sure to try our complimentary, hot breakfast bar, too, as it's a morning feast other hotels in Jacksonville, FL can't beat! We also serve 24-hour coffee and tea and offer fresh-baked Otis Spunkmeyer cookies at check in.

View Less
Features
When you make your reservation make sure you check out our packages. We have variety of them from our best seller Honey Baked Ham Package to Dinner Package with Dave and Busters. And of course some extra point packages for our loyal Priority Club Members.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 393 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Drain did not work in bath tub Girls at front desk had no idea what was going on. December 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We have stayed at this hotel several times. We love the location and Jacksonville. The upper floors have been renovated, we did not stay in one of the renovated rooms but the public areas looked nice. The hotel is a good value and the priority club perks make it a great value. December 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne P Riverfront Jacksonville now rude, mean, unwilling to help. Several major major issues with reservations. after 10 years of bookingnthis same weekend at CP, and booking 4 months advance, AND having amazing experiences from the past with an incredible young lady, (did not seem to be with CP anymore) from Africa, she always always was professional, kind, and helpful. The reservations manager was extremely rude and disrespectful. We called corporate offices in Atlanta the day after to report this. They, Jessica, said we would hear back soon. Has been three days now and nothing. There were three others at the desk with us complaining about the same things. A real shame! December 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Riverfront Thanksgiving weekend Newly renovated room 833. It was a lovely room though having stayed here before-last year at this time, I found that I missed the microwave and fridge already in the room. The other small details that matter are there was no space for storing items for personal use-toothbrush, brush, etc or the hand towel to dry hands...no towel bar. The toilet paper is a cool looking holder but not adequate for a often used place. The roll kept flying off the holder. :) There were unfinished shower tiles, no marking for hot or cold water on the shower spigot in the bathroom. Colors of the room and floor tile looked great. One renovation that needs to be in the works is the sliding glass door. The corrosion causes the opening of the door to put in effort. There is a shrill noise-squeking and grunting from pushing it open or close. There is not patio furniture (give or take) but an amazing view. I'd like to see a wall installed between rooms. The worst part about the stay was the neighbors who didn't realize the door shuts itself-QUIETLY and that others may be heading to sleep around 11pm so they should be quiet and not yelling for their kids out in the hall because they forgot what room they were in since they were so drunk. The best part of our stay the front desk rep Melissa. Extremely helpful and professional. Wonderful location. wonderful event. December 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great view, great staff, renovations could be better. My family and I stay every year at the Riverfront Crowne Plaza. This year, we noticed several renovations, including the bathrooms. The new sinks, although modern, do not provide a place for guests to put items commonly used at the sink such as a curling iron, makeup bag, etc. In my opinion, a better option would have been to replace the stained, chipped tubs. A nice hotel is about relaxation. Many of your guests, particularly women, love to relax in a warm bath. When a tub appears dirty, it makes the whole room feel unsanitary, which makes relaxation impossible. For the record, I scrubbed the soiled-looking tub with a disinfectant wipe, and it was indeed clean. However most of your guests would never know this. On a smaller note, there is also no place for a hand towel. A simple, inexpensive hook, could fix this problem. Lastly, the suites this year, did not have a refrigerator or microwave as in years past. We missed them. And, as we and other guests state every year, a couple of inexpensive patio chairs would greatly enhance the experience since what brings us to your hotel year after year, is the magnificent river view. I can not conclude this review without complimenting you on your excellent staff. EVERYONE was incredibly helpful and friendly, from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the servers and cooks at the American Grill. Your staff should be commended for recognizing that hotel guests want to feel appreciated and special. We look forward to joining you next year. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff and beautiful view. Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and rooms being renovated to be even nicer. Riverfront is really nice and at night is beautiful. November 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience After spending one weekend there while attending a conference, I realized what a quality place it is. Beds are super comfortable and room super clean. Staff was always friendly and attentive. Breakfast buffet and banquet meal were outstanding. Check in and out were courteous and professional. I'd definitely reccomend this place. November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by brenda jackson book signing our stay was the first in Jacksonville, Fl and at the Crowne. We were greeted with the best customer service possible. Our rooms was clean and neat. We had a river view. Which was the best any time of the day. Love, love, love this hotel. We stay again and again. November 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to stay The Jacksonville Crowne Plaza is a great place to stay on the south side of the river. November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff! The staff members at the Jacksonville Crown Plaza were the most pleasant I have ever met! EVERYONE was helpful and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable during our convention and our stay. Friendly and courteous. Rooms were somewhat dirty -- dust behind beds and in corners. We didn't have a refrigerator, but one was brought to us quickly when requested. We received extra towels when asked. Room faced the interstate and traffic noise was loud. Food at the catered lunch and dinner was quite good. November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good B-Day Suprise For My Wife! I suprised my wife for her 45th birthday and took her on a 4 day getaway. Our first stop was for 2 days and 2 nights in Jax FL. We both had mixed reviews about our stay at the Crown Plaza. The mattress and pillows were second to none therefore the sleep quality was excellent. The view from our 10th floor balcony room overlookinh St.John's river and The Landing stole my wife's heart! I have to admit it was absolutely BEAUTI FUL. The staff was all very courteous and friendly from front desk clerk to the bellmen. Our room looked and smelled clean. The only con's we had was no balcony sitting and the bathtub needed resurfacing. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel this past weekend. I loved the views from the hotel (and from my room's balcony). The staff were excellent. The food was delicious. I would recommend the hotel for anyone visiting the area. And if I have the opportunity to return to Jacksonville, I would love to stay here again. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great but have a few suggestions First of all, your staff is excellent. Latoya at the front desk was my first experience with your friendly and helpful staff. A housekeeper one day walked me to where I needed to go. I liked that! Don't know if you own the restaurant or not but if you do, Laurie was an excellent server. There was a problem with my bill (I had 5 rooms at different charges and those set charges were raised by you despite my email confirmations) and Jeremy corrected the problem. Overall the property was nice and well maintained. What I would change: 1) The restaurant was overwhelmed at dinner and it took us over an hour to get our dinner. Poor planning on your part. 2) It's way past time to update rooms and add outlets. Have you heard that it's the digital age and everyone has appliances that need to be charged? 3) Our housekeeper didn't empty our trash. All else was great and if a housekeeper is going to forget something, I do vote for it to be the trash. 4) This may not be feasible but I really would've liked a hot tub. Brought my bathing suit and was ready to take the plunge. The pool looked inviting but it was a bit too cold. If I'm back in Jacksonville, I'll be back to your hotel. DJ November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for a girls' night away The room was spacious. plenty of room and mirrors for 3 women to get ready for a concert at the landings in Jacksonville. November 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This is an older hotel and unfortunately it shows. The rooms are quite dated. Ours was near the road and it was noisy all night long; cars honking, semi's driving by, etc. Unfortunately the bed was harder than a rock. The location is perfect, right along the river walk. We took a very nice walk and used the taxi boat to go over to the landing. That was wonderful. However the hotel itself is not up to Crowne Plaza standards and you are definitely only paying for the location. November 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disapointed We usually like this property. Our latest experience was really disappointing. At check in I was not recognized as a platinum member and my folio was not ready. Check in took way too long. The room we got was average, not the upgrade we were expecting. Very disappointing after a few nice stays, it may be that this person was not trained to recognize the chains best customers or the property doesn't value the higher level customers any more. November 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and Amenities not as expected We booked two rooms for my friend school conference. Me and my other friend had a Test and Homework due that night. Valet staff took forever to come and get the car. When we got into the hotel the wifi had issues and when asked at front desk they said our WIFI is over capacity as there are more than 90% using it currently which wasn't even working at 2 am as we waited. When asked front desk to talk to supervisor she said i am the manager and said the same thing. Big inconvenience for business and college guests. November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by thank you My #1 choice when in the area. Despite the renovations, I always choose Crowne Plaza. Southbank, Friendly Staff and Great Food.........Thank you. November 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good bed but hall noisy Beds very comfortable. Wait staff very attentive from dining to housekeeping and front desk. Maintenance repaired TV within 5 min of reporting. Meeting rooms sufficient for our needs. Breakfast plates could be warmed. Eggs got cold before I got to my table. Doors slammed shut when patrons forgot to hold them. In spite of signs asking patrons to keep quiet in halls we heard noise up to midnight. Complaints to the desk from other patrons finally quieted them down. Only three carts available for patrons to move belongings to and from room. Better signage naming hotels needed at the off ramp. It slips up on people not familiar with the area. (Many in my group stated having the same problem.) We had to circle around and backtrack after missing the off ramp to River place Blvd. November 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Georgia vs Florida Game EVERY YEAR I book this location every year for the next year for the GA vs FL game. This year while spending time in the lounge downstairs left my purse with my credit cards, lisense and $200 cash by mistake. I did not discover that I had left my purse in the bar area until the next morning. I called down to the front desk with hopes that someone had turned it in. Someone HAD turned it in and to my surprise my credit cards, lisense and cash ALL untouched. I was so happy to have my faith in humanity returned in the honestly with the staff and customers that were involved with my situation. Thank you for such a AWESOME stay again this year GO DAWGS!!!! The bar could stay open later than the 11pm on Friday night the EVE of the GA vs FL game for those that choose not to go to the Landings. November 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by DID NOT REQUEST HANDICAPPED ROOM Crown Plaza is usually one of the nicest places I stay; however the Jacksonville riverfront location did not live up to the CP standard. I understand that it was a very busy weekend in Jacksonville, and the hotel was handling a very high number of guests, but as a Platinum member I expected more. I did not request a "mobility" room, and was very disappointed when we checked in. For almost 300 dollars a night, a very small, handicap-accessible room is not what I wanted. November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Real Nice and Affordable I enjoyed my stay at the Crowne Plaza. The view was wonderful from my balcony BUT we didn't have any chairs out there to really enjoy it like we wanted to. Another flaw with this hotel was the fact the rooms didn't include a refrigerator nor microwave. I would highly recommend this hotel as they have a very nice staff and it is very clean. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, great service We really enjoy staying at this property. The staff is excellent and always gives great service. The rooms are very nice with great views. The downtown location affords a pleasant experience where we can walk along the river or over the bridge and the water taxi is nice also. November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! Very nice rooms and great beds! Staff was wonderful too! October 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room re-dos very swank Good up-grades. Shower up-scale. Secure parking. TV card enigmatic ... October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Military Reunion Friendly The Crowne Plaza Jacksonville is a great place for a military reunion. Not only is the hotel well located on the scenic waterfront, the staff knows how to make veterans feel welcome! From the meeting room to sleeping rooms and meals and refreshments, the hotel was AAA-1. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! I've stayed here once a week every week during the fall, and this hotel has been great. The staff is really friendly and very helpful, and the hotel is always well-kept, clean, and great. Definitely recommend! October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great time at the Crowne Plaza, but room for improvement We stayed at the Jacksonville Crown Plaza for one night to celebrate our anniversary. Overall, we had a very nice experience. The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. We were able to check in around 2 even though check-in time wasn't until 4, and we were given a complimentary upgrade to a Jr. Suite -- Thanks, CP!! :) The room was clean, comfortable, and very spacious with a balcony that overlooked the St. John's river and the north bank of downtown. We also noted how quiet the rooms were. In the corridor between the elevator to the room, we could hear noise (TV, conversations, kids giggling, etc.). However, once in the room, we didn't hear a thing. The only two areas we thought could be improved were the pool and the breakfast. The pool looked nice. It was good-sized with two fountains, and the deck had plenty of chairs. However, the water was surprisingly cold. If it were in direct sunlight, it would probably have been refreshing. However, for the entire afternoon (at least this time of year -- Mid October), the pool is in the shadow of the hotel. My wife refused to go in past her knees. I swam for about 5 minutes. It would have been nice if the pool were heated. We did find a corner of the pool deck that was in the sun and overlooked the river. We very much enjoyed that. As for breakfast, we had reserved a room package that included breakfast, so in the morning we headed to the hotel's restaurant, which turned out to be very small. We had to wait about 15 minutes for a table. In addition to being crowded, it also appeared to be understaffed. We saw our waiter twice our whole meal: once when we sat down to take our drink order, and again to bring our drinks (ice water) halfway through our meal. I think he had to cover half the restaurant by himself. The food, however, was quite good. We had the buffet, which had the standard fare -- eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, waffles, fruit, etc. The quality of food was good, but items would run out and not be replaced in a timely fashion. I would think that, especially on busy mornings, if the restaurant only offered the buffet (this morning, they offered both the buffet and menu service), and then had the beverages be self-serve on the buffet, this would alleviate things. The wait staff wouldn't be overburdened, and the guests could get their food & drinks more quickly. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Happy Took my sons to Jacksonville for a Jaguars game. Was able to take a water taxi from the hotel to the stadium. Very nice room and good staff. Very good value. I will be back. October 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing Guest Service Overall, I believe that this property has potential if the staff issues were addressed. There is a sense of entitlement of many who make up the staff. The management does seem to strive to achieve its best, but when they're carrying the burden of the team they're leading, they'd be better off without the weight of them team they have. My front desk experience left me aggravated, the person checking me in showed no regard for guest service and seemed to want to be elsewhere. The evening manager did his best to remedy the issue that the front desk employee was unable to, but it did cause a billing issue which resulted in me spending several hours investigating 2 days after I checked out. The valet was very helpful, incredibly friendly, even under stress of working alone on a busy Friday evening. Our room was clean and comfortable, the view was city side and left much to be desired. If you have the option of riverside view, take it. The morning we checked out we had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. I felt so bad for the young staff member who sat us. She works the Starbucks counter and was having to wait tables, fill drinks, place orders, etc. while there were 4 other waitstaff members in the dining room. The breakfast rush was way over, in fact we ate around 11am. All 4 of the others, aside from the wonderful young lady who waited on us, was preoccupied with refilling sugars, condiments and rolling silverware. During the time we were there we were one of 6 tables, between 4 people, that sat guests. Our order was given to the chef through the heat lamps, because the buffet had not been replenished and what was left was dried up from sitting out so long. The floors were an absolute disaster. Trash, food and messes everywhere. I did express my disappointment when we were checking out, but there was no offer to remedy the experience and no empathy was shown. When we left, again the valet was prompt, courteous and incredibly helpful. On Monday I was reviewing the charges on my credit card and realized the wrong card was charged for the room fees, plus an additional $85 was authorized. The front desk manager was polite and proactive when I called, she stated she reversed the charges and would send a follow up email with a receipt. I haven't received that as of today. The property is nice, could be maintained better... but I'm certain that would be done if there were team members who were employed for their desire to serve others with a slave-like spirit, or in the spirit of being hospitable. There are many dynamic individuals who may not have hotel experience, but would shine in this property because they have a positive attitude, and are willing to pull their weight so that everyone wanted to be there to serve others. A few changes in staff is an absolute must for this hotel, that could have great potential, to be one that I'd ever consider staying in again or referring my friends to stay. October 22, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby with Entrance Hotel Exterior at Night Hotel Exterior at Night with Lights Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby front the Entrance
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading