• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Only Certified Service Animals are allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
National WWI Museum at Liberty Memorial
Distance From Hotel:3.3MI
Attraction:
Sprint Center
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:91
  • Car Parking Available
  • Both above ground and below ground parking available for hotel guests. Well lit and restricted access to parking makes for a safe and secure environment. Parking is complimentary for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:18
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:46
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:37
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:83
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel. Conveniently located just south of I-35 off US 169/7th Street, the hotel is nestled next to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center. Our location offers easy access to area businesses, attractions and the Kansas City International Airport (MCI).

Business travelers will find our Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center hotel
View More

Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel. Conveniently located just south of I-35 off US 169/7th Street, the hotel is nestled next to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center. Our location offers easy access to area businesses, attractions and the Kansas City International Airport (MCI).

Business travelers will find our Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center hotel nearby Cerner, Russell Stover, Hallmark, Saint Luke’s Hospital, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Federal Reserve Bank and the University of Missouri – Kansas City.

Leisure guests will find this Kansas City Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel ideal for enjoying area attractions such as the Country Club Plaza, Westport, Crown Center, Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Union Station, Power & Light Entertainment District, Sprint Center, Kemper Arena, The Kansas City Zoo, Arrowhead Stadium, Kaufman Stadium and the Kansas Motor Speedway.

Our 100% non-smoking Kansas City hotel offers spacious contemporary guest rooms, high speed Internet access, 32-inch flat panel HDTV and a plethora of amenities including daily hot breakfast buffet. The facility is also equipped with an indoor heated pool, fitness center, 24 hour business center and flexible meeting space.

Stay Smart and Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center.

View Less
Features
Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel nestled in the heart of Kansas City. We are conveniently located within walking distance to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center and just a few minutes from downtown, Sprint Center, Country Club Plaza, Westport, Kemper Arena, American Royal, Power and Light District.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 59 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Kansas City Legends I took a trip with my son and nephew and I was pleasantly surprised with the location of this Candlewood Suites, as it was across the street from the outlet mall, Royals Baseball Stadium, less than a mile from the water park and the Speedway. The price was appropriate for my budget. I appreciated the onsite free laundry room, one of the things I dislike about vacationing is returning home with dirty clothes. The staff was pleasant and I would definitely stay there again, only I would prefer either a two room suite or a one bedroom suite so I am not in the same room with the boys all the time. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good night's sleep! Best night's sleep I've had in a long time! The hotel was in a nice area of Kansas City with easy access to fun things to do in the area. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great clerks The front desk people were awesome, so very friendly. I was even asked if I needed directions for anyplace we were headed as we were checking out...WOW, never been asked that before. We were given good advice on banks in the area and other attractions. The only improvement that I can see they need here is a total paint job in non-smoking rooms that were once smoking rooms. Carpet felt a need for a good cleaning as well....Over all room was fantastic, wish we had stayed there more than one night...AC unit very, very noisy, but we like a fan at night, so it didn't bother us. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by surprise for the dav staff was great. minor glitches in ADA compliance will be addressed soon July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Perfect Long Weekend This is a very nice Candlewood Suites that I have stayed at a few times while travelling in or through Kansas City. The staff has always been very friendly and more than helpful. It's also a great place to take the family for a long weekend, and it is very close to a lot of the fun attractions in and around the Legends complex. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Vacation Week Comfortable surroundings, friendly staff and excellant service. This location was well suited for our visit and I will be back in the near future, as my business plans allow, July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff!!!! The staff was friendly and very helpful, they printed us directions to anywhere we wanted to go. They were able to get us in with short notice when our other hotel fell through. It was great to have plenty of room for our family of 5 and all of our belongings without living out of suitcases. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area, and if we are ever in the area we will be staying there again!!!! July 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cigarette Smoke Alert This was a smoking hotel recently that switched to non-smoking, it smells awful. We switched rooms twice but the smell was overwhelming. I DO NOT RECOMMEND, avoid if possible. Staff nice but that didn't help. July 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I am very fussy about hotel rooms and the "hotel" smell in the room. I use a CPAP machine and I hate the smell I inhale when staying in hotels. At Candlewood...I had no problem with that. It was VERY clean and I didn't smell that strong "hotel" smell. It smelled and was VERY clean. The staff was EXTREMELY helpful and friendly. July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but not great Property was nice. Front desk staff was excellent. Could use a bit more help cleaning rooms. We would stay again. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Service The Candlewood staff was definitely the best hotel staff I've ever encountered. They were friendly June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay Everything was perfect, The only thing I would look into is on the second floor the rugs are all bubbled and easy to trip on June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent room and great service Excellent room in a great location. Will certainly stay there on our return trip. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay for long term We will definitely stay here again. For a long stay this hotel is perfect. Loved the FREE laundry. The gym was just OK. The bed was a bit hard and we wished we had four pillows instead of three for two people. Besides that everything else was great. Loved having the full sized fridge for the long stay. This hotel was convenient for our work trip. Will definitely stay again! June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by candlewood rocks recently had the opportunity to stay at the candlewood suites, Kansas City. Great location, accross from LEGENDS mall. Great Service. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place Would recommend when staying in the Legends area. It is centrally located with easy access to the airport and other attractions. May 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good staff makes the difference! I've spent countless weeks at various Candlewood Suites throughout America. It is always the staff that makes the difference. A friendly hello, and offer of assistance to get the job done makes the difference. I've stayed at enough hotels that I can tell when a desk worker is new, experienced, or just not caring. While at the Parallel Parkway location in Kansas, City I did note a couple things the management should know about. In regards to room 220, the toilet leaks. It is a water valve in the water tank that leeks water into the bowl. Because of this, the water tank must be refilled about once an hour. I mentioned this to the maintenance man. The room 220 heating/cooling thermostat is inaccurate. I've stayed at other IHG hotels with similar systems that use the sensor. But, I believe the thermostat is off a few more degrees than normal. Nearby fireworks. I realize the nearby ball park and race track use fireworks. How about a friendly notice about these. Some nights I didn't know if it was thundering outside, or if a sporting event was celebrating. Maybe the Chamber of Commerce can help. I must say the bed is the most comfortable I've ever stayed in. Outstanding! Out of curiosity, how come the hallway heat is set at like 90-degrees. Also, why was an old wall Heat/AC unit laying on the grass outside the rear of the hotel for several days? It looks tacky. May 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Staff polite My stay was comfortable, marred only by two small events. The day after check in I reported to the front desk that my ice maker was not functioning. The desk clerk took some ice up to my room for me and promised that maintenance would repair it the next day. Two days passed and no maintenance, so I again mentioned to the front desk that it was inoperable. Again, some ice was delivered, and again I was told that maintenance would be dispatched. The next day maintenance appeared and repaired the issue. The second event was even smaller, but perhaps indicative of apathy. While trying to iron a shirt I discovered the iron in my room would not heat sufficiently to produce steam, only dribbling water all over the shirt. I took the iron to the front desk, where I was informed that there were no replacements available. Nor was one ever placed back in my room, forcing me to borrow one from a friend of mine also staying in the hotel. May 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WOW; fantastic staff and large rooms! I ran across this hotel by accident and am so happy I did. I get to the area several times a year and will not stay anywhere else going forward and will recommend as well. Great price, clean, large rooms, love the gift shop area and the staff helped me when my car would not start......Excellent! Thanks.....Herby March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Great location for work related stay. Nice, very clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed workout room. Will recommend my company uses this hotel again. I will plan on using this location when in town, March 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Services We get great service from this hotel. Christina does a wonderful good for all the employees from out company. She goes out of her way to get us taken care of!!!! February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks for making it an easy pick next time I was recieved with prompt attention, room was spotless. I had odd hours with my work i was there to do, and 24x7 i was helped without a second thought. Friendly, curtious, i just couldn't have asked for more.... Next time i will stay in a one bedroom, i had a meal, and it lingured while trying to sleep, so a separate bedroom is needed if going to eat in the room. February 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great experience The room was nice and clean, but the bed was worn and broke down. Sunk in in the middle, and when we moved around, it was loud, sounding like it was about to fall apart. Very, very uncomfortable. The hotel is very loud, as we were woke up by housekeeping loudly knocking on other doors and announcing themselves. The room above us was also very noisy as the occupants were walking around and talking. Kept us up in the middle if the night. January 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not impressed6422222222 The staff was cordial but not really friendly. I had negotiated a lower price with the manager only to find out She didn't honor the price she quoted me. Additionally, the room wasn't very nice. The furniture was in desperate need of recovering/replacing, (the vinyl was literally peeling from the desk chair and the recliner). The drains in the shower and kitchenette sink drained very slowly, The plaster around the tub was blistered and had peeling paint. The card reader on the side door and my room usually required repeated tries before the door would open. There were a number of times I was forced to go around to the front entrance to get in because the door never would open. Housekeeping would replace the towels as promised, but usually the kitchen towels were unusable due to a foul odor. The facility was quiet and the common areas were clean. I won't return to this particular location in the future. December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by MLS Cup Weekend in KC The stay was what we needed for a long cold weekend for the MLS Cup Finals - close to the soccer stadium and shopping to buy warmer clothes to wear to the game. Hotel staff was courteous. The chairs in the room were in bad condition with the fake leather cover torn off on the arms of the recliner and the seat of the desk chair. They should be replaced immediately as it leaves a bad first impression of the room when walking in. December 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by no blinds or heavy curtains to windows we stayed on the first floor and the way the sheer curtains are, people and the street light can come in our window. i will never pay to stay in a room that doesnt have the proper window coverings for privacy. the room was clean and roomy, but not everyone wants to have people see inyou room... December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel We came to town for a soccer game. The stadium was about a mile from the hotel. The room was comfortable, with a kitchen and full size bath. The concierge was fantastic and was great at suggesting restaurants nearby that were also really good. Look forward to staying there again when we come out for a soccer game again, December 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not so great This is the first (and last) time I have stayed at this specific hotel. I have never stayed at the Candlewood brand before either. I chose this hotel going off what the staff told me on the phone. Told me they were right across the street from the Legends shopping mall. I told them that was great because we would like to leave our car at the hotel and walk to do the shopping. Come to find out it was 3/4 mile away from the mall. Also while at the hotel found out they did not do continental breakfast at no charge, let alone any kind of breakfast. The beds were pretty hard and only a full size instead of the typical hotel Queen size. The heater in the room was broken. We had the thermostat set on 68 and it kept the room at 80. We had to sleep with the window open just to be somewhat comfortable. Do yourself a favor and go up 435 just a couple miles to the Comfort Suites. Same money and A LOT better experience and value. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Excellent extended stay. Very courteous staff and great location. It was a fantastic experience! Recommend it 100% November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible Staff makes the stay! Mary Beth, Christina, Stacey and the entire staff, including cleaning personnel and handy man were tremendous for our extended stay. The property is clean, simple and always in working order, but the staff? AMAZING! November 25, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Business Center Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading