• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: AKRON
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately, we are not pet friendly. a cleaning fee assessed to rooms where pets are indicated Acknowledgment of policy and fee are explained and agreed to upon check in

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Kent State University
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
Kent Folk Festival
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Summit County Fairgrounds
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Portage County Fairgrounds
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor parking in front of hotel, No semi parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:74
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:39
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:35
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:74
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Kent Hotel's Ideal for Golden Flashes Fans

Situated along the Cuyahoga River, the city of Kent is home to Kent State University. Whether you're here on a business trip or vacation, you'll be warmly welcomed at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kent. The hotel's convenient location off I-76 is sure to meet your needs.

Business travelers look to this hotel for the free Wi-Fi access, well-appointed executive rooms and a 24-hour Business Center. If you need to host a meeting in
View More

Kent Hotel's Ideal for Golden Flashes Fans

Situated along the Cuyahoga River, the city of Kent is home to Kent State University. Whether you're here on a business trip or vacation, you'll be warmly welcomed at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kent. The hotel's convenient location off I-76 is sure to meet your needs.

Business travelers look to this hotel for the free Wi-Fi access, well-appointed executive rooms and a 24-hour Business Center. If you need to host a meeting in Kent, Ohio, the hotel's boardroom can accommodate up to 10 people. We also offer easy access to such companies as Hess Print Solutions, Summit Racing, Goodyear Tire & Rubber and Schneller Inc.

With this hotel's location near Kent State University, you can easily see the Golden Flashes play or visit campus sights like the Kent State University Fashion Museum and May 4th Memorial. Beyond the university, the area is full of other attractions. The Aurora Premium Outlets offer discounts and popular stores, including Polo Ralph Lauren and Nike. We're also just a short drive from the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

For a carefree stay in Kent, Ohio, choose our hotel's rooms and suites, complete with free Wi-Fi access. After working out in the state-of-the-art Fitness Center, you can enjoy a refreshing swim in the indoor pool. The free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar is a guest favorite every day. Make your reservations today, and "Stay Smart" in Kent, Ohio with us!

View Less
Features
When it comes to hotels near Kent State University, our quiet, modern accommodations and friendly staff are sure to make your stay memorable. We offer great perks like free Wi-Fi access and breakfast.
Announcements
Please be advised that our swimming pool is temporarily closed for maintenance and repairs. Please accept our sincere apologies. Our fitness room does remain open without interruption.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 133 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer service Great customer service. Tami was awesome to work with. November 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, good stay This hotel has always provided consistently good service and rooms. November 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sleeping in Akron The room was comfortable, one of my teammates said his bed was too firm , mine was quite comfortable. I enjoyed the ambience and the breakfast, the staff was very helpful and polite. November 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Breakfast Renovated rooms; older exterior, great breakfast; comfortable room. November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the Best I have stayed in a few hotels in the Akron area, this one is the best. Great clean rooms, Excellent dining choices and staff is on par. Location is great too. Looking forward to staying again. November 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and a good value The room was clean and comfortable and our family got a good night sleep. The in-room air conditioner / heater was a bit loud and ran most of the night, but did not disrupt anyone's sleep. Overall, the room satisfied our needs and the hotel staff were very friendly. November 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dated but clean I've stayed at this hotel before and attended meetings here. Nice enough but somewhat dated. Staff was friendly and helpful. Not a bad experience but one item was the rear parking lot is DARK at night with heavy shadows. My wife was ill at ease and I had to be more aware than usual... November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Place to stay This hotel was clean and confortible. The food and drink was of good quality. The hotel is located in an area to provide access to many attractions with in a reasonible drive November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel I would highly recommend to anyone. Food, hospitality and comfort were excellent. The location in relationship to surrounding shops, restaurant were extremely important. November 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel In general good hotel, service was excellent as usual in IHG hotels, beds were very comfortable, small negative point ... because I have to mention one ... the lift could be renovated ! Fitness was small November 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff, Slept well I came for a funeral and was feeling rushed in my travels so I wasn't planning on being in the best of moods but the front desk csr was so welcoming and friendly to me, I couldn't help but smile:-) I arrived earlier than I expected and she was so gracious to find a room that was available so that I could check in early and freshen up before the funeral. When I got to my room, the housekeeping staff were working on the floor and greeted me with smiles and small talk, and even played a little peek a boo with my grandson which made us all feel welcome to be there. I would recommend this hotel. It is convenient to the highway and close to shopping. The staff was all on their "A" game when I came. (If I was a shopper for customer service, they would have passed with flying colors;-) Good Job and I'll see you next time I come to Ohio! October 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast I was surprise that a complimentary breakfast was not included with the room. October 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Experience We stayed here for our wedding night and had our wedding guests stay here. It took them 10 minutes to find our reservation. When we went up to the room we walked in and my grandparents were in the room. They said they gave my grandparents our room by mistake. My aunt and uncle had to switch rooms because there was blood in their bed. The two guys at the front desk did not seem to care at all. October 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Time Great place to meet up with friends and family. Stayed at this hotel for my best friend's wedding and they were extremely accommodating. They even let us check in hours early so we could get ready the day of the wedding. October 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent hotel for the price The Akron Holiday Inn staff was very accommodating to us at check in. I didn't ask but I would have appreciated not being on the first floor, but since it was only for one night I didn't ask for a different room. Our room seemed to be updated, however, the wall near the ceiling was coming apart and was in need of repair. The bathroom appeared to be updated, also, but the sink with faucet seemed very impractical. It was very hard to use the faucet because it did not extend into the sink very far. It was just a nuisance to use. It's a shame that the renovations and the money spent on them did not make it more convenient for those staying in the room. October 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Pleasantly surprised by my four night stay. Front desk was genuinely friendly and helpful. Bar/lounge was decent. Room was clean and comfortable. October 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by renews my faith in holiday inn this place made me feel welcome upon check in and bianca needs a raise.....the restaurant in the hotel was fantastic...... chef matt knows how to cook a burger and cassie the waitress made us pleased we stayed in this hotel .......plus nice big tv in our room was great!........good job! October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Hotel was in a great location with easy on-off access to the highway and close to shopping and sight-seeing. The staff was friendly and our room was clean and comfortable. I would stay here again when in the area. October 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Old hotel, with some new updates Staff was very friendly, though as platinum elite ambassador, was not offered an upgrade or even placed in a quieter room (eg away from the road or on top floor).. not that I necessarily EXPECT it, but the hotel seemed to be relatively empty that night. Recently updated rooms. bathrooms are clean, though not very ergonomic, more of an annoyance than insufferable, though. Otherwise, outside of the hotel looks old, hotel smells old, the linens were TERRIBLE-smelling. GYm only had 4 pieces of cardio equipment, no weights. For what we paid, probably would look elsewhere next time. October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing but Professional/Excellent My experience at Hoilday Inn, Akron-West was nothing but superb, great staff, very personable. Recommend to others to check this hotel out October 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wonderful hotel the facilities were great and the staff was excellent. It is conveniently located. the only negative was the free coffee in the morning in the lobby. It wasn't very good and the carafes were not kept filled. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay and great personnel Stayed twice in one week, once on the way down to NC and again on the way back home later in the week. I was impressed by the personnel I dealt with, the comfort and cleanliness of the room and the relaxation and comfort of the bed. On the way down to NC I left my water bottle behind. When I asked about it on the 2nd stop, the front desk person immediately remembered it and started looking or it and found it. The 2nd stop was on the weekend and the attached restaurant had some noisy parties. I was on the 2nd floor and although I wouldn't let them bother me, they were quite noisy, but not the hotel's fault. I ordered room service and in spite of the parties, I had my food, hot and delicious within 1/2 hour. Very good stay and I would recommend this hotel as a pleasant overnight stop. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Enjoy my stay AGAIN at this location. The location is outstanding the upgrades in the room are also excellent. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service We have relatives in that area and stay here whenever we are in Akron We enjoy the motel plus the surrounding businesses for shopping and eating! October 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by best value in the area staying at the Holiday Inn Akron West property is a great value if you are staying in the area. The hotel staff is welcoming and friendly. I enjoyed a great nights sleep and got a great start to my day by enjoying the breakfast buffet in the restaurant. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience The staff made the difference! By the same token, the hotel was comfortable and allowed me a restful night prior to a business meeting. The location was ideal to many of the malls and eateries. September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service My only complaint about this hotel was that there were no room darkening curtains in the room. It only had the shear white drapes so the early morning sun woke me up way too early. Very disappointing. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a good place to get a good nights sleep i arrived late at night and was happy that the check in went smooth and fast. What i didnt not know was that this hotel did not have continetinal breakfast so we did not get up in time for a sit down and order breakfast. So we ended up having to go to our meeting without eating. this is the first place I stayed at that did not have it. Otherwise the rest of our stay there was excellent. September 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice room I would stay here again if in the area. The staff was very friendly September 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Beds are comfortable and the pillows are amazing! I was able to get a great night's sleep. The WiFi was an issue for me - I had work that needed to get done online, but my laptop kept losing service. I ended up not being able to get anything done. On the first morning, I had picked up my free newspaper on the way out the door and put it on my suitcase to read later - it was gone when I returned. I also had a shopping bag I was keeping to take home some random things that wouldn't fit in my suitcase, but it was discarded the second day - at least the receipt and some other papers were taken out first! The lunch service offered for our business meeting was irritating - it was pricey and inconsistent and the order form caused a great deal of confusion that wasn't rectified by staff without a discussion. During our meetings, the cans of soda provided the first day were long-expired - it does go bad! Other than these rather minor annoyances, though, the stay was nice. It's pretty quiet and very clean inside and out - which are the more important things. September 22, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading