• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Dog friendly. With the exception of registered service animals, dogs must be less than 15 pounds. No refundable fee of 50 applied at checkin. No cats are allowed or other animals allowed.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  50.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Kansas City Zoo
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:81
  • Car Parking Available
  • No charge for parking, there is enough parking for tour buses, school buses, trucks with trailors

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:41
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:40
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Enjoy Your Stay as Hotel's Guest in Kansas City, MO

With fresh, modern decor and great perks like free high-speed, wireless Internet access, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex has everything you need to stay your way. We're just off I-70 and I-435, making it easy to get to Kauffman Stadium and Arrowhead Stadium. Our property is located just 3.74 miles from the Truman Sports complex.

This hotel's location is great for corporate travelers, and we
View More

Enjoy Your Stay as Hotel's Guest in Kansas City, MO

With fresh, modern decor and great perks like free high-speed, wireless Internet access, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex has everything you need to stay your way. We're just off I-70 and I-435, making it easy to get to Kauffman Stadium and Arrowhead Stadium. Our property is located just 3.74 miles from the Truman Sports complex.

This hotel's location is great for corporate travelers, and we offer a Business Center with copy, fax and print services. The hotel's event room is available if you need a place to host a client meeting.

Take advantage of our location close to downtown restaurants and attractions during the day, and head to the Starlight Theatre for an enthralling show. Sports fans appreciate that Kauffman Stadium and Arrowhead Stadium are near the hotel's accommodations. And, if shopping is on your to-do list, you'll love that we're just moments from Country Club Plaza and the Independence Center.

When you're finished touring Kansas City, Missouri you can relax in the hotel's indoor pool. With a complimentary, hot breakfast buffet, you'll get a great start to the day. We even offer a Fitness Center to help you keep up your workout routine. "Stay Smart" with us during your next trip to this beautiful "City of Fountains."

View Less
Features
As you search for hotels in Kansas City, MO, remember that these modern rooms are some of the most spacious in the area, and our property's tranquil location ensures that you'll enjoy a peaceful stay.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 406 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Aircinditioning an issue The airconditioning at this hotel has not been very good either time we have stayed here. Not unbarable, but not up to par with other hotels of this quality. August 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst check-in experience ever at a holiday inn! Arrived at the hotel around 5:30 to be greeted by a long slow moving check in line. Confusion over what line to be in. Was told by other people in the line that one line was for checking in and the other was for getting room key whenever they had a room ready. Was compensated with free water park tickets even after I said we wouldn't use them. We was only there for the baseball game that night then to leave early the next morning to travel home. We changed our clothes in the lobby wand went to the game. After the game the room was ready. Room was just as expected from a holiday inn no issues. Room service was quick and my girls and I loved the food. August 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by If a game day dont cone here Check in was at four but got there a little early. Said be about a half an hour until room was ready. Heard that about three more times as well did the other thirty some people there. Had to leave for the game before we even had a room. August 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Kauffman We chose those hotel due to close proximity to KC Royals. Shuttle service was great. Hotel staff was overwhelmed - still trying to get rooms available at 10 pm for guests. Phone in room did not work. Had to call front desk on cell phone. I might stay there again if attending a game, but will probably opt to drive a little distance instead. August 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by The stay I know I marked it poorly, but the front desk was very accomodating. We had a very dirty room and a room that did not have air conditioning. They tried to fix it twice, but it didn't help. Our kids loved the water park and arcade. Casey's Bar and Grill was also very good and had reasonable prices. We loved the location (close to the Royals). The staff said they would make it right, but we haven't seen any evidence of this to date. August 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Family Experience Our family of 5 had an overall pleasant experience. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Our room was clean but our air conditioner wouldn't keep our room cool but staff brought us a fan which helped. Our kids loved the CocoKey Water Resort for entertainment. Our hot breakfast every morning was very good with plenty of options to keep each one of us happy. We liked the location and convenience of the hotel since it was fairly close to most of the major attractions. We would stay here again and recommend it to friends. July 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Impressed2014 Front desk staff was friendly. Restaurant service and food were good . Room quality poor. After eating in the restaurant we were in the room with our children watching tv and visiting. Nothing excessive and the room next door bangs on our wall. Five minutes later security guard shows up and said they received a noise complaint! Unimpressed if the room could hear us that easily! Also next day at checkout we waited 15 min for elevator before taking stairs 14 flights. Not impressed with overall experience. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, GOOD VALUE, GREAT LOCATION We stayed @ the Waterpark Holiday Inn for an annual baseball trip. The room was pretty standard, but clean and comfortable. The housekeeping staff was great about keeping our (messy) room clean for us. Walking distance (<1mile) to both ballparks, Denny's, Gates BBQ, and a few friendly local bars. We really enjoyed the outdoor pool every day and had a great time at the waterpark. We were surprised to find that they served (reasonably priced# beers in the waterpark. We had a blast going down the slides, slashing in the playground, and shooting hoops in the shallow pool. We used a local car service to ferry us back and forth to the KC LIVE! area in the Power and Light district #app $25 one way) and our driver referred us to other cool local spots. The only drawback was the service in the restaurant. Both days we ordered bfast, the service was slow and our food came out randomly and one plate at a time. The hostess and our server didnt seem to care or think it was abnormal. One suggested that we should have ordered the buffet. I must say that when we did get our food, it was tasty and reasonably priced. I'd definitely stay here again if in KC and would recommend it to others. July 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms were not ready. We came into town for a baseball tournament. We played two night games and didn't get back to the hotel until around 9:30. The was a long line to wait in and once we got to the counter we found out why. There were no rooms available (there were empty rooms, but none of them were clean). We had made our reservations months in advance and they didn't have anything ready for us. Luckily, some of the families got to town early enough to check in early to get their rooms. But those of us who didn't had to wait. I didn't get my room until 11:15 and some families did not get their rooms until 1:00am. This is completely unacceptable, especially for youth baseball teams who have to wake up early and play games. The next day we go to our games and come back around 11:30 and talk to the managers at the front desk to see if our rooms were cleaned yet. And they said, "Of course, Why wouldn't they be?". Several of us get up to our rooms and guess what...... nothing had been touched. The next morning they decided to cut our breakfast off 25 minutes early. They told me it was a communication mixup. The Royals were in town, so parking was a nightmare. This hotel was completely unorganized. They had excuses for everything. July 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Omaha Very convenient to Royals game and friendly staff. Holiday Inn needs to invest in new beds, pathetic. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and room Great value pricing and staff. Even though I stayed in a hotel with a water park the rooms were quiet. The staff was great. I definitely will stay there again. July 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed This used to be such a great hotel. Our room was unclean. The floor was filthy as was the bathroom. Couldn't believe the poor condition of the rooms. Will not return. The staff we dealt with was friendly, but seemed overwhelmed. July 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Below average at best I think reviews are always a great way to improve on anything. Our trip was planned for a small group of children for my daughter's birthday. Check in was great and speedy. Very easy and the lady was extremely helpful. The main lobby was clean but upon entering our room it smelled funny and there was a big bottle of cleaning supplies left in the bathroom. Secondly, it was terribly hot and the room unit had a very hard time keeping up. It was not hot outside so I am not sure what happened. We were able to go down to CoCo Key area and on the website it stated there was enough life jackets for younger children so I told my family members not to worry about it for the 4 year olds. When we arrived we could not find the anywhere and were told there were no more available. This was very frustrating considering we had 4 young children with us. We went to play the arcade machines and put in our card and there were several games that were not working. It was very disappointing for the kids. We stopped trying and left. Breakfast the next morning we ordered off the menu and waited over 30 minutes for our food. It was cold. The service was very attentive but the food was awful. We did not complain as our children were hungry and we needed to leave. Overall, we will not return. July 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Resturant The Hotel resturant was not good at all. Went there for breakfast, got the buffet and the eggs were cold as well as almost everything except the bacon. Went back for supper, did not get the right food, one of our children Never got her food after repeadly asking for it (a slice of pizza); staff was rude and acted like it was are fault we were not getting our food. Will NEVER eat there again and will not recommend it to anyone! The hotel and water park itself was good. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay for a Royals game Great price, great location. Staff was friendly and helpful. We walked to the K but they do have a shuttle. Great time!!!!!!! July 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Won't be staying at this hotel again, but will return to the waterpark This is the second time we have stayed at this Holiday Inn KC. We chose this hotel for two reasons: 1.It has a waterpark that our 6 year old and 3 year old think is great, and 2. It is right across the interstate from the baseball stadium. We did not have any trouble at check-in, but when we arrived to our room it was sooooo hot! I understand it was June and it is hot outside, but I at least expected the hotel room to be cool! It was so uncomfortable that we had to have maintenance bring a fan up for the 2 nights we stayed, and it barely helped! They said our air conditioner was working but that it was just too hot and the building was old and had trouble cooling down?? Some friends came with us, and their room next door to us was also hot and after their room was cleaned it had a horrible odor for several hours-they had to leave their door open to air it out! The cleaning crew also left their door unlocked after they cleaned it! Thankfully nothing was taken, but that is really not acceptable. We have stayed in many IHG hotels (usually Holliday Inn Express) and this is by far the worst one we have stayed at. We won't be staying at this hotel again, but will return to the waterpark, because although it is kind of pricey, my kids love it and had fun there. July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Weekend I stayed at this particular hotel and went to the water park. It was a complete waste of time and money. #1--I called on 3 different occasions and requested maid service to our room, I was told each time they would take care of it, and it never was. #2--We ate at the breakfast buffet, and several different times I contacted my server to ask her if certain items would be replenished on the buffet, they never were so basically I spent over $30 for cold eggs, fruit and burnt biscuits. No bacon, gravy, potatoes were ever replenished in the time we were there. #3--There weren't enough towels for the outside pool, or for the water park, my family had to wait until towels were available. #4--There were about 20% of the needed inner tubes for the water park. Everyone is in a "free for all" to get inner tubes for the slides. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, great location, great opportunity but the hotel falls flat!! July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Do NOT expect to check-in in a timely manner We will not be staying in this hotel again. My family usually stays here at least 2-3 times a year but that has now ended. Took over two hours to get a room when check-in was at 4:00 pm. Watched as several people with reservations were turned away at 9pm because their rooms were still not cleaned and available. I really wish this hotel would get their act together because Coco Keys is such a draw for my family. In the future we will visit the water park but will stay across the street! July 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by just ok the lobby was excellent but the room was another story. the a/c was noisy, the carpet was stained and the executive chair was in bad shape. CoCo Keys was also a let down. the water was murky and they closed off the pool area for the small children and would not tell us why. The game was another let down. Some of the games would not take the prepaid card and a few more would not give you tickets if you won. The only nice thing about this hotel was the fact it was right across from the stadium. We also enjoyed the food at the hotel bar. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Allowed pet I was very pleased with the staff person at the Holiday Inn at which we normally stay, who when we were not able to be accommodated at that hotel, helped us find another Holiday Inn in Kansas City that had space and allowed a pet. July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by very uncomfortable bed and room The beds were extremely uncomfortable. I would not reccomend this hotel if you want to sleep well while in Kansas city. I would reccomend the the water park though. July 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected We arrived at 1, check in is at 4. They did not let us check in. The front desk clerk said to come back in a couple hours, so we went to the waterpark to play until we could get our room. When we arrived to CoCo Keys we asked for towels, the staff had a pile (of what I think were clean towels) that they grabbed from for us. The water park seemed run down. The baby area had slides, the pads at the bottom were worn down and I stepped on an exposed metal part. The older kids playground had several areas were the water guns or pulls to controll water were broken. Many of the innertubes were half inflated. We went to check in at 3:40 and the front desk told us our room had to be checked berfore we could get it. We didn't get our room until after 4pm. The duvet on the bed had stains on it. Needless to say, I was not impressed. July 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Was expecting more We have not stayed at a Holiday Inn in a long time and I was disappointed. The room was OK, It seemed 2 double beds were only available. We had our Grandson with us, so it worked out, but would have rather of had queen and double or a sofa bed. The room was OK, the desk chair was worn as well as wallpaper in bathroom. Our real complaint was the fan on the AC was very noisey. Sure wish they had included a free breakfast or at least free coffee in the lobby. That would have been nice. We were meeting family at the water park, so it just made sense for us to stay there. July 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by New Beds Needed The water park was by far the best part of the experience even though it seems that it has been a while since it has been deep cleaned. The beds in this hotel are horrendous they are hard and squeak with every movement, like sleeping on a metal box spring with a sheet. the sheets were not even on the bed was not even made right and had to be remade. We will never stay here again and that is unfortunate I am usually comfortable staying at a holiday inn. July 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Water Park great - Food poor The Water Park was great! Unfortunately, the menu and the food delivered did not match the menu descriptions. The food itself was poor quality- thank goodness it was free for the kids. The phone in the room did not work. July 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fun Weekend Waterpark was fun, water quality could have been better. Arcade was in poor repair, Staff was accommodating. Room was average. Included hot Breakfast was enjoyable, Overall value was average. July 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service, uncomfortable bed and noisy Our room was around the corner and way down the hall from the elevator, yet we could still hear the elevator. Children were allowed to run the halls and scream late at night and early in the morning. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed we've ever slept on and a few times housekeeping didn't leave enough towels or wash cloths or empty our trash. The room also didn't have drawers for us to unpack and put clothes away. July 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Happy Thought this would be a great place to take the family because of the water park. The kids did have a good time but I was disappointed in the beds and cleanliness. I did not realize pets were allowed so I was bothered with barking dogs while trying to sleep. Will not stay again. July 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service, how is this hotel still in business.... Let me start out by saying that the rooms were clean and the our kids had lots of fun at the water park. The hotel looks pretty old when you drive up but the inside was modern and nice. We tried to check into our room at 3:30, after waiting in a line at the front desk for over 30 min, told it wasn't ready, fine we were a little early. 6:00 comes and still no room. (Check-in is 4:00). I had to stand at the front desk and listen to excuses galore while waiting for our room. Finally got one around 6:30. We were supposed to have rooms near our friends (reservations and request for rooms near/connecting each other arranged monthes in advance). Room we were eventually given not even on the same floor. My husband stood at the front desk for an hour until they cleaned and gave us a room on the correct floor. The manager eventually gave us a discount for our troubles but we will never stay here again. Not worth the headache. July 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A little of Both We enjoyed out stay here. The hotel staff and cleaning lady LaToyna on the 9th Floor was great. She treated us like we were family. Adam took really good care of us the best he could when the AC wasn't and still wasn't working through our stay. But because we were helped and talked to not like we were putting them out we were ok. We did received a bit of a discount for the trouble we had(Thank you). The water park our children really enjoyed. July 16, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading