• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: AKRON
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately, we are not pet friendly. a cleaning fee assessed to rooms where pets are indicated Acknowledgment of policy and fee are explained and agreed to upon check in

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Kent State University
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
Kent Folk Festival
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Summit County Fairgrounds
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Portage County Fairgrounds
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor parking in front of hotel, No semi parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:74
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:39
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:35
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:74
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Kent Hotel's Ideal for Golden Flashes Fans

Situated along the Cuyahoga River, the city of Kent is home to Kent State University. Whether you're here on a business trip or vacation, you'll be warmly welcomed at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kent. The hotel's convenient location off I-76 is sure to meet your needs.

Business travelers look to this hotel for the free Wi-Fi access, well-appointed executive rooms and a 24-hour Business Center. If you need to host a meeting in
View More

Kent Hotel's Ideal for Golden Flashes Fans

Situated along the Cuyahoga River, the city of Kent is home to Kent State University. Whether you're here on a business trip or vacation, you'll be warmly welcomed at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kent. The hotel's convenient location off I-76 is sure to meet your needs.

Business travelers look to this hotel for the free Wi-Fi access, well-appointed executive rooms and a 24-hour Business Center. If you need to host a meeting in Kent, Ohio, the hotel's boardroom can accommodate up to 10 people. We also offer easy access to such companies as Hess Print Solutions, Summit Racing, Goodyear Tire & Rubber and Schneller Inc.

With this hotel's location near Kent State University, you can easily see the Golden Flashes play or visit campus sights like the Kent State University Fashion Museum and May 4th Memorial. Beyond the university, the area is full of other attractions. The Aurora Premium Outlets offer discounts and popular stores, including Polo Ralph Lauren and Nike. We're also just a short drive from the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

For a carefree stay in Kent, Ohio, choose our hotel's rooms and suites, complete with free Wi-Fi access. After working out in the state-of-the-art Fitness Center, you can enjoy a refreshing swim in the indoor pool. The free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar is a guest favorite every day. Make your reservations today, and "Stay Smart" in Kent, Ohio with us!

View Less
Features
When it comes to hotels near Kent State University, our quiet, modern accommodations and friendly staff are sure to make your stay memorable. We offer great perks like free Wi-Fi access and breakfast.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 137 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service My only complaint about this hotel was that there were no room darkening curtains in the room. It only had the shear white drapes so the early morning sun woke me up way too early. Very disappointing. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a good place to get a good nights sleep i arrived late at night and was happy that the check in went smooth and fast. What i didnt not know was that this hotel did not have continetinal breakfast so we did not get up in time for a sit down and order breakfast. So we ended up having to go to our meeting without eating. this is the first place I stayed at that did not have it. Otherwise the rest of our stay there was excellent. September 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice room I would stay here again if in the area. The staff was very friendly September 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Beds are comfortable and the pillows are amazing! I was able to get a great night's sleep. The WiFi was an issue for me - I had work that needed to get done online, but my laptop kept losing service. I ended up not being able to get anything done. On the first morning, I had picked up my free newspaper on the way out the door and put it on my suitcase to read later - it was gone when I returned. I also had a shopping bag I was keeping to take home some random things that wouldn't fit in my suitcase, but it was discarded the second day - at least the receipt and some other papers were taken out first! The lunch service offered for our business meeting was irritating - it was pricey and inconsistent and the order form caused a great deal of confusion that wasn't rectified by staff without a discussion. During our meetings, the cans of soda provided the first day were long-expired - it does go bad! Other than these rather minor annoyances, though, the stay was nice. It's pretty quiet and very clean inside and out - which are the more important things. September 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and service The staff was great and made my stay great. They bent over backward and was wonderful September 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Long Term Customer First, I spent more time at this particular Holiday Inn over the first 8 months of 2014 than I have in my own house. I travel for business and this has been my hotel of choice. The hotel is an older property which can have certain drawback if not managed carefully. The staff takes great pains to keep this property up and clean at all times. The rooms are comfortable. The hotel has 2 restaurants on the property. One is owned by the hotel and is just off of the lobby, the other is a high end restaurant attached to the building. The food is good in both, but can be pretty expensive in the one that is not owned by the hotel. What makes this hotel really stand out is the staff. They are EXCELLENT. I have watched them bend over backwards, over and over again to help people staying with them. I will always stay with them when travelling in Akron. And, if you like good music, the best is always playing in the restaurant/bar just off of the lobby. September 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by problems See survey. Sent to a dirty room.Given keys that did not work. Staff tried to be helpful, but we had to return to the desk two times to get a room. Dinning area really is just a bar - very loud. September 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to office I've been staying at Holiday Inn Express locations for years now and I typically have a good stay. The Akron location is a few minutes from my company's main office and I have been staying at this location for the past several visits. My only issue with the room was the heating/air conditioning unit. It was too noisy and kept cycling to maintain the room temperature. It woke me up throughout the night. Other than that, it's a good room with updated furnishings and a nice bathroom. Hopefully the a/c unit can be replaced or fixed soon. September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lounge When I'm in the Akron / Cleveland area I stay at one place and that's the Holiday Inn Akron West. I really enjoy the people employed there especially Dee in the bar and Markeith at the front desk. I would not consider staying elsewhere due in part to the service and overall attitude I experience at this property. September 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by underrated food The dinner/bar area food is very underrated, if you stay at this property the burgers and chicken wings are a must! September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Excellent; everyone was very helpful and accommodating September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and excellent desk service The room was probably the cleanest room we have stayed in in a long time. It was the quietest room also had the most comfortable mattress and pillows. August 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay Pros: Room was clean, furniture and bedding were up-to-date. Television was large and good selection of channels. Bathroom was clean. Cons: Breakfast was not provided and somewhat pricey for what was offered. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great emergency stop I an very happy be in a membership where I know there will be a room for me on the road. Clean and friendly service are always standard in these hotel and I know I will always be getting clean sheets with clean amenities. August 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired room Room tired and some furniture well worn. Lamp shade was dented and dirty. Had a two room suite 403/405. Was not nice! August 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Value for money business hotel in a convenient location Hotel is well situated and great value for money. The decor is a bit tired and dated, but the rooms are clean and comfortable and spacious. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by love the bar we stay there 2or 3 times a year love this place. the bartenders are always great. we love going to bloosom music center for the cleveland symphony. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel is clean. Service is good. Although this is an older facility, it is well maintained and very convienient to my interests.The decor in the common areas is a bit dated. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property conveniently located The front desk was wonderful. He handled my needs in a very efficient and professional manner. The room was comfortable. There was no surprises; just the way I expect things to be at IHG. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable accommodations We found your hotel to be clean and comfortable. Each staff person we encountered was pleasant and friendly. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel for Large Business Group We had approximately 60 rooms booked for the week and everyone was very pleased. Great location, excellent service, fantastic property. Couldn't have been happier. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall everything was very good The only unsatisfactory comment was the outside traffic noise August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The employee at reception, Amanda, was most helpful throughout our stay and provided a level of service above and beyond comparable properties. She should be commended for her kindness and efforts. August 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by .... OK hotel with poor restaurant. Windows let in a lot of outside noise. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great Service. From the time I walked in the door everything felt positive and the folks working there were very positive and friendly. The staff went out of their way to see that my needs were taken into consideration. August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room for improvement The hotel, overall, was fair. Nothing specifically stands out as egregious, though it could definitely stand to be updated. Staff was friendly, food was only okay. However delivery times for room-service were excellent-- they'd say food would be delivered in 30 minutes and they'd usually cut that time in half. My biggest complaint concerns the air conditioner. When it was running it was super loud, so much so that you would have to turn the TV volume to near max. It was only when the air conditioner turned off that you realize how loud the television actually was. Luckily the weather was nice during my stay and I could sleep with the sliding door open instead of using the air conditioner. Now if only I could open the sliding door more than 2 1/2 inches... August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Centrally located Very helpful and friendly staff. Beds were firm and comfortable. I've stayed here before several years ago and I see they have updated everything such as the flat screen TV and the beds. I also like that they are centrally located to several areas of town. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overall excellent hotel Great location due to access to interstate and very near many excellent restaurants. Definitely recommend to both business and leisure travelers. A bit expensive but PGA was in town and "whatever the market will bear" operates everywhere. I'd stay there again. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed feelings Staff was wonderful, went to room and checked for cell phone that was left behind and held it at the desk until we returned. The room was strange, not well lit, a long wall with no pictures or décor, bathroom floor is badly in need of redo, broken tiles, dirty and rusty. On the other hand, it was derby weekend so we were glad to have a room and it was very quiet at night. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Good value for the money. The ladies looking after the restaurant are always wonderful and the breakfast is better than most offered elsewhere. July 28, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading