• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 14.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed with a USD 75.00 one time fee.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Kayak the Caves of La Jolla
Distance From Hotel:1.25MI
Attraction:
Kayak the Caves of La Jolla
Distance From Hotel:1.25MI
Attraction:
Downtown La Jolla
Distance From Hotel:1.25MI
Attraction:
Birch Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:57
  • Total number of suites:16
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:27
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:13
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:57
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Executive rooms
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2314

La Jolla Hotel's Amenities and Location Shine

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasting an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.

The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific
View More

La Jolla Hotel's Amenities and Location Shine

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasting an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.

The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.

Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.

Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today!

View Less
Features
Close to the beach and San Diego, the hotel's La Jolla location is perfect for corporate and leisure travelers, whether meeting with clients, engaging in water sports or just relaxing on the beach.
Announcements
The hotel’s self-parking lot is under renovation and will be inaccessible for guest use. In the interim, the hotel will be offering complimentary valet parking for our overnight guests. Please drive
View More
Announcements
The hotel’s self-parking lot is under renovation and will be inaccessible for guest use. In the interim, the hotel will be offering complimentary valet parking for our overnight guests. Please drive around to the back of the hotel and use our entrance at 6800 Electric Avenue, La Jolla, CA. Please feel free to contact us directly with any questions or directions.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 154 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value THe hotel is very well situated near Del Mar and the ocean The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the room was excellent Would recommend to anyone traveling to San Diego March 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love it! Being staying at this property since the 1970's. The current design and management are top class and we return year after year. A great place to stay!!! March 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love Hotel Indigo We love the spacious and clean rooms! Beautiful pool areas! Walk across the street the ocean and best of all just a few blocks to fabulous downtown Del Mar! This hotel is the perfect location for a San Diego vacation. Always our first choice! February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasurable & Comfortable I've been staying at the Hotel Indigo for some time now. The unique layout creates a feeling of seclusion for many of the rooms. Private balcony's and interior amenities provide comforts of home and make the rooms functional beyond beyond the obvious. The beds are relaxing and the restaurants cuisine is fabulous. My favorite part of my stays is sitting outside on the bars terrace enjoying a drink while viewing the Pacific. February 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst hotel stay ever!, My husband and I stayed here over the Christmas holiday while visiting family. When we checked into our first room the sink was clogged. Called the front desk to have someone take care of it and they did right away. After, as we started to unpack and get ready for bed noticed that the bed sheets hadn't been changed from the last guests, the bedside tables were sticky and there were bugs on the ceiling and bathroom wall. The desk moved us to a new/upgraded room.. After being gone the entire next day and getting back late at night found pajamas and a personal blanket, which had been folded and on the bed when we left in the morning, laying on the floor on the other side of nightstand in a pile. Complained to the desk and was told very rudely cleaning staff not allowed to touch guest property. We'll it didn't jump off the bed! He then said maybe the cleaning staff placed it on the nightstand and it fell off. Ummmm, I thought they weren't allowed to touch my stuff. Was very rude and no help. Did not have room cleaned after that. Didn't want anyone inside. January 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent We had great experience ,meeting Desmond,Barbara and Brittany who always were very helpful and friendly made us feef as home Thanks Dr. Hirsch and family January 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The room size was excellent, BUT! The size of the room was excellent, but it could have used a dresser because there was plenty of room. The room was very noisy. You could easy here the people next and the outside activity. January 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Soiled carpet with non-responsive mgmt First room offered had that "old peoples house" smell. Second room offered had fresh clean smell. On leaving day 1 noticed large dark spot on carpet adjacent to the front door. At front desk I requested it be cleaned with a reply that they were replacing the carpeted areas with hardwood flooring. Upon return that evening it had not been attended. I was able to clean it with some warm water and soap on a wash cloth. While cleaning the carpet in the light of day noticed many stains over half of the carpeted area. Prior to check-out I emailed you and received a reply that a Ms. Granado had: "We have notified the hotel management regarding the situation. They have assured our offices that will directly get in touch with you prior to your check-out. We know they share our goal of consistent high quality, and we are confident they will take the necessary steps to achieve complete guest satisfaction. " When I checked out I asked the front desk clerk if there was any communication for me and she indicated there were no notes. I then requested that the General Manager, Ms. Man Lai Tam, contact me as she was not on property at the time. I was never contacted by her. December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AMAZING Hotel You get your own little "bungalow" almost. The rooms are amazingly gorgeous, and the beds are inexplicably comfortable. Wish we didnt have to get up at 4am to catch a flight out. Which brings up a point-- this is not a place to stay for the airport in San Diego. It was kind of a trek there. I did not see the place in daylight, but I could only imagine the view was wonderful after walking down to the ocean. The service at the bar/restaurant was deffinitely lacking. A part of my meal was missing, then it took almost 45minutes to get it, along with our drinks. Were were one of maybe 3 groups, so it wasn't because it was busy. December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great GetAway A wonderful place to stay on a weekend get away, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The surrounding area offers great restaurants and beautiful views. December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by quiet and convenient We were in a beautiful room along the perimeter of the farthest building on the north side.The room was comfortable. The staff was great from the front desk , to the restaurant, to the custodians. The hotel is convenient to the highway and to downtown Del Mar. We have only one complaint and one suggestion. The complainant is that in our week there, the housekeeping staff (though very nice and attentive) didn't have a regular schedule - one morning they were knocking on our door while we were still sleeping, another morning we came back late afternoon to change for a dinner engagement and the room still hadn't been cleaned. The suggestion is the management should paint a Blue Brick Road to follow to the pool and then to the main building. We got lost a lot in the hotel complex the first day or two. The hotel complex IS complex and confusing, and the location of the signs with arrows didn't seem to help - we kept turning down wrong paths to dead ends. We finally figured out a pretty good route to the pool in the middle of the complex, and then from there to the main building. December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great ocean view This hotel has a great ocean view and is a block to the beach.It is a few block to the downtown Delmar.great staff and great location. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Wedding Weekend Experience This hotel was a perfect location for hosting the guests of my friends wedding. If I ever come back to Del Mar, I'll definitely be staying here! November 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Falling Apart Great people can't compensate for door knobs and windows that effectively don't work. Add to that the TV & Remote control situation (also not good - unless you enjoy channel surfing through hundreds of channels that have no signal and are not on the provided channel list, btw remote would not allow you to enter the number of the channel you did want directly) it's really not surprising that I left before my second night and paid for another room elsewhere. I was 'too late' for a late checkout because "housekeeping had gone for the day" which explains why housekeeping staff 3-5 people were still out working on the property. On the upside - I'd make a point to eat in their restaurant again if I were in the area. Finally - some of the rooms have nothing like a 'desk'. Mine had kitchenette with breakfast bar but it simply was not suitable for doing any kind of computer work Which was the main reason I had to leave as I had some work I needed to do and it was just not set up at all to allow that (low soft chair). November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really Cute Hotel - Great Location!! I only stayed for one night and wish I had more time to enjoy this great little place. It felt like I was in a resort. The room was private and quiet and most of all, really comfortable! Would highly recommend Hotel Indigo and look forward to staying here again next time I'm in San Diego! November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great place to stay in Del Mar, conveniently located with terrific staff and an excellent food & drink. An all around enjoyable experience. November 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Going downhill from last stay The first couple of stays in this place was great. Beautiful new rooms and reasonable price to be in walking distance of downtown Del Mar. However, this stay was a big disappointment. First off, no one is paying attention to the jacuzzi. We went around 7:15pm to enjoy a nice hot bath to find the water about 75F....not very enticing. When we complained to the hotel staff, we were told someone "shut off the emergency stop button" which killed the heat. They had told us that they had started it back up an hour before and would just need to wait at least two hours, but I think they were just patronizing us as we saw their maintenance man take off right toward the jacuzzi as we were walking back toward our room. Secondly, when turning on the TV, the ONLY channel I wanted to watch was black and off the air, even though their channel listing had it listed. Many of the channels you had to enter the number of the channel manually because the channel selector would skip over about 25 channels. I'm not certain we will return to this hotel that can't seem to master the basics. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A real find! We've stayed here several times in the last year...and it's always a great experience. Quiet, clean, good food, pool and hot tub...couldn't ask for more in Del Mar. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Indigo of Del Mar--Great Place For a Family Reunion From booking through the Director of Sales to checkout, our experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar was delightful! Our rooms were attractive and well designed. The restaurant was wonderful and provided a gathering place for our whole group.The pool area was beautiful, quiet for relaxing. We could walk to the beach, and we had easy access to shopping and major freeways. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Perfect Place to chill and relax I stayed here for 3 nights in Mid October at the end of a 49 day road trip completing my 48th State of the USA. what a perfect end to my holiday. My daughter had joined me for the last two weeks and we were upgraded to a two queen bed studio suite which was very spacious with a breakfast bar a good kitchen area with a good refrigerator and microwave as well as a double hob ring. The aircon worked great and was nice and quiet and the bathroom had a great shower. There was a small terrace with two chairs and table outside the suite, but only 15 feet away was the pool and Jacuzzi area where we layed on the sun beds and enjoyed the view of the Pacific Ocean. we also saw some amazing sunsets. There is a second pool on the lower level. The reception area is very modern and the Bar and Grill has an outside terrace where it is great to relax and enjoy a drink and watch the sunset across the Pacific Ocean. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. I had a light out in the shower room, called reception and in less than 5 minutes a gentleman arrived and changed the bulb. we loved using the pool and jacuzzi and would love to return here again in the future. We had great nights sleep in the comfortable beds and it was really quiet, but it was mid October There is an excellent business centre that we used for printing our boarding cards for our flight back to London and a very nice fitness room. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by spacious room I was surprised and pleased with the size of the room and the bathroom. The open-air lounge is also a good feature. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best overall experience here I've been traveling for work since 1997, and I've not had a better experience at any other hotel. The staff is absolutely amazing, very personable, and ever so accommodating. The attitude and culture of the staff here breeds customer satisfaction all the way. The Ocean Breeze restaurant is really good, has an EXCELLENT Eggs Benedict with Crab Cakes that is second to none, and the drink selection is expansive. This is one of the few hotels that I elect to dine in instead of visiting area restaurants. If you find yourself in the San Diego area and need a place to stay, I could not recommend a place any more than the Hotel Indigo San Diego / Del Mar. October 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good times Had a nice stay. Bar restaurant area was very nice. Staff were exceptionally nice. We would stay there again. October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean, comfortable, with great service We checked-in after 5 very busy travel days. The Receptionist met us with a warm and welcoming smile, helped us with all our needs and questions. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant, and after dinner we enjoyed the fire pit overlooking the pool. Oh so relaxing ! Our room was clean and quite comfortable. It also included a microwave oven, which we put to use to make popcorn (conveniently sold in the lobby), and we watched a great movie on TV. The morning found us refreshed and ready to brave the airport. Also of note ... every staff person that we encountered, from property & maintenance to waitress were friendly and polite. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We really like the Indigo 'Stayed at the Hotel Indigo May 2013 and loved it! So wed are going to visit again Later this month (Oct 2013). Our room overlooked the pool, hotel ambience was that of a cruise ship. Self Contained, everything needed to get away & unwind, & Del Mar right outside the front gate. Staff were all excellent, recognition for Reward Club status was appreciated. Recommended - business or vacation. October 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprise! After reading a few of the negative reviews, I became concerned. I hadn't realized that pets were permitted. I called the property directly, explaining that I have a cat allergy. The gentleman with whom I spoke, listened patiently. He promised to relay this to housekeeping and told me not to worry. When I arrived, the staff had been alerted to my issue and guided me to the room that had been personally chosen for me. Wow ! The room was spotless, pristine and refreshing. I had been upgraded( without my asking) and even enjoyed an ocean view from my patio. The staff spoke with smiles on their faces always offering to help me in any way. I will return and refer friends in a heartbeat. September 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Hotel staff are very very friendly. We were there for a wedding and part of a large group. We were out very late and planned on sleeping in the next morning. Big mistake, the room has windows above the closet and above the bar area which we never noticed were open. There was so much noise at 7 am outside our room and in the adjacent room. We tried to close the windows but they are way to high for anyone to reach without a ladder. Since we had already been woken up by all the noise and kids yelling and running in the adjacent room we just decided to get ready and leave the hotel. To make things worse, the tub was stained, disgusting! September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We love Indigo Hotel! This is our second stay here. It is such a relaxing environment and we really enjoy everything about it. The pool is great, the restaurant is excellent. We ate all of our breakfasts and dinners there. And the staff is attentive and helpful. Barbara was fantastic and it was nice to see her again. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Great place in a great location. The ocean views were awesome. August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location horrid internet We truly love Hotel Indigo. However their internet makes us so crazy we cry. We stayed for a week, working during the day, and their internet is soooo bad, dropping off line continually, with bad bandwidth, and connectivity, we were about to call the internet people to the hotel and get it fixed. Not really, but you get my point. I spoke to the front desk person, and they said they didn't know it was bad. WHAT!??? Unreal. We would stay here again, but frankly the thought of the pain of that internet might send us to another hotel in del mar. PLEASE GET YOUR INTERNET FIXED!!!!! To get food or a drink, you kind of have to ask, vs. being served at the bar. It seems the staff is new, not well trained in the industry, and have a lot to learn. The staff is nice, but not really good at what they do. August 26, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla - Entrance
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla - Entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla - Entrance Holiday Inn Express La Jolla - Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading