• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. Czech
  3. German
  4. English
  5. Spanish
  6. French
  7. Hindi
  8. Italian
  9. Punjabi
  10. Polish
  11. Portuguese
  12. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets accepted with the exception of Guide dogs and Hearing dogs.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:9
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car parking located at hotel.

    £30.00 per day FIRST COME FIRST SERVE BASIS.

  • Daily Parking Fee ( 30.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:224
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:169
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:224
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City.

Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station, which connects to London Stansted
View More

Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City.

Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station, which connects to London Stansted Airport, is a 10-minute walk. Take a taxi to London Heathrow Airport in 45 minutes.

Holiday Inn Express London-City is a quick stroll from Bishopsgate and Finsbury Square's businesses and local offices. Host training days in our 5 air-conditioned meeting rooms and ask our friendly staff to arrange catering. You can link to wireless Internet throughout hotel.

Hop on nearby number 8 bus to reach world-class Oxford Street shopping in 20 minutes. Spitalfields Market, packed with boutiques and stalls, is 10 minutes' walk and Tate Modern gallery is 15 minutes by Tube. Catch concerts at Barbican Arts Centre, a 10-minute stroll from the hotel.

Holiday Inn Express London-City's smart Great Room is the ideal spot for your all inclusive buffet breakfast and hearty evening meals like fish and chips. Settle into leather chairs and banquettes in our lobby bar to catch the latest big-screen sport action.

View Less
Features
Guests of Holiday Inn Express London-City enjoy discounted use of the stylish Market Sports gym, a 5-minute walk from the hotel. Work out in the cardiovascular and weights rooms, cool off in the chlorine-free swimming pool and unwind in the sauna and steam room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 392 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, quiet area Room was beautiful, luxurious, housekeeping not great, had to call front desk for coffee, sugar and facecloths on 3 separate occasions. Concierge was great, assisted us with booking day trips. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good service friendly staff Stayed here a number of times. Staff is very professional and always friendly. Service level is high. Good food in the Italian restaurant. Good venue to explore London both leisure and business wise. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 10 Aug stay Great location. Staff was very helpful and the breakfast was great. We booked a non-smoking room but the room and the entire 3rd floor smelled of smoke. Also, the air conditioning was inadequate. Overall good experience based on our leisure travel. The location provided a great base from which to see London. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by London Visit We are surprised above the quality that gave us this Crowne Plaza ! Best stay in London, very tasty breakfast, and warmly welcome ! August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful Staff were very helpful and willingly looked after our bags and bikes. the room and bed were very comfortable. It was quiet too. The hotel has an excellent location. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 good location luxury room everything is good except that the lifts are very very slow August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, great Staff and Service Very good hotel, happy and attentive staff. One lift under refurbishment out of three made transit to seventh floor slow but I'm sure this is only temporary. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average Stay Great location and walking distance to many attractions. Blackfriars tube station is in front of hotel. Some slight renovation inside the hotel but not loud. One of the elevators was being replaced so longer waits at times. I did not feel that my priority club status was recognized at this property although a voucher for points was extended. In fact, I am requesting PC to stop issuing vouchers for points because it allows the hotel not to recognize the status of the customer in a more expected way such as an upgrade, lounge access, etc. The staff at this hotel is extremely well trained to say no to most of customer requests in a professional and polite manner. I called the hotel before of our check-in requesting a room with windows and large enough because I was travelling with my wife and two children during this trip. I was told the hotel was full and it would not be possible. We were eventually provided a room facing outside after several telephone calls and a discussion at check-in. I requested at least a lounge access as a two double bed room was not available at club floor or so I was told. I was told that the lounge was small and access was already overbooked. we were presented access keys to the lounge two days later. we literally had to fight to get the hotel to act on our requests for which we did not feel good especially for the amount paid. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We'll run hotel with quality staff The facilities are well presented and The hotel is well run. The staff are all very Attentive and professional.Italian restaurant is high quality location is fantastic And when the rate dips below my company limit I will always choose This hotel when working in Central London August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Overall great hotel and great staff. The hotel has a great chines restaurant. Nice for both business as well as family. August 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could be better Generally the hotel was nice, the check-in easy, and welcoming. The restaurant was closed for the evening, but no reason given, so we had to go out to eat. The breakfast service was terrible. Tables were not cleared, if they were cleared, all the plates/uneaten food etc. were piled onto one table. It looked unsightly. The food taste nice, but .... the presentation was terrible, items were not restocked, or freshened up. All in all, a nice hotel ruined by bad service at breakfast. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This was my first time in CROWNE PLAZA LONDON-THE CITY it was an amazing experience. The rooms are clean and they are big so they are comfortable. And the room service was very helpful. Moreover, the hotel food was delicious and the service was great. August 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza fans We have stayed at Crowne Plaza the City on several occasions. It is in a great location and we enjoy the proximity of Blackfriars tube/train stations. Our overall stay was as good as it has been in the past, but with a few minor exceptions: I thought the bed was more comfortable on previous visits???? The wardrobe door was hanging on very precariously and our bathroom needed some maintenance - paintwork on the door was very scratched and in need of some TLC. The toilet roll holder was falling off the wall and was also positioned at a very peculiar level. Breakfast is always very good, with enough variety to satisfy any palate. However, the coffee needs to be served hotter!! We will stay here again. It's like a home from home for our family (minus the poor paintwork and dodgy furniture/bathroom accessories!) Get these sorted before we return guys! August 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location Great service however rooms renovations are highly required. August 8, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Over-rated hotel Terrible value for money. Only good thing is the hotel's location. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, expensive breakfast Excellent location for the work I had to do in Central London, easily reached via Blackfriars - literally across the street. Room was accommodating and quiet. Lifts were very slow. Breakfast was very expensive. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location and nice rooms overall a great well connected location and close to all the attractions, nicerooms and friendly staff August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good stay very comfortable bed and large room. Breakfast was good and service was very quick. check in and out was very efficient. shower screen needs a little attention but strength of shower was good. Finding plugs to charge kindle etc was very difficult and eventually located a single plug in the room - no where near the kettle! Overall a good experience and we will certainly use the hotel again for any London stay. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, poor food In general I found this hotel to be quite good. My only 2 complaints would be about checking in and the quality of the room service food. Our room was not available to check in until well after 2pm and even then the room changed twice during the check in process, as the planned room was not available. We ended not getting into our room until 2 hours after arrival. Secondly, the room service food was of poor quality. While there was plenty of it, it was very just not very good. The burger in particular tasted very processed and cheap. Apart from those two things the stay was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was clean, quiet and well equipped. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel and Great Location A great stay, good staff and rooms. Hot corridors! August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Area was not super busy at night like the West End. The hotel is across the street from the Blackfriars Tube station. The station was new and was convenient and safe for buying tickets. Tube was convenient transportation to attractions, Heathrow, and EuroStar. Priority Club Lounge was a quiet and pleasant venue for the complementary breakfasts. Would have liked to have had exercise facilities. August 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Experience 1) We booked 2 rooms. On check in we stated out son would be arriving late. We received a phone call from reception at 11.45pm to advise our son could not check in as we had to be present. My wife took the original call as soon as I took the phone the receptionist said ok its all ok then put the phone down. 2) food service was very very slow. took 45 minutes for soup to arrive 3) Staff generally seemed very unhelpful 4) My WORST EXPERIENCE EVER AT AN IHG HOTEL and I stay 100 nights a year and have done for the past 10 years August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Luft qualitaet Das Zimmer war sehr gut, Klima anlage auch. Schade, das man bei einer so schoenen fensterfront das fenster nicht oeffnen konnte. ich finde dies ein besonderes plus bei anderen hotels, besonders aber in einem raucher zimmer die luft auf dem flur im 7.stock war nicht angenehm, zu heiss und stickig. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Great Stay We really enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Place London - The City. The location is ideal as Blackfriars tube station is almost directly opposite the hotel. The staff were always willing to help with any queries we had during our stay, and I would definitely stay there again. July 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, but small flaws which will probably not make me return I have travelled quite a lot and stayed in very many hotels and hotel chains around the World, but this is the first time when I had to stay in a room where the window was covered. The room was rather cozy, but without the window it felt like a cage. When I asked to change the room, I was told that it was not possible. I chose this hotel because I am a IHG club member and the location of the hotel is good - the subway is across the street and restaurants in Covent Garden a 20 minutes of walk. A week after my stay I still have the cost of my stay reserved on my credit card account although another payment in the same amount has been cleared from my card a week ago and I will have to settle this with my bank. Next time I would probably choose another hotel in London. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room was excellent Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable, good location. The concierge was very helpful and informative. The beds were very comfortable. The buffet breakfast had everything anyone would want for breakfast. Would defiantly recommend the Crowne Plaza to any of our friends travelling to London. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Perfect location close to the Thames, hotel abiance - good, professional and all hotel staff that we talked to were helpful. Good choice of restaraunts in the hotel. The real selling points, next to underground station (Blackfriars) and right next to Blackfriars Bridge with access to the South Bank area. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely Hotel Me and my partner spent a weekend at the Crowne Plaza, The City. We booked the hotel through another company and didn't know which hotel it was until we had made the payment. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, the staff are extremely friendly and the hotel was lovely. We didn't eat in any of the restaurants but the food smelt beautiful. We did order room service late one night following an evening at the theatre and the food was delicious and very reasonably prices. The staff will go out of their way to anything they can for you. The only complaint I had was on checkout a payment was taken from my account in error. This was rectified and the staff were apologetic about it. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and it definitely deserves 4* if not more. July 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed in hotel Previouslly commented on regarding room and restaurant problems July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel The overall appearance of the hotel is first class. All the staff we met were most friendly, polite & extremely helpful. The food was always fresh , well cooked & always a good choice. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable & was well appointed. Altogether we had an excellent stay at this hotel & hope to return in the future. July 21, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior By Day
Hotel Exterior By Day
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior By Day St Pauls Cathedral Reception Desk Hotel Exterior By Night Entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading