• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Dog friendly. With the exception of registered service animals, dogs must be less than 15 pounds. No refundable fee of 50 applied at checkin. No cats are allowed or other animals allowed.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  50.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Kansas City Zoo
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:81
  • Car Parking Available
  • No charge for parking, there is enough parking for tour buses, school buses, trucks with trailors

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:41
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:40
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Enjoy Your Stay as Hotel's Guest in Kansas City, MO

With fresh, modern decor and great perks like free high-speed, wireless Internet access, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex has everything you need to stay your way. We're just off I-70 and I-435, making it easy to get to Kauffman Stadium and Arrowhead Stadium. Our property is located just 3.74 miles from the Truman Sports complex.

This hotel's location is great for corporate travelers, and we
View More

Enjoy Your Stay as Hotel's Guest in Kansas City, MO

With fresh, modern decor and great perks like free high-speed, wireless Internet access, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex has everything you need to stay your way. We're just off I-70 and I-435, making it easy to get to Kauffman Stadium and Arrowhead Stadium. Our property is located just 3.74 miles from the Truman Sports complex.

This hotel's location is great for corporate travelers, and we offer a Business Center with copy, fax and print services. The hotel's event room is available if you need a place to host a client meeting.

Take advantage of our location close to downtown restaurants and attractions during the day, and head to the Starlight Theatre for an enthralling show. Sports fans appreciate that Kauffman Stadium and Arrowhead Stadium are near the hotel's accommodations. And, if shopping is on your to-do list, you'll love that we're just moments from Country Club Plaza and the Independence Center.

When you're finished touring Kansas City, Missouri you can relax in the hotel's indoor pool. With a complimentary, hot breakfast buffet, you'll get a great start to the day. We even offer a Fitness Center to help you keep up your workout routine. "Stay Smart" with us during your next trip to this beautiful "City of Fountains."

View Less
Features
As you search for hotels in Kansas City, MO, remember that these modern rooms are some of the most spacious in the area, and our property's tranquil location ensures that you'll enjoy a peaceful stay.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 324 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly, helpful staff Decent hotel only a couple blocks from the Plaza. While the room didn't strike me as anything special (and the hallway/stairs were dated ...), I can only praise the staff for excellent housekeeping and service. Overall, a pleasant experience and I would stay there again. September 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed, Great Service, Excellent Location Location within walking distance to Country Club Plaza. Entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Swimming pool was very nice. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by parking garage looks a bit seedy at the G1 entrance level as you come out of the hotel security door September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extraordinary Vacation Spending 2 nights at this hotel was a gift from a friend. Everything about this place from checking in, parking in a covered garage to checking out was wonderful. The staff went over and above to make our stay great. This was our 43 anniversary weekend getaway. We requested a microwave for our room and when the gentleman brought it in he stated that he had a frig in the hallway. Asking if we could have it as well made our trips to the ice machine less frequent. Washington took us to church and back so we didn't have to get our car out of the garage and hope to get a spot when coming back. This was an experience we'll never forget. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location to Plaza No complaints on the Hotel itself. Staff and accommodations were very good. Within walking distance to the Plaza. Only complaint is the parking is a bit challenging in the underground garage. I would recommend parking in the upper level where the SUVs park. Spaces too tight in the lower level. September 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Will avoid Very average facility. I chose it for the location (near to UMKC campus). Rate was much higher than other Holiday Inns in Kansas City. There was no microwave or mini fridge in the room. Our e-mail from Holiday Inn confirming our reservation said "Free Full Breakfast" but after having our breakfast , we were told that only I would get breakfast free, my family would have to pay $10.99 per person. I showed the manager the e-mail we had received showing "Free Full Breakfast" but he refused to accept it and forced us to pay for breakfast. This is the first time we have had this kind of experience at any hotel and it certainly left a bad taste. I will definitely never go back to this hotel again. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Great stay on the Plaza! Easy access to great restaurants and shopping, nice room, great pool, accommodating staff, all at a very reasonable rate. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk staff I was pleasantly surprised that you offered free shutlle service to loacations withiin 3 miles of the Hotel. I had a meeting at the IHG hotel and it was very hot so having this service was great. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight Stay it was a great night. One day we will stay longer and enjoy some of the other amenities. August 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Saturday Night Stay BUT No Shuttle for You! This was a one--night stay specifically to be close to the Starlight Theater for a show. HI web site said there is a free shuttle will take you anywhere within 5 miles. First thing desk staff says is that is not true--it's only 3 miles--- When we mentioned conflict with web site, they relent and said ok its 5 miles but Starlight is 6.9 miles away-- so no shuttle for you! (funny how they knew exact distance). Ok we lived and found another way to get there. --Also beware of the parking situation. There is an underground garage and then outside along the side-- but when we got back around 1130pm-- guess what? all full--- so we parked on the street 3 blocks away --- also be careful don't go down the alley in back to try and park-- there is no way out and you cannot turn around--only way is to back out. Then get ready if staying on the first floor for the other guests in the morning who seemingly think they are the only ones in the hotel and use the hallway as a gathering and talkfest-----Anyway-- an average stay-- so buyer beware-- it is a good location if you want to be in that part of town and we had a good time in spite of it all. August 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Shuttle Service-The epitome of incompentence We were advised to stay at the HI Crown Plaza by the parents of the bride (our niece) for a wedding we were to attend Saturday evening. We flew in from Denver and arrived at the HI shortly after noon. Talked to the staff regarding the shuttle and were assured that if we were at the lobby by 5:15 they would have us to the wedding in plenty of time. We were on time and boarded the shuttle at approx. 5:30. They did not know where the wedding venue was, were totally understaffed, and totally had no idea what was going on. The driver was trying her best to figure out where to go, but was being interrupted by other calls. After an hour on the shuttle, we arrived at the venue, 15 minutes late. At that point we admitted defeat and asked to be delivered to the reception venue. Management blew it BIG TIME. Needless to say, we will never stay at HI if at all possible. August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by KS City Parking When I returned to the Hotel following my meetings at 10pm I found there were no parking slots available in either of the 2 secure underground levels provided. It was necessary for me to park on the street overnight. I was also very disappointed to learn upon checking in, that even thought my room had been paid for by my organization, I would be charged $20 for "Incidentals". All I used was 1 set of towels, 2 water cups and the ice bucket and, of course, sheets. August 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Plaza Gem in the Rough Your hotel is positioned in the heart off the most elegant area of Kansas City. The basic layout and design of the facility though mature transcends age. I especially like the lobby, lounge area. If you handle the aging process properly yours could be one of the best hotels in area. My television didn't work, the furniture in room is showing age although the bed comfortable. My bed linens were not properly laundered. I have been a guest of this property when in Kansas City on business for more than 6 years now. The accommodations are slipping. Please don't let this happen. (These comments need not be published. They are intended as constructive criticism for management. I want to to continue to be a patron.) August 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service great comfortable rooms & customer service. although the first room assigned was occupied. it turned out I was supposed to be on the first floor, but was given an occupied room on the third floor. August 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst Holiday Inn I've ever been to The room smelled bad, the restroom even worse. The water pressure was horrible making it hard to brush my teeth. Also, there was this disgusting odor from the sink. We stayed on the first floor. Upon entering our room it was very hot in there. I tried to close the curtains and they were broken, not allowing me to normally slide them for privacy purposes. We somehow managed to overlap them. This hotel is in the worst location if you are looking to experience the Plaza because two minutes of walking distance there is a Quick Trip which appeared very unsafe with all kinds of creepy people. Also it's a good 5 minute walk away from all the shopping and entertainment. I would never stay here again even if I got a free room. There is not one thing I was impressed with. This hotel is in major need of renovations! August 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Bargain We had a pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza. Although it is not directly in the shopping area it was still within walking distance. The property was clean and well kept. I cannot say anything about the dining as we did not eat at the restaurant. The staff was friendly and helpful. Shuttle service was nice to have, however there was only one and it was first come first serve. Had to wait about 20 minutes and we were almost late for our dinner reservation. Also the shuttle stops at midnight, so remember this when venturing out. The hotel is not what in the luxury category, but for a couple nights stay it was great. I would stay here again. August 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and customer service The staff at this hotel is great. They go above and beyond any other hotel we have visited to assure they customers are being taken care of. A big shout out to "Michelle" who is the lounge bartender. She was very friendly and helpful with recommendations. August 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business as Usual Nice hotel, clean, nice breakfast, fun pool, nice staff and FABULOUS neighborhood. Kansas City also very pretty August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience This is a clean, relaxing, friendly hotel very close to the Plaza. There is a free shuttle that took my friend and me to dinner and picked us up. that was great. August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Nice Stay Stayed at hotel for business. Layout of the hotel is poor, large property with poor access to rooms. Rooms are nice and comfortable, I slept poorly but this is not because of the room. Was woken at 6am by a truck backing up outside. Beds and pillows were very comfortable, Housekeeping staff very noisy and appeared to be camped outside my room. Because I was on the second floor it was easier for me to take stairs, however, one stairwell smelled like urine, not sure if someone had used it as a toilet over the weekend. The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, at dinner in the bar and the not sure what happened but interactions between the bartender and server was very uncomfortable. Somewhat disappointed in the menu. I think overall I expect more for what I paid. August 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Staff EXCELLENT. The Staff at the Holiday Inn at Country Club Plaza, in Kansas City,Missouri, was most accommodating. August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Location close to the Country Club and friendly staff made for a very pleasant stop over in Kansas City August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! Stayed with my son and we had a great time! The facility was neat and clean and close to where we wanted to be. Will be back for sure! Check out the package that includes the breakffast, such a great deal! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Anniversary Get Away We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A great location for driving to and easy to get in and out with your vehicle. It is an easy walk to the Plaza and there is even an exercise path with stops to exercise just west of the hotel. The pool is outdoors but really nice. Recommend it for all. August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great business accommodations I needed an overnight hotel for a business meeting. I couldn't have asked for a better value. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, but bad AC unit The room was clean and comfortable, but the AC unit didn't seem to work very well. It was always hot in the room, no matter what the thermostat temperature was set at. August 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business Adventure I've visited before on business and had a great experience. However, this particular stay did not meet up to the expectations brought on by my first stay. The room struggled to maintain cooler temperatures, the room had a humid, stagnant smell, and the atmosphere of the upper floors lacked modern decor. I only had a short stay, so I didn't bring it to the attention of the staff, however, they were very helpful with adjusting some other of my colleagues arrangements and had helpful advice about the Plaza. August 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of Pool Amenities We stayed at the Holiday Inn as it is an affordable option on the Plaza with a pool. We were extremely disappointed with the lack of chairs in the immediate pool area and surrounding area. We stayed at this hotel specifically for the pool, and will not stay again if changes are not made. Buyer beware. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Some friendly, some hit or miss staff First impression is hard to beat as the entire valet staff on duty Friday around 5p, were incredible. Kudos to them and I hope they know how much their professionalism is appreciated. A little issue at check-in: no recognition of IHG Platinum or Ambassador status, but that is not a requirement so much as it is a nice little gesture by the front desk. Second little issue at check in was that I was staying for 2 nights but they were under different reservation numbers due to first night being a paid night and the second night a Chase Reward Free night. I planned ahead for this and had written to the hotel asking them to merge the reservations so that I would not have to check out then check back in under the other reservation. I had received confirmation that this had been taken care of prior to my arrival. When I arrived, hotel check in stated they only had me for one night. After explaining situation, got it all worked out and made a plan for me to advise front desk early next morning and they would "check me in" and advise housekeeping that the room would not be vacated. This was done by 0800 next day but housekeeping was knocking on my door by 2p curious as to why I had not checked out. Discussed this with front desk and they assured me they had me in the room for the second night. Still no Ambassador status showing up for this second reservation but thankfully I had the IHG app on my phone that showed Platinum Ambassador and they annotated my account. I did go back later that evening and request access to Club lounge and was granted access; much appreciated. So, overall- a few hiccups but most of the staff was quick to assist and friendly. I would use this hotel again as its location cannot be beat. Additionally, the customer service and speed of the valets was top notch. They made conversation, remembered us the next day and were very engaging. Lastly, kind older gentleman that does Sunday breakfast service in the Club Lounge was pretty incredible as well... Thumbs up overall, Kellye S. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 dangerous bathtub There was no traction in the tub. Very dangerous and miserable worrying if I was going to slip and crack my head open. This needs to be corrected immediately! Bed is a standard hotel mattress, which means it is much less comfortable than my memory foam mattress at home, but I'm used to that. August 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading