• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Only Certified Service Animals are allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
National WWI Museum at Liberty Memorial
Distance From Hotel:3.3MI
Attraction:
Sprint Center
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:91
  • Car Parking Available
  • Both above ground and below ground parking available for hotel guests. Well lit and restricted access to parking makes for a safe and secure environment. Parking is complimentary for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:18
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:46
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:37
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:83
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel. Conveniently located just south of I-35 off US 169/7th Street, the hotel is nestled next to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center. Our location offers easy access to area businesses, attractions and the Kansas City International Airport (MCI).

Business travelers will find our Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center hotel
View More

Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel. Conveniently located just south of I-35 off US 169/7th Street, the hotel is nestled next to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center. Our location offers easy access to area businesses, attractions and the Kansas City International Airport (MCI).

Business travelers will find our Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center hotel nearby Cerner, Russell Stover, Hallmark, Saint Luke’s Hospital, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Federal Reserve Bank and the University of Missouri – Kansas City.

Leisure guests will find this Kansas City Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel ideal for enjoying area attractions such as the Country Club Plaza, Westport, Crown Center, Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Union Station, Power & Light Entertainment District, Sprint Center, Kemper Arena, The Kansas City Zoo, Arrowhead Stadium, Kaufman Stadium and the Kansas Motor Speedway.

Our 100% non-smoking Kansas City hotel offers spacious contemporary guest rooms, high speed Internet access, 32-inch flat panel HDTV and a plethora of amenities including daily hot breakfast buffet. The facility is also equipped with an indoor heated pool, fitness center, 24 hour business center and flexible meeting space.

Stay Smart and Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center.

View Less
Features
Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel nestled in the heart of Kansas City. We are conveniently located within walking distance to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center and just a few minutes from downtown, Sprint Center, Country Club Plaza, Westport, Kemper Arena, American Royal, Power and Light District.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 297 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room with comfortable bed. Hotel was very clean, staff very cordial. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and affordable Loved everything;convenient to dining, and shopping July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, comfortable sleeping The overall stay at the hotel was very pleasing. The temperature in the room was perfect. At night the hotel rooms were really quiet. I really enjoyed my stay and will visit the hotel again the next time I am in town. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great pillows the shuttle service was great, we didn't have to take our car at all. The provided parking was a big plus. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay here; they know how to treat you! I have stayed at this property many times for business and leisure. It is a very clean property and the staff is always on their game. They remember you during your stay and always greet you warmly. It is close to many locations in the heart of the city, they have a shuttle operated by the hotel that will take you wherever you need to go. The breakfast buffet in the hotel rest. is always very good and very fresh. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service trumps all! Staying in Kansas City was a delight because we chose this venue for our WWII Reunion! While the accommodations were all quite nice, it was the consistently excellent attitude and service given by the staff that made our stay memorable. If you are considering bringing a gathering to KC, check out this place! Meeting rooms are well placed, kitchen puts out an incredible meal (the filet mignon served at our banquet rivaled any meal I had outside the hotel) and the staff is 'old school' in their attention to detail and caring, courteous service. Our choices were many, but we obviously made the right one! July 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel near plaza Friendly staff and great shuttle service. They get a little busy at the counter sometimes as some staff also run the shuttle but it is worth it to have a ride to the local attractions. Wonderful to also have free parking! July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location great and helpful staff Wonderful stay.... Great location ....full service breakfast very happy staff parking very convient . I would go back and stay. Thanks to all it was a wonderful experience July 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disapponting Stay We stayed for business and leisure in July, 2014. Our stay was disappointing. The room smelled musty and we had difficulty checking in. (Our room key was not magnetized correctly and we had to return twice to the front desk---a long walk--to get new keys.) We received an accessible shower room which had no bathtub. We requested a room change, but were told that was not possible. I appreciated the free parking, but overall found my stay unsatisfactory. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good lounge Wonderful sleeping accomodations but don't expect a nice drink to take to the pool. July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely hot conditions It was extremely hot in the hallways without adequate air conditioning. I am from Florida and can tolerate some heat, but I was soaked with sweat by the time I got to my room. I lugged luggage up stairs, as the hotel has 2 levels for the 2nd floor. I went down approximately 2 city blocks to get to my room and then the key would not work. The clerk at the desk did argue with me about the key not working. I got a new key and lugged all my luggage back and was totally soaked by the time I went through the hallways. I heard other guests complaining about the heat in the hallways and the elevator also. By the way, I tried the first key again after I got the working key and it still would not work. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We booked this room because it was steps away from a restaurant we were going to for a wine dinner. One night at Holiday Inn is much cheaper than a DUI! The grounds are clean, the hotel is up to date, the room/ bed was great. The swimming pool and deck area is huge! The staff was attentive and check in/out were very quick. Breakfast was complimentary so I can't complain. If I were paying for it, I would say its a middle of the road buffet. I would definitely stay here again! July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to Country Club Plaza -Staff was top notch. -Lobby and common areas are updated and well done. -Room was reasonably updated. -Restaurant left something to be desired. Wait staff lacked adequate knowledge about food allergies. Food quality was mediocre at best. -Outdoor pool was clean and had a shallow end that accommodated our young kids. -Free parking! -Within walking distance of the Nelson Atkins museum. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by soft sheets & windows that open! I was very happy with my Holiday Inn experience. Staff very friendly & smiley. The bed was comfortable & I loved the soft sateen sheets. The towels were fresh smelling (no bleach smell). My window opened (essential for me) & had a lovely view. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They were very genuine and were happy to look into a few requests. The room was very nice and tidy and the beds were very comfortable. I would recommend staying here and I will definitely come back when I am in KC. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and friendly staff Great value from this hotel located close to museums and shopping with very friendly and helpful staff. Only downside was somewhat slow internet service. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Safe, affordable and great location. Walking distance to the Nelson and Modern Art Museum. Great shuttle service always available. Very polite and professional staff. Will stay here everytime I return to Kansas City. June 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing Special I was traveling for business with my boss and one other person. They split us up on different floors, which was very inconvenient. My room was dark and dingy looking. The thermostat did not work properly. It was very hot in my room. About the only positive thing I can say is that the soda machine takes debit/credit cards. The staff was nice, but not overly friendly. Overall, this hotel is nothing special. June 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hot room Staff at check in were indifferent, room never would cool down, ice and pop machine on other side of hotel Room was clean other than one stained towel (just didn't use it) and the corridors were nice and cool, thought about moving the bed out there Check out was a breeze also shuttle service staff very nice ! June 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and good service While the sleep was good and the service was good the entire hotel really needs to update and/or clean their carpeting. The rooms are rather small but comfortable although the sofa shoved in our room was really out of place as the room was not large enough to accommodate anything more fitting a hotel room like a table and a couple of chairs. I wouldn't say that we will not stay there again but it probably will not be our first choice. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Country Club Plaza in KC This is a great hotel with great people, surroundings, and price. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelenteservicio, limpieza y ubicacion Este hotel esta muy bien ubicado cerca de restaurantes Museos y tiendas. El servicio fue muy bueno, amables y me ayudaron con el check in del avión y el taxi. La limpieza de los baños es muy impresionante, las toallas blanquísimas y las toiletries son de Bath and Body work. La habitacion era grande y la cama super comoda. No ruidos asi que dormi placidamente. Me encanto la piscina, no es muy grande pero bien limpia. El restaurante esta ok con el desayuno, pedí unas panquecas pero recomiendo mejor el Buffet. Volveria a hospedarme en este hotel la proxima vez. Me encanto! June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant experience Extremely attentive and courteous staff. I was with a party of nine and the shuttle driver was very patient with us and great about driving us around. When he couldn't accommodate us, he went out of his way to call us a taxi service to get us to our destination. The complimentary breakfast buffet was good and had a nice variety. The room was clean and comfortable. Very easy to checkout. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and comfortable place to stay The hotel was packed, yet every staff member was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel has a nice outdoor pool and located conveniently within walking distance of the plaza. Beds are comfortable. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The restaurant staff went out of their way to accommodate us even though the were very busy with a large convention. June 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A bit dated but friendly staff First, I thought the hotel guest room was a bit dated. Wallpaper coming off under bathroom sink and a/c in room could not keep the room cool. I had it set to 72 and never felt cool, which made it hard to sleep. The black out blinds were broke on one side and I was unable to completely block out the light so I awoke to the bright sunshine coming in the window. No, I did not address this with staff because it was late night and I was not going to have maintenance come up to address the issue at such a late hour. I have confidence that had I contacted hotel management, that they would have addressed issue quickly. I felt like staff was super friendly and professional. There was an issue with the first room given to me and the manager on duty worked quickly to address the problem. Thumbs up to him. Hotel is in a very big touristy spot and I was surprised that it was not as updated as I had hoped it to be. I used reward points for this evening and felt like points paid to value received was not on balance. Hotel should be more along the lines of a 10,000 point stay for a Sunday non peak/non holiday evening. Did not use restaurant at all except to ask for assistance opening a bottle of wine. Waitress left me standing for about 5 minutes without even acknowledging me but the bartender assisted me as soon as he saw me standing in the restaurant area. Pool was large and well maintained. So overall, I thought staff was amazing and accommodating and they deserve kudos and appreciation for their professionalism. The cons in my review, in the grand scheme of things, are small and overall the hotel met my needs. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a good stay! The staff were real nice to us from the time we checked in until we left Sunday am.We only wise we could have had a small refrigerator for the room.The soda machine on the 4th floor was not working that weekend, but that the only problem we had. The staff got us a shuttle van to take us to the plaza and also picked us up Kevin was the driver he was very helpful in telling us how to get around KC.We ate in the restaurant 2 days the waiter was all by himself working the tables alone he did a good job doing so. The room was always nice and clean. Thank You June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and hospitable staff The most attractive feature of this Holiday Inn was the courtesy and friendliness of the entire staff. Everyone was very welcoming and ready to assist with any need. The bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom were both very clean. We enjoyed our stay tremendously and would stay again without hesitation. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend Getaway! Traveled to KC to watch a couple of games at Kauffman Stadium and this location was perfect!! Walking distance to the Plaza and museum and about 15 minute drive to the ballpark without using freeways. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent, and the staff was courteous and helpful. This is now our first pick for future stays. Thank you! June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, great service Great place to stay in downtown area. Staff very helpful. June 14, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Business Center Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading