• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
(e.g. Sep-04-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Only Certified Service Animals are allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
National WWI Museum at Liberty Memorial
Distance From Hotel:3.3MI
Attraction:
Sprint Center
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:91
  • Car Parking Available
  • Both above ground and below ground parking available for hotel guests. Well lit and restricted access to parking makes for a safe and secure environment. Parking is complimentary for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:18
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:46
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:37
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:83
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel. Conveniently located just south of I-35 off US 169/7th Street, the hotel is nestled next to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center. Our location offers easy access to area businesses, attractions and the Kansas City International Airport (MCI).

Business travelers will find our Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center hotel
View More

Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel. Conveniently located just south of I-35 off US 169/7th Street, the hotel is nestled next to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center. Our location offers easy access to area businesses, attractions and the Kansas City International Airport (MCI).

Business travelers will find our Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center hotel nearby Cerner, Russell Stover, Hallmark, Saint Luke’s Hospital, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Federal Reserve Bank and the University of Missouri – Kansas City.

Leisure guests will find this Kansas City Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel ideal for enjoying area attractions such as the Country Club Plaza, Westport, Crown Center, Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Union Station, Power & Light Entertainment District, Sprint Center, Kemper Arena, The Kansas City Zoo, Arrowhead Stadium, Kaufman Stadium and the Kansas Motor Speedway.

Our 100% non-smoking Kansas City hotel offers spacious contemporary guest rooms, high speed Internet access, 32-inch flat panel HDTV and a plethora of amenities including daily hot breakfast buffet. The facility is also equipped with an indoor heated pool, fitness center, 24 hour business center and flexible meeting space.

Stay Smart and Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center.

View Less
Features
Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel nestled in the heart of Kansas City. We are conveniently located within walking distance to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center and just a few minutes from downtown, Sprint Center, Country Club Plaza, Westport, Kemper Arena, American Royal, Power and Light District.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 308 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and good service While the sleep was good and the service was good the entire hotel really needs to update and/or clean their carpeting. The rooms are rather small but comfortable although the sofa shoved in our room was really out of place as the room was not large enough to accommodate anything more fitting a hotel room like a table and a couple of chairs. I wouldn't say that we will not stay there again but it probably will not be our first choice. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Country Club Plaza in KC This is a great hotel with great people, surroundings, and price. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelenteservicio, limpieza y ubicacion Este hotel esta muy bien ubicado cerca de restaurantes Museos y tiendas. El servicio fue muy bueno, amables y me ayudaron con el check in del avión y el taxi. La limpieza de los baños es muy impresionante, las toallas blanquísimas y las toiletries son de Bath and Body work. La habitacion era grande y la cama super comoda. No ruidos asi que dormi placidamente. Me encanto la piscina, no es muy grande pero bien limpia. El restaurante esta ok con el desayuno, pedí unas panquecas pero recomiendo mejor el Buffet. Volveria a hospedarme en este hotel la proxima vez. Me encanto! June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant experience Extremely attentive and courteous staff. I was with a party of nine and the shuttle driver was very patient with us and great about driving us around. When he couldn't accommodate us, he went out of his way to call us a taxi service to get us to our destination. The complimentary breakfast buffet was good and had a nice variety. The room was clean and comfortable. Very easy to checkout. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff and comfortable place to stay The hotel was packed, yet every staff member was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel has a nice outdoor pool and located conveniently within walking distance of the plaza. Beds are comfortable. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The restaurant staff went out of their way to accommodate us even though the were very busy with a large convention. June 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A bit dated but friendly staff First, I thought the hotel guest room was a bit dated. Wallpaper coming off under bathroom sink and a/c in room could not keep the room cool. I had it set to 72 and never felt cool, which made it hard to sleep. The black out blinds were broke on one side and I was unable to completely block out the light so I awoke to the bright sunshine coming in the window. No, I did not address this with staff because it was late night and I was not going to have maintenance come up to address the issue at such a late hour. I have confidence that had I contacted hotel management, that they would have addressed issue quickly. I felt like staff was super friendly and professional. There was an issue with the first room given to me and the manager on duty worked quickly to address the problem. Thumbs up to him. Hotel is in a very big touristy spot and I was surprised that it was not as updated as I had hoped it to be. I used reward points for this evening and felt like points paid to value received was not on balance. Hotel should be more along the lines of a 10,000 point stay for a Sunday non peak/non holiday evening. Did not use restaurant at all except to ask for assistance opening a bottle of wine. Waitress left me standing for about 5 minutes without even acknowledging me but the bartender assisted me as soon as he saw me standing in the restaurant area. Pool was large and well maintained. So overall, I thought staff was amazing and accommodating and they deserve kudos and appreciation for their professionalism. The cons in my review, in the grand scheme of things, are small and overall the hotel met my needs. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a good stay! The staff were real nice to us from the time we checked in until we left Sunday am.We only wise we could have had a small refrigerator for the room.The soda machine on the 4th floor was not working that weekend, but that the only problem we had. The staff got us a shuttle van to take us to the plaza and also picked us up Kevin was the driver he was very helpful in telling us how to get around KC.We ate in the restaurant 2 days the waiter was all by himself working the tables alone he did a good job doing so. The room was always nice and clean. Thank You June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and hospitable staff The most attractive feature of this Holiday Inn was the courtesy and friendliness of the entire staff. Everyone was very welcoming and ready to assist with any need. The bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom were both very clean. We enjoyed our stay tremendously and would stay again without hesitation. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend Getaway! Traveled to KC to watch a couple of games at Kauffman Stadium and this location was perfect!! Walking distance to the Plaza and museum and about 15 minute drive to the ballpark without using freeways. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent, and the staff was courteous and helpful. This is now our first pick for future stays. Thank you! June 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, great service Great place to stay in downtown area. Staff very helpful. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Excellent location near the Plaza, yet still very reasonably priced. Free parking is wonderful and a rare treat in an area like that. The only downside to the hotel is the hallway carpet - on the 2nd floor where we stayed - it's very stained and just looks worn. Gives the whole hotel a dingy and tired appearance. Just replace the carpet and it'll make the world of difference! June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to shopping and restaurants Overall it is a nice hotel. There has been some updating but the building just seems old. Elevators are not convenient when staying in certain parts of the hotel especially if you have a lot of luggage and wanting to use a cart. The staff and managers did a wonderful job getting us everything they could to make our stay better. We stayed 4 nights and the rooms have no fridge or microwaves. You can request them at check in they May or may not be available. Even tho I requested one online more than a month in advance. My only real complaint about the hotel was the carpet in the room seemed damp or something and the only pool is out doors and not even half the size the website portrays it to be. So for early June an outdoor pool didn't appeal to me . June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The staff was very friendly and helpful. Was very comfortable with the stay. June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, parking is an issue We were in town for a wedding, and this hotel was very nice. It was close-ish to the wedding location, and within walking distance to "The Plaza", which is the main shopping area. The parking for the hotel was not great. They have an underground parking garage that is very small, and some parking on the sides of the building, but we ended up parking on the street because the hotel was sold out. June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Times In KC I think we got a great value for the money, and we were very happy with the accommodations. June 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could be better considering it's in Country Club Plaza The rooms we had smelled terribly of dog urine. They told us that no dogs were allowed on the floor we were on but the smell said otherwise. Staff came in and sprayed "febreeze" on the carpet, which helped very little. So each day we came back to our room, we had to smell that terrible smell. Not to mention, there was an old french fry shoved into the air conditioner vent that had never been removed/cleaned out. Disgusting! The breakfast buffet was average. You had hot breakfast choices along with yogurt, cereal, fruit and donuts. Not bad but definitely not great. The coffee was very weak and tasteless. The beds were comfy and we did a good night's sleep in them. No refrigerator in room so we requested one. The little frig was EXTREMELY small and wasn't working properly because everything we put into it froze. Only one staff member smiled the whole time we were there, however they were helpful when we needed assistance. Overall, for the Country Club Plaza location and considering the room price, we were expecting better service, quality and cleanliness. June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Postage Stamp Sized Bathroom I had a very good experience. Very friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and free parking. The room were good sized but the bathroom was tiny, you could barely move around in it. June 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't believe what you are told over the phone I was told that "ALL" rooms came with a refrigerator and microwave when I made my reservation. This was something that I specifically asked about. I was reassured about this at the end of the reservation call. When I arrived at the hotel, I checked in, went to my room and no refrigerator or microwave was there. I called the front desk and told them that my room was supposed to come with a refrigerator and microwave. I was told at that time that it was on a first come, first serve basis and that there were none available. I was very upset as I had brought food that needed to be refrigerated and microwaved with me because I was told that these items were in the room. I was completely lied to. Before my mother & I could even settle in to the room at the hotel after a 4 hour drive, we had to go to a store to purchase a styrofoam cooler in order to keep our food in. On our last day at the hotel, our car was vandalized. Not a great experience. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Food server Male server in restaurant Sat. evening was brusque bordering on rude. I rated th e staff as excellent with the one exception above. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff I stay here quite often and I have to compliment the front desk staff. They always have a welcoming smile and a friendly Hello. They re most helpful and always glad to see me return. The dining room staff is just as nice and welcoming also The room's are always clean and in good shape. In fact all the staff always says hi and have a smile on their faces, which make me feel not welcome but happy to stay at the hotel. June 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Watch your bill If you have two pending charges against your credit card, beware - you have been double billed. Hotel staff was not able to identify or correct the problem for me over the weekend because they have no one on staff who knows anything about their billing practices. June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location & pet friendly Staff was very accommodating and professional. I traveled with a large dog and was made to feel welcomed. Great location...easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. June 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza Good value for the money. Location is superb. My room was clean and well equipped. The common areas are showing some wear, particularly carpets in the hallways and the furniture in some of the areas by elevators etc. are beaten up The check out took a while, only one guy at the desk and he was going as fast as he could but he had a lot of people waiting. The fitness center is small. Has two treadmills, a stationery bike and one elliptical. Good news is all these are Life Fitness units in good condition. There is a good set of free weights going up to about 50lbs and a bench, but it is a small space for more than 3 people. June 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family Friendly Hotel, with good location We have stayed in this hotel three times. We enjoyed the warmth and friendliness of the staff. They were always quick to respond to our needs. Over the years, the restaurant has improved their food selection. I would like to see healthier selection. June 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel and Disastrous Service I had stayed for a week at the Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza. My first impression of the hotel was good. The outdoor pool looked spacious and clean and the room was well designed. After spending my first night there, I discovered: 1) There was no mini-fridge in the room, and 2) The curtains were designed in a way that there was no way one could have them shut. However, the bed was nice and the air-conditioning was great so I thought, "Not bad." Wrong. The night before I checked out of the hotel, I found that one of my bags of gifts was missing. It was without a doubt that someone took it. I talked to the staff at reception about this incidence. They simply said that their cleaning staff had left and if they found my missing bag, they would mail it to me, WITH A MAILING CHARGE!!! Of course, no investigation was promised. Furthermore, before I checked out, I found on the receipt they slid under my door that I was mistakenly overcharged. I called the reception and was told that they would fix it. I thought, "Calm down, it will be fine tomorrow morning." Wrong again! No mistakes were fixed and I had to call them three times over 2 weeks before the issue was settled. This was my first time staying in a Holiday Inn and should be the last. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conference Attended I greatly enjoyed the opportunity to visit this location, so close to the plaza. I did however, have a large tree blocking my view of the outside and had the blinds closed most of the time even though the weather outside was beautiful. The staff were very attentive to my needs, so I could have requested a different room, but was only there a short visit. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay.....enjoyed everything Enjoyed......staff was wonderful.....especially shuttle drivers June 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by fine stay no problems except room clock didn't work. it was the alarm clock. staff came right up to fix it, but even though they said it was fixed, it wasn't June 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Men variety Evening selection very poor, extremely limited. Wings were overdone, soup old. /restaurant staff was good and responsive. June 1, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Business Center Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-04-2014)
Check Availability
Loading