• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. Czech
  3. German
  4. English
  5. Spanish
  6. French
  7. Hindi
  8. Italian
  9. Punjabi
  10. Polish
  11. Portuguese
  12. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets accepted with the exception of Guide dogs and Hearing dogs.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:9
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car parking located at hotel.

    £30.00 per day FIRST COME FIRST SERVE BASIS.

  • Daily Parking Fee ( 30.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:224
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:169
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:224
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City.

Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station, which connects to London Stansted
View More

Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City.

Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station, which connects to London Stansted Airport, is a 10-minute walk. Take a taxi to London Heathrow Airport in 45 minutes.

Holiday Inn Express London-City is a quick stroll from Bishopsgate and Finsbury Square's businesses and local offices. Host training days in our 5 air-conditioned meeting rooms and ask our friendly staff to arrange catering. You can link to wireless Internet throughout hotel.

Hop on nearby number 8 bus to reach world-class Oxford Street shopping in 20 minutes. Spitalfields Market, packed with boutiques and stalls, is 10 minutes' walk and Tate Modern gallery is 15 minutes by Tube. Catch concerts at Barbican Arts Centre, a 10-minute stroll from the hotel.

Holiday Inn Express London-City's smart Great Room is the ideal spot for your complimentary buffet breakfast and hearty evening meals like fish and chips. Settle into leather chairs and banquettes in our lobby bar to catch the latest big-screen sport action.

View Less
Features
Guests of Holiday Inn Express London-City enjoy discounted use of the stylish Market Sports gym, a 5-minute walk from the hotel. Work out in the cardiovascular and weights rooms, cool off in the chlorine-free swimming pool and unwind in the sauna and steam room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 354 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointing and not up to usual Crowne Plaza Thus chain is usually reliable. Check in was quick, and efficient. That is all I can think of to compliment Room which was designated non-smoking reeked of cigarettes, and was overall grubby. No natural light/opening windows so was weirdly claustrophobic. Fitness centre well below standards for this type of hotel. Will avoid in the future. Avoid their advice for things like theatre tickets, and certainly avoid them arranging them, as it is not in the customers best financial interests!! July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Attentive, Helpful Staff Staff, especially the Friday Concierge very helpful especially when we had an issue with my daughters glasses. Check in very easy and rooms clean and tidy. Easy to get to and would happily stay again. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, great breakfast and wonderful service We had flown into London from the US and were tired. Upon returning from a 7 hour private tour, we were exhausted. The concierge recommended a wonderful restaurant on the river for fish July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well placed for The Shard visit We chose this hotel as it was a comfortable 25 minute walk to The Shard, over The Millennium Bridge and along the Thames. July 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Greta Location This hotel is located such that central London and all that it has to offer is easily accessible, would recommend it if 'doing' London is your plan July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Elegant design, convenient location, pleasant club lounge Club room on club floor is around 35 sqm Elegant design. Desk with convenient UK and European sockets and multi iPad 4-5 sockets. Bedroom with very comfortable bed. Flat screen television with large selection of English and international cable channels. Bathroom with walk-in bathtub. TempleSpa amenties (very good smell). Bathrobe View over the rear of the buidling (perfectly quiet but poor intimacy during working hours). Efficient air conditioning. Balcony but no way to use it (windows cannot be opened). Bose mini chain The Club Lounge is pretty small but pleasant. Breakfast with eggs, salmon/ham, fruits, pastries, yogurts. Evening canapés and drinks. Cookies and fruits during tea time. PC with printer. Newspapers. Friendly staff. GOOD - Convenient location (close to Tate Modern, easy access by underground, shares bike station very close). - Pleasant club lounge - Elegant design BAD - Best advance rate I paid was 25% higher than best flexible rate the day of check-in! Hotel proposed me to get a meal at GBP45 (difference of the price), but I did not as I did not intend to have dinner at the hotel. No refund was proposed. - Check-in and check-out experience could have been more smiling. Other members of staff (concierge, club lounge) were very friendly and professional. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed it Central location, easy access to all the Sights. Would live to come again July 2, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Over priced. Smoky. Small. The room we had was a 'complimentary' upgrade. However, on check out, the hotel tried to charge me for this. I was forced to argue with 3 members of staff before the manager resolved the problem. Whilst the staff were polite, they simply tried to fob my wife & I off with suggestions that "I had booked this online" The club room smelled smoky. One of the lifts did not work, and the remainders took an eternity to arrive. All in all, a let down. Unlikely to return unless I am desperate. As a barrister, I am happy to pay for service. This was below expectations. The food in the restaurant however, and the waitress service, was excellent. July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poor bar service and bedroom too hot The staff were more concerned with an Asian Disco event that was banging out music until at least 3am, and explained they were too busy to serve us. Air conditioning did not work effectively - Given it was the end of June and very hot this made our stay very uncomfortable. We were told we could check in at 12 noon, when we arrive at 1pm we were tole we had to wait for 1 hour as the room was not ready. However, the front desk staff were very polite and firendly especially the concierge staff. The decor is unusal but quite nice. July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT EXPERIENCE Location is first class. Staff are warm and friendly Breakfast is great Cock tails and snacks in lobby are very good. Overall, interesting place to stay. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and great pillows wonderful hotel , 2 minutes away from the tube station . really clean and comfortable rooms , not a great view out of the window but you can`t have everything . The hotel staff were lovely and helpful and its a great location June 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff and great location We had an awesome stay in your hotel. We were from out of the country and didn't know the area and the staff were very helpful with all of our questions and made some awesome recommendations for us. The hotel was nice and clean, the rooms were fine. It was a bit expensive, but then so is everything in that area. Only thing that was a bit of a problem, was that when you walk in from the outside to the upper lobby, there was a slightly foul smell. We weren't sure if it was a fishy smell from the sushi restaurant or what. Once you were in you didn't notice it for long. All in all it was a great stay! June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely comfortable I stayed here with my daughter last week. From the time we set foot inside the door we were treated with consideration and courtesy. We have stayed at several Crowne Plaza hotels and this one is among the best. It is right across the road from Blackfriars tube station, which is very handy, and within walking distance of theatreland, in particular Drury Lane. The rooms are well appointed and the beds comfortable. I would have preferred a walk in shower rather than an over-bath shower, but that's just my personal preference and I know some people prefer a bath. We stayed on the seventh floor so I cannot comment on rooms on other floors but I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will stay here again when in town. Breakfast was good, too. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and relaxing stay. Well on entering this Hotel the welcome was good and very friendly, check in was effortless and our Deluxe room was spacious with a lovely comfortable bed and nice bathroom+ there are lots of other things in the room like a safe mini bar etc. We had dinner in the Italian restaurant starting with the wonderful crab, then the best ever Fillet of Beef with Polenta and mushrooms. Then followed by drinks in the very comfortable bar. All in all a great stay with fantastic service and we will be going back again on the 2nd August. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Internet service The hotel's wireless internet service has greatly improved. Upload and download speeds are very good, but more importantly, the service was consistently reliable during my recent one week stay. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing location, room, staff and breakfast first class Our stay was great, we were going to the Shard for dinner and wanted some shopping beforehand so the walking distance location to Covent Garden and the close proximity to Blackfriars station was perfect. Our room was excellent and the staff on arrival and throughout our stay were attentive and polite. Would stay here again and recommend it to other people. Thanks for making our short stay so special. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday Stay I decided to stay overnight at this hotel due to it being my husband's birthday. From the moment that we walked into the hotel it was blissful. We were greeted by a very polite doorman and welcomed to the hotel by the receptionist that served us and the shift manager. We were able to take advantage of a late check out due to being IHG members. It was lovely be escorted to our room and the manager assured us that we could contact her should we need anything. Our room was a beautiful suite on the 7th floor, with a great view of the city! the room was equipped with charging ports, a great TV, DVD player and all of the other necessary mod cons. Space and luxury were the order of the day. Service at the hotel was second to none, we received a complementary birthday cake, along with a card for my husband. Room service was polite and efficient (we ordered our dinner and breakfast this staff) Overall the staff were 5 star. Polite, courteous, knowledgeable and obviously passionate about providing excellent customer service. It was great to be in such great hands. Access to the club lounge was a great bonus for us, it was a lovely opportunity to relax and unwind. I unreservedly recommend this hotel, we will be staying here again. Can't wait until the 8th floor is built so that we can sample more first class service in amazing ambiance. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable Hotel Great Sleep Very excellent hotel with all facilities. Breakfast expensive, but overall very excellent hotel Would stay here again, I stayed here in a family room, had a great stay. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room with good Stayed here for a weekend with with my wife, this hotel is well positioned for visiting local attractions. with Blackfriars tube opposite it makes London more accessible Would recommend to all June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great comfortable big beds Hotel lovely, in great location would stay there again. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and very clean A clean and comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. June 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Service was Lacking We had stayed at another London hotel within the last 6 months and were impressed the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at that hotel. We did not find that level of service at the London Crowne Plaza. In fact the service for breakfast was very poor. We didn't want the buffet and the result was I had to ask the host to provide us with a server. Service was very slow and even getting a refill on coffee seemed to be beyond the ability of the staff. June 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shame about the lift and tissue by the cricket club entrance. Clean hotel but one lift was working, bad impression due to cleanliness at the front, rooms were not ready at 1350, and breakfast price will cost a small fortune. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a great calming night could not ask for better! the bottles of chilled water left free for our use, the TV left on was just welcoming June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location My family,( 2 adults, 10 yr, 13 ys oldr) had such a terrific experience in this hotel. It was our first time overseas and everything was new to us. How lovely it was to walk into such a nice upscale hotel. The beds were so comfortable since we are partial to beds with duvet covers and lots of great crisp white pillows. I felt they went beyond trying to ensure a great nights sleep. There were sprays to put of your pillows if you needed to relax that were complementary, they smelled soooo good. The towels were huge, white and fluffy. I kept wearing the robe the whole time I was in the room and looked forward to it after a long day of walking.. The concierge was so helpful and kind. I delt with 3 different gentleman and they were very forgiving with my lack of knowledge and indecision from being jet-lagged. They went overboard trying to get us into our room early since our plane arrived at 6:30 a.m, and they did! I have to say that I was most thankful for the kind young girl that checked us out when we were leaving. We were going over the bill and her eyes became huge like saucers, I thought ' oh no here it comes'...well I guess I didn't realize the mini bar has a sensor and EVERYTIME you open the door the price is reflected on your bill. Whoopsie! I think we were over £200.00. The problem was.. We never drank anything. I used it to keep our bottled water cold. Boy, was I appreciative when she took that off our bill. My heart was pounding , the novice that I am had no clue. The location was fabulous! I must highly recommend the Black Friar Pub across the street. Delicious! The Tube was across the street as well which made our day so much easier. Many great pubs within a short jont as well as St. Paul's Cathedral, Tate Modern and the Museum of London. Tesco, a small convenience store, was perfect for us just outside the hotel door. We were so happy to find Krispie Kreme doughnuts there and delicious Cadbury chocolates of all shapes and sizes. We used this place to pack lunches to save cost. Great selection. The Pret a Manger was fantastic. This is a chain that makes the food fresh that day and then takes the leftovers to people in need. I had the best warm chocolate croissant ( sorry Paris ) there plus many fresh high end sandwiches and fruit. Beyond our expectations, our children liked this place the best. A wonderful time and a great peaceful hotel. We were on the 5 th floor and never heard a sound the whole week outside our room. Just a perfect experience. I had to bring home the shampoo and body wash from the room it smells SOOO clean and fresh.(shhhh). 100%satisfied from Orono, Maine, U.S.A. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Humphrey Jazz Trip Enjoyed our 3 day stay at the City Hotel - Crowne Plaza - I'm sure that we will be back - will ask for a room away from lifts next time. June 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Nice hotel, lacking the basics I stayed at the Crowne Plaza during a recent trip which saw me stay at all manner of accommodation across London, Strasbourg, Paris, Brussels and Amsterdam. These included a 2-star budget hotel, a family-run bed and breakfast, a 5-star spa resort and even an uncomfortable night on a coach. All of these (even the coach) offered complimentary Wi-Fi. The b June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous room and wonderful hotel Never fails to disappoint. Great location and great room. The staff are very helpful also June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb location! Can't fault the location, service, room size and facilities. The breakfast was fantastic and all the better for the fact that children under 12 eat free (bit pricey otherwise#. My only slightly negative point is the temperature of the room. There is air con but it is not powerful enough to reduce the temperature in the room sufficiently #maybe because it turns off when key card is taken out of slot when leaving the room). Otherwise a fantastic stay and a hotel I would recommend and revisit. June 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by bad organisation poor service and poor valet services- damages done to friends vehicle June 4, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior By Day
Hotel Exterior By Day
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior By Day St Pauls Cathedral Reception Desk Hotel Exterior By Night Entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading