• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SULPHUR
  • Distance From Hotel: 9.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-06:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed. Only Service Dogs are allowed

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:81
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free truck and van parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:81
  • Total number of suites:20
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:43
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:38
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:63
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Hotel in Lake Charles, LA Offers Comfortable Stay

Located in the heart of Southwest Louisiana, just off I-10, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites in Lake Charles, LA offers top-notch accommodations and easy access to the area's most popular destinations. Ideal for business or leisure travelers, our facility is the best among area hotels.

Lake Charles, LA business guests are minutes from area companies, including Conoco, PPG, Sasol, Cit-Con, Westlake Petrochemicals, Citgo and
View More

Hotel in Lake Charles, LA Offers Comfortable Stay

Located in the heart of Southwest Louisiana, just off I-10, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites in Lake Charles, LA offers top-notch accommodations and easy access to the area's most popular destinations. Ideal for business or leisure travelers, our facility is the best among area hotels.

Lake Charles, LA business guests are minutes from area companies, including Conoco, PPG, Sasol, Cit-Con, Westlake Petrochemicals, Citgo and Westlake Polymers. Lake Charles Regional Airport is just 7.6 miles away, as well, promising easy commutes for airline travelers. We're pleased to offer event space for meetings or receptions for up to 50, and provide a 24-hour business center to ensure that guests have the resources they need.

Those staying in Lake Charles for leisure can try their luck or their golf swing at casinos, including Isle of Capri, L'Auberge Du Lac and Harrah's. Shoppers can venture to Prien Lake Mall, while nature lovers can explore the Creole Nature Trail. McNeese State University is also nearby.

Of all area hotels, our Lake Charles, LA facility is the one that provides guests with a reputable name and exceptional amenities, including free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access, a sparkling outdoor pool and whirlpool, a 24-hour fitness center & a free breakfast, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls. We hope you'll "Stay Smart" at Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites in Lake Charles, LA.

View Less
Features
We are pleased to provide free wireless Internet access from everywhere on our hotel's property. Lake Charles, LA guests can stay connected to friends and family or the office during their stay. Enjoy our complimentary Continental Break fast in the morning, stay fit while on the road by awailing our fitness center facilities.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 169 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bring a Fan! Bring a fan!! I could not get the room to a cool enough to sleep! June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service poor quality of room staff was excellent, fold out couch bed unnecessarily uncomfortable, room on second stay smelled of mildew, had a poorly functioning refrigerator and bathroom had black mystery substance around the tub. the door looked as if it had been kicked with tons of shoe scuffs.. overall feeling made my skin crawl and i wasn't able to fully relax even though the bed on my second stay was comfortable. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best hotel night's sleep ever! We chose this hotel for the convenience of being close to the casinos, but upon arriving, we loved the hotel for the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. Although there was a sports team staying, we never heard any noise from our room. We will be back. June 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast I had expected breakfast to be included with the stay it was not, this was very disappointing! June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and very welcoming Wonderful stay. I was very impressed with the cost and appearance of the Holiday Inn. I look forward to staying at Holiday Inn Hotels for future business meetings. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff. Very clean property; staff extremely friendly and courteous. Common issue with most hotels - those tiny pillows!! June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The 3 C's: Comfortable, clean and courteous Very comfortable, very, very ,very clean and courteous!!!!! This was the perfect place to stay. Close to everything you need food, fun and excitement.!!! June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Third Stay This was our third stay at this location. We found the room very clean and the bed very comfortable. We have stayed in the same room each time and have never had a problem. We liked the bed so much, we decided to order one from Serta. We loved the bedding also and would really love to know what type it is so we can check in to ordering it as well. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. June 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by front desk manager (Jamie) horribly rude The overall stay was good. It was a day later when I noticed that I had 600.00 worth of holds on my account for the one night that I stayed there. When I called and asked about the holds on my account the front desk manager by the name of Jamie told me if my bank would call her she could give them a code to release the hold that shouldn't have been on my account. my bank called she wouldn't return there calls. Then when my bank finally got in touch with her and asked her for a faxed letter head so they could release money she said she would do it and didn't. When my husband and I called her and asked about the situation she was very rude and even laughed at us over the phone and stated she had better things to do. The same situation occurred to everyone who stayed at their hotel on this date. I finally called customer service at 800-621-0555 ( for any of the other people still trying to get this resolved) and within 10 mins my money was refunded. As for this Manager Jamie, she has no business being a manager and needs some people skills. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable and excellent service. This was a very pleasant hotel. The rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. If anything else was required, the front desk employees where very helpful and an absolute pleasure to talk to. I would definitely recommend this hotel! June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Holiday Inn lake Charles The experiences was great usually i stay at hampton inn sulphur. But took a chance and it was great. Special hats off to the bartender Renée I think She very pleasant, professional and personable May 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to Holiday Inn Standards Could not get your Wi-Fi to work on my laptop. Front desk personnel (although they did TRY to solve the issue) finally admitted it is a known issue with some corporate laptops and I "should get another laptop to use in the hotel". A known issue, not much support, and I was forced to find a public area in the city to work that night. All the pillows and the chair in the room were damp. It felt like the room had been flooded, and had not had the opportunity to dry out. Checking out, the person at the desk never looked up from the computer to acknowledge me, just said "checking out" and after I said yes went back to work. Definitely, not up to the usual high standards for the chain. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Execellent staff, however , rooms need a larger TV and movie channels. May 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Door left open On one of my stays I came in after a day at work and my door was not closed / locked. I was lucky i was not missing anything. Another stay my room was not cleaned or the bed made. no fresh towels in bathroom. I did report it. On yet another stay my sink was backed up and i had to have maintenance come fix it. May 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay We stayed at your facility for about 10 days. Food and service in restaurant were excellent. All personnel were friendly and helpful. Front desk and hotel housekeeping were also excellent. We have stayed at numerous hotels over the years, mostly at Hiltons as preferred customers. Your staff meets or exceeds any service we have experienced. Thank you and compliments to your wonderful staff. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great bed, comfortable atmosphere, hotel has great beds. Property in good condition. relaxing stay. will stay here every time. March 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Wifi - Overpriced - Paper Walls - Kids I am revising my review to meet Holiday Inn requirements as my initial attempt was rejected. I traveled to Lake Charles to partake in some gambling late on a Friday night. I arrived and checked into this property and immediately noticed that the WiFi was not working correctly. Other online reviewers suggest the same even months before my own arrival. The issue has not been resolved from what I can tell. WiFi is in and out. If you are a business person that needs WiFi call before booking to ensure service. The property is overpriced for the value. Geographically it is located in a desireable location close to gaming such that it can command a higher premium. The higher premium is not worth the room or caliber of hotel in my opinion. The walls were paper thin and we had kids running down the hallways, etc. I can only blame the parents here vs. the property. Heavy feet above you turn rooms into speaker boxes per se. From what we could tell, the kids were left unattended by parents which presents and issue in respect to atmosphere. Guests need to be notified that young kids should not be left alone by the hotel staff. This creates an environment that is hard to relex in. No WiFi + Loud + Over Priced = 2 Stars in my book. March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Thank you Rodney & Jamie for making our stay GREAT. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful! property was very clean and staff was friendly, helpful and courteous. Room was clean and comfortable. Guest Service Representative Cory was the best, displayed excellent customer service. He was very professional and knowledgeable as well. I stayed at the Holiday Inn and Suites Express on MLK hwy Lake Charles a few weeks prior and he was the GSR at that property and displayed the same excellent guest service. I was very pleased when I saw he now worked at this location. He is definitely a model associate and should be rewarded accordingly. Thank you, Erica March 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It;s okay The motel was clean. Allpublic areas were very good. However the beds are rock hard, the internet was terrible. I had to reboot the internet continually which was not good for my work. The front desk was unable to print out a receipt on departure. The motel was not able to email a receipt and had to mail it to me. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Makes You Feel Like Family The Lake Charles South Holiday Inn on Lake Street has been my "go-to" hotel for several years. I've probably stayed there over 40-50 different times over the past 6 years for baseball/softball tournaments and for livestock shows. The front desk staff is ALWAYS welcoming and helpful. The rooms are clean and the property is extremely well-maintained. The food in the restaurant is fantastic; I could select from their breakfast menu for 3 meals a day if offered. The indoor, heated pool is perfect for my grandchildren. But their favorite thing about the hotel is that they get to have breakfast in bed when they stay there with me. Room service is prompt and very reasonably priced. Thank you, Mr. Roland and Mrs. Jamie for always being such wonderful hosts. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit for the livestock show and look forward to several baseball and softball tournament visits with ya'll this summer. Victor's Pralines will accompany me, of course. :) February 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by I'll be back! This was an excellent stay; probably the best I've ever experienced at any Holiday Inn. The hotel was exceptionally clean at all times; the beds were comfortable and everything was the way it should be. Additionally, it was nice and quiet at night. However, there are two people there that make the stay a 5-Star Visit - that is hotel clerks Rodney and Jamie; especially Rodney! He is funny and no matter what he is going to make you smile coming and going! Jamie keeps a smile and is extremely pleasant to talk to. Keep these two around, and consider giving them a promotion into Training. They could really teach others in the hotel franchise customer service skills! For that level of service alone, I will return. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service! I want to recommend this hotel for the outstanding service we receive from the staff. We stay here often and never had a problem that was not taken care of in a professional and efficient manner. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. Great amenities in the room. Would recommend in the Lake Charles area. February 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service This is an amazing hotel. We were always welcomed back when we walked in the door and the staff was so friendly. Hot tub was amazing and breakfast in the cafe was delicious February 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My Review I have stayed at this Holiday Inn hotel numerous times and am more disappointed than ever after my last stay. The rate is higher than any other HI I visit. There is a restaurant in the hotel that is not open all the time and all meals are expensive. I arrived at 3:00 pm the restaurant was closed & I went out to eat. I left the next morning at 6:30 am, the restaurant was closed and the coffee in the lobby was many hours old. All other HI I visit have a free breakfast, but not this one. The internet service was not working during this stay. I was put in a room as far from the elevator as you can go down the hall. I am tired of the expense for what I get at this Holiday Inn. I have stayed in at least 7 different HI's during January and this was beyond disappointing. February 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Jan 24th 2014 The ONLY negative feedback i would give is that the toilet paper dispencer(s) is(are) an extremely out of reach in distance from the toilet. Actually there were two. One was located and built into the sink base, which entirely was too far to reach and the other was mounted on the wall neare but still too far. To gather enough paper we had to pull the paper 4 to 5 feet out of the roll. It sounds trivial but just try it!! Room 429, let me know as i would be interested in the response! On the positive side all of the staff were super!! thx January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome room The Lady at the front desk was so helpful and very pleasant and so was all the staff that I encountered during my stay. Would most definitely recommend your hotel to others and I am sure I will stay there again when returning to Louisiana. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer service We have stayed at this location twice now and absolutely love it!!! We will come back over and over for sure. The customer service is outstanding and everyone is extremely nice. Thank you so much! January 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Service HORRIBLE!!!!!!! HORRIBLE!!!!! HORRIBLE!!!! First off we knew something was wrong when we got there on Christmas Eve and there was almost an empty parking lot but we thought nothing of it and proceeded to stay since we had already made reservations. Upon arriving the front desk clerk was rude and a smarty pants. She asked my husband who is a priority club member for his phone number. Why do you need a phone number if he is a priority club member? This information is already on file. When he proceeded to give it to her he messed up giving her the number a couple times because as we all know you don't dial your own number and she huffed and puffed like she was mad. We got our keys and went into the room. The room itself was nice. We stayed that night and Christmas Day we were gone all day until about 11:30 p.m. and upon our return we discovered that our room was NEVER cleaned. I was furious! I went to the desk to tell the clerk it wasnt cleaned and her response was looking in a file asking if I had the "Do not disturb" sign out. I said no but then I remembered we did. She said, "Im sorry but we can provide you with fresh towels." Now #1 I have stayed at MANY hotels and if that "Do not disturb" sign is up they come back at some part of the day and clean it up! You do not just leave the room like that!!! Never again will be staying here! Its just plain dumb and no excuse for that! December 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The Staff great as usual. This time round fridge didn't work in room. Had to wait till after 3pm the following day for repair. December 15, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Close Proximity to Interstate I-10
Close Proximity to Interstate I-10
Select to close.
Close Proximity to Interstate I-10 Hotel Exterior Recently Rennovated Well lit parking lot Lobby Lounge 24hrs Front Desk Lobby Lounge Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading