• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 14.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:2
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Japanese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are allowed with a USD 75.00 one time fee.
Pet deposit amount  75.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Kayak the Caves of La Jolla
Distance From Hotel:1.25MI
Attraction:
Kayak the Caves of La Jolla
Distance From Hotel:1.25MI
Attraction:
Downtown La Jolla
Distance From Hotel:1.25MI
Attraction:
Birch Aquarium
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:65
  • Car Parking Available
  • Plenty of complimentary outdoor parking, including an overflow lot adjacent to main parking lot. Large enough to hold tour buses.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2007
  • Total number of rooms:57
  • Total number of suites:16
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:27
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:13
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:57
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:2
  • Executive rooms
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2314

La Jolla Hotel's Amenities and Location Shine

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasting an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.

The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific
View More

La Jolla Hotel's Amenities and Location Shine

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express® La Jolla hotel, boasting an enviable locale in Southern California. Guests of the hotel can expect unmatched customer service to compliment the convenient location. Minutes from downtown La Jolla, the hotel's property is just two blocks from the beach and close to popular San Diego attractions.

The hotel's guests enjoy visiting the area's beautiful beaches, including Wind-n-Sea Beach and Pacific Beach. Recreational activities abound in La Jolla Cove, known for exciting diving, snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. The hotel's location in the San Diego area makes attractions such as SeaWorld and the San Diego Zoo easily accessible.

Perfectly suited for business and leisure, the hotel's amenities include free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour Business Center. Guests appreciate being close to area businesses, including Qualcom and Scripps Hospital, as well as UC San Diego. The nearby Torrey Pines Golf Course is perfect for a round of golf with clients.

Among hotels in the San Diego area, this La Jolla accommodation provides superior amenities for guests. Start your day off right at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. The outdoor pool is a great place to enjoy the California weather, and a Jacuzzi is perfect for relaxing. Plan your next Southern California vacation today!

View Less
Features
Close to the beach and San Diego, the hotel's La Jolla location is perfect for corporate and leisure travelers, whether meeting with clients, engaging in water sports or just relaxing on the beach.
Announcements
The hotel’s self-parking lot is under renovation and will be inaccessible for guest use. In the interim, the hotel will be offering complimentary valet parking for our overnight guests. Please drive
View More
Announcements
The hotel’s self-parking lot is under renovation and will be inaccessible for guest use. In the interim, the hotel will be offering complimentary valet parking for our overnight guests. Please drive around to the back of the hotel and use our entrance at 6800 Electric Avenue, La Jolla, CA. Please feel free to contact us directly with any questions or directions.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 154 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs to pay attention to details Arrived at hotel late at night. Could not get any bottled water from front desk or vending machines. Had to search local area for a store with water after long cross country trip. Most hotels offer water upon arrival. Staff was friendly and courteous. Breakfast was fabulous. Room seemed a bit warm and air conditioner seemed not to work properly. Shower was good, but shower head was at about 5 feet and the height adjustment was broken. Beds comfortable and TV good. Wanted to spend extra night, but could not because IHG could not offer room using points, but same room type was available for purchase at hotel. Ended up changing hotels for 1 night down the street. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Second time as great as first I stayed here earlier this year .. this time took my 3 daughters. Again staff was excellent, room was great, the restaurant was the best. Ny daughters enjoyed their stay and liked the pool being just outside our door. Will be back without a doubt. Thanks August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wow! Cant wait to come back! Hotel Indigo was the icing on the cake! The last 3 days of our CA vacation were spent here, and gave us a difficult choice to either enjoy the gorgeous beach or stay and relax at the gorgeous peaceful hotel. Room were spotless and spacious, staff was friendly and accomadating. Loved the fact that they have a washer and dryer for the guests. Felt so at home. Price was affordable. Will highly recommend (already have). August 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The Bed & STAFF The bed was Horrible. mattress pad moving all around. hard lumpy . i CALLE D & ASKED TWICE THAN AGAIN WHEN WE GOT THERE FOR A ROOM WITH A PATIO. NOTHING. WE BOOKED IN ADVANCE & STILL NOTHING. August 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by needs attention We love the location and view from the hotel. We felt the staff we encountered were friendly. That being said. The room we stayed in was clearly still in the midst of renovation. One bathroom had a shower that didn't have all the hardware. There were no towel racks in the master bath. The master suite had extremely poor ventilation, windows were locked such that we could get any airflow. It necessitated using the AC the entire time. In San Diego at the beach there should be no need for that. The AC was very loud, and the room was very dark, even with the blinds open. The furniture in the rest of the suite was obviously thrown in there and came from some old room and was used to fill up the space. You are extremely short staffed in all areas. The pool either didn't have any towels or had face towel sized towels. It was not an inexpensive place, I hope you can improve the quality of room and service or I fear you will not last long, In the meantime don't charge full price on unfinished rooms or suites, and let people know youre still in the MIDST of renovation August 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed experience I stayed several times at the old Strattford, and I thought the upgraded hotel would be an upgraded experience.... I didn't know that the hotel now allows dogs. The room smelled like feet and wet dog, and the flea bites were nasty. The bedding was nice. Except for the fleas. The room didn't have enough lighting. The new restaurant and bar was enjoyable, on one morning it was understaffed however. The bathroom toiletries were very nice Aveeda product, but the in-room coffee was service grade garbage and the coffee maker needs upgrading. The pool towels were pathetic, and they would run out by 1pm. In the past I would have recommended the old Strattford Inn as a very good value. Not the current Indigo however. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for vacation Me and my wife spent a night in this hotel and it was great. As a platinum member we got an upgrade to a suite with ocean view plus a free drink from bar. staff were very respectful and accommodating. Hotel is a great choice for vacation. July 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A dissapointment through and through Being based in Australia, I am used to terrible customer service and overpriced hotels. So I actually was surprised to find a Hotel in the US which meets this criteria. - Staff at reception were abrupt, rude and unhelpful (you dare ask me a question?) - The room was still not made by 4pm, we had to call and ask for the room to be made. - While the room had a view, the air conditioning was so loud, it did not allow for any sleep. Clumsily refurbished. Will not stay there again. July 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by beautifully decorated boutique hotel Although we have stayed at many beautiful hotels in California, The Indigo Del Mar is definitely one of our favorites. The beautiful beaches can not be beat , the ocean views, beautifully decorated rooms and great service are all top notch. We love Desmond at the front desk, he went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. He gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations, and was very warm and hospitable. The service we received from Desmond and the other wonderful staff members, like Jacob in the restaurant, rivals that which we have received at 5 star hotels. We will definitely be coming back! July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wish I could live at the Hotel Indigo Del Mar!!! LOVE this hotel so much. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is amazing, and our golden retriever's were welcomed with open arms! Barbara at the front desk is always so welcoming to us. My golden retriever Amber, cannot pass Barbara without giving her a huge hug! Brace was always there to bring out breakfast on the patio so we could dine in the dog friendly area. Breakfast is awesome!!! Great way to start our day. Desmond always had a smile on his face and the cutest little smirk. Reminds me of my brother when he's about to crack a joke. Wish I could remember everyone's names, but we cannot say enough good things about the entire staff. Love it so much that we are coming back next month. We look forward to many vacations in the future at the Hotel Indigo Del Mar. Don't change a thing. It's perfect!!! June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience with a cat! We needed to find a place to stay with our cat, while our house was being termite tented and found Hotel Indigo in Del Mar accepted animals. I spoke with both Jeff and Barbara at the front desk and explained our needs and why. They suggested a room, that turned out to be perfect for not so much a vacation experience but a homey place for our cat and us to stay while being displaced for 3 days. I will differently recommend this hotel for other neighbors facing a similar stay or for friends coming to San Diego and need a place to stay. The hotel, staff, grounds, and rooms are wonderful and you really feel far removed from everyday life all a plus in my book! Thank you!! . June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! From the room to the food, we had a great stay at the Del Mar Indigo. May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Place in Del Mar - No Question My wife and I spent four days at the Del Mar Hotel Indigo on our first true vacation in years. It could not have been a better decision. The front desk and restaurant staff were welcoming, kind, and highly professional. We received an upgraded room. The hotel itself is in an excellent location and is extremely clean. The fire pits are a wonderful place to relax around at night. The rooms are great and really clean. The restaurant food was outstanding and was very reasonably priced. Although not directly on the beach, access to the walking trail was easy. The hotels directly on the beach in Del Mar were nowhere near the quality of the Hotel Indigo. Also, after visiting La Jolla we are very glad we stayed in Del Mar. Our only complaints are the lack of a dresser and sofa/reclinder in our room and difficulty using the TV remote. Overall, we had a super room. However, there were few places to put your clothes. A dresser would have been nice. We also would have liked to have had a sofa or recliner in the room - there was more than enough space for it. Watching TV was a pain. The remote didn't work well and channel surfing was a chore. Regardless of the couple negatives, we would stay at this hotel again without question. We can't thank the entire staff enough for making our rare vacation a wonderfully relaxing time!!! May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Value & Great Location I have to travel to San Diego for business on a weekly basis and I think I've found my new "home away from home". Hotel Indigo is very clean, quiet, staff is fantastic and the value is unmatched when you consider all of the above as well as the location. I highly recommend this property to anyone travelling on business who desires a peaceful place to escape to at the end of the long workday. I'm even bringing my wife here for our next getaway to San Diego. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Bar Everyone took care of all my needs and the weather was also great May 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Shocking service The service levels were shocking. Staff were not well trained , did not have a good attitude & at times were actually hard to find in order to get any service at all. One staff member was very rude to 1 of the guests in our group. None of us will recommend this hotel as a result. April 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The ambiance is great in lobby and lounge feel overpriced for overall what guests are expecting. our patio door was hard to open and close cause fit was not right. bathroom tub slow drain... towel rack on wall was broken on one side. The lounge was nice, we were here last yr. when you did not have liquor license yet so looked forward to our visit in the lounge this time. But out of corona the first nite and again the next. Not what you expect from again this high priced hotel. We come each year for the good guy show so do not know if will stay again, not because the hotel isn't beautiful and pleasant just not up to par for the price. April 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Property on the cusp of greatness... We stayed at the Hotel Indigo Del Mar last weekend and had a moderately pleasant experience. The property was clean and very pretty. There were many good things about our stay, and we left feeling that the hotel is on the cusp of being great, but lacks attention to detail. I'm going to provide some examples in the hope that if the staff can lock the little things down, the property can achieve greatness... Here are some examples: 1) The drawer of the dresser between the 2 beds would not stay closed causing initial bodily bruising. We had to duct tape it closed ourselves. It's hard to believe no one was aware of this... 2) When we ordered room service for breakfast, the items on the menu we wanted were not available. 3) Our breakfast room service tray came with no sugar, not enough cream, and no salt and pepper. 4) The breakfast "hash" was greasy and indecipherable. The items in the hash were not cut of uniform size, and were way, way too big. Lazy mise en place. 5) The girl working the front desk, I think her name was Liana, was moody. Sometimes she was nice, and sometimes she was impatient and disdainful. She also got in an argument with a guest who wanted to wait for another front desk staff, male, name started with J I think. She took this situation out on the next guest in line and was very rude. She was very efficient and good at the content of her job, she just needs an attitude adjustment. Maybe she was just having a bad weekend. 6) Maid service was in the room next door, and saw us leaving our room. In spite of this, when we returned 3 hours later, the room had not been attended to. We had to track someone down and ask for towels. When they finally cleaned the room, all they did was make the beds and leave the towels. No new glasses, no new coffee cups, no restocking of the sugar packets we depleted when we got no sugar with our room service coffee. 7) The room initially had one bar of soap for the sink, no soap in the shower. 8) We ordered sweet potato fries at the bar late one evening after a wedding with not enough food and too much alcohol... They delivered regular french fries. When we noted this, the attitude was "hey, they're fries, it's late." Like I said, lacking in attention to detail. They did fix it, but really, this cannot be accomplished? Why have several selections on the menu if you're just going to throw whatever you want at the customer because it's late and you're busy or want to go home? 9) One of the other guests near us had children. Their parents allowed these children to run stomping up and down the walkway outside our room early in the morning; back and forth, back and forth for over 40 minutes. People have children, they are loud sometimes, it's all good. But maybe when guest check in with kids, just remind them that there are other guests and to do their best to make sure the kids are quiet early in the am. Or put all the guests with kids in one area. Or ask people when they check in if they are ok being in a section with kids. Not being able to sleep in on vaca isn't nice, especially when you're paying that much for a room. It's not a Disney Hotel. Good Things: 1) The property is gorgeous. 2) Someone named Jason who works in the restaurant was very good, responsive and helpful. 3) LOVE the AVEDA. 4) The room was spacious and clean. 5) The bathroom was great and really functional. 6) The simple bacon and eggs breakfast we ordered was just fine. 7) We did get a second bar of soap for the shower on the second day. Maybe it's one bar of soap per day... Penitentiary style... 8) The location is great, close to other things in Del Mar. 9) The bar, restaurant, and outdoor seating by the rooms is really great. Totally pleasant to sit out at night with a glass of wine and relax. Really pretty and well maintained. This sounds pretty critical, but if you're reading this, I'd absolutely recommend this property. I'm just being super detailed because how can you expect someone to improve something if you don't tell them exactly what needs to be improved? Stay here, you'll like it. And hopefully, they'll get the small stuff together soon. Thanks! April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fell in love with Del Mar The week before Easter, my boyfriend and I stayed at the Indigo for a vacation / friends wedding. We were there for 6 nights. While we were there the staff was so friendly and accomodating. They put us in an area where we were close to a pool, patio and all our friends were nearby. The complimentary parking was excellent and found that not a lot of hotels offer this in that area. We really had a good time, in fact, on the plane ride home we had a conversation about how we could move to Del Mar. All in all it was an A+ vacation and we would definitely come back. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great ambience and amenities We loved this inn! Great place to hang out in a beautiful community. The pools were lovely in the daytime and we sat by the fire pits at night. We would return in a heartbeat. April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautifully Equipped Rooms and Great Ocean View This recently remodeled hotel provided an excellent stay. The rooms were spacious with beautiful decor. Each room offered a great ocean view. The hotel bar/restaurant offered great ambiance with outside fire pits for the cool evenings and the spacious interior was welcoming. The food offered by the restaurant was very good. Overall, my stay was one of the best I've experienced at an Intercontinental Hotel affiliated hotel. March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by always good experience we are staying at the indigo for many years when we are in town for business. always great and helpful staff. Barbara always goes the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible. March 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 4 wonderful notes! Great location! Close to the beach and easy to walk to any restaurant. Room was nice and quiet. This was a rather quiet time of year so the sound level could change as things get busier. I would still say this is a good choice. Helpful staff..... March 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome hotel I recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo for 4 days/5 nights as I was in Del Mar for pure relaxation and just to get away from it all. From the time I walked in and registered until the time I left, everyone that I came in contact with was friendly, helpful and smiling. My ocean view balcony room was awesome, cleaned daily and I was able to enjoy the sunrise/sunsets daily. It was great to be able to walk over to the Ocean View bar/restaurant for any of 3 meals, with a varied menu. The food and service there was excellent and all my meals were awesome. I also treated myself to an 80 minute massage in the spa and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff made me feel very special and welcome. The pools and hot tub were all very clean and welcoming as were the grounds around the hotel. The location is a short 15-20 minute walk to town and the beach. Overall I would highly recommend the Hotel Indigo and I look forward to a return visit here soon. March 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy and comfortable Great location and easy to get in and out from. I have stayed at this location around 10 times, and it is always consistently great. Clean, friendly, and well manicured. Staff is great! February 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beach Getaway Loved the entire atmosphere - and being so close to the San Diego Beach! Service was great, staff was nice, and the room was quiet & peaceful. The bed was comfortable; room included a kitchenette. Accomodations also include a small restaurant with order-in available - which I did not get to try out but was nice to know the option was there. I recommend Hotel Indigo as a must for anyone looking for atmosphere, close proximity to beach and comfort! February 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by girls weekend We had a girls weekend at the Hotel Indigo and were only disappointed that we had to leave! The hotel is within walking distance to the town and really fabulous restaurants and shops. I would recommend the second floor ocean view with balcony as we loved having coffee out there in the morning. Rooms easily accommodated the 3 of us. February 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and wonderful staff What a beautiful property. Room was excellent comfortable bed and truly enjoyed the sitting around the fire and enjoying the sunsets. The staff was wonderful so friendly and the food fabulous. We walked to town and definitely will stay here again. January 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall experience Large room & bath, comfortable bed, and accomodates pets! Nice bar/restaurant on site. Would be even better in warm weather to sit out and enjoy the patio. Nice kitchenette, but nothing to eat or cook with. January 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by boutique hotel, good deal I booked at the last minute around New Year's eve and had a lovely stay. The room was clean and had unique design, the bathroom was clean, the staff was friendly and let me check out late. January 9, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla - Entrance
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla - Entrance
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express La Jolla - Entrance Holiday Inn Express La Jolla - Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading