• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:24
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Italian
  5. Punjabi
  6. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs or Service Animals are accepted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Tate Modern
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
London Eye
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Borough Market
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
The Shard
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:6
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:24
  • Total number of floors:7

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room,
View More

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room, decorated in contemporary colours, and start each day with an Express Start Breakfast in our lively Great Room.

Getting around London is easy with London Bridge and Waterloo stations just a short stroll from the hotel. Cross Blackfriars Bridge to get to the London Stock Exchange, Royal Courts of Justice and Bank of England.

We're just minutes from the lively cafes, theatres and galleries that dot London's trendy South Bank. Walk along the River Thames to the Tate Modern gallery, housed in a converted power station, or stroll over the futuristic Millennium Bridge to elegant St Paul's Cathedral. Why not stop by Borought Market for food tasting en route to the Shard.

Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark's central location puts chic bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Ask staff to recommend their favourites or do your own research via free wireless Internet in our open-plan Lobby.

View Less
Features
The hotel is situated in an ideal location; 5 minutes walking distance to Southwark Tube Station and Blackfriars Station. Come and enjoy the most famous London attractions as the London Eye, Tate Modern, and Tower Bridge on the Riverbank.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 405 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another lovely visit Third time at CP St James and it continues to be a delightful place to stay in London. The quiet classic charm of the historic property in an excellent location is enticing, but by far the best feature is the staff. From front door to front desk to restaurant to housekeeping everyone is pleasant, competent and efficient. The refurbished rooms are very attractive, though we actually prefer the yet to be refurbished rooms in the back building as they are a bit larger and closer to the fitness center. Breakfast is quite good, with the buffet offering a variety of choices for all tastes and all dishes well prepared. Did not have dinner at the hotel this trip but in the past it was quite nice as well. The only negative I can offer is the charge for internet access in he room, but to be fair complimentary access for checking email or printing boarding passes is available in the business center. November 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The staff is very professional and friendly, the concierges were fabulous, giving us maps and directions to sights and metro. Helping us with metro taking tips, etc. I don't like to be charged for wifi, that is abuse, considering we are paying a hefty sum per night and Starbuks and McDonalds has it free. I want it inthe convenience of my room to help plan trips and routes. Room was clean adn quiet, spacious and with view of courtyard. One problem is the no plugs for hairdryers in bathrooms. November 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, nice room,good service I could see the lounges and entrance foyer had been refurbished since my last stay at the Crowne Plaza St James and I must say the result was most pleasing. Not only were the staff at the reception desk efficient, but the whole of the staff with whom I came into contact with were likewise too. Although I only stayed for an overnight visit I would definitely book there again. November 27, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and quiet rooms ,service is great Since i discovered this hotel by chance almost over a year ago it has become my favorite resident in London. i have been staying there 3 times so far the last time was couple of weeks ago and i am returning there again around xmas time. The rooms are great value for money and all the hotel services are excellent. November 25, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, helpful staff Staff member welcoming guests to breakfast, on my 3rd visit to the dining room remembered my name, room number and the fact that my wife would be down later. November 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, brilliant staff Visited London earlier this month, this time with the kids - mainly to see the ATP Tennis Finals at the o2 Arena. This was the third visit to the Crowne Plaza St James, but the first with the kids. The kids loved it - especially the location which was perfect given that it was Remembrance Sunday! There cannot be a better location than this hotel to see Buck House and Parliament as it so central to them both. A 20 minute stroll can take in the royal palaces, St James Park, Horseguards, Downing Street, Big Ben/HoP and Westminster Abbey. The service was excellent, especially given how busy the hotel was. And also because we somehow managed to lock ourselves out of the kids room before we'd even unpacked - maintenance and room service were very efficient. The kids had their own room which wasn't directly connected to ours by an interconnecting door. Instead, our room and theirs were located at the end of a corridor and was closed off to the rest of the hotel by a corridor door which, when closed, was only accessible with our keycards. Really can't fault the hotel's service or the standards to which it attains. Sure, some parts look a little dated (especially the corridor carpets in the floors still to be refurbished). But it is immaculately clean (or was before we got there!!), with wonderfully helpful staff, great service, has a brilliant location and a lovely ambience in the communal areas and bars throughout. Next time we go (without the kids!) we'll try the spa. November 20, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A foggy day in London town We always have enjoyed staying at the Crown Plaza St James. From the time we walk in the door until we leave the stay is wonderful. The check in is done easily and quick. We had the same room as last year as requested. The restaurant served a outstanding dinner as did The Bank. Just wish we could have enjoyed the courtyard. Seems always cool and dizzles when we are there! Yes we will be back again. November 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by priority reward stay Absolute pleasure to stay here, Staff recognised all my requirements and requests and fulfilled to the highest accommodation. November 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean,comfortable room We stayed at Crown Plaza for the week-end, we found the staff very attentive and helpful, the room we had was clean and very comfortable. We dined in the hotel and both the breakfasts and dinner were of a high standard. We would certainly return here. November 19, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service We stayed here for the 3rd or 4th time and enjoyed the comfortable bed and the usual impeccable service. However, we found that the rooms were getting a little "tired" and in need of an upgrade. No changes have been made in the past few years since we have been coming to the hotel November 18, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Well situated I've stayed in this hotel a few times over the years, normally on business. This was a leisure trip. We only managed to book for one night as the hotel had been busy before but it was nice nevertheless. the great strength of this hotel is its location. It is next to Buckingham Palace and one can walk easily almost anywhere in central London. On previous trips (sometimes with my wife) I've not been so impressed with some of the staff; but there seems to have been a bit of a fresh wind blowing. We found, for example, the doormen to be helpful, friendly and attentive this trip. Breakfasts are ok but choice is not great (e.g. only one type of pork sausage - Cumberland, not to everyone's taste, no black pudding and no prunes! On the positive side, for persons who do not eat pig, there are chicken sausages). If I were on business, then I would probably choose a rate that does not include breakfast and go to McDonalds around the corner. This would be unusual as I almost always choose the breakfast rate in UK hotels. The hotel itself has a certain old world charm and is a pleasnt place to stay. November 18, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great staff, beautiful hotel. Only criticism is paying for Wifi. With rooms costing what they do why is there a charge for Wifi? I have stayed in lesser hotels with free Wifi. Great location for sight seeing, walk to Palace, Trafalgar square. Near tube/bus stations. November 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, lovely spacious room and great service I booked to stay for our wedding anniversary and was delighted when the hotel went out if their way to make our stay extra special by giving us a complimentary upgrade, chocolates in our room and a hand written card...The room was large and beautifully decorated and the staff were all very friendly. A great stay and great service. We will definitely be returning. November 17, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, great room - thanks! Stayed with you after not having been at the hotel for a year or so & had an excellent upgraded room, so thank you! Room & facilities were great, & much appreciated after a long day. November 15, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience , Nice Hotel ! Nice hotel ! The room was nice, spacious and clean . Few minutes walk to the underground. Location ok, next to Victoria st, although not exactly in the center however only 2 minutes walk to the next underground station .Service is very good . This was my second time in this hotel and I would certainly come again. November 13, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT STAY! I will definitely stay at Crown Plaza St James again when I go back to London. It is walking distance to all the sights I need to see and near the tube to go everywhere else. The bed is so comfortable and the staff are friendly . Thank you very much . I am definitely one delighted customer. November 11, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great weekend My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza for her birthday. The welcome was warm and, booking in, we were upgraded, which is always nice. Throughout the stay, the staff were friendly and efficient. A particularly nice touch was that the duty manager had hand-written a birthday card. The rooms were high quality and the location suited us perfectly. As we had other plans, we only ate in the hotel once, for breakfast, which was also good. All-in-all, an excellent place to stay. November 9, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience! We were very pleased with the total experience of our 6 night stay at this hotel. We were greeted very warmly upon our arrival and while our room was not ready at the time, they were very accomodating and we had a lovely lunch in The Hampton's Bar. The also recognized my Priorty Club status and upgraded us to a superior king room which was amazing.The concierge staff was always able to answer any question we had and assisted us when we needed it. The location of this hotel is amazing and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Keep up the great work. We hope that in the future we will be able to take another vacation to London and we would definitely stay here again. November 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and style plus great location Had a wonderful 2 night stay at this hotel and wished it could have been longer. We had a recently refurbished room on the 4th floor and can honestly say we had the best night's sleep ever in a London hotel. Never heard a sound from outside or inside and the complimentary lavender sleep spray really did work. A supremely comfortable room with impressive attention from the room service team, a daily visit from them to make sure we had everything we needed was very much appreciated and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast room is busy but takes only a few minutes to be seated and the breakfast buffet had everything we needed. The location is excellent for bus or tube into the west end and Piccadilly is a pleasant 20 minute walk past the neighbours at Buckingham Palace. Highly recommended and book early to get a good room rate. November 7, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel Thank you for a lovely stay. The room was lovely & clean and the staff are extremely helpful. I highly recommend this hotel. November 5, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and staff were great The location is close to Westminister Abbey, Big Ben, Buckingham Palace. Lovely old English charm in the foyer. Good Breakfasts. Note: We did use the tube to get to our destination, but we quickly found that the St. James tube would have been the best/closest. Victoria station is a long walk away (especially in cold, rainy weather). Staff was wonderful; they made the hotel. Review of the room: Rooms were nice sized, nice amenities, but a bit worn. Bathroom needed attention...approx.12 inches to manuever from the entrance to the toilet or shower. Therefore they were best for a small child or a moderate adult who could enter walking sideways (only). Toilet was not working properly. We were a bit disappointed, therefore given a free breakfast which was very nice. Lastly, a huge construction site was going on outside our window. Promptly at 8 AM loud machinery began till 4 PM. This was unacceptable if you wanted to sleep in prior to a long flight (as we were trying to do). We really wish we were warned. We would consider staying here again, but I would definitely check out the situation first. Plus, there is no recogition of being a PC member. November 5, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful position and great service I left Italy with my wife from Italy to spend a weekend in London, and we stayed in Crown Plaza where we found very helpful people and a very comfortable room, moreover the Hotel is located in a wonderful position where you can discover London in an easier way!! Thank you. We'll come back. Alessandro November 4, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Responsive staff We had a misunderstanding regarding included services, but the manager worked with us to resolve the issue. We were pleased in the way it was handled. The hotel was conveniently located and the included breakfast was very good. November 3, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service Friendly and helpful staff, although disappointing that free wi-fi not available in the lobby area.. I was lead to believe that when I made the booking that as it was my wifes' birthday there would be a bottle of bubbly awaiting us, but unfortunately this was not the case. November 3, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent all round hotel experience I come to London from the Country several times a year, shopping, sightseeing and occasionally on business. This was the best hotel I've stayed in for all round comfort, service and atmosphere. Every attention was paid to detail. We had a suite which was roomy and comfortable. No usual hotel noise late at night/early in the morning. The staff were kind, helpful, polite and courteous. The pianist in Hampton Bar in the evening was a lovely surprise and made our nightcap very enjoyable. Loved the Indian boutique in the lobby. I will definitely be back to stay here. November 3, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fab Great location and a wonderful room. The staff were really helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The breakfast is good and the management provided 2 areas when it was busy on the weekend. I believe we had a refurbished room not sure if all rooms have been. Definitely one to go back too. November 1, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but old hotel The service attitude of the people is great. Not very often seen that level. The room is ok but is is a nightmare to find the room. Looooong dark corridors bring you to your room. Wonder how many people got lost there. Had to wait in line twice to get my breakfast. Would choose the hotel again, mainly because of the service there and the location. October 30, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Four day London break We stayed at the Crowne Plaza St James for four days combining an event attendance with some sight seeing and theatre visits. The location proved to be a good choice for 'the event' in Wesminster Abbey as well as being within easy walking distance to our other proposed activities. The hotel itself provided a great platform. The front of house staff were very attentive as were the concierge team. Dining in the Bistro one night proved to be an excellent choice - first class service and food. Our room in particular was maintained to a high standard by the houskeeping team (we cruise regularly and the standards were very similar). October 30, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by London - St. James We have just had another most wonderful stay in the London St James hotel. From the moment the door man greets us - through to the receptionist and the bell boy delivering our cases to our room the services and friendliness is exquisite. The hotel rooms are of the hghest standard and everything is thought of for your comfort and needs. The restaurant (Bank Westminster) adjoining the hotel as well as Bistro 51 is superb, excelent menu choice and good value. For us this is the only place to stay in London for location and comfort. October 30, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Perfectly located near the Buckingham palace and the room was clean yet small but cozy. The hall ways to the room could use some updating. Breakfast in the hotel was very good and the service there and out in the lobby was exceptional. October 29, 2012
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Visit The Famous Tate Modern Museum, Only 5 Minutes Away London skyline Why Not Meet a Friend or a Colleague Over a Coffee or Drink Hotel Lobby WiFriendly Staff is Here to Help You Don't Miss Out and Visit Tower Bridge Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Southwark View of St Pauls Cathedral Stay Informed Watching the News in a Newly Refurbished Lobby View On The Green Wall Of The Hotel View on the Bankside Area and the Shard View Holiday Inn Express Southwark from Southwark Street Walk To The London Eye Along The Thames Riverside
Select to close.
Select to learn more about this hotel's reviews.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading