• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Rural

  • Location: Rural
  • Closest City: AKRON
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately, we are not pet friendly. a cleaning fee assessed to rooms where pets are indicated Acknowledgment of policy and fee are explained and agreed to upon check in

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Kent State University
Distance From Hotel:2.5MI
Attraction:
Kent Folk Festival
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Summit County Fairgrounds
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Portage County Fairgrounds
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor parking in front of hotel, no semi parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:74
  • Total number of suites:24
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:39
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:35
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:74
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Kent Hotel's Ideal for Golden Flashes Fans

Situated along the Cuyahoga River, the city of Kent is home to Kent State University. Whether you're here on a business trip or vacation, you'll be warmly welcomed at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kent. The hotel's convenient location off I-76 is sure to meet your needs.

Business travelers look to this hotel for the free Wi-Fi access, well-appointed executive rooms and a 24-hour Business Center. If you need to host a meeting in
View More

Kent Hotel's Ideal for Golden Flashes Fans

Situated along the Cuyahoga River, the city of Kent is home to Kent State University. Whether you're here on a business trip or vacation, you'll be warmly welcomed at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Kent. The hotel's convenient location off I-76 is sure to meet your needs.

Business travelers look to this hotel for the free Wi-Fi access, well-appointed executive rooms and a 24-hour Business Center. If you need to host a meeting in Kent, Ohio, the hotel's boardroom can accommodate up to 10 people. We also offer easy access to such companies as Hess Print Solutions, Summit Racing, Goodyear Tire & Rubber and Schneller Inc.

With this hotel's location near Kent State University, you can easily see the Golden Flashes play or visit campus sights like the Kent State University Fashion Museum and May 4th Memorial. Beyond the university, the area is full of other attractions. The Aurora Premium Outlets offer discounts and popular stores, including Polo Ralph Lauren and Nike. We're also just a short drive from the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

For a carefree stay in Kent, Ohio, choose our hotel's rooms and suites, complete with free Wi-Fi access. After working out in the state-of-the-art Fitness Center, you can enjoy a refreshing swim in the indoor pool. The free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar is a guest favorite every day. Make your reservations today, and "Stay Smart" in Kent, Ohio with us!

View Less
Features
When it comes to hotels near Kent State University, our quiet, modern accommodations and friendly staff are sure to make your stay memorable. We offer great perks like free Wi-Fi access and breakfast.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 80 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I stay at IHG Hotels often because of quality and service and Akron-West is another example of how a hotel and their staff make the difference in travel. Everyone was very nice from the waitress at breakfast to the front desk. I travel a lot for business and having IHG hotels in my territory equals comfort. Thank you Holiday Inn Akron-West! December 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fair experience For the price not bad. Cold breakfast not appetizing, warm breakfast for $ 5.00 good. funny smell in the lobby by the elevator. November 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by DISAPPOINTING.... I made a special effort to talk with the bartender regarding how late the bar would be open on October 15th, a Friday night. He said 11:00 - I have another job & I need to get home to bed so I can get to it. I informed him that a group of near 30 would be returning from the Tangier (including the artist Euge Groove) and would like to frequent the bar at the hotel. He again stated only till 11:00 p.m. (on a Friday Night, Really???). We returned to the hotel at 10:30 - only to find the bar dark and already closed. Not only is this disappointing from a guests perspective, but it's simply not good business. Thank you for your time. November 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay Was a good place to stay. The hotel was a bit older, but the friendly and attentive staff made up for that. November 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value, friendly staff I had an extended business trip and stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks. The staff were always friendly and attentive, with special mention of Shaun, Debbie and Colleen. During a long stay you appreciate the personal attention and interaction. Despite being a bit dated, the hotel is clean and we'll kept. Rooms are large and beds are comfortable. Will definitely return! November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! We were there for a soccer tournament. Everyone at the hotel was VERY friendly and accomodating with us all! Special thanks to Marquis (sp) and the front desk. Made sure that everything I requested was taken care of! Thanks! October 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tub would not drain Started shower and tub started filling with water. Checked drain and it was open. Tub could not have been cleaned with this problem. It took many minutes after completing my shower for tub to drain. This is gross! This room should not have been rented! I reported the problem to front desk when I checked out. Also bed was hard and remote for TV was dirty. October 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service; beautiful room! Great stay last weekend for a wedding! The room was nice and spacious and very clean and modern. Front desk was very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again! October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Akron Visit The common areas were very good. Did not like the rooms as much. October 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend Akron-West Holiday Inn Good value for the money!! Great location. Nice room and good breakfast. FYI, no DVD player in the room (for those with small children). October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extra friendly staff Our high school class gathered for 50th Anniversary. Staff was super and accommodating and nice even though we mingled around in the lobby and bar area for awhile before and after proceeding to a Ballroom for excellent spread of heavy Hors d'oerves. (How DO you spell that!) Breakfast was very good and included oatmeal for our mature digestive systems as well as bacon, sausage patties, scrambled eggs, potatoes, waffles, bagels. It was just great. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I have been coming to this hotel for over 5 years. The work on the hotel has been great. The people know me when I walk in. They have provided me great service, made room changes, helped me with meetings and are always looking for improvements. Thank you. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and staff This Holiday Inn has recently been renovated and is very nice. The staff is just great and the restaurant and bar does a very good job. It is also conveniently located within minutes of at least 6-8 really good restaurants. Of course the standby chain restaurants (Like Outback, TGI Friday's and so on) are right there too, but these 6-8 are far above them. September 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A timeless classic........... Do not judge this book by its cover! The outside looks very dated. Takes me back to my childhood in the 70's! The inside of the property is very nice as they are going through some renovations. NOTE: you have got to check out the 70's era toy Holiday Inn diorama. It is located just right of the elevators in the glass case. It is great! Definitely a flash back! I was not recognized as a platinum member, but the staff was very pleasant. The room was very clean and comfortable. Overall a great place to stay Tallahassee. GO NOLES!!!! September 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Location We were able to walk to a variety of different shops and stores. September 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nicely renovated I booked my room weeks before I needed it because I needed ajoining rooms because my 89 year old Mom was joining me. I actually came in a day earlier to check in and make sure our rooms were adjoining. Comes time to get the other room,and they had given it away.! Now I have an 89 year old woman in a wheel chair DOWN THE HALL!! They ended up discounting her room. I think they should have given it to me for free.... September 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lounge Everything was very nice and clean. My only negative was when I ordered a glass of wine at the bar and I got a little plastic cup and it was $4.00. My husband's drink was also served in a plastic cup, and his drink was nothing special but cost $8.00. So we only had one. Would prefer a wine glass at least! September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I Can't Wait To Come Back! I stayed at the Holiday Inn West for the RundgrenRadio Birthday Weekend. The people were awesome, the staff was great and the food was excellent. I hope the party can return here next year because this hotel was the best choice ever! September 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Don't look at the outside... but from within The exterior of the hotel looks like a Holiday Inn from the mid 1960's-70's... but don't let that fool you. They have done a fairly good job at renovating the property - including the rooms. My company has a special rate with this hotel, and is very much worth the price... which also included a couple of drinks at the bar and a better-than-typical buffet breakfast. With the Hyde Park Steakhouse connected via a hallway - it makes staying here for work very worthwhile. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortably relaxed Arrived on motorcycle and asked for safe place to park it. They told me to park it under the canopy by the front door and they would keep an eye on it. That is service that I appreciate! Had a great room, good meal in the Montrose Grill and relaxing drinks. I slept good not having to worry about my motorcycle! Thank you! August 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Calm in lieu of potential chaos We were visiting Akron for a memorial service scheduled on the same weekend as the Soapbox Derby finals. The property hosted many racers & their families as well as a family reunion for another group. Needless to say, many kids (full of energy) were about. Regardless of this, the building was kept clean & ordered & the staff (especially at the bar & during breakfast service) were not only courteous but genuinely friendly. Our stay turned out much better than originally expected. August 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room staff slow. Had to ask that towels be changed Food was good and priced right in the restaurant but the room staff seemed that they were overwhelmed with the number of guests. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Derby week stay This hotel and staff have been treating us good for the last few years now. Never any problems! August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by stay here often we stay here often as we go to blossom music center. They are always freindly. we love the bar there. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT front desk service :) Just a few little things to fix We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and every day the front desk service was excellent! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The food was very good, both breakfast and dinner. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. However, there were a few things I suggest they "fix". The business computer for guest use in the lobby was very slow and at times I was unable to access my email or banking information and this was a big pain. The front desk staff tried to fix it a few times without success. I do not like the design of the shower...I would prefer a curtain or something other than the half glass look. As a parent, it made me showering and my kids needing to use the restroom a problem...the glass needs to be "smoked" for a little more privacy and possibly even a curtain on the part that is open. I also highly suggest they enclose the pool area...every GREAT Holiday inn has an indoor pool :) BTW lots of great dining and shopping within walking distance from this hotel. August 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disapponted in the service. I originally booked this room for 3. Myself, my husband and my daughter for a college visit the following morning. I then could not come and just sent my husband and daughter. I called at 9"30 am and asked if the rooms had a frig and micro and I was told they had a frig and a micro on request. I at 9:30 AM. Being we were there during dinner and then breakfast in the morning. I sent food for them that needed microwaved. When they got in their room there was not a microwave. My husband called down and asked for the microwave. He had to called back again. At about 9:40 PM they were brought a microwave. Needless to say they had a late dinner. I am shocked it would 12 to have it for them. Why offer it? July 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional service Great service, makes the stay much nicer however would be better to have a proper gym (not fitness) at the hotel as well. July 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place! I read the reviews on one of the sites, and they indicated that this place was not a good place to stay: DON'T BELIEVE IT! This hotel is situated right along others in an accessible area. There are gas stations, lots of food and shopping, and a mall down the street. Everything is clean and the food is awesome. They even have a World Market nearby. The only thing I did not like was the bed, but I like mine firm. It was a bit too soft (get in and sink in) but for the length of stay the bed was tolerable. :) July 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The staff is fantastic!! Everyone at this hotel is incredibly friendly and accommodating. I just finished a 3 week stay at the hotel. The staff always greeted me by name and assisted me whenever I needed assistance. The breakfast is terrific with fantastic service. This is my favorite home away from home. May 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Get away The room was good, but the hallway smelled musty. At least on the 3rd floor. April 19, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading