• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KANSAS CITY
  • Distance From Hotel: 12.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Czech
  2. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Dog friendly. With the exception of registered service animals, dogs must be less than 15 pounds. No refundable fee of 50 applied at checkin. No cats are allowed or other animals allowed.
Pet deposit amount  50.00  USD  per stay
Pet fee amount  50.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Kansas City Zoo
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:81
  • Car Parking Available
  • No charge for parking, there is enough parking for tour buses, school buses, trucks with trailors

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:41
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:40
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:81
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Enjoy Your Stay as Hotel's Guest in Kansas City, MO

With fresh, modern decor and great perks like free high-speed, wireless Internet access, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex has everything you need to stay your way. We're just off I-70 and I-435, making it easy to get to Kauffman Stadium and Arrowhead Stadium. Our property is located just 3.74 miles from the Truman Sports complex.

This hotel's location is great for corporate travelers, and we
View More

Enjoy Your Stay as Hotel's Guest in Kansas City, MO

With fresh, modern decor and great perks like free high-speed, wireless Internet access, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kansas City Sports Complex has everything you need to stay your way. We're just off I-70 and I-435, making it easy to get to Kauffman Stadium and Arrowhead Stadium. Our property is located just 3.74 miles from the Truman Sports complex.

This hotel's location is great for corporate travelers, and we offer a Business Center with copy, fax and print services. The hotel's event room is available if you need a place to host a client meeting.

Take advantage of our location close to downtown restaurants and attractions during the day, and head to the Starlight Theatre for an enthralling show. Sports fans appreciate that Kauffman Stadium and Arrowhead Stadium are near the hotel's accommodations. And, if shopping is on your to-do list, you'll love that we're just moments from Country Club Plaza and the Independence Center.

When you're finished touring Kansas City, Missouri you can relax in the hotel's indoor pool. With a complimentary, hot breakfast buffet, you'll get a great start to the day. We even offer a Fitness Center to help you keep up your workout routine. "Stay Smart" with us during your next trip to this beautiful "City of Fountains."

View Less
Features
As you search for hotels in Kansas City, MO, remember that these modern rooms are some of the most spacious in the area, and our property's tranquil location ensures that you'll enjoy a peaceful stay.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 445 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Stinky and Dirty The hallways were dirty. The room stunk to high haven. There was hair all over the bathroom. THe toilet paper holder was broke. The sink was leaking. We went through 3 sets of room keys because the locks were so dirty. The furniture in the room was broken and torn. The beds were aweful. The mattresses need to be replaced. You can feel the springs. The food in the restaurant was terrible. The scrambled eggs were runny to the consistency of tapioca and breakfast cost $14. We had to wait 15 minutes to be seated and they were not busy and had plenty of open tables. There was a long line to get into the restaurant. Then the waterpark left more to be desired. Very disappointed for a Holiday Inn. Would not stay again. August 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Ringside 2014 Not at all impressed considering I thought it would be great being Holiday Inn. Disappointed August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great for a game, but better hotels for everything else We normally stay HI express but chose this hotel due to its proximity to the stadium. We didn't spend much time at the hotel so we never checked out any of the amenities other than the room. Check in was quick and the staff was very courteous. They told us about the complementary shuttle to and from the game which we took advantage of. Be warned, the returned shuttle is packed and you can probably walk back just as quick. The room was acceptable and what I have come to expect from a HI of this age. The main complaint I had with the room was how loud the AC was. We tried to turn it off but the walls are so thin that we could hear the conversations of people in the rooms around us. So our nights sleep wasn't the best. Also, when returned to our room after the game, the floor in a 3 foot area around the AC was soaked. We were tired and wanted to go to bed so we didn't say anything until the next am when we checked out. Before I walked out the door, they had already called maintenance to fix the problem. Other than some wet socks and a mediocre nights sleep, this hotel served its purpose. We will stay here again if we go to a game but for anything else, we will find a HI express to stay at. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family Friendly Had a wonderful time...Kid friendly and a good nights rest. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Go Royals My wife and I have stayed at this Holiday Inn every time we have driven the 5 and half hours to see the Royals play .We usually come to Kansas City twicew a year for ball games and have always stayed here.Its an excellent hotel nice rooms good food and they have a nice bar and the bestthing is they are acroos the street from Kaufman stadium so you can easily walk to the park or take the hotel shuttle and leave your car parked at hyotel.I highly recommend this as your next place to stay if coming for a baseball game or football game...Mark McLaughlin August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by TRIED IT AGAIN Much better than a couple weeks ago. This time I had no problems. Check in was great. Room was clean, comfortable and i slept well. Shuttle to ballpark was great. Lady driver was funny and did great job of driving. We did have problems with a drain but was moved to another room that was similar and in same area we had requested. Also for our trouble, we were given a free breakfast. Staff was friendly. Actually, no problems and we had a great stay. Very pleased! August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, great breakfast It is hard to find a Holiday Inn with a low rate and a great breakfast. This was a pleasant surprise. August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient for baseball/football games Great location when attending Royals or Chiefs game. Great value as far as quality and price. August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not Bad Overall good experience. Check-in was delayed over an hour (check-in time is terribly late (4:00pm)) due to our room not being cleaned. Several people had to wait. Clerk made it right by offering to compensate us, which was welcomed! Would stay here again. August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay in KC Great location, great staff, had some issues with the internet and the A/C but nothing terrible. Walking distance to the ballpark and just a short trip to Worlds of Fun. Definitely my 1st choice of hotel when going to one of these two activities. August 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location but Filthy!! The hotel was nicely located being close to the professional stadiums as well as the interstate. The outdoor pool was wonderful for those hot summer days. We attempted to use the indoor pool (once we finally found where it was located) however; the chlorine was so heavy in the air our eyes burned so much we couldn't enjoy it. We were traveling with family and not all of our rooms were ready at check in time. My sister's family had to wait until someone called our room to let them know her room would be ready. No one ever called and she ended up going to the desk to check on it. She finally got into her room @ 6:30 pm (well after check in time). On the downside, our room was gross. The bed covers didn't look like they were cleaned any time recently due to what appeared to be small dried blood stains. The carpets in our room and throughout the hotel looked grimy. We have a toddler who found lots of areas that there was garbage not cleaned up or areas that were not vacuumed. The room had not been dusted by the obvious layer of dust and garbage on the window sill. The desk drawer had garbage in it from previous guests. Our toddler's feet were so filthy (black) by the end of the night from running around the room. The maid service came one day while we were in the room and I asked her to give us 5 minutes to leave so our room could be done but she responded with an annoyed "Do you even want your room serviced?" Based on that response, I opted not to have our room serviced. I don't think it would have mattered if she did service our room or not - still would have been filthy!! August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Arrival Issues Was solely disappointed that we arrived to find there weren't rooms ready for people with reservations at check in time and that the front desk staff was so disgruntled with the hotel issues they weren't being courteous to the customers or compensating anything for the fact their rooms wouldn't be ready for HOURS. But we did enjoy CoCo Keys very much and the breakfast buffet. August 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible management! Be willing to wait hours for a room! It's hard to find anything positive to write about the management and our service while we stayed for two nights. First there was a 2 1/2 hour wait in line to just check in. That did not even guarantee you could go to your room at that point. 2 1/2 hour wait in line at a hotel with a family water park?!!!! Outrageous! This was the case for everyone who checked in! On top of that management had already given our double bed room away so they gave us someone else's room on the ninth floor. After the first night we left to do some activities only to find that management deactivated our key and was trying to make us leave despite our reservation for a second night. I then had to wait in line another 2 hours and talk to several desk clerk and a manager just so they we could keep our room we had booked in advance. Absolutely mind blowing, I cannot describe how bad this experience was. This all happened at a holiday inn, not what you expect. I will never recommend this hotel and all management needs to be evaluated. Everyone that stayed that weekend had to deal with the poor service and long wait times. Unreal! The cleaning staff was friendly and fid a good job. The shuttle bus driver was polite and did a great job. Other than that it was a horrible experience! August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service...horrible beds. Location is excellent! Staff is very friendly. The beds did a number on my back. Didn't have that problem with the king size bed but the double room was bad. Check in wasn't the best. We arrived at one and was told I would have to come back at four. Apparently, everyone else was told the same thing as the lobby was packed when we returned. Also, the plumbing kept making weird noises one morning which was pretty annoying. Everything else was pretty good though! August 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Long wait My son and I spent 4 days at the holiday inn but I was wondering if we would ever get checked in!!!!!!! When we got there and entered there was huge line waiting to check in at 4:05 but , it was 5:45 before we got to our room. The other thing , in our 4 days there , the maids only came to our room once. We had to call room service to get towels, soap and toilet paper, August 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst check in experience ever! The only thing this hotel has going for them is the close proximity to the Royals stadium. We didn't have a room when we arrived at 4. Until they make some drastic changes I will not insider this hotel again in my travel plans. August 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Staff not prepared for busy night Check in time was 4pm. My room was not ready until almost 5:30. After a long day of driving with 2 kids, we were ready to relax an hit the water park. Staff actually told me they were busy and my room will be ready when it's ready. Room was ok but right by elevator...heard dinging all night. We also ate at the sports bar there and service was good but food wasn't. We travel through KC often and will never stay here again. Water park was awesome though! August 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty / Horrible check-in process This hotel is not worth the price. Long long long long wait times to check-in. They did nothing for the guests waiting in hour long lines to check into the room. Room was extremely dirty and outdated. Kept my shoes on in the room the entire time. Only stay here if it's your last option. August 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Plain dirty and a/c didn't work. Bathroom gross My family will never stay at this hotel again. It was dirty,old,bathrooms were gross and just was NOT a good experience!!! August 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Surprised!!!!!!!!!!!! We have stayed at this hotel many times. We were surprised at the condition of the hotel and the staff in general. It was dirty, the staff was unfriendly, curt and uninviting and our room was in disarray. The armoire was pulled away from the wall and the television was unplugged. The air conditioner was leaking condensation onto the floor and made a water stain on the carpet. There was a bar of soap stuck near the ceiling on the wall in the shower. The bed itself was comfortable. We've enjoyed staying here many times because of the location, price, accommodations and will probably stay again. It has a great restaurant and lounge area where the staff is very friendly but this hotel is always understaffed. August 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mildew in bathroom and long check-in wait Wait to check in was 45 minutes itself with a long line. Would think with it being a game day they would have all hands on at check-in and not just 3 people. Bathroom smelled so bad like mildew had to shut door and hold breath when had to use it. August 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by very courteous staff we liked everything about the hotel, except the check in. I don't know if this is a common problem or a one time thing, but we stood in line for an hour and a half just to check in, so we could go relax in our room before the game. August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay. My family and I stayed here on the same day as the Chiefs 1st pre-season game. The hotel was very busy. All the staff were helpful and polite. The game room was a nice bonus for the kids. The indoor water park was fun. The price WAS NOT included in our room rates tho which was a little disappointing. Overall a great stay and I will certainly stay here again. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff. The staff was very kind and attentive to our needs. The pillows were very large and soft. I found them to be extremely uncomfortable. The swimming area was wonderful. August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Proximity to Chiefs and Royals Stadiums I visited this hotel because of its proximity to my parents' house and the Royals Stadium. My daughter and I were able to easily walk over to the Royals game from the hotel, and the hotel also had a shuttle bus. The rooms were clean, and the staff was polite. The indoor water-park is a great distraction for families with kids. The only con I experienced was the front desk seemed overwhelmed at check-in time with loads of Royals fans trying to check-in before the game -- recommend more than 2 front desk personnel at check-in time. Also, three elevators was not quite enough (causing long waits for the elevators). August 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A/C is loud and never cooled the room until we woke up the next morning. Too loud A/C and it didn't work well. My swimsuit and my daughter's both turned different colors from way too much chlorine in the pools!!! August 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great STAFF! Hotel Needs Updating The absolutel BEST part of our family reunion stay at this hotel were the staff members. From the Front Desk to the Dining Room, they were ALL very very very pleasant, helpful, kind and easy to talk to. Just friendly people! To name a few who really stood out to us at the front desk: Kandice, Sherri, Shellie and Ashley were amazing! Even with crazy lines and people, everyone did what they could and kept it cool. I'm impressed. In the Dining Room the food was great, but our servers Shantee, Shantel and Mona were on top of it. We could not have asked for better people to manage our food and our big crew. A BIG Thanks to all of you ladies and I can't forget Greg who handled our reunion. You kept a smile even when I know we were wearing you thin. Thank You so much! As for the room and the hotel itself... None of my family was impressed or pleased. The people I mentioned above totally made the stay worth our time and they are the only reason the hotel gets 2 stars from me. The rest of the facility needs major updating, the carpet needs to be cleaned and the house-keepers may need to step it up a bit. I felt the need to re-clean my whole bathroom because it didn't seem clean enough. Most of the issue is the muggy, damp feel throughout the place. I'm guess it's because of the indoor pool and indoor waterpark and the outdoor pool....you know, people walking around wet. Just causes a thick enviroment in the air. I ended up getting sick because I had the hardest time getting circulation in the room. All that said, great people...but the hotel needs renovation and lots of love. Thanks August 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not worth the price of admission My first comment is the hallways of our floor smelled like wet dog. The outside pool was filthy, not just leaves or sticks...hair clumps floating in it and around the pool was very trashy. Our room was cleaned, but we did not receive additional towels to replace the ones taken. I would not recommend staying here. August 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Got what I expected - Very Little My experience at this property was exactly what previous reviews said it would be; very poor. I took a chance only because I had 2 young people with me that wanted to experience the water park. I arrived at 4 in the afternoon; check in time, there was a long line at the desk. When I got to the desk, I was informed that my room was not ready. I return to the desk at 6 and the room was still not ready. I did get a room about 15 minutes later. When we went to the room, we found a pile of trash between the beds. Bottom line without the water park this property is about 3X too expensive, I would recommend anywhere but here. August 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Chaos and Poorly cleaned. Beware of human feces in water park Upon arrival at the hotel I was immediately concerned because I could feel the sense of panic with the staff and unorganized behavior. We checked in to get our zoo pass water park combo pack in the early morning and was told to return at anytime to pick up our keys at 430 our room still wasn't ready. Once we were able to get our room I at first was pleased on the surface it seemed to be a clean and comfortable spacious room. Upon further inspection the floor in the bathroom was filthy. When I opened up the closet door it was full if trash from previous guests. That evening I also realized the duvet on one of the beds was missing, which has me concerned the sheets were even changed at all. I also requested a extra bed (which I was denied) and additional blankets 3 times for the 5th guest to sleep and they never arrived. Upon informing the front desk in the morning of our issues all I got was oh man that's too bad jeeze sorry.. TO TOP it off my husband went to shower at the coco keys locker rooms and someone had POOPED ON THE FLOOR in the shower and he stepped in it.. Wow so glad I had already retired for the evening, or I may have had to be escorted out by authorities August 6, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
Exterior Feature
Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Exterior Feature Front Desk Hotel Lobby Area Attractions
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading