• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:24
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Italian
  5. Punjabi
  6. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs or Service Animals are accepted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
London Eye
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Borough Market
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Tower Bridge
Distance From Hotel:1.3MI
Attraction:
Tate Modern
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:6
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:24
  • Total number of floors:7

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room,
View More

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room, decorated in contemporary colours, and start each day with a complimentary breakfast in our lively Great Room.

Getting around London is easy with London Bridge and Waterloo stations just a short stroll from the hotel. Cross Blackfriars Bridge to get to the London Stock Exchange, Royal Courts of Justice and Bank of England.

We're just minutes from the lively cafes, theatres and galleries that dot London's trendy South Bank. Walk along the River Thames to the Tate Modern gallery, housed in a converted power station, or stroll over the futuristic Millennium Bridge to elegant St Paul's Cathedral. Why not stop by Borought Market for food tasting en route to the Shard.

Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark's central location puts chic bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Ask staff to recommend their favourites or do your own research via free wireless Internet in our open-plan Lobby.

View Less
Features
The hotel is situated in an ideal location; 5 minutes walking distance to Southwark Tube Station and Blackfriars Station. Come and enjoy the most famous London attractions as the London Eye, Tate Modern, and Tower Bridge on the Riverbank.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 405 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ideal Westminster location This is a very comfortable hotel with helpful staff, perfectly sited for visiting Westminster Abbey and Houses of Parliament. Check-in could not have been faster. The building as such is old, but well refurbished and cushioned against the traffic noise outside. The Bank restaurant was a convenient place for meeting our friends in the evening: the rather slow service was not a drawback. A nearby taxi rank is handy. One minus point: the (already high) room-rate did not include breakfast. February 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel! The stunning lobby is the first thing you notice, but my room was so lovely it made me smile a lot! Staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Very lovely place to stay! February 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel in the heart of London My wife and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza St James as we were in London for a friends birthday. The staff were very welcoming from the moment we arrived. The room was stunning and very comfortable and I would definitely recommend the hotel. February 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel All I can say is that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed are stay at the hotel and would most certainly recommend it to all are friends. February 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Annual visit to London Hotel is in a great location, this is our 3rd stay and was again very enjoyable . February 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Stay - Perfect Hotel I had the perfect stay. Can't wait to go back and will never stay anywhere else in London. The staff was great and went out of their way to accomodate my requests. The room was very clean and very comfortable. February 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding experience Once again every aspect of my stay was beyond expectation. No cons, excellent service, feel like at home. Excellent staff from Bell boy to the maids servicing the rooms. What else to say but that I will stay here for my next stay. February 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous All Round! Took time out to visit the sites of London mid-week - we chose St James Crowne Plaza for its convenient but quiet location and were not disappointed. The service at the hotel from the moment we walked through the door to when we checked out was absolutely impeccable. Staff were exceptionally courteous, friendly and welcoming - couldn't have been more helpful when asked for advice on certain places to go and see. The room, well absolutely wonderful value for money, the rooms I understand have been recently refurbished to an exceptionally high standard, very comfortable beds, great in-room facilities, quiet and relaxing. Really couldn't ask for better - highly recommend. February 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly comfortable hotel comfortable quiet modern rooms, lovely beds, attentive reception. handy for West end, must stay at again. February 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vist the hotel after 2 years delay Still a pleasant stay but a disappointing experience at Bank restaurant (menu changed for unattractive meals, lack of attentioin from the staff and very long delay to get the food February 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely room Stayed here after watching 'Wicked' at the Apollo Victoria which is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The room was a good size and a quirky shape. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was nice and powerful. The bed was very comfortable and slept well. Would stay again. February 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room, quiet Very nice, quite with classy decor. Welcoming staff. Beautiful building February 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel I enjoyed my stay very much. As a platinum member I was upgraded to a very nice room, So the value of the compare th ecost was really good. Next time in London, I will stay at that hotel too. The only thing is that the cost of the breakfast is too expensive, compare to other hotels in Europe. January 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My scoring says it all! Outstanding My stay at the Crowne Plaza St. James was about as good as it gets. From initial booking to checking out our stay was exceptional and whilst it was very short we were made to feel like very special guests. I made an enquiry after my booking and the manager got in touch promptly and gave excellent advice. On the day, we arrived early and so they offered to call us as soon as it was ready. 1 hour ahead of our scheduled check-in time we got our courtesy call. We were greeted by friendly and professional staff in every area of the hotel. We had a quiet room on floor 4 for me, my Mum and my small child which in fact felt like a small suite. The room was very spacious, spotless, well equipped and smartly renovated. The bathroom sparkled and the shower did what it was supposed to do! Breakfast was fresh, perfectly cooked, well presented - and tasty - with plenty of choice for the whole family. It felt unhurried and we had excellent service even though we arrived at peak time (8-8.30am). This was my child's first stay in an hotel and he will now expect all hotels to be as good as this. Both me and my mum have stayed in plenty of hotels but this one is now our hotel of choice when in London. I highly recommend it to be yours, too. January 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel The hotel is extremely well finished, the very high standard gives it an opulent feel - a special place. Service was excellent and the room was of the highest quality. Would definitely stay again and recommend. January 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay but little improvement required Overall I enjoyed my stay. Beds are comfortable, cleanliness is perfect and service is excellent. The only area where there is a need for improvement is the bathrooms as they remain too cold in winter. There's not proper heating system in the bathrooms and there is air leakage in the window. January 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Break Very welcoming. Able to check in early. Room v comfortable. Building work was a bit noisy during the day time but we knew about this when we booked. Very central for everything we wanted to visit. Overall a very positive experience and would stay again. January 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location For seeing the London sights, this is a great location. Many attractions within walking distance. The hotel lobby has Grand feel, however the rooms were then very average, very clean, but not what you would expect after entering the lobby. Staff were extremely helpful, and overall would recommend staying here if your sightseeing or here to watch a show. January 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service & location My 3 teenage children and I were guests for the week between Christmas and New Years, and were delighted with our experience at the London St. James. The staff was always willing to assist with our questions and requests. I was never made to feel like I was bothering them or asking a "stupid question." The rooms were larger than I expected and very comfortable and quiet. The location was perfect -- we were within close proximity to an underground station and within walking distance of many of the things we wanted to see and do during our stay. The free breakfast each morning was a treat, and much better than I expected. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to London. January 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant hotel A pleasant place to stay, with a welcoming lobby. Well trained staff determined to ensure satisfaction. Spacious room with king-size bed. We had to choose this (more-expensive) room because I understood from talking to reservations (bed dimensions are not on the website room descriptions) that the hotel’s standard double beds are only 1200 mm wide which is too small. The bath/shower tap was loose, which was surprising as it would have been obvious to housekeeping staff. Front-desk staff quick to arrange repair, although the tap was never really reassembled properly. The shower pressure was below an acceptable standard. Room heating controls were simple to understand and effective. The only meals we had were breakfast, which was included in our tariff although I don’t know at what cost. Breakfast was OK, but its standard would not have warranted the face value (some £25 per head). On one morning, a member of staff proffered the breakfast bill to sign (which I nearly did without thinking) – he was suitably apologetic when I explained our tariff. It can only be a matter for regret that there is a (small print) charge for using Wi-Fi. January 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Happy Days Room very comfortable, spotlessly clean, well equipped . Great service, staff extremely helpful & friendly . Breakfast delicious, service from staff excellent . Our main reason why we would use this hotel again is due to the exulent custmer care we received from all staff, from the desk, bar, restaurant at breakfast , chambermaids & door staff, a big thank you to all staff for your warm welcome & helping make our staff an enjoyable one . January 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Staff and hotel are exceptional. Great location. The staff and hotel are exceptional. We had a lovely stay and couldn't fault the break. Food was excellent. Would definitely stay here again. Exceeded all expectations. Thank you. January 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not worth the money PROS: the location is very convenient, close to victoria stations, buckingham palace & st. james tube station & the lobby, the courtyard is very nice CONS: on my reservation i asked for a refurbished room, the reality was far from that. room was anything but refurbished. aged carpet, wallpapers, bathroom, view from both windows to the building site... when asked for upgrade, we were offered executive room, twice the price according to the hotel being fully booked. breakfast cost - too pricey & you had to queue to get in the restaurant January 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and superb comfort Staff were really helpful and cheerful. All check-ins and outs really easy. Room was spacious and well laid out. Brilliantly comfortable mattress. Quiet room. Everything about the hotel was excellent especially great atmosphere in lounge bar when we returned from show about 11.30. Would certainly stay again January 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable rooms, A very enjoyable stay, the staff were all extreamly pleasent and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble. Even late in the evening when we had been out to the theatre and we needed something to eat, it was no trouble at all and we were served with not just a sandwich but a beautiful supper. A stay to remember. Thank you. January 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Repeated satisfaction We enjoyed staying at your hotel again mainly due to your well-trained and very courteous staff. The receptionist met our special demands asap and we were given an adequate room.As we had stayed a couple of times in your hotel we knew that the rooms differ greatly. The first room given was very small and had no razor socket in the bathroom. So, we were changed into a much bigger room, this time with socket. The only real complaints I would make are the poor water pressure which makes showering an ordeal instead of a pleasure. The second point is the rather limited choice at breakfast. We did not think it was good value for money. The tea, e.g, was not really brewed and tasted more like warm water than tea. The quality of bread was below average, in our opinion. Even in England, we had better quality at other hotels. The choice of cheese and cold-cuts is also very meagre. Still, we enjoyed our stay with you and are thinking of returning in the hope that you will do something about the breakfast. January 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Classy Hotel Very classy hotel that exceeded expectations. Rooms modern clean and obvious that an effort has been made to deliver all the creature comforts. Couldn't fault it. Excellen January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Very satisfied I would highly recommend this Crowne Plaza facility. My family spent New Years 2013 week here. The location is great--it's within easy walking distance of many major attractions in London and for those attractions not within walking distance, they can be easily reached via the St. James Park underground stop right around the corner from the hotel. The hotel itself is clean, very comfortable; the staff were very professional and helpful. I really don't have a single complaint, having stayed here for 8 consecutive nights. If I have the good fortune of returning to London any time soon, I will absolutely stay here again. January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by outstanding I have never recieved such perfect in every way service like this from any hotel.The staff and management team should be highly commended for managing to tick every box to offer the public an excellent service. The Hotel is in an excellent position to explore london also. January 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Third annual trip to the Crowne Plaza My travel buddy and I discovered this hotel a few years ago rather by accident, and we've stayed here every year since. (She has also come a few times on her own and stayed here.) The location simply cannot be equalled, with tube and bus service a mere block away and so many "sights" within easy walking distance. The renovations in the lobby had just begun when we stayed in December 2011, so it was fun to see how well everything turned out. The lobby is a welcoming space. We had tea while sitting in the two big blue chairs with high backs, which was a lovely way to spend a cold, wet afternoon. When we first stayed in 2010, I was immediately recognized as a Priority Club Gold member and our room was upgraded to a "superior." Each successive year we've booked "superior" rooms but they've become smaller and more tattered. We were very disappointed in our room this year. It was not one of the renovated ones and showed serious wear. The carpet and desk chair were stained in multiple places, the paint and woodwork were chipping, and the plumbing was antiquated. (We did not try to change our room since, while I was checking in, I overheard an associate telling another patron with a similar complaint that the hotel was completely full.) I had hoped that booking 4 months in advance and being a Priority Gold member might secure us a nicer room; I'll make certain to request one specifically next year. The room condition and the persistent charge of 10 pounds per day for wi-fi (which seems to be the #1 complaint amongst every review of this property) are the only reasons I did not give the stay a full five stars. I understand that hotels need to make money, but this is the most exorbitantly expensive internet charge I've seen in a hotel of this type anywhere in the world. It could easily be 5 pounds a day and the hotel would probably make as much money since more people would be willing to use it. Yes, there is free internet in the business center, but since I needed to do my online activities rather late at night I found it impractical. The one night I tried, there were four unsupervised teenagers using the computers to play games and none of them would let me work. Room service was quick and efficient, and the staff at breakfast was very good indeed. I was so impressed to hear how many languages were spoken by members of the staff! Advance booking at the non-refundable rate with breakfast included is definitely the way to go. Assuming that we'll make our annual trek to London next winter we will be booking at the Crowne Plaza again, and with luck we will get a better room. January 11, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Visit The Famous Tate Modern Museum, Only 5 Minutes Away London skyline Why Not Meet a Friend or a Colleague Over a Coffee or Drink Hotel Lobby WiFriendly Staff is Here to Help You Don't Miss Out and Visit Tower Bridge Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Southwark View of St Pauls Cathedral Stay Informed Watching the News in a Newly Refurbished Lobby View On The Green Wall Of The Hotel View on the Bankside Area and the Shard View Holiday Inn Express Southwark from Southwark Street Walk To The London Eye Along The Thames Riverside
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading