• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-30-2014)
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: KNOXVILLE
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Come check out our pet friendly hotel! A 30.00 dollar per pet, per night nonrefundable fee applies. Two pets maximum per room. Service animals are welcome at no charge.
Pet fee amount  30.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Forks of the River Industrial Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
EastBridge Business Park
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Chilhowee Park/Knoxville Zoo
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Tennessee Smokies Baseball Stadium
Distance From Hotel:9.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:78
  • Car Parking Available
  • No large truck or trailer parking (40'-53') is available on-site. Parking is available on Rufus Graham Road for trailers, buses and RVs.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:77
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:32
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:67
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Enjoy a Stay at Our Contemporary Knoxville Hotel

We invite you to visit our Holiday Inn Express® Knoxville East - Strawberry Plains accommodations. This hotel's location off I-40 provides you with easy access to a variety of attractions.

Leisure guests appreciate that we're just a short distance from the Knoxville Museum of Art, the Knoxville Zoo and Neyland Stadium. Bordering Strawberry Plains, our hotel's location is a 30-minute drive from Dollywood and the Great Smoky
View More

Enjoy a Stay at Our Contemporary Knoxville Hotel

We invite you to visit our Holiday Inn Express® Knoxville East - Strawberry Plains accommodations. This hotel's location off I-40 provides you with easy access to a variety of attractions.

Leisure guests appreciate that we're just a short distance from the Knoxville Museum of Art, the Knoxville Zoo and Neyland Stadium. Bordering Strawberry Plains, our hotel's location is a 30-minute drive from Dollywood and the Great Smoky Mountains. Guests can catch a Volunteer football game at the University of Tennessee, since it's so close to our hotel.

Corporate travelers are welcome to stay with us in Knoxville. Our hotel is near a number of businesses, including General Electric, AC Entertainment and Green Mountain Coffee. Our visitors can also enjoy access to our 24-hour business center with copy, print and fax services, as well as our free high-speed, wireless Internet access.

If you're looking for pet friendly hotels in Knoxville, TN with great amenities, look no further. You can work up a sweat in the 24-hour fitness center and then take it easy in the heated, indoor mineral pool. Join us every morning for one of our signature cinnamon rolls and a hot cup of Smart Roast coffee, which are served fresh daily at our Express Start breakfast bar. Reserve a room at the Holiday Inn Express® East Knoxville hotel to experience quality amenities at a price you can afford.

View Less
Features
While you search for pet friendly hotels in Knoxville, TN, remember that our hotel welcomes your four-legged friends. Pets can be registered for a monthly drawing of a $25 gift card for PetSmart, too!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 306 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience! Your friendly, professional staff did a great job of making us feel welcome in the hotel and in Knoxville. The room was very comfortable and made working and resting a positive experience. The Priority Club floor allowed our conference attendees a place to relax, visit and plan for our company's amazing growth. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location, location My son and I spent one evening, choosing this site primarily based upon location. It is very convenient to UTK campus and to the convention center and downtown sites. We found the staff to be extremely nice and thoughtful, beds to be comfortable and as a mom traveling I felt very safe with employee presence at the door and parking garage. The only down side is that being downtown and around the corner from the fire station means you do hear sirens quite well through the night (even on the 8th floor), but I am told by others that this is a common statement about other high end hotels downtown. The hotel is a little pricey compared to usual Holiday Inns, and there is a $9/evening parking fee, but the location was hard to beat and breakfast food was good. February 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service was the best ever! The gentleman who registered us was so kind and thoughtful as we were there to tend to a very sick relative who did pass away during our stay. We really appreciated his kindness and the breakfast staff and dining room staff were wonderful. Our meals were just superb. Thank you for making a little easier what was a very difficult trip February 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The epitome of southern hospitality We have stayed at this hotel for a month and a half now and it has been very enjoyable. The staff has been very professional and courteous. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome and spacious room I stayed with a group of girls, 6 in total in one of the executive rooms. It was AWESOME! The room was like 2 separate rooms with 2 bathrooms and a large den. The beds were comfortable, the room was immaculate and super clean. It also had a great view and was convenient to everything in downtown. They also had a shuttle that took us downtown for free! I even lost my room key and they gave me a new one without the third degree (like most places), and the staff was always welcoming, helpful, and smiling. I will definitely stay again! February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean, quiet room Have stayed here 3 times in last 9 months and have been very satisfied all 3 times. Very comfortable, quiet accommodations. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, Value, and the bed was wonderful! I hadn't stayed at this property in some time; however, when I revisit Knoxville again overnight, it will be my place to stay! The The staff, service, and food were outstanding. This was an excellent place to have our Convention! Looking forward to next year when we return! February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and centrally located. This hotel is easy to get to from I-75. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. No complimentary breakfast but the full service restaurant was quite good, with made-to-order omelets and all breakfast favorites for about $10. No micro or refrigerator in room. Overall, enjoyed the stay very much. vsb February 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Small bathroom & noisy heater Room was clean and bed was comfortable. The room heater was so loud that the TV volume had to be turned up when the heater was on and then turned down when the heater went off. Therefore it was difficult to get a good night's sleep. The bathroom was so small it was impossible for two people to be in there at the same time. February 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well appointed room but bottlenecked elevators I thought the room was great and really enjoyed being in it. I had a hard time sleeping, but the only room-related reason was the heat turning on and off - a big contrast between its noise and then sudden absence. I think the biggest problem I had was an architectural one not easily remedied: There are elevators to all floors but stairs are only at the ends of hallways and exit to the outside (cannot be accessed to go up, only down - and out). I was attending a convention and only on the 3rd floor, but still had to wait with everyone else for one of only 3 elevators to take conventioners up to all of their rooms. Not convenient nor efficient. Also had to wait for the elevator back down unless I wanted to exit into the winter air with no coat only to find my way back into the convention center. [I'd also like to point out to convention center chefs that marking "vegetarian" as entree preference doesn't mean one wants a plate of bland summer squash. Beans, rice, cheese, and all kids of mild ethnic foods would be far more interesting and palatable.] Staff was unfailingly helpful and pleasant. Room clean, pretty and spacious. February 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by NICE HOTEL STAFF WAS FRIENDLY ROOMS WERE CLEAN , NO FRIDGE OR MICROWAVE IN ROOMS .no resturants close by . Hotel resturant a little pricy breakfast was good and had a very nice staff. had to pay $8 a day to park This should have been free for guest everything else was expensive enough. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service! This hotel has by far the best staff I have ever encountered. All are pleasant and very helpful. The staff in the restaurant as well. Enjoyed our waitress Shea and waiter Brad and their excellent service as well as a few of the others who were so helpful when we came in "out of regular hours" Rooms were spacious and clean and the housekeeping staff kept everything well supplied. Don't really enjoy the nickle and diming as you pay extra for refrigerator, Parking and a roll in bed which most hotels I've stayed at supply free. Sleep Inn, Comfort Inn also have quite nice breakfast buffets. But guess the convenience to the Convention Center and the Shuttle service to nearby attractions and restaurants makes the extra expense worth the money. Thank You to all the Staff! January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay, but potential for better Our hotel stay was fantastic. The lobby is beautiful and the staff were wonderfully welcoming. We stayed in an executive king room because we love the view. The room is very nice but would be better if it were supplied with an extra blanket and a robe or two. I did appreciate the Bath and Body Works product. Very nice! January 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Stayed for New Years Eve, great room, excellent customer service. the only issue was trying to get a shuttle ride back to the hotel from the Old City, called 5 times and waited for 1-1/2 hours to get a ride back. maybe plan better next year and have an extra shuttle or two available on busy nights like this. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Happy New Year!! Excellent hotel and great location.. Staff was great and very easy to deal with. January 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by welcome back I stayed here numerous times in the 80's sometimes nearly 20 nights a month. I enjoyed the hot tub and sauna. I also enjoyed the bar and bar food back then. Friday night I didn't go to the bar. The hot tub is GONE. The sauna is GONE. The newest feature is GO GREEN. I didn't like it. It took forever to get the temperature right. The room was like a meat locker when we got there and my wife froze her butt off. Then the "parking". It never used to cost. Why now? It was free for many years but now it is a required cost to your room. The nice employee credited me when I told him I didn't park in the garage. The employees there were wonderful. flat screen tvs, location, exercise room, indoor pool were all great!! December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One night stay! Overall - great place. Just ask for a room opposite the main street. Windows On the Park Restaurant / Lounge is great for a family to eat (kids eat free with adults) and atmosphere! December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service...friendly staff I honestly have never written a review before BUT I really feel I need to. I spent the weekend in Knoxville by myself and it was raining and freezing. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. i love the shuttle down to the restaurants and shopping street and a simple call and they came straight away and brought me back to the hotel. I asked for an extra blanket and it was brought straight up. I needed my phone charged (I left my charger at home) and they sent one up to me. Anything I needed it was delt with straight away. It really made my whole stay a great experience. Well done Holiday Inn...the staff should be commended. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and professional Staff This is a wonderful place to stay. The hotel is newly renovated and very nice. The staff are super friendly and go out of there way to accommodate your every need. November 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff has no clue I had an enjoyable weekend visiting with my grandkids. When it came time to leave is when there were issues. We brought several large boxes of clothes for the kids and needed a luggage cart to haul them back down to the car. NONE to be found. The staff could not locate them either. They told us they only had TWO for the whole facility. I had to load the boxes on the hotel desk chair to wheel them down. At one point (I spent over a half hour looking for/waiting on a cart) The Staff thought my situation was FUNNY!! Will never stay here again. November 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overpriced, but our only choice. Everywhere else was fully booked! They knew we would have to pay such an outrageous price!! My husband had lost his wedding band while staying there. I've called several times to speak to someone in housekeeping. I've left numerous messages, and spoken to the people at the front desk! No one will even call me back to let me know if they've found anything. I would appreciate at least some kind of response either way!! November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly helpful staff! We stayed here for the UT-Auburn game last weekend. The remodel is excellent! The hotel looks fantastic, what a great job! The staff was so friendly from the front desk, Leah and Victoria to the bar service and Bree who served us breakfast in the bar area, she was terrific! Loved the location and how you can walk everywhere and loved the free shuttle that took us to our restaurant. Great job everyone, we are coming back!! November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The place to stay while in Knoxville We have stayed at your hotel in the past and found the same wonderful service from all your staff once again. Definitely our "go to" hotel when we stay in Knoxville. November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay! Nice place, great location, clean hotel, good service. Glad I chose this place for my conference at the convention center! Couldn't get closer. Seemed to have more open spaces to meet and dine in restaurant and lobby areas than a nearby competitor where other friends were staying. Room was nice. Road noise was an issue at night - I was on the 5th floor facing road (not river). A friend said it was loud on her 9th floor, but she said it was worse in my room. You heard sirens and revving engines that passed, but I slept fine otherwise. I would recommend it and return. Knoxville was great! Close walk to Market area. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Refreshing What a delightful stay at your property. Everything from the moment I arrived to the time I left, the stay was wonderful. How refreshing it is to say " A great experience was had". From the staff, the location, the room, the food and beverage, and management made you feel comfortable. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff I was totally pleased by my entire visit! The staff was very helpful and freindly. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great! Stayed here for one night while attending a CE class. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast buffet was a bit pricey. Would stay there again. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff! Each member of the staff was friendly and helpful. They always had a cheery greeting and asked if they could help. The room was very comfortable too, and in spite of the full capacity, it was very quiet. I would definitely stay there again. October 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Out of date rooms The hotel is going green to save on electric but the windows are way out of date. We had to turn the heat way up to compensate for the cold air blowing in thru the windows. With all the new technology that is available, one would think there would be more channels on the TV to watch since there is nothing to do within waling distance. It would also be nice to have a comfortable bed and a mini fridge in the room. The pool was very lame and boring. October 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Heating did not work The room has a heat / AC unit controller on the wall that is actuated by placing your door key in a slot, this is supposed to conserve energy. Unfortunately, I could control the fan with my key inserted on the slot,; but, regardless of what temperature setting that I made on the control unit, the air handler NEVER blew warm air. It was near 30 degrees both nights that i was in the room, supposedly this was looked into after the first night, but I had the same results on the second night. October 29, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior The Sunsphere! The site of the 1982 World's Fair! Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Enjoy local music at the Knoxville Ampitheater! Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby We are 10 miles from the Knoxville Convention Center! Enjoy a football game at Neyland Stadium! Go Vols! Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading