• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. Czech
  3. German
  4. English
  5. Spanish
  6. French
  7. Hindi
  8. Italian
  9. Punjabi
  10. Polish
  11. Portuguese
  12. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets accepted with the exception of Guide dogs and Hearing dogs.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:9
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car parking located at hotel.

    £30.00 per day FIRST COME FIRST SERVE BASIS.

  • Daily Parking Fee ( 30.00  GBP)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:224
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:169
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:55
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:224
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5

Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City.

Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station, which connects to London Stansted
View More

Book the Holiday Inn Express London-City hotel, set in an area buzzing with nightlife, a short stroll from the City.

Step directly from bustling Old Street into Holiday Inn Express London-City's bright and welcoming lobby. We're right on the doorstep of Hoxton Square's cutting-edge bars and nightclubs, with colourful Brick Lane a 10-minute walk away. Old Street Tube station is 2 minutes' walk from hotel and Liverpool Street station, which connects to London Stansted Airport, is a 10-minute walk. Take a taxi to London Heathrow Airport in 45 minutes.

Holiday Inn Express London-City is a quick stroll from Bishopsgate and Finsbury Square's businesses and local offices. Host training days in our 5 air-conditioned meeting rooms and ask our friendly staff to arrange catering. You can link to wireless Internet throughout hotel.

Hop on nearby number 8 bus to reach world-class Oxford Street shopping in 20 minutes. Spitalfields Market, packed with boutiques and stalls, is 10 minutes' walk and Tate Modern gallery is 15 minutes by Tube. Catch concerts at Barbican Arts Centre, a 10-minute stroll from the hotel.

Holiday Inn Express London-City's smart Great Room is the ideal spot for your all inclusive buffet breakfast and hearty evening meals like fish and chips. Settle into leather chairs and banquettes in our lobby bar to catch the latest big-screen sport action.

View Less
Features
Guests of Holiday Inn Express London-City enjoy discounted use of the stylish Market Sports gym, a 5-minute walk from the hotel. Work out in the cardiovascular and weights rooms, cool off in the chlorine-free swimming pool and unwind in the sauna and steam room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 340 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Estadía en uno de los hoteles durante mi viaje a Londres-Centro de Europa Durante mi hospedaje lo que mas me agrado fue el confort de la cama y los almohadones, se descansa espléndidamente sobre todo después de un viaje de 10 horas me relajo lo suficiente para disfrutar los días en Londres, por otro lado y en relación al costo no tuve oportunidad de analizarlo ya que el viaje fue en paquete y el costo por lo mismo fue global, cuando tuve que solicitar información sobre la ubicación del museo fui asesorada correctamente. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Rooms a little on the small side but comfortable enough for our family of four as we used them at the end of the day after a busy day in London. Internet was only available for two us which if difficult when you have children with all sorts of gadgets. Good nights sleep had, very quiet. Breakfast was great both full cooked English plus continental. Could do with more pastries. May 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very dissappointing stay, won't be back Our room was very comfortable and spacious. We were incredibly disappointed that the pool, sauna and jacuzzi were going through refurbishments during our entire stay. The hotel advertised itself as having those facilities yet failed to deliver. We chose the hotel because of having those facilities unlike some others so felt let down. Worse still, we were told multiple times that it would open 24 hours there after but never did which was frustrating. The restaurant was extremely poor, waiting minutes before anyone noticed we wanted served, sat down then not offered a drink or menu then waited a long time for food to arrive and when it did was of poor quality and barely warm. We ate our meals outwith the hotel after a poor experience. The staff were not very friendly, almost hinting that we're being a nuisance than a guest. Staff could visible be seen arguing with one another. The atmosphere was poor. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful Location About 15 mins walk from King's Cross, the famous Harry Porter station. Just aside the Royal Mail museum. Not far from Russell Square and the British Museum. Clean rooms and nice food. May 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel/food, bad location For me, the location was disappointing - almost equidistant from any useful transport and alternative eating. In one week I experienced two days where traffic congestion outside Kings Cross tube meant it would be faster to walk than get a taxi. Luckily no rain. Nowhere nearby worth walking to for dinner, and the streets seemed a bit dodgy. However, on the plus side, the room service meals were excellent - delivered quickly, attractive and at appropriate temperatures. May 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not the same quality as in the States I booked a room with a description of "double bed with sofa bed, seating area". There was about 18 inches between the bed and sofa--the room was WAY too small for both bed and sofa. When we had the sofa bed pulled out there was almost no room to walk around. If I needed to get to one side of the room my husband would have to move, let me pass, then move back. Two people could not pass side by side. It felt like a regular size room with a sofa squeezed in. It was advertised as being for 3 people but it was WAY WAY too small for that! I was disappointed there was a charge per person to use the pool. I was surprised at the cost of the restaurant. I was surprised to be charged for a glass of water while I waited 20 minutes for my room. The cost of internet is very very high. In the room, the shower leaked and the floor was soaked everytime it was used. There were 2 male staff standing around when I checked in and I inquired about assistance with my luggage #I had my baby in my arms#. They told me where I could go get the luggage cart and that was all the help I received. One man was there almost everyday at the concierge desk and looked unhappy--I didn't even want to approach him with questions. I used the in-room phone once to call the Holiday Inn reservation desk about staying another night--and was charged for the call. I argued at checkout until it was removed. As far as location, buses pick up 2 blocks away; it is not in walking distance to anything. Overall, the room is fair quality #at best# and I would not stay here again. May 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff but a bit of a walk from the tube at King's Cross Friendly staff who really helped us. A bit of a walk from the tube but very nice connections from King's cross to both Heathrow and Gatwick! May 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay. Although hard to find with out the aid of a taxi. This hotel was welcoming and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and ideal for my wife and I to relax after a days travelling. Breakfast was not included but added at the last minute with no problem, however Continental and Full English was served in different rooms....? not a problem for us but could be for others. I recommend this hotel for closeness to KIngs Cross and St. Pancras Rail stations. May 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel but with a few niggles Great value for London. We felt it was great location wise as we walked into Covent Garden in about 30 minutes. Parking spaces very limited at the hotel and we had to park at a car park down the road. Rooms a little on the small size but exceptionally clean and had everything you need apart from a room safe. Pillows can be ordered to your liking which was a great touch. Beds very comfortable. Sound proofing not brilliant in rooms from the outside busy road...sirens woke me up a few times in the night but I am a light sleeper... (ear plugs next time!) Reception staff very pleasant and welcoming but the hotel was let down by the barman who was very taciturn...it could've been a great place to chill for a few hours in the evening as it's large and had lots of comfy chairs and a few sofas...but we and many others didn't stay long due to lack of atmosphere. Can't comment on food or breakfast. We would have tried the Indian Restaurant but it was closed on the Sunday...maybe next time. All in all would stay again and recommend. May 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of business centre ETC This was problematic for me, that no guest computer was available for use after 5PM and then when it was, the following morning, it was not working properly. I thought this was an international hotel??? There was also no offer of assistance for me to use a hotel one which would have been very helpful under the circumstances. When I requested a wake up call & changed it, I got the call for the later (wrong) time ... not helpful, given the tube strike and needing to be somewhere. The name of the hotel is rather misleading, it is nowhere near Kings Cross Station, this is my error, but I am sure others, with suitcases in tow, have made the same mistake as me, looking for it thinking it would be steps from the station. It ought to be re-named. Will not be going back. May 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Supposed Exec Room Booked this hotel with an Exec room but if that was an Exec room I'd hate to see the regular room. I have stayed there before and I'm sure the rooms were better but maybe I'm thinking of another hotel. I still can't see the benefits of IHG rewards or being a Platinum Ambassador for this chain of hotels apart from a free bottle of water and a chocolate biscuit maybe it's time to move on. May 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service with a smile. Very helpful staff. Pre-booked room so check-in very quick. No complaints about family room. Staff always attentive and helpful. Book breakfast with your room-you wont regret it because its very good. Used pool facilities with my daughter she loved it and made a couple of new friends. Overall,an excellent hotel to explore London with family. No carrying luggage across the city its a few minutes from Kings Cross station. This hotel made our little holiday all the more enjoyable. Recommended without hesitation. May 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by One and Done I'm sure there will be a meaningless note from the manager after this review saying he's sorry I didn't enjoy my stay and will try to make it better next time, but as the review title says...I'm done. I picked this location for one reason, it was near where my daughter was staying while on exchange. She works out at the club in the hotel, which is better than I did, because it turns out the guests have to pay to work out at the hotel health club. What a rip off. If you're a IHG member at a certain level, you get WiFi for free, but otherwise they'll dun you for that too. It's a lousy system, weak and slow and you have to sign in EVERY time you use it which gets very old, very quickly. We had numerous problems with it, thank goodness we didn't have to pay to be annoyed. If you were thinking of getting the full English breakfast here, don't bother, the combination of under and overcooked foods quickly limits you to eating the continental breakfast selections so save your money. The hotel, as some others might mention, is a little out of the way, but where it becomes an issue is trying to get around in London. Luckily the weather was great while we were in town, but in poor weather, you'll be unhappy with the great distance from any tube station which required us to take cabs more often than we wished, particularly when we were coming from or going to the airport. The lobby has all the charm of a big box store and the so-called bar has little more to recommend it. Could they have found a less congenial person to man the bar? I don't think so. This lack of congeniality is polished to a high gloss by the Concierge staff, who seem totally disinterested in anything having to do with servicing the visitors. The best of the staff were the wait staff in the breakfast room and the excellent housekeeping staff. Our room was on the executive floor...which means nothing other than it was the top floor...there was nothing special about the rooms. Our room had a nice view towards St. Paul's, a thermostat that didnt seem to want to stay at any one temperature and an amazingly uncomfortable sofa. The entire room was small and cramped with just two of us in it. The bed however was very comfortable and the room was quiet, so we managed to sleep well. The bathroom was clean, bath products okay, though we didn't use any of them and they only put one bathrobe in the room...weird as they knew how many of us were checking in. The hotel is rated on it's outside wall has being a four star location but it's nowhere near that level either by ambiance or level of service. At best it's maybe three stars. You can do better....they can do better. I wouldn't stay here again and suggest strongly you don't either. April 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, comfy beds and ideally loacted for St Pancras station This is the second time I have chosen this hotel for a long weekend with my wife and 2 sons, age 13 and 10. We have used the hotel as a base for a sight seeing trip to London as its better priced than those closer to the centre. From the hotel you can be at St Pancras in a 10 minute walk and then in no time can be on the tube. Since our last visit the locality to the hotel has many eateries which are good for families.The hotel itself now boasts an Indian restaurant which we used on 1 night and was a very good standard. There is also a modern pool and gym. Overall a very clean hotel, helpfull staff with good wifi and great views over London if you are luck enough to get a room on the 7th floor. Will use this hotel again soon. Elite Gold Member. April 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wifi & Bathroom Room was very fine, location very good. Wifi should be free for guests, it isnt fair to ask money for it per hour. The bathroom(455) was not fine, the faucets in the bathroom were broken, water leeking in the bath and handwasher. For me could this be better. I recommend this hotel to friends for it's location and very good sleeping quality!. April 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by dinner dinner was disaster - really long wait for service and although food was good once it arrived - it was the service aspect of the staff was lacking and frustrating. April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value Sensibly priced family room fro a short London break. Very comfortable beds and first class cooked breakfast. Will stay again. April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by City break London - the perfect location Kings Cross/Bloomsbury is the ideal family location for access to the British Museum and walking distance to theatre land and Coventry Garden. We travelled as a family of four from St Pancras railway station and a twenty minute walk down to Holiday Inn. The accommodation is clean and standard fittings. Breakfast offered a wide variety of fayre including continental ham, cheese or croissants or the full English with plenty of choice for vegetarians too. If you don't fancy walking the streets, Russell Sq tube is only 15 mins walk too. This was out third return to this hotel and met our expectations perfectly. April 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very noisy room on 8th floor All night sounded as if engine of aeroplane in the room. It was not the air conditioning, hence very little sleep. Mattress of bed for us both was very soft with no support So we both had sore backs in the morning. Advised reception but given usual platitudes April 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel in a great position This was our first visit to London and the Hotel. We found the hotel well positioned and within walking distance (12 mins) to Kings Cross Station. Staff very helpful, the room was great - plenty of room for a family of 4. A Good English Breakfast - help yourself to whatever you wanted. Definitely stay here again. April 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great facilities as well as great service. We have stayed in Holliday Inn Kings Cross, and it was a very nice experience, good room, good food and excellent service by the staff. The price was alaso affordable and reasonable. Thank you all for your hospitality and good service. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Surprise This is a BIG hotel and therefore attended with some trepidation. we were on the 7th floor in a twin room. The room was a very good size and the beds big and comfortable. The room decor was relaxing. Bathroom and facilities were good. We were pleased with the local area which is now quite gentrified. There was a local Budgen store and some nice local restaurants toward Farringdon. Sadler's Well's is walking distance. So is King's Cross station though a short hop on a bus is worthwhile, taking less than five minutes and regular. Staff were friendly, room service quick efficient and the food was good. I would certainly stay here again and if you shop around room rates are very reasonable for central London. 4 star service and accommodation. April 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Marathon weekend We travelled as a family to London to see my daughter compete in the marathon. We had a really great weekend, weather was lovely. The hotel was excellent, one of the receptionists managed to get my daughter on the coach to the marathon start, even though we hadn't booked a marathon package. It's not very often that people go out of there way to make your stay that little bit special. Rooms were comfortable and the breakfast excellent. Will definately visit again, and also recommend to anyone visiting London. Thanks. April 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great sized room and very comfortable Enjoyed another nice stay at the hotel. Rooms are always spacious the service is very friendly and the breakfast have a good selection. I would definitely recommend. April 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Family friendly hotel A lovely family friendly hotel with staff who are welcoming and helpful. The swimming pool was popular with the children. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great with a lovely variety of hot and cold foods. My only comment was that there was no decaf tea at breakfast. Highly recommend to all types of people especially families. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Good facilities Room very well equipped . Staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant on site a welcome advantage and well serviced. April 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service for the money Decent room, good position but poor satff, not told on check in about any facilities, not offered an early morning call or newspaper, not told the the breakfast times. Went down for breakfast at 07:00 picked a paper up and shown to a table, the paper was the day befores so I told a waitress, she got me the right days paper but left all the out of date ones for everyone else to pick up. I stay regularly in Holiday Inns and don't think the breakfast is up to scratch poor choice and I don't appreciate having to get my own coffee out of flasks rather than fresh brew when payin "top dollar" April 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Service The service in this hotel, both room and restaurant service was very very poor, staff kept forgetting to bring things I asked for, not once but every night. The parking was rediculously expensive £20 per night, and only room for about 12 cars. So I would defiantly not recommend this hotel at all to anyone. April 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay Had read rather mixed reviews about the hotel, so was pleased to find that our stay was quite pleasant. We had two rooms booked. We arrived early and they were able to get us into one room right away and prepared the other within the hour. Both rooms were clean, roomy and comfortable. The decor is a little dated and there were some signs of wear and tear (e.g. bathroom door lock sticks and tap leaks) but overall a decent place to spend a few days. The hotel staff were not particularly friendly, but were helpful enough and able to assist when called upon. Fairly centrally located and about 20 min walk to the Underground station. Continental breakfast was simple but adequate. Overall had a positive experience and would recommend this hotel to others. April 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Friendly helpful and professional staff added to a good hotel March 31, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior By Day
Hotel Exterior By Day
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior By Day St Pauls Cathedral Reception Desk Hotel Exterior By Night Entrance Front Desk Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading