• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:24
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Italian
  5. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs or Service Animals are accepted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Tate Modern
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
London Eye
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Borough Market
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
The Shard
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:6
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:24
  • Total number of floors:7

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room,
View More

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room, decorated in contemporary colours, and start each day with an Express Start Breakfast in our lively Great Room.

Getting around London is easy with London Bridge and Waterloo stations just a short stroll from the hotel. Cross Blackfriars Bridge to get to the London Stock Exchange, Royal Courts of Justice and Bank of England.

We're just minutes from the lively cafes, theatres and galleries that dot London's trendy South Bank. Walk along the River Thames to the Tate Modern gallery, housed in a converted power station, or stroll over the futuristic Millennium Bridge to elegant St Paul's Cathedral. Why not stop by Borought Market for food tasting en route to the Shard.

Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark's central location puts chic bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Ask staff to recommend their favourites or do your own research via free wireless Internet in our open-plan Lobby.

View Less
Features
The hotel is situated in an ideal location; 5 minutes walking distance to Southwark Tube Station and Blackfriars Station. Come and enjoy the most famous London attractions as the London Eye, Tate Modern, and Tower Bridge on the Riverbank.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 425 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic hotel Absolutely gorgeous hotel - stayed in one of the suite rooms and couldn't find fault with it at all. On-site Italian restaurant was lovely, staff were very friendly and polite and champagne bar was a real treat! Couldn't recommend this hotel enough for anyone planning a weekend away in London! September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fab stay My husband booked this for myself and our two children for a one night stay,without a doubt we will return as not only was the hotel clean and modern ,it was very close to the places we wished to visit..for example only a 15min walk to Covent garden . The rate we payed was extremely good and we hope to return nearer to Christmas . September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfectly comfortable stay, would return! I required a hotel in a central location that was easily accessible to both London Bridge and the West End, I found this hotel on Last Minute.com as only booked 2 days before and I found this to be a great deal, we managed to get to the West End in less than 20 minutes which was perfect. Whilst the outside of the hotel doesn't exactly have the wow factor some hotels do, don't be fooled, the inside is very much high end and has wonderful amenities, restaurants and bars! It was extremely quiet as it was the weekend and I trust this is very much busy during the week for business use, but this was perfect for us. I absolutely loved the tranquility, and more so the black out curtains in the room, very nice touch! The bar is pricey as is the mini bar but living in London this didn't surprise me and I believe they are just relative to other nearby attractions/hotels. Overall, the room was very comfortable, peaceful, decor as per photos, and I was therefore very pleased with our stay. Final point, the staff, spot on. Absolutely wonderful customer service. They went above and beyond helping without hesitation which of course always makes your stay that little bit more magical! Thank you all :) September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay in London Our stay at the Crowne Plaza London - the City - was a great match for us. The staff was helpful, polite and knowledgeable about the area and sites to see and how to get to them. The hotel in across the street from the Tube so commuting was easy enough. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Highly recommended. August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and lovely rooms. Just returned from a very wet visit to London after taking 3 children and 3 adults to see inside Buckingham Palace. The Hotel was a warm welcome after each trip we made, beds very cosy and after asking the maid service for extra supplies we had plenty of tea and coffee in the 2 rooms we had booked. I will certainly return to this Hotel again, the tube station is just across the road from it and this made getting around London so easy especially with 3 9yr old children!!! We did not have breakfast as it was too expensive at £17.50 each and even though children ate free we dont normally eat an enormous amount in the morning anyway so" brunch" was our choice. August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best of the best My partner and I are regular hotel stayers, and we both agree that this is by far the best. Beautiful location, friendly and welcoming staff, excellent concierge service, amazingly spacious and comfortable rooms...... Just a joy August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Large room with comfortable beds Our room at this hotel was lovely, it was a family room with two comfortable double beds. Check in was quick and easy. There was great choice at breakfast, well worth the money. Service in the restaurant for dinner was very slow considering there weren't many customers dining and a bit overpriced. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Excellent stay. Arrived Sunday for 1 night leisure. Good all round experience and was upgraded to club floor in recognition of platinum status. Just a shame we were out between 6&9 pm when the fridges were unlocked !! Only negative points were a 35 minute wait to check in and the main bar not being open, the lobby bar was OK but very limited. August 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and value Last minute booking . Great price for a family room for four people. Location excellent. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay! Great friendly staff.. Very comfortable room.. Excellent location.. Will surely consider staying there again. August 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointing visit This was my 3rd visit to this hotel in the past month, and I was looking forward to it as the previous visits had always been great. Checkin - This was awful. I wasn't greeted as a gold member or offered the points or complimentary drink. I had to remind the lady on reception after she had given me my room key. As a result of the above my room didn't offer me the complimentary wifi for a gold member and the system kept saying my only option was to pay. Despite telling the reception this on the first 3 days it was never resolved. Room - it wasn't as good a club room as the one I had the week before and actually felt like a normal deluxe they had and just called it a club room. The television never worked for my whole stay and I report it 2 days running and still nothing so gave up and reminded them at checkout again that it had never worked and all I got was ok thanks for telling us. No apology or anything. I have to say staff for some reason just didn't care and customer service was zero based on this last experience. August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location in Central London The main advantage of this hotel is its proximity to Blackfriars tube station in zone 1 and very close to the main tourist attractions. The decor is quite dated, and some of the furniture was very old. Breakfast is quite expensive, but there is a Tesco Express around the corner for a quick bite. All in all, quite okay for a night' s stay if you are looking for somewhere just to sleep. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The hotel was very close to the Blackfriars station which gave underground access to all of London. Very comfortable bed and nice room. The staff were very friendly and obliging. August 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hot rooms On arrival 3rd floor had a smell of cigarettes not a good first impression. Lovely hotel but Our room's air con system did not work properly and was not a comfortable night sleep, even though the bed was very comfy it was too hot. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location The hotel has a good location right in the center of London next to the Thames.The tube station is just across the road so great if you have traveled to the hotel with your bags. We stayed as a birthday treat to see the shows which were very near by and a short walk or 1 tube stop if you want to get a bit closer.We ate at the pub over the road which was good value but very busy around 5 pm. Overall the hotel was clean,quiet and the staff friendly which was just what we wanted. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A consistent favorite Travel in London quite often and decided after this trip will not stay anywhere else. Always a friendly greeting, always spotless and most convenient with the Blackfriars tube stop at the front door. August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good night sleep! I stayed here for a week - Great location, just across the Blackfriars tube and rail station, bridge, St Paul, promenade on the Thames, walking distance to Westminster. The hotel is very good, even is the rooms seem to be a little outdated. I had a good night sleep, comfy bed, very good cleaning! August 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not so good The hotel itself is pleasant, but the rooms are poorly equipped and very stuffy with loud air conditioning that doesn't work. Impossible to sleep. I would suggest that providing aromatherapy sleep kits is not the solution! August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by London revisited. Our first visit to London in 15 years. We were positively surprised by London, including the hotel. We liked the location (right opposite the tube station), the Italian restaurant and the breakfast. We found the room comfortable and relaxing - inspite of the location - and not noisy although we are both sensitive to this. We left with a "would book again" feeling although we were a little disappointed that firmer pillows were not available on request and we found the breakfast quite expensive. Neither were a reason not to stay again though. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Haven A quiet haven close to all the attractions we visited London to see. Very conveniently situated close to Blackfriars tube station August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service From the initial welcome and throughout our stay we were made to feel welcome. The hotel is in a great location opposite Blackfriars tube station. The beds were comfortable and the room a good size. If I was being ultra picky, the bath room tiles could have done with a bit of a clean, but overall the cleanliness was good. It would have been better to have a double bed and two singles (family room). I will definitely be staying again. August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Designer Rooms The new designer rooms located on the 5th Floor are excellent. I would recommend this hotel for ayone staying on business and likes the extra touches. August 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and convenient location Staff friendly and attentive. Room clean, good size and comfortable. Location perfect for the tube. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Value Enjoyed our 3 night stay. Good value for London with the pre-booking. Great location and comfortable quiet rooms. Would recommend. August 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, but poor Housekeeping Travelling on business, here for four nights. I ate at the hotel twice, didn't have breakfast so am unable to comment on that. The hotel is decent for the money/expectations set by other reviewers and its own web site. The 'IHG' brand experience was spot-on for service by the reception staff, and concierge. The italian restaurant has a good menu which is suitably over-priced for a City hotel. The wine list is good and equably ridiculously priced (9.50 for a 175ml glass). My room was well presented upon arrival, though the shower didn't work and there were hairs in the bath. This was corrected by the second day and my comments were treated very well by the reception staff. However, over the next two days the soaps were not refreshed/replaced in the bathroom - heads up to the Housekeeping staff...(not a good service, expect and require more) I am an IHG rewards holder and was provided with access to the Club Lounge as they were unable to upgrade my room. The club lounge was a pleasant addition, though for this hotel, I should have expected it. There are building works in the hotel. Not an issue. Though one of the lifts was out. The other two lifts are not 'linked'. Lift programming should be simple, but these were the worst lifts I have ever experienced in any building, anywhere I've travelled. Be prepared to WAIT. Overall, average. August 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel but staff could be better Nice hotel and a great location. However, front entrance is not helpful if you are disabled and mobility impaired or as in our case we had a push chair. So we had to walk around to the other entrance. Reception staff was not good. Explained nothing; took extra money without explaining anything and indeed charged for the WiFi. A phone call later managed to get a credit for this. Plus points: a the room is really well decorated and modern. Bed is comfortable and the television is good with a nice choice of channels. However, thought the bathroom was a little out of date and expected a much better shower which was an old one sitting in a bath. Overall I would expect more for my money. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and spacious rooms The property is we'll located in a quiet corner not far away from central London . The rooms are really spacious for London standards . August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Tolles Hotel Dieses Hotel hat alle unsere Erwartungen übertroffen. Es war das Abschlusshotel einer Rundreise und wir hatten 2 Tage dazu gebucht. Wir haben es nicht bereut. Das Zimmer hatte nur einen geringen Mangel, das Fenster ließ sich nicht öffnen, aber es störte nicht. Die Betten waren breit und angenehm, sehr sauber, geräumiges Bad. Hervorzuheben ist das unaufdringliche, aber sehr freundliche und hilfsbereite Personal, egal auf welcher Ebene des Services. Das Essen ist zu loben, die Verkehrsanbindung ist sehr gut, das Zimmer aber trotzdem ruhig. Wir haben uns rundum wohl gefühlt. Nochmals ein dickes Lob für den Empfangsbereich, die Damen und Herren haben uns sehr geholfen. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by zentrale Lage Erstes Zimmer war ohne !!! Fenster, wurde aber auf meinen Wunsch sofort durch ein schönes Zimmer ersetzt. August 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by London Stay The London Crowne Plaza did not live up to expectation. I have stayed in many Crowne Plaza Hotels around the world, I will not be staying at this one again, inattentive staff was my main concern. August 19, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Visit The Famous Tate Modern Museum, Only 5 Minutes Away London skyline Why Not Meet a Friend or a Colleague Over a Coffee or Drink Hotel Lobby WiFriendly Staff is Here to Help You Don't Miss Out and Visit Tower Bridge Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Southwark View of St Pauls Cathedral Stay Informed Watching the News in a Newly Refurbished Lobby View On The Green Wall Of The Hotel View on the Bankside Area and the Shard View Holiday Inn Express Southwark from Southwark Street Walk To The London Eye Along The Thames Riverside
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading