• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed. Only Certified Service Animals are allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
National WWI Museum at Liberty Memorial
Distance From Hotel:3.3MI
Attraction:
Sprint Center
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:91
  • Car Parking Available
  • Both above ground and below ground parking available for hotel guests. Well lit and restricted access to parking makes for a safe and secure environment. Parking is complimentary for all hotel guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:83
  • Total number of suites:18
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:46
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:37
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:83
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel. Conveniently located just south of I-35 off US 169/7th Street, the hotel is nestled next to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center. Our location offers easy access to area businesses, attractions and the Kansas City International Airport (MCI).

Business travelers will find our Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center hotel
View More

Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel. Conveniently located just south of I-35 off US 169/7th Street, the hotel is nestled next to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center. Our location offers easy access to area businesses, attractions and the Kansas City International Airport (MCI).

Business travelers will find our Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center hotel nearby Cerner, Russell Stover, Hallmark, Saint Luke’s Hospital, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Federal Reserve Bank and the University of Missouri – Kansas City.

Leisure guests will find this Kansas City Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel ideal for enjoying area attractions such as the Country Club Plaza, Westport, Crown Center, Nelson Atkins Museum of Art, Union Station, Power & Light Entertainment District, Sprint Center, Kemper Arena, The Kansas City Zoo, Arrowhead Stadium, Kaufman Stadium and the Kansas Motor Speedway.

Our 100% non-smoking Kansas City hotel offers spacious contemporary guest rooms, high speed Internet access, 32-inch flat panel HDTV and a plethora of amenities including daily hot breakfast buffet. The facility is also equipped with an indoor heated pool, fitness center, 24 hour business center and flexible meeting space.

Stay Smart and Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center.

View Less
Features
Welcome to Kansas City’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn Express & Suites hotel nestled in the heart of Kansas City. We are conveniently located within walking distance to the University of Kansas Hospital and Medical Center and just a few minutes from downtown, Sprint Center, Country Club Plaza, Westport, Kemper Arena, American Royal, Power and Light District.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 338 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect hotel for art lovers Within walking distance of the excellent Kemper and Nelson-Atkins Museums. Country Club Plaza area with glorious fountains and many restaurants also a short walk away. On-site free transportation to nearby attractions. Nicely kept with excellent staff. What more could we ask for? July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overall hotel experience I was surprised how old the hotel was. It seems a lot of cosmetic upgrades were made. Staff was great. Public rest room was not convenient to restaurant or pool. General hall carpet was very old and warn. Bathrooms in the room are super small. Can hardly shut the door without bumping knees while on toilet. I am 5 ft 6 in 165 lbs, average. The water pressure in bathroom sink was very poor. Overall stay was great, great location but hotel needs to invest in some upgrades. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Pleasant We stayed at this hotel for five days. The hotel was clean and centrally located to all the activities we wanted to do/ see. The pool was clean and we had a great time swimming. The only complaint is that for a family of four the room was a little on the smaller side. I would definitely stay at this hotel again on my next trip to Kansas City. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything we asked for! We asked for two adjoining rooms so our grandkids' families could share time together. The rooms were super clean, comfortable, roomy - and the temperature was just right. Staff at the front desk and on the shuttle were extremely accommodating (even picking us up quickly at our destination so we wouldn't have to wait in the heat). The hotel is conveniently placed within walking district of Country Club Plaza, but we used the shuttle service because it was so hot while we were there. Would thoroughly recommend this to anyone. July 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Parking is often cramped for large vehicles. Overall this is a hotel with comfortable rooms and helpful staff. Parking is often a hassle for large vehicles unless you know to park at the adjacent hotel. Be careful of a room on the second floor. You might find you can't take the luggage cart past steps leading to your room. I was nervous carrying half the items on the cart down the hall and around the corner to my room. Fortunately, there were no losses. It would be better if the front desk informed staff of parking options next door. (I had to park a few blocks away the first night when all the spaces were filled before learning of the alternative.) Likewise, particularly with elderly guests such as myself, it would be better to place such guests in a room where steps are not involved or, at least, to inquire if steps will be an issue. Other than these two issues which can be handled at check-in, I like the hotel and staff. It is convenient to the Plaza. July 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by the good and bad, great pool area but unflexible pricing Heres the goid and the bad, the pool area was wonderful, although ifyou wanted alcohol out there, the required you bought it from thier bar. Really great lication near the plaza shops and tennis. We went with a few folks and people git lowrr rates by just walking in that day and booking, rather than booking ahead. I suggest u check the rate when u get there and if its cheaper than your reservation cancel and r book while there, because they were not flexible at all to change prices, even for an IHG rewards member, very frustrating. I would have been happy with a small voucher ir something but they basically werent flexible July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff but ... Walls were so thin you could hear anyone walking outside. They had a few teams there and kids were running the hallways unsupervised day and night July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience My family and I enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza in Kansas City. First of all, the service was excellent. The ladies at the front desk were patient and helpful. We came early to check-in because we were traveling with our small chihuahua dog, and as soon as the room was clean they let us check in. Until we could check in they offered to take our luggage for safe-keeping. Also, the breakfast buffet was good. All the food was fresh and hot, and the selection was the best I’ve seen at any hotel. Although this is a pet friendly hotel you would never know it. Our room was very clean. The carpet was spotless, and the room smelled fresh. We stayed in room #103 which is on the lower level next to the workout room. Although people were going in and out of the workout room we didn’t hear a thing. Some of the nice touches included an in-room flat screen t.v., all-white bedding with down comforters, Bath and Body Works brand soaps and lotion, a pretty view, large heated pool, and walking distance to the Plaza. I was impressed. Excellent value, family and pet friendly, classy employees--I will be going back. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great customer service My daughter and I stayed a night at this location. The staff was friendly, helpful and very professional. The room was comfortable and clean. I would stay here again. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn Great service! Everyone was very helpful, especially the front desk. Super location! Iwill definately stay again during my next visit to KC. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service We really enjoyed staying at this facility. Loved the location and the manager (or may have been the assistant mgr) and the front desk personnel! We didn't eat there but we did go to the bar and the bar attendant was very good. He makes a great margarita also! July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room with comfortable bed. Hotel was very clean, staff very cordial. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and affordable Loved everything;convenient to dining, and shopping July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, comfortable sleeping The overall stay at the hotel was very pleasing. The temperature in the room was perfect. At night the hotel rooms were really quiet. I really enjoyed my stay and will visit the hotel again the next time I am in town. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great pillows the shuttle service was great, we didn't have to take our car at all. The provided parking was a big plus. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay here; they know how to treat you! I have stayed at this property many times for business and leisure. It is a very clean property and the staff is always on their game. They remember you during your stay and always greet you warmly. It is close to many locations in the heart of the city, they have a shuttle operated by the hotel that will take you wherever you need to go. The breakfast buffet in the hotel rest. is always very good and very fresh. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service trumps all! Staying in Kansas City was a delight because we chose this venue for our WWII Reunion! While the accommodations were all quite nice, it was the consistently excellent attitude and service given by the staff that made our stay memorable. If you are considering bringing a gathering to KC, check out this place! Meeting rooms are well placed, kitchen puts out an incredible meal (the filet mignon served at our banquet rivaled any meal I had outside the hotel) and the staff is 'old school' in their attention to detail and caring, courteous service. Our choices were many, but we obviously made the right one! July 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel near plaza Friendly staff and great shuttle service. They get a little busy at the counter sometimes as some staff also run the shuttle but it is worth it to have a ride to the local attractions. Wonderful to also have free parking! July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location great and helpful staff Wonderful stay.... Great location ....full service breakfast very happy staff parking very convient . I would go back and stay. Thanks to all it was a wonderful experience July 10, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disapponting Stay We stayed for business and leisure in July, 2014. Our stay was disappointing. The room smelled musty and we had difficulty checking in. (Our room key was not magnetized correctly and we had to return twice to the front desk---a long walk--to get new keys.) We received an accessible shower room which had no bathtub. We requested a room change, but were told that was not possible. I appreciated the free parking, but overall found my stay unsatisfactory. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good lounge Wonderful sleeping accomodations but don't expect a nice drink to take to the pool. July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely hot conditions It was extremely hot in the hallways without adequate air conditioning. I am from Florida and can tolerate some heat, but I was soaked with sweat by the time I got to my room. I lugged luggage up stairs, as the hotel has 2 levels for the 2nd floor. I went down approximately 2 city blocks to get to my room and then the key would not work. The clerk at the desk did argue with me about the key not working. I got a new key and lugged all my luggage back and was totally soaked by the time I went through the hallways. I heard other guests complaining about the heat in the hallways and the elevator also. By the way, I tried the first key again after I got the working key and it still would not work. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay We booked this room because it was steps away from a restaurant we were going to for a wine dinner. One night at Holiday Inn is much cheaper than a DUI! The grounds are clean, the hotel is up to date, the room/ bed was great. The swimming pool and deck area is huge! The staff was attentive and check in/out were very quick. Breakfast was complimentary so I can't complain. If I were paying for it, I would say its a middle of the road buffet. I would definitely stay here again! July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to Country Club Plaza -Staff was top notch. -Lobby and common areas are updated and well done. -Room was reasonably updated. -Restaurant left something to be desired. Wait staff lacked adequate knowledge about food allergies. Food quality was mediocre at best. -Outdoor pool was clean and had a shallow end that accommodated our young kids. -Free parking! -Within walking distance of the Nelson Atkins museum. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by soft sheets & windows that open! I was very happy with my Holiday Inn experience. Staff very friendly & smiley. The bed was comfortable & I loved the soft sateen sheets. The towels were fresh smelling (no bleach smell). My window opened (essential for me) & had a lovely view. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They were very genuine and were happy to look into a few requests. The room was very nice and tidy and the beds were very comfortable. I would recommend staying here and I will definitely come back when I am in KC. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and friendly staff Great value from this hotel located close to museums and shopping with very friendly and helpful staff. Only downside was somewhat slow internet service. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Safe, affordable and great location. Walking distance to the Nelson and Modern Art Museum. Great shuttle service always available. Very polite and professional staff. Will stay here everytime I return to Kansas City. June 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing Special I was traveling for business with my boss and one other person. They split us up on different floors, which was very inconvenient. My room was dark and dingy looking. The thermostat did not work properly. It was very hot in my room. About the only positive thing I can say is that the soda machine takes debit/credit cards. The staff was nice, but not overly friendly. Overall, this hotel is nothing special. June 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hot room Staff at check in were indifferent, room never would cool down, ice and pop machine on other side of hotel Room was clean other than one stained towel (just didn't use it) and the corridors were nice and cool, thought about moving the bed out there Check out was a breeze also shuttle service staff very nice ! June 25, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Front Desk Business Center Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading