• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Only Certified Service Animals are allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
National WWI Museum at Liberty Memorial
Distance From Hotel:3.3MI
Attraction:
Sprint Center
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:91
  • Car Parking Available
  • Both above ground and below ground parking available for hotel guests. Well lit and restricted access to parking makes for a safe and secure environment. Parking is complimentary for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:18
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:46
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:37
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:83
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel. Conveniently located just south of I-35 off US 169/7th Street, the hotel is nestled next to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center. Our location offers easy access to area businesses, attractions and the Kansas City International Airport (MCI).

Business travelers will find our Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center hotel
View More

Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel. Conveniently located just south of I-35 off US 169/7th Street, the hotel is nestled next to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center. Our location offers easy access to area businesses, attractions and the Kansas City International Airport (MCI).

Business travelers will find our Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center hotel nearby Cerner, Russell Stover, Hallmark, Saint Luke’s Hospital, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Federal Reserve Bank and the University of Missouri – Kansas City.

Leisure guests will find this Kansas City Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel ideal for enjoying area attractions such as the Country Club Plaza, Westport, Crown Center, Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Union Station, Power & Light Entertainment District, Sprint Center, Kemper Arena, The Kansas City Zoo, Arrowhead Stadium, Kaufman Stadium and the Kansas Motor Speedway.

Our 100% non-smoking Kansas City hotel offers spacious contemporary guest rooms, high speed Internet access, 32-inch flat panel HDTV and a plethora of amenities including daily hot breakfast buffet. The facility is also equipped with an indoor heated pool, fitness center, 24 hour business center and flexible meeting space.

Stay Smart and Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center.

View Less
Features
Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel nestled in the heart of Kansas City. We are conveniently located within walking distance to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center and just a few minutes from downtown, Sprint Center, Country Club Plaza, Westport, Kemper Arena, American Royal, Power and Light District.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 297 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of Pool Amenities We stayed at the Holiday Inn as it is an affordable option on the Plaza with a pool. We were extremely disappointed with the lack of chairs in the immediate pool area and surrounding area. We stayed at this hotel specifically for the pool, and will not stay again if changes are not made. Buyer beware. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Some friendly, some hit or miss staff First impression is hard to beat as the entire valet staff on duty Friday around 5p, were incredible. Kudos to them and I hope they know how much their professionalism is appreciated. A little issue at check-in: no recognition of IHG Platinum or Ambassador status, but that is not a requirement so much as it is a nice little gesture by the front desk. Second little issue at check in was that I was staying for 2 nights but they were under different reservation numbers due to first night being a paid night and the second night a Chase Reward Free night. I planned ahead for this and had written to the hotel asking them to merge the reservations so that I would not have to check out then check back in under the other reservation. I had received confirmation that this had been taken care of prior to my arrival. When I arrived, hotel check in stated they only had me for one night. After explaining situation, got it all worked out and made a plan for me to advise front desk early next morning and they would "check me in" and advise housekeeping that the room would not be vacated. This was done by 0800 next day but housekeeping was knocking on my door by 2p curious as to why I had not checked out. Discussed this with front desk and they assured me they had me in the room for the second night. Still no Ambassador status showing up for this second reservation but thankfully I had the IHG app on my phone that showed Platinum Ambassador and they annotated my account. I did go back later that evening and request access to Club lounge and was granted access; much appreciated. So, overall- a few hiccups but most of the staff was quick to assist and friendly. I would use this hotel again as its location cannot be beat. Additionally, the customer service and speed of the valets was top notch. They made conversation, remembered us the next day and were very engaging. Lastly, kind older gentleman that does Sunday breakfast service in the Club Lounge was pretty incredible as well... Thumbs up overall, Kellye S. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 dangerous bathtub There was no traction in the tub. Very dangerous and miserable worrying if I was going to slip and crack my head open. This needs to be corrected immediately! Bed is a standard hotel mattress, which means it is much less comfortable than my memory foam mattress at home, but I'm used to that. August 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient but poor a/c The location was excellent and we thought the price was okay given the location, but parking was very tricky. There are not enough parking spaces at all. Coming in at 11:30 pm, we had to park in an "illegal" spot on the premises. Also, our a/c didn't work properly and the room never got below 76 degrees. When I told the front desk, they said sorry. We would have appreciated a discount as half of us didn't sleep. Other than that, it is a clean property, the restaurant is fine, and Ruth at check-in was very pleasant. August 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed business traveler The room was basically clean. However, the furniture, fixtures, and overall facility (guest rooms, hallways, fitness room) is out-dated and/or cheaply constructed. The staff was friendly, but front desk personnel lack appropriate training and seemed somewhat overwhelmed, which meant check in/out took longer than necessary. The lobby bar looked fine and the restaurant was busy, so I assume these amenities were okay. The pool was unimpressive, especially since I think they promote this as a great feature of the hotel. Given the favorable location of the hotel, a significant face-lift would make this a great option for the business or leisure traveler. So, it wasn't a terrible experience, but definitely not one I will be repeating since there are so many other alternatives in the city. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by recent visit very friendly staff, everything was fine and comfortable. Wish the room was a little more modern. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Conference stay Walking distance to Country Club Plaza. Restaurant not open for lunch and with only hr for break during meeting, lunch was rushed. Overall stay nice. Conference room cool and needed jacket as most are. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice facility Clean, comfortable room. Price is okay compared to the area. It costs extra if you want the breakfast included, which I didn't see as a real value. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful front desk and shuttle staff I stayed at this hotel as part of a group attending a friend's wedding in Kansas City. The hotel staff and shuttle drivers got us to and from the rehearsal dinner as well as the wedding and took excellent care of us. I particularly appreciated the cold bottles of water in the shuttle van as I am an Alaskan and temperatures were well into the 90s for most of the stay. Kudos to the desk staff for getting all of us to the wedding on time even though there were lots of people waiting to use the shuttle. The pool looked gorgeous. I wish I'd had time to use it. My only complaint comes from the breakfast service. We had a family in our extended group with small children. Children order off the kids menu instead of participating in the buffet. It took more than 40 minutes and at least two direct questions to the server for our extremely patient little ones to receive their breakfasts. Our server did not check back with our group with any frequency. Fortunately, we had lots of "aunts" to keep the kids busy while they waited to eat. August 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Low Water pressure, no fans in bathroom, no refrigerator in room. Low Water pressure, no fans in bathroom, no refrigerator in room.....sums it all up. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliest Staff, Best service The front desk staff was efficient, courteous, and very friendly. I've never felt so welcome at a hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The only negative to the stay was an odor of sewage in the bathroom coming from the sink. We meant to notify the staff before we checked out, but it slipped our mind. I have no doubt they would have handled it immediately and to our satisfaction. The location was excellent, within easy walking distance to the Country CLub Plaza shopping and dining. The complimentary shuttle service was very convenient. Thank you to Tracee. We were very pleased with our stay and would definitely book here again and again. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Can't wait to come back! I had been wanting to take a vacation with my two young boys for a couple years now but because they are so young (2 & 7) I was scared that the hotel would not be kid friendly or that it would be a hassel checking in, eating, etc. but it was quite the opposite. Their flexible hours, phenomenal staff, and speedy check out made our vacation exactly what I was hoping for and I cannot wait to come back again. My son said "thank you mommy, I feel like a king," as he layed his sweet little head and the comfortable fluffy white pillows... They slept in longer than they ever have at home! August 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bathroom odor Sewery smell coming from either the sink or bathtub drain. Not pleasant. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing experience! I brought 17 students and 7 adults to KC to sightsee and we stayed at this hotel. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. The staff was amazing and they got us where we needed to be and we were always on time. Every time something came up, they were there immediately to help us out. They went above and beyond my expectations. The pool was out of this world, too. It was big enough to have handled twice as many kids. August 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nicely updated hotel in KC, MO Holiday Inn is hard to beat, and this one allows guests with pets to stay in a separate wing for a small fee. Our cat enjoyed sitting on the window ledge watching the people in the pool. The lobby is nicely furnished and upscale. Employees all made eye contact and said "Hello". Clean rooms, no animal smells, decent food, nice pool. 5 minutes from UMKC. Walking distance to shops and food. *note* Secure underground parking is free, but be careful if you have a full sized SUV or a big car. The parking garage is very, very tight and the spaces are not very wide. August 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comtortable room lousy service in resturaunt Service in resturaunt was terribly slow. Front desk instead of resolving gave excuses of staffing levels August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient to Plaza at a great value. The hotel is an easy walking distance to the plaza at a great price. The room was attractive with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was attentive to our needs. We enjoyed our stay. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This hotel met all my needs!! Clean room, comfortable bed, friendly staff, shuttle, room service. Great hotel will use again!! August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank You I was very happy from the moment we checked until the moment we checked out. A big thank you to Keith for hauling us everywhere. I highly recommend Kansas City, Mo to everyone. Especially the Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect hotel for art lovers Within walking distance of the excellent Kemper and Nelson-Atkins Museums. Country Club Plaza area with glorious fountains and many restaurants also a short walk away. On-site free transportation to nearby attractions. Nicely kept with excellent staff. What more could we ask for? July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overall hotel experience I was surprised how old the hotel was. It seems a lot of cosmetic upgrades were made. Staff was great. Public rest room was not convenient to restaurant or pool. General hall carpet was very old and warn. Bathrooms in the room are super small. Can hardly shut the door without bumping knees while on toilet. I am 5 ft 6 in 165 lbs, average. The water pressure in bathroom sink was very poor. Overall stay was great, great location but hotel needs to invest in some upgrades. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Pleasant We stayed at this hotel for five days. The hotel was clean and centrally located to all the activities we wanted to do/ see. The pool was clean and we had a great time swimming. The only complaint is that for a family of four the room was a little on the smaller side. I would definitely stay at this hotel again on my next trip to Kansas City. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything we asked for! We asked for two adjoining rooms so our grandkids' families could share time together. The rooms were super clean, comfortable, roomy - and the temperature was just right. Staff at the front desk and on the shuttle were extremely accommodating (even picking us up quickly at our destination so we wouldn't have to wait in the heat). The hotel is conveniently placed within walking district of Country Club Plaza, but we used the shuttle service because it was so hot while we were there. Would thoroughly recommend this to anyone. July 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Parking is often cramped for large vehicles. Overall this is a hotel with comfortable rooms and helpful staff. Parking is often a hassle for large vehicles unless you know to park at the adjacent hotel. Be careful of a room on the second floor. You might find you can't take the luggage cart past steps leading to your room. I was nervous carrying half the items on the cart down the hall and around the corner to my room. Fortunately, there were no losses. It would be better if the front desk informed staff of parking options next door. (I had to park a few blocks away the first night when all the spaces were filled before learning of the alternative.) Likewise, particularly with elderly guests such as myself, it would be better to place such guests in a room where steps are not involved or, at least, to inquire if steps will be an issue. Other than these two issues which can be handled at check-in, I like the hotel and staff. It is convenient to the Plaza. July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by the good and bad, great pool area but unflexible pricing Heres the goid and the bad, the pool area was wonderful, although ifyou wanted alcohol out there, the required you bought it from thier bar. Really great lication near the plaza shops and tennis. We went with a few folks and people git lowrr rates by just walking in that day and booking, rather than booking ahead. I suggest u check the rate when u get there and if its cheaper than your reservation cancel and r book while there, because they were not flexible at all to change prices, even for an IHG rewards member, very frustrating. I would have been happy with a small voucher ir something but they basically werent flexible July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff but ... Walls were so thin you could hear anyone walking outside. They had a few teams there and kids were running the hallways unsupervised day and night July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza in Kansas City. First of all, the service was excellent. The ladies at the front desk were patient and helpful. We came early to check-in because we were traveling with our small chihuahua dog, and as soon as the room was clean they let us check in. Until we could check in they offered to take our luggage for safe-keeping. Also, the breakfast buffet was good. All the food was fresh and hot, and the selection was the best I’ve seen at any hotel. Although this is a pet friendly hotel you would never know it. Our room was very clean. The carpet was spotless, and the room smelled fresh. We stayed in room #103 which is on the lower level next to the workout room. Although people were going in and out of the workout room we didn’t hear a thing. Some of the nice touches included an in-room flat screen t.v., all-white bedding with down comforters, Bath and Body Works brand soaps and lotion, a pretty view, large heated pool, and walking distance to the Plaza. I was impressed. Excellent value, family and pet friendly, classy employees--I will be going back. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service My daughter and I stayed a night at this location. The staff was friendly, helpful and very professional. The room was comfortable and clean. I would stay here again. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn Great service! Everyone was very helpful, especially the front desk. Super location! Iwill definately stay again during my next visit to KC. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service We really enjoyed staying at this facility. Loved the location and the manager (or may have been the assistant mgr) and the front desk personnel! We didn't eat there but we did go to the bar and the bar attendant was very good. He makes a great margarita also! July 18, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Business Center Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express.  Enjoy free wifi, free breakfast, and your choice of pillows.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading