• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. Czech
  3. German
  4. English
  5. Spanish
  6. French
  7. Hindi
  8. Italian
  9. Punjabi
  10. Polish
  11. Portuguese
  12. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets accepted with the exception of Guide dogs and Hearing dogs.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:9
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car parking located at hotel.

    £30.00 per day FIRST COME FIRST SERVE BASIS.

  • Daily Parking Fee ( 30.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:224
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:169
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:224
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City.

Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station, which connects to London Stansted
View More

Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City.

Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station, which connects to London Stansted Airport, is a 10-minute walk. Take a taxi to London Heathrow Airport in 45 minutes.

Holiday Inn Express London-City is a quick stroll from Bishopsgate and Finsbury Square's businesses and local offices. Host training days in our 5 air-conditioned meeting rooms and ask our friendly staff to arrange catering. You can link to wireless Internet throughout hotel.

Hop on nearby number 8 bus to reach world-class Oxford Street shopping in 20 minutes. Spitalfields Market, packed with boutiques and stalls, is 10 minutes' walk and Tate Modern gallery is 15 minutes by Tube. Catch concerts at Barbican Arts Centre, a 10-minute stroll from the hotel.

Holiday Inn Express London-City's smart Great Room is the ideal spot for your complimentary buffet breakfast and hearty evening meals like fish and chips. Settle into leather chairs and banquettes in our lobby bar to catch the latest big-screen sport action.

View Less
Features
Guests of Holiday Inn Express London-City enjoy discounted use of the stylish Market Sports gym, a 5-minute walk from the hotel. Work out in the cardiovascular and weights rooms, cool off in the chlorine-free swimming pool and unwind in the sauna and steam room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 347 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Great location, good hotel, poor beds All was fine. Great staff! Only important issue is that i found the bed to soft, and the pillows to large. The hotel does not have different types of pillows either, when i asked. Simply did not sleep well. March 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Location We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in March 2014. This is a great hotel in a fantastic location. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very spacious and clean and the beds are comfortable. I will most definitely be staying at this hotel again on my next visit to London. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved it so much have booked already to return next month Superbly comfortable room and was the quietest room I have ever had in central London. Staff all seemed genuinely pleasant and were efficient and helpful. They seem to enjoy their work and I hope this is the case. Excellent bars/restaurants and walking distance of central London and opposite a tube/mainline station. I have already booked to return next month. March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommended Booked for a family weekend & this hotel got things off to a wonderful start. We had two rooms very close together for us & the children & a cake waiting for my daughter for her birthday. It had only been a passing comment when I booked & didn't think anymore about it. Very thoughtful. The rooms are a great size, very clean & comfortable & we all slept so well. A modern looking hotel with great facilities. The staff were all very friendly & helpful, recommending places to visit & the way to get there. Very close to the underground & ideal to visit the major sights of London. We all loved this place & will be back soon. March 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and lovely ambience. This was my first visit to the Crown Plazza, London, The City I was very impressed with the friendly, helpful staff which was evident at check in and through out our stay. The quality of accommodation and the hotel facilities were excellant,in particular I have to congratulate the hotel with regards to the layout, furnishing and ambiance of the front of hotel lounge area where my wife and I spent some time.This experience enhanced by the attentive staff. The hotels location is ideal, being a short walk, taxi ride or underground journey from Londons attractions. As the result of our experiences I have already booked for a further stay at the hotel in April this year. Congratulations to the hotel and staff I would not hesitate in recommending this venue to others. March 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by London Stay Fab location for all transport routes good walking area plenty to see. Walk on the river or St Pauls. Plenty of eating places within walking distance for breakfast lunch, coffee houses and traditional pubs splendid. Room was warm but otherwise comfortable, would like a walk in shower rather than climbing over bath. Enjoyable stay will go back. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel and location Having booked with IHG for 4 couples the check-in staff were very helpful in registering our arrival and taking care of luggage. The hotel is in a great location for easy access to the city opposite Blackfriars tube station on the Circle and District lines. and close to bus stops. After a mixed afternoon at different sporting locations the group met at the hotel again for check-in before heading out to Covent Garden for dinner. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and a good breakfast selection set us up nicely for an afternoon in Camden before collecting our luggage and making our way home. A very enjoyable weekend! February 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Happy Stayed on Saturday night and the room was fine. hotel in a good spot and was a nice night. It went down hill once we got home and my wife realised that she had left her makeup bag on the couch in our room. I rang the hotel and surprise surprise they couldn't find it. How it could just vanish like that amazes me. I stay in IHG hotels a lot and this night was paid for with rewards points. It has now cost us over £300 worth of my wife's makeup. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel with great customer service Booked this hotel for a weekend break for my wife's birthday and would unreservedly recommend it. Great atmosphere, in particular the bar and the Chinese Cricket Club restaurant. Staff are not in your face but always there with the right response when you need them! February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, friendly staff Second time we have stayed at this hotel. Its location is great by the river & temple. The staff were particularly friendly & helpful, particle in the Restaurant & lobby. Our hotel room was quiet , decent size and the decor etc was to a good standard. We would consider staying again. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic friendly staff, great hotel I had a great stay at this hotel with my family. Brilliant location for us, in genuine business area of London, close to beautiful St Pauls, Smithfield Market etc. All of the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The room was fine for all four of us (husband and 2 children). Hotel bar area was really nice (decor and atmosphere) and we had a lovely relaxing drink and snack with a friend. Overall I loved this hotel and will definitely stay again on my next visit to London. Nice to be away from crass touristy areas. Recommend a walk over London Bridge at night too if you fancy a good walk! February 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay in downtown London I stayed here for 15 nights in February and had a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurants served delicious food. The location was great! February 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay As a regular guest at this hotel I was not at all surprised to have another great stay. The staff are superb and I got a very good night's sleep. February 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel and staff excelllent This is my preferred hotel when I visit London; the staff provide an excellent service and look after my needs to leave me free to carryout a very busy business schedule. February 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by The good and the bad ... The good: I arrived early from an international flight, and the hotel gave me a room to sleep in until my room was ready. I was provided with a large clock on my desk. The bad: The internet in the hotel was at many times so slow as to make it completely unusable. I experienced this problem both in my room and in the main lobby, both with my phone and with my laptop. The help tech, after the night manager saw for himself and finally put me in touch with them, promised to call me back but did not. Unreliable internet service is a *major problem* for me, as I need to work from my room in the evenings, and many times found myself without an internet connection. The wired connection in the room did not work. For some reason the Internet Explorer browser would not work in your hotel and crashed upon opening; the help line person said they did not like Internet Explorer, Windows' default browser. My room had not been made up one day. I had to stay an extra day, but the hotel was to be overbooked. I called down to the front desk and asked to be connected with reservations to remedy the situation. When I checked, out a GB2.50 charge was added to my bill for the call as well as a charge for a small bottle of wine of which I did not partake. The clerk would not take the phone charge off until I insisted that I had not made an outside call; when he called the number to see who answered and realized it was your reservations department, he cancelled the charge, but that consumed time, and my taxi to Heathrow had been waiting for me. The variety, quality and quantity of food in the club room was again significantly below average. The scrambled eggs are especially bad as are the evening appetizers. The toilet did not flush well. The elevator doors are timed to close so quickly that there is often not enough time to get to the elevator before the doors begin closing. February 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best place to stay in London Great location Lovely atmosphere Wonderful staff Comfortable rooms What more can you ask for The best place to stay in London p February 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay ... We had a great family weekend. I'm glad I choose Crowne plaza , it feels like our second home. Although the room was a bit small to have 2 double beds but the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was fantastic as well as the staff. Keep it up guys! February 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too Hot A good hotel, staff very friendly and helpful, room good. Unfortunately the room was much too hot for us and there was no way to cool it down. There was no outside window to open and even after the staff adjusted the temperature controls the room remained uncomfortably hot. They lent us a fan but it wasn't enough. After 2 poor nights of sleep I was glad to leave. A shame because everything else was good. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We loved this hotel's location and closeness to the train station as well as the Big Red Bus stop. The manager and reception staff members were friendly, kind and considerate. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the Hotel. The rooms we booked were two double beds as we are a family of 4, and that was very very spacious and comfortable. If I go back to London, I will definitely stay there again. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great stay in a hotel that is very central and practical February 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good First up the hotel is well located just across road from Blackfriars station, which makes getting around London very easy. The hotel looks traditional and old on the outside, but is very modern on the inside. Check in was ok, quite busy, and thanks to Platinum status i was given an upgrade to a deluxe corner room, although no Club Room access was offered which was a shame. The room was very good, nice and modern feel to it and with a very comfortable bed. Good HD TV, which seem to find in all IHG hotels now, and also a charge station for mobile phone. There was also a small music system, however despite being a techie i couldn't get any sound from it, suspect i was missing a cable for the aux. Being a corner room i had a choice of views - but each was of office blocks located directly across the small road! Was glad this was a weekend stay, had it been during the week i think it would have lacked privacy of those hard working city types. The air con control seemed a bit basic at first (dials, not buttons!) however it worked effectively and was comparatively quiet. So great bedroom area, however let down a bit by the bathroom! Paint was flaking off the door, and also around the WC handle! One of the 2 glasses in the bathroom looked completely worn out, it was cloudy and not clear - it needs putting in the bin! Shower pressure was very good and apart from letting itself down on what should be easy to fix issues it was still a good bathroom. So in summary, a very enjoyable stay. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unbelievable What can I say. My wife Eveline and I stayed whilst visiting the ROH to see Giselle in January and our experience was a great one. I stay in hotels quite often and the Crowne Plaza, The City is certainly one of the best if not the best overall hotel stay I have ever had anywhere in the world. Every aspect and every staff member was so professional. Many examples spring to mind from the service, requests, acknowledgement by staff, perfection of the room, house keeping, breakfast. I could go on and on but the bottom line is this hotel has perfected the art of catering to guests in a way that many have lost. All my wife and I can say is thank you so much you made our stay so special. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent weekend Our favourite hotel in London - a great weekend - thank you January 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice experience that can still improve overall i had a nice stay at the hotel, breakfast is rich, the room nice and clean 2 areas for improvement - 1. the wireless connection was at times a bit slow 2. bed only offered very soft pillows. when requested hard or feather pillow none was provided January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel! We stayed here as we were going to see Warhorse, as a treat for my husbands 60th birthday. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was super comfortable, lovely beds and pillows, gorgeous toiletries and bath robes. We got back from the theatre to find a piece of cake with strawberries and a happy birthday card from the staff, which was a lovely surprise, and a thoughtful gesture. Will highly recommend this hotel, to friends and relatives. Thank you all for going the extra mile and making our stay special. January 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Access Lounge I am an ambassador platinum. Arriving at the hotel I asked to have access to the Lounge. It was possible. The hostess told me that the Lounge was full. January 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend break for west end show Stayed overnight on 4th January as we had tickets to the Lion King. Check in was fast and easy. To use the lifts (no stairs) you have to use your door key to activate the control panel, this was a little tricky until you got the hang of it. The room was superb, large, super clean with all you could possibly want with comfortable chairs, large desk, best bed I've slept on, mini bar (expensive) and plenty of hanging/storage space. The bathroom was large with a super shower. The location is great as the west end was a 20 minute walk away, as is Covent Garden with plenty of bars and food choices. Breakfast in the morning was also excellent. Now the not so good. We returned to the hotel after the show planning to have a drink in the bar. This should be renamed the nightclub, the volume was excessive so we decided not to bother and went to our room. We were on the first floor, and could still clearly hear the music until it stopped sometime well gone mid night. I am no killjoy but if I stayed again I would request an upper floor room to ensure this did not happen. January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great bed, and fantastic breakfast Hotel is in a great location, close to Blackfriars station making it easy to move around London, and within easy walking distance to the Thames. Best night's sleep for awhile! - really enjoyed the breakfast. Liked the "extras" in the room such as bottled water. Staff both pleasant and helpful. January 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and excellent hotel We stayed at this hotel as part of a theatre break. On arrival the hotel is very clean and modern and the reception staff were very friendly and efficient. Our room was upgraded and was excellent. It had the appearance of being brand new and was well equipped - even with an iPhone 5 charger amongst others!! The room heating was a little tricky to master; first it was too cold and then too hot but the middle setting was fine. We didn't eat in the hotel, breakfast seemed a little pricey but there are eateries, coffee shops and even a Tesco Express adjacent to the hotel. The walk to theatre land took about 15 minutes at a leisurely pace. We took the car and parked it overnight in the recommended car park, some 300m walk from the hotel. The hotel is opposite Blackfriars Station with great access to the underground and overground rail services. Overall we got a good deal at this hotel and would definitely stay here again. January 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A model Crowne Plaza--pity about the location Blackfriars is not well linked to buses, which I prefer to take when in London, so the location of this hotel is a problem for me. Other than that, this hotel recognises Platinum members with a room upgrade and courteous attention. The room was lovely, well equipped and very quiet (as requested). The only improvement I would suggest is to replace the ancient hairdryers (of the old style hardly ever seen these days). They are inefficient and take down the tone of the hotel. Breakfast was very good, with lots of fresh fruit and the usual pastries and a good selection of hot items that were replenished promptly. January 9, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior By Day
Hotel Exterior By Day
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior By Day St Pauls Cathedral Reception Desk Hotel Exterior By Night Entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Availability
Loading