• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Dog friendly. With the exception of registered service animals, dogs must be less than 15 pounds. No refundable fee of 50 applied at checkin. No cats are allowed or other animals allowed.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  50.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Kansas City Zoo
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:81
  • Car Parking Available
  • No charge for parking, there is enough parking for tour buses, school buses, trucks with trailors

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:41
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:40
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Enjoy Your Stay as Hotel's Guest in Kansas City, MO

With fresh, modern decor and great perks like free high-speed, wireless Internet access, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex has everything you need to stay your way. We're just off I-70 and I-435, making it easy to get to Kauffman Stadium and Arrowhead Stadium. Our property is located just 3.74 miles from the Truman Sports complex.

This hotel's location is great for corporate travelers, and we
View More

Enjoy Your Stay as Hotel's Guest in Kansas City, MO

With fresh, modern decor and great perks like free high-speed, wireless Internet access, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex has everything you need to stay your way. We're just off I-70 and I-435, making it easy to get to Kauffman Stadium and Arrowhead Stadium. Our property is located just 3.74 miles from the Truman Sports complex.

This hotel's location is great for corporate travelers, and we offer a Business Center with copy, fax and print services. The hotel's event room is available if you need a place to host a client meeting.

Take advantage of our location close to downtown restaurants and attractions during the day, and head to the Starlight Theatre for an enthralling show. Sports fans appreciate that Kauffman Stadium and Arrowhead Stadium are near the hotel's accommodations. And, if shopping is on your to-do list, you'll love that we're just moments from Country Club Plaza and the Independence Center.

When you're finished touring Kansas City, Missouri you can relax in the hotel's indoor pool. With a complimentary, hot breakfast buffet, you'll get a great start to the day. We even offer a Fitness Center to help you keep up your workout routine. "Stay Smart" with us during your next trip to this beautiful "City of Fountains."

View Less
Features
As you search for hotels in Kansas City, MO, remember that these modern rooms are some of the most spacious in the area, and our property's tranquil location ensures that you'll enjoy a peaceful stay.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 402 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service...horrible beds. Location is excellent! Staff is very friendly. The beds did a number on my back. Didn't have that problem with the king size bed but the double room was bad. Check in wasn't the best. We arrived at one and was told I would have to come back at four. Apparently, everyone else was told the same thing as the lobby was packed when we returned. Also, the plumbing kept making weird noises one morning which was pretty annoying. Everything else was pretty good though! August 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Long wait My son and I spent 4 days at the holiday inn but I was wondering if we would ever get checked in!!!!!!! When we got there and entered there was huge line waiting to check in at 4:05 but , it was 5:45 before we got to our room. The other thing , in our 4 days there , the maids only came to our room once. We had to call room service to get towels, soap and toilet paper, August 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst check in experience ever! The only thing this hotel has going for them is the close proximity to the Royals stadium. We didn't have a room when we arrived at 4. Until they make some drastic changes I will not insider this hotel again in my travel plans. August 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Staff not prepared for busy night Check in time was 4pm. My room was not ready until almost 5:30. After a long day of driving with 2 kids, we were ready to relax an hit the water park. Staff actually told me they were busy and my room will be ready when it's ready. Room was ok but right by elevator...heard dinging all night. We also ate at the sports bar there and service was good but food wasn't. We travel through KC often and will never stay here again. Water park was awesome though! August 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty / Horrible check-in process This hotel is not worth the price. Long long long long wait times to check-in. They did nothing for the guests waiting in hour long lines to check into the room. Room was extremely dirty and outdated. Kept my shoes on in the room the entire time. Only stay here if it's your last option. August 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Plain dirty and a/c didn't work. Bathroom gross My family will never stay at this hotel again. It was dirty,old,bathrooms were gross and just was NOT a good experience!!! August 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Surprised!!!!!!!!!!!! We have stayed at this hotel many times. We were surprised at the condition of the hotel and the staff in general. It was dirty, the staff was unfriendly, curt and uninviting and our room was in disarray. The armoire was pulled away from the wall and the television was unplugged. The air conditioner was leaking condensation onto the floor and made a water stain on the carpet. There was a bar of soap stuck near the ceiling on the wall in the shower. The bed itself was comfortable. We've enjoyed staying here many times because of the location, price, accommodations and will probably stay again. It has a great restaurant and lounge area where the staff is very friendly but this hotel is always understaffed. August 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mildew in bathroom and long check-in wait Wait to check in was 45 minutes itself with a long line. Would think with it being a game day they would have all hands on at check-in and not just 3 people. Bathroom smelled so bad like mildew had to shut door and hold breath when had to use it. August 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by very courteous staff we liked everything about the hotel, except the check in. I don't know if this is a common problem or a one time thing, but we stood in line for an hour and a half just to check in, so we could go relax in our room before the game. August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay. My family and I stayed here on the same day as the Chiefs 1st pre-season game. The hotel was very busy. All the staff were helpful and polite. The game room was a nice bonus for the kids. The indoor water park was fun. The price WAS NOT included in our room rates tho which was a little disappointing. Overall a great stay and I will certainly stay here again. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff. The staff was very kind and attentive to our needs. The pillows were very large and soft. I found them to be extremely uncomfortable. The swimming area was wonderful. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Proximity to Chiefs and Royals Stadiums I visited this hotel because of its proximity to my parents' house and the Royals Stadium. My daughter and I were able to easily walk over to the Royals game from the hotel, and the hotel also had a shuttle bus. The rooms were clean, and the staff was polite. The indoor water-park is a great distraction for families with kids. The only con I experienced was the front desk seemed overwhelmed at check-in time with loads of Royals fans trying to check-in before the game -- recommend more than 2 front desk personnel at check-in time. Also, three elevators was not quite enough (causing long waits for the elevators). August 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A/C is loud and never cooled the room until we woke up the next morning. Too loud A/C and it didn't work well. My swimsuit and my daughter's both turned different colors from way too much chlorine in the pools!!! August 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great STAFF! Hotel Needs Updating The absolutel BEST part of our family reunion stay at this hotel were the staff members. From the Front Desk to the Dining Room, they were ALL very very very pleasant, helpful, kind and easy to talk to. Just friendly people! To name a few who really stood out to us at the front desk: Kandice, Sherri, Shellie and Ashley were amazing! Even with crazy lines and people, everyone did what they could and kept it cool. I'm impressed. In the Dining Room the food was great, but our servers Shantee, Shantel and Mona were on top of it. We could not have asked for better people to manage our food and our big crew. A BIG Thanks to all of you ladies and I can't forget Greg who handled our reunion. You kept a smile even when I know we were wearing you thin. Thank You so much! As for the room and the hotel itself... None of my family was impressed or pleased. The people I mentioned above totally made the stay worth our time and they are the only reason the hotel gets 2 stars from me. The rest of the facility needs major updating, the carpet needs to be cleaned and the house-keepers may need to step it up a bit. I felt the need to re-clean my whole bathroom because it didn't seem clean enough. Most of the issue is the muggy, damp feel throughout the place. I'm guess it's because of the indoor pool and indoor waterpark and the outdoor pool....you know, people walking around wet. Just causes a thick enviroment in the air. I ended up getting sick because I had the hardest time getting circulation in the room. All that said, great people...but the hotel needs renovation and lots of love. Thanks August 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the price of admission My first comment is the hallways of our floor smelled like wet dog. The outside pool was filthy, not just leaves or sticks...hair clumps floating in it and around the pool was very trashy. Our room was cleaned, but we did not receive additional towels to replace the ones taken. I would not recommend staying here. August 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Got what I expected - Very Little My experience at this property was exactly what previous reviews said it would be; very poor. I took a chance only because I had 2 young people with me that wanted to experience the water park. I arrived at 4 in the afternoon; check in time, there was a long line at the desk. When I got to the desk, I was informed that my room was not ready. I return to the desk at 6 and the room was still not ready. I did get a room about 15 minutes later. When we went to the room, we found a pile of trash between the beds. Bottom line without the water park this property is about 3X too expensive, I would recommend anywhere but here. August 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Chaos and Poorly cleaned. Beware of human feces in water park Upon arrival at the hotel I was immediately concerned because I could feel the sense of panic with the staff and unorganized behavior. We checked in to get our zoo pass water park combo pack in the early morning and was told to return at anytime to pick up our keys at 430 our room still wasn't ready. Once we were able to get our room I at first was pleased on the surface it seemed to be a clean and comfortable spacious room. Upon further inspection the floor in the bathroom was filthy. When I opened up the closet door it was full if trash from previous guests. That evening I also realized the duvet on one of the beds was missing, which has me concerned the sheets were even changed at all. I also requested a extra bed (which I was denied) and additional blankets 3 times for the 5th guest to sleep and they never arrived. Upon informing the front desk in the morning of our issues all I got was oh man that's too bad jeeze sorry.. TO TOP it off my husband went to shower at the coco keys locker rooms and someone had POOPED ON THE FLOOR in the shower and he stepped in it.. Wow so glad I had already retired for the evening, or I may have had to be escorted out by authorities August 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Will not stay here again. Upon arrival at 6pm, my room was not ready. We did not get in to a room until 7pm. I never received a call my room was ready and had to wait a second time in line to find out it was ready. The staff mistakenly had me checking out after one night when I had reservations for 4 nights. I found this out while away from the hotel by receiving a call from the staff wanting to know why I had not vacated my room. I had to re-check in a get new keys re-issued. My room was never made up or cleaned this day. The third day the maid staff did very little. Made the beds and took out trash was all. I was given 2 clean towels when we are a family of 3. No coffee cups were replaced. A maid had left a cart out in the hallway all night and we were able to get items needed ourselves. The beds are old and uncomfortable, and the pillows are smashed down in to some Jr European size when they should instead be replaced. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Price is high for quality of room What we paid for a room I thought we would have a very clean room , but not the case. We were on 6th floor and air conditioner did not work in our room. Rooms were not very clean , carpets stained. Beds extremely hard and uncomfortable!!! You had to wait 5-10min to get on a elevator at anytime of day/night. The only thing that was nice was the waterpark. The arcade half the games weren't working. August 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty Rooms Our room smelled of urine because the bathroom was not well cleaned. The back of the toilet had dried urine when we arrived. August 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by TERRIBLE!! DONT WASTE YOUR $$$$!! This place is the absolute worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We were not able to check in until almost 6. Check in is at 4. They kept telling us the room was not cleaned even though check out is at 11. The room we FINALLY got was leaking from the ceiling, freezing cold because the AC would not shut off, the staff was not very friendly, we could see the housekeeping staff out our window sitting in back smoking rather than cleaning rooms, the restaurant inside the hotel takes forever to get your drinks and serve you, my sons hat and shirt were stolen from the locker room at the water park and no one could help us even look for it, they charged my card an extra $25 dollars in case we asked for any services while there and I still have not gotten any of it back despite that fact that we spent absolutely NO extra money there, the final straw for me was that the arcade was a pile of junk. My 5 year old son tried to play games and they kept taking all his money and not letting him play. At this point I lost my cool and reported everything to staff at the hotel. They just looked at me. We will never, EVER stay at this place again. The water park on the other hand was pretty fun for our children and they really enjoyed it. Just don't stay at the hotel for any reason! August 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by I would pass next time No microwaves or mini fridge in the rooms, no continental breakfast, this is the 2nd time I gave this park a try and it is TOO cold. Never have this issue at at local competitors. I put $20 on a credit card for my kids to play in the arcade. No one bothered to tell me that about 60-75% of the games were broken. I went back and asked for my money back and the lady said "yea, the games are all broken". She should have had the courtesy to tell me this before my kids got excited to play. We left the hotel for entertainment for our kids. The light in my kids room was not even long enough to plug in and use, the coffee maker was terrible in the room, we could not keep our drinks cold because there was no fridge, only 1 tv station for our kids that had cartoons. So disappointed in the money we spent. We ended up leaving for entertainment at a local spot-we paid for entertainment by going to the hotel and spent way more money having to leave the hotel. Would rather have paid to stay at a non-waterpark hotel that is higher quality. August 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Better a year ago. I stayed here a year ago for several nights and had no problems other than the shuttle to the ballpark not running one of those nights. I arrived a little early and it was no problem. This year however, was not as good. We arrived slightly before 3 pm. We were told that the rooms were not available yet and may not even be ready by 4pm. The lady said to go ahead and check in and they would call us when the room was available. This aggravate us somewhat as we sat around patiently waiting after our long drive. I kept checking my cell phone for a call but never did receive one so I finally decided to get into one of the huge lines, not even sure if it would do any good. Finally after around another hour I got my turn and luckily the lady checked and did have a room ready. This left us very little time to get our showers and make it to the baseball game at 7 pm. The shuttle to the ballpark was great. The only other really aggravating part of the stay was the extremely slow WiFi. I believe my old dial up was faster and to make things worse every couple hours you had to agree to the terms of the internet which took about 5 minutes for the page to load. August 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needed some attention The refrigerator was sitting in the hallway when we got to our room. The carpet was wet where the refrigerator was supposed to be. The only electrical outlet that we could get to work was in the bathroom! The beds were ok, but the linens were stained a bit. Probably going to stay somewhere else next time we go to a Royals or Chiefs game. August 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by room was hot and looked dirty The lobby gives the imprecation that it is a five star hotel but don't be fooled. The hallways smell, the restaurant has bad services and are not prepared for the inflow of people with kids. The restaurant was out of everything, my husband had to pick three different things until they said yes we have it. The food not good, the reason its full house kids eat FREE. The day we arrived in Kansas City it was 108 outside. Our room's A/C wasn't cooling properly. We talked to front desk and yes they sent maintenances but all he did was change the air filter and said he can bring us a fan. A dirty fan. August 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Rooms Need Updating The lobby area is beautiful but the rooms are small with the beds very small. This was the one of three hotels we stayed at for our vacation. All the others had at least queen size beds. Beds were very lumpy and one comforter had a large spot on it as well as the carpet having spots and needed replaced or cleaned. The best part of the hotel was the transportation to and from the Royals game and the driver. She was wonderful. Needs room updating badly especially for the price you pay to stay. Air Conditioning was ok but could have been colder. Overall stay was ok. August 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Aircinditioning an issue The airconditioning at this hotel has not been very good either time we have stayed here. Not unbarable, but not up to par with other hotels of this quality. August 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst check-in experience ever at a holiday inn! Arrived at the hotel around 5:30 to be greeted by a long slow moving check in line. Confusion over what line to be in. Was told by other people in the line that one line was for checking in and the other was for getting room key whenever they had a room ready. Was compensated with free water park tickets even after I said we wouldn't use them. We was only there for the baseball game that night then to leave early the next morning to travel home. We changed our clothes in the lobby wand went to the game. After the game the room was ready. Room was just as expected from a holiday inn no issues. Room service was quick and my girls and I loved the food. August 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by If a game day dont cone here Check in was at four but got there a little early. Said be about a half an hour until room was ready. Heard that about three more times as well did the other thirty some people there. Had to leave for the game before we even had a room. August 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Kauffman We chose those hotel due to close proximity to KC Royals. Shuttle service was great. Hotel staff was overwhelmed - still trying to get rooms available at 10 pm for guests. Phone in room did not work. Had to call front desk on cell phone. I might stay there again if attending a game, but will probably opt to drive a little distance instead. August 2, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions
Select to close.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading