• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: WILMINGTON
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

40.00 non refundable fee for one pet. 50.00 non refundable fee for two pets. Pet limit 2 pets per room 50 pounds or less. Pets are not allowed in public areas or on furniture in room.
Pet deposit amount  40.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:109
  • Car Parking Available
  • All parking is located around the hotel. Parking in other locations that is not designated for the hotel will be at your own risk.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:105
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:66
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:39
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:105
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area is located in the heart of Leland, NC just minutes from downtown Wilmington, NC. Our hotel exudes a contemporary look with exceptional service and amenities for both the business and leisure traveler. From our all brick exterior, expansive ceiling heights, hardwood lobby floors and custom tiled breakfast area you will immediately notice that this is not your typical limited service hotel. Located in the sprawling golf plantation of Magnolia Greens we put
View More
Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area is located in the heart of Leland, NC just minutes from downtown Wilmington, NC. Our hotel exudes a contemporary look with exceptional service and amenities for both the business and leisure traveler. From our all brick exterior, expansive ceiling heights, hardwood lobby floors and custom tiled breakfast area you will immediately notice that this is not your typical limited service hotel. Located in the sprawling golf plantation of Magnolia Greens we put you in the heart of exceptional golf, shopping, dining and North Carolina's most visited attractions and beaches. Magnolia Greens features a 27-hole course, golf school and practice facility nestled among scenic marsh views and Bermuda fairways. Just five miles from our property, experience the history and charm of Wilmington North Carolina, nestled along the Cape Fear River. Prepare to be whisked away to another era either by foot or horse-drawn carriage when you visit such attractions as the USS Battleship North Carolina, Bellamy Mansion, Henrietta III Riverboat, Thailian Hall and much more. Choose any direction from our property and enjoy a day of coastal living at its finest. From an array of beaches such as Wrightsville, Carolina, Kure, Holden, Myrtle to laid back southern towns like Southport, experience North Carolina like no other. In addition, island excursions are also closer than you think with day trips to Bald Head or Oak Island.
View Less
Features
Welcome! Located in Magnolia Greens Golf Plantation our property puts you in the heart of it all. We are minutes to Historic Wilmington, USS North Carolina Battleship, Beaches, Golf, Shopping and Dining. We are sure that our hotel will provide you with the upscale look and feel you want and the exceptional service you deserve. All Executive Rooms, indoor heated pool and free full breakfast.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 197 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by thank you We were very pleased over all with this hotel. The breakfast was fabulous, fresh and had many choices. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. The only thing I would have enjoyed was access to bottled water in the drink dispenser as I do not drink tap water. Job well done. Always a great experience at Holiday Inn Express January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The staff are friendly and helpful. They assure that each guest has a pleasant experience. December 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by super friendly staff This was our first travel experience with our two year old. Everyone was so friendly to all three of us! We appreciated the extra effort from the girls who straightened up our room...my daughter's stuffed animals were neatly arranged on the bed when we returned in the afternoon! December 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Close to collegue I like this place, is clean, convenient to all locations as it is centrally located. I wish I have had more time to spend in town. Wilmington is a nice town. December 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean and very friendly very good place to stay great hospitality clean quiet and great service December 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay This is a nice place to stay. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, and very little road noise. There is a strong odor around the laundry/housekeeping area at the elevators on the first floor. An automatic air fresher would do wonders. Kind of hits you in the face when you come in from the parking lot and it makes you wonder how clean things are elsewhere. December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Experience My wife and I had an excellent experience with the Holiday Inn Express in Wilmington. The room was very clean, the staff very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Highly recommend. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Southern hospitality at its best The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with attention to service. This set off a satisfying combined business/vacation stay. November 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast area needs to be changed Room and service was very good. Only issue we had was the breakfast area, it is layer out terribly, the coffee and juice machine need to be moved to a different area. Creamer is stuck in corner and when someone is getting coffee a line forms since they are blocking the coffee machine. Need to get rid of pancake machine no one was using and move coffee there. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by California Roots: The Carolina Sessions I had a great stay during my visit for California Roots: The Carolina Sessions. The hotel, though relatively ordinary, has something that a lot of other hotels in the same price range or beyond don't have--and that's a great staff. I coordinated the trip with Brittany, the sales coordinator--and she was absolutely great to work with! I hope you value her as an employee, and I think the possibilities for her to move up within the company are endless if you give her the opportunity. The rest of the staff that was working the desk on the evening of 10/25/13 should also get a couple gold stars and a steep pay raise as well. They were great! Lots of personality, genuinely very friendly, and just flat out nice people to deal with overall. They were very helpful in getting my friends squeezed into the last room in our group, and we were all very thankful that they were so willing to go above and beyond. The hotel itself isn't by any means lacking, but the quality of the staff exceeds the quality of the hotel. The rooms, hallways, elevators, dining area, etc are all pretty much par for the course. That's not a complaint, but they're pretty generic. Sometimes generic isn't a bad thing, and in this case, that's true. They're generic, but nice, clean, and overall pretty spacious. For what it's worth, this hotel is in a pretty central location for our needs and I hope to stay there again next year if we bring this event back to Wilmington. Thank you very much to those of you who made our stay pleasant! October 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Getting long in the tooth This property is beginning to show its age. The general appearance is clean but bordering on shabby. There was condensation dripping from the ceiling air conditioning vent which created a significant puddle in the room. This was repaired during our stay but it was unexpected for a Holiday Inn Express. In addition, the ice machine on our floor was broken and should have been labeled as 'under repair' with directions to the nearest ice machine.The staff were outstanding -- friendly and helpful. October 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable beds Had a nice experience for a 2 night stay. The room was spacious and the bed/bedding was very comfortable. Amenities are very good as well. The only negative was that my son had a bloody nose during the night which left some stains on his pillow case & sheets. Housekeeping did not change them. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service and value I'd like to thank your entire staff for making our stay so enjoyable. We were with the USS Kitty Hawk Vets reunion, and we had a great week at your "house". October 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good service; desperately need to change carpet Carpet is old, dirty, and affects the impression of quality negatively. Everything else was satisfactory. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommend Very nice and clear, affordable,great breakfast, centrally located. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for families except no crib after online request We had the king room with sleeper sofa in the living room- comfy room, clean. Requested extra blankets and they were delivered within 2 minutes. Crib was requested online with reservation, but on arrival we were told they were all "reserved" (online listing says no guarantees). All other hotels we have used have the same policy of no crib guarantees, but theyve always had one for us- and for once I forgot to pack our backup. Had to go buy one. Now we have two. I'm guessing the software company that wrote their reservation code didnt think it particularly important where a child sleeps. This hotel has great reviews and lives up to them except in this area- how hard is it to include reservations for a crib when youre already doing room reservations? Unfortunate for a hotel that banks part of their business on families. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Trip Excellent service upon arrival. There was a Manager's reception going on when I arrived and the General manager came up and greeted me while checking in and thanked me for my business and invited me to enjoy what they had to offer. October 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Affordable Comfort and Nice Staff Lots of hotels in the immediate vicinity to choose from, and we found this a good value selection. Rooms were clean and reasonably spacious. The staff were friendly, and the breakfast was plentiful. The hotel was fully booked, and the staff seemed to accommodate all the guest's needs. A special shout out to the breakfast crew, who kept all the items freshly stocked during peak demand. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of our best motels We stayed in 6 different IHG properties over a 10 day period and this was my favorite, Did not have 1st floor but was close to elevator. Light bulb missing but a quick call resolved it. It had two TV sets which we liked. Lots of room. Staff was very attentive. I did have to remind clerk that I was a rewards member. September 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by SEPT VISIT STAFF EXCELLENT, ROOM VERY CLEAN , ... HAVE STAYED HERE NUMEROUS TIMES AND ALL STAYS WERE VERY ENJOYABLE .............. September 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great cinnamon rolls! My husband and I both loved the breakfast. Both biscuits and gravy were warm and tasty. They are remodeling so had to look over decor. Staff was very accommodating. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to just relax Access to everything and in a nice quiet area of Wilmington. the staff was fantastic September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Service! I wanted to take a moment to express my appreciation to the management and staff at the Holiday Inn Express Wilmington-University Center. I have been staying at this location for most of the last 4 months as my employeer has a job in the Wilmington area and I have been temporarily relocated until the completion of the project. As you can understand, it is not easy to be away from your home for long periods of time. The Staff at this location has gone out of their way to make me feel welcomed and has taken care of me as though I were a family member. It is a safe bet that I will continue to stay at this location through the completion of my job duties and will also without question be booking here on family trips in or near the Wilmington area. Thanks. Vernon. September 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, good parking and great service couldn't stay on the beach, this was the next best thing. also close to shopping. September 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Daughter's 18th Birthday This is the third year that we have stayed with you on labor day weekend to celebrate my daughter's birthday & we always have the best experience! I always know what to expect & am never disappointed. The staff is very friendly & always say hello in passing. The food is consistently good (love your pancakes & my daughter always kids that she has to check to make sure I didn't pack the pancake machine to take home). I love how peaceful the location is. Thank you for a great celebration again! Hope to see you next year! September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Nice lodging facility. No problems. Friendly staff. Good central location for downtown Wilmington and Wrighsville Beach. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good stay as usual have stayed here in the past and always enjoy this hotel.thanks for a great stay August 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home We first landed at HIE in Wilmington when our daughter was looking at UNCW. IT had been a long drive but once we crossed the front door EVERYONE there made us feel at home. The entire staff was friendly, offering to help at every turn. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices and the food area clean with a large screen tv to let you relax and get the days news. After our visit we went on to see several more colleges but not one of the other hotels - even the higher priced ones!- made us feel as welcome and as at home as HIE in Wilmington. We have since stayed there on every visit. We plan to continue to stay there. EVERYONE there has treated us with respect and kindness. You can not ask for anything more from a hotel! August 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by extreme dissatisfaction we were surprised to be SO unhappy with H.I.E. in wilmington. we had ants everywhere. first, on a chair i was sitting on, then i saw one in my bed ,crawling on my pillow next to me. i thought i had brought it in after i sat in the chair. i asked housekeeping to vacuum it, or change it out the chair . then i looked, and saw ants on our clean sheets. i asked for another room(thinking it was a fluke) but had ants in the second room also. we cut short our vacation in wilmington, since i felt ants everywhere. OH, and the towel rack fell off in my daughters hands, and the halls & elevators needed to be vacuumed better. can never go back there. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendliest Staff I have stayed in many hotels over the last 40+ years, and I can honestly say that the staff at this hotel was some of the most sincerely friendly I have ever encountered. They were so willing to do whatever they could to make our stay as comfortable as it could be. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast was delicious and the breakfast area very clean, and the location great. I will definitely stay here again. August 18, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area Exterior Feature
Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area Exterior Feature
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area Exterior Feature Holiday Inn Express Leland - Wilmington Area Entrance Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Express Leland - Wilmington Area Lobby Lounge Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmingotn Area Hotel Exterior Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express Leland - Wilmington Area Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express Leland-Wilmington Area Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading