• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: LONDON
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-00:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:24
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Italian
  5. Punjabi
  6. Romanian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Guide Dogs or Service Animals are accepted

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
London Eye
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Borough Market
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Tower Bridge
Distance From Hotel:1.3MI
Attraction:
Tate Modern
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:6
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:20
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:24
  • Total number of floors:7

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room,
View More

Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links.

Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports. Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room, decorated in contemporary colours, and start each day with a complimentary breakfast in our lively Great Room.

Getting around London is easy with London Bridge and Waterloo stations just a short stroll from the hotel. Cross Blackfriars Bridge to get to the London Stock Exchange, Royal Courts of Justice and Bank of England.

We're just minutes from the lively cafes, theatres and galleries that dot London's trendy South Bank. Walk along the River Thames to the Tate Modern gallery, housed in a converted power station, or stroll over the futuristic Millennium Bridge to elegant St Paul's Cathedral. Why not stop by Borought Market for food tasting en route to the Shard.

Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark's central location puts chic bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Ask staff to recommend their favourites or do your own research via free wireless Internet in our open-plan Lobby.

View Less
Features
The hotel is situated in an ideal location; 5 minutes walking distance to Southwark Tube Station and Blackfriars Station. Come and enjoy the most famous London attractions as the London Eye, Tate Modern, and Tower Bridge on the Riverbank.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 345 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT EXPERIENCE Location is first class. Staff are warm and friendly Breakfast is great Cock tails and snacks in lobby are very good. Overall, interesting place to stay. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed and great pillows wonderful hotel , 2 minutes away from the tube station . really clean and comfortable rooms , not a great view out of the window but you can`t have everything . The hotel staff were lovely and helpful and its a great location June 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff and great location We had an awesome stay in your hotel. We were from out of the country and didn't know the area and the staff were very helpful with all of our questions and made some awesome recommendations for us. The hotel was nice and clean, the rooms were fine. It was a bit expensive, but then so is everything in that area. Only thing that was a bit of a problem, was that when you walk in from the outside to the upper lobby, there was a slightly foul smell. We weren't sure if it was a fishy smell from the sushi restaurant or what. Once you were in you didn't notice it for long. All in all it was a great stay! June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely comfortable I stayed here with my daughter last week. From the time we set foot inside the door we were treated with consideration and courtesy. We have stayed at several Crowne Plaza hotels and this one is among the best. It is right across the road from Blackfriars tube station, which is very handy, and within walking distance of theatreland, in particular Drury Lane. The rooms are well appointed and the beds comfortable. I would have preferred a walk in shower rather than an over-bath shower, but that's just my personal preference and I know some people prefer a bath. We stayed on the seventh floor so I cannot comment on rooms on other floors but I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and will stay here again when in town. Breakfast was good, too. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and relaxing stay. Well on entering this Hotel the welcome was good and very friendly, check in was effortless and our Deluxe room was spacious with a lovely comfortable bed and nice bathroom+ there are lots of other things in the room like a safe mini bar etc. We had dinner in the Italian restaurant starting with the wonderful crab, then the best ever Fillet of Beef with Polenta and mushrooms. Then followed by drinks in the very comfortable bar. All in all a great stay with fantastic service and we will be going back again on the 2nd August. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Internet service The hotel's wireless internet service has greatly improved. Upload and download speeds are very good, but more importantly, the service was consistently reliable during my recent one week stay. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing location, room, staff and breakfast first class Our stay was great, we were going to the Shard for dinner and wanted some shopping beforehand so the walking distance location to Covent Garden and the close proximity to Blackfriars station was perfect. Our room was excellent and the staff on arrival and throughout our stay were attentive and polite. Would stay here again and recommend it to other people. Thanks for making our short stay so special. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Birthday Stay I decided to stay overnight at this hotel due to it being my husband's birthday. From the moment that we walked into the hotel it was blissful. We were greeted by a very polite doorman and welcomed to the hotel by the receptionist that served us and the shift manager. We were able to take advantage of a late check out due to being IHG members. It was lovely be escorted to our room and the manager assured us that we could contact her should we need anything. Our room was a beautiful suite on the 7th floor, with a great view of the city! the room was equipped with charging ports, a great TV, DVD player and all of the other necessary mod cons. Space and luxury were the order of the day. Service at the hotel was second to none, we received a complementary birthday cake, along with a card for my husband. Room service was polite and efficient (we ordered our dinner and breakfast this staff) Overall the staff were 5 star. Polite, courteous, knowledgeable and obviously passionate about providing excellent customer service. It was great to be in such great hands. Access to the club lounge was a great bonus for us, it was a lovely opportunity to relax and unwind. I unreservedly recommend this hotel, we will be staying here again. Can't wait until the 8th floor is built so that we can sample more first class service in amazing ambiance. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Comfortable Hotel Great Sleep Very excellent hotel with all facilities. Breakfast expensive, but overall very excellent hotel Would stay here again, I stayed here in a family room, had a great stay. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room with good Stayed here for a weekend with with my wife, this hotel is well positioned for visiting local attractions. with Blackfriars tube opposite it makes London more accessible Would recommend to all June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great comfortable big beds Hotel lovely, in great location would stay there again. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and very clean A clean and comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. June 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Service was Lacking We had stayed at another London hotel within the last 6 months and were impressed the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at that hotel. We did not find that level of service at the London Crowne Plaza. In fact the service for breakfast was very poor. We didn't want the buffet and the result was I had to ask the host to provide us with a server. Service was very slow and even getting a refill on coffee seemed to be beyond the ability of the staff. June 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shame about the lift and tissue by the cricket club entrance. Clean hotel but one lift was working, bad impression due to cleanliness at the front, rooms were not ready at 1350, and breakfast price will cost a small fortune. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a great calming night could not ask for better! the bottles of chilled water left free for our use, the TV left on was just welcoming June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location My family,( 2 adults, 10 yr, 13 ys oldr) had such a terrific experience in this hotel. It was our first time overseas and everything was new to us. How lovely it was to walk into such a nice upscale hotel. The beds were so comfortable since we are partial to beds with duvet covers and lots of great crisp white pillows. I felt they went beyond trying to ensure a great nights sleep. There were sprays to put of your pillows if you needed to relax that were complementary, they smelled soooo good. The towels were huge, white and fluffy. I kept wearing the robe the whole time I was in the room and looked forward to it after a long day of walking.. The concierge was so helpful and kind. I delt with 3 different gentleman and they were very forgiving with my lack of knowledge and indecision from being jet-lagged. They went overboard trying to get us into our room early since our plane arrived at 6:30 a.m, and they did! I have to say that I was most thankful for the kind young girl that checked us out when we were leaving. We were going over the bill and her eyes became huge like saucers, I thought ' oh no here it comes'...well I guess I didn't realize the mini bar has a sensor and EVERYTIME you open the door the price is reflected on your bill. Whoopsie! I think we were over £200.00. The problem was.. We never drank anything. I used it to keep our bottled water cold. Boy, was I appreciative when she took that off our bill. My heart was pounding , the novice that I am had no clue. The location was fabulous! I must highly recommend the Black Friar Pub across the street. Delicious! The Tube was across the street as well which made our day so much easier. Many great pubs within a short jont as well as St. Paul's Cathedral, Tate Modern and the Museum of London. Tesco, a small convenience store, was perfect for us just outside the hotel door. We were so happy to find Krispie Kreme doughnuts there and delicious Cadbury chocolates of all shapes and sizes. We used this place to pack lunches to save cost. Great selection. The Pret a Manger was fantastic. This is a chain that makes the food fresh that day and then takes the leftovers to people in need. I had the best warm chocolate croissant ( sorry Paris ) there plus many fresh high end sandwiches and fruit. Beyond our expectations, our children liked this place the best. A wonderful time and a great peaceful hotel. We were on the 5 th floor and never heard a sound the whole week outside our room. Just a perfect experience. I had to bring home the shampoo and body wash from the room it smells SOOO clean and fresh.(shhhh). 100%satisfied from Orono, Maine, U.S.A. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Humphrey Jazz Trip Enjoyed our 3 day stay at the City Hotel - Crowne Plaza - I'm sure that we will be back - will ask for a room away from lifts next time. June 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Nice hotel, lacking the basics I stayed at the Crowne Plaza during a recent trip which saw me stay at all manner of accommodation across London, Strasbourg, Paris, Brussels and Amsterdam. These included a 2-star budget hotel, a family-run bed and breakfast, a 5-star spa resort and even an uncomfortable night on a coach. All of these (even the coach) offered complimentary Wi-Fi. The b June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous room and wonderful hotel Never fails to disappoint. Great location and great room. The staff are very helpful also June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb location! Can't fault the location, service, room size and facilities. The breakfast was fantastic and all the better for the fact that children under 12 eat free (bit pricey otherwise#. My only slightly negative point is the temperature of the room. There is air con but it is not powerful enough to reduce the temperature in the room sufficiently #maybe because it turns off when key card is taken out of slot when leaving the room). Otherwise a fantastic stay and a hotel I would recommend and revisit. June 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by bad organisation poor service and poor valet services- damages done to friends vehicle June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The staff at the hotel are very helpful and provide an excellent service June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best restaurant !! Hotel good enough in most aspects. THE BEST restaurant food (Italian) - one steak and one vegetarian dish ... both outstanding. No free WIFI - a bit disappointing. Very comfy pillows! June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable stay. We were in London to join family for part of our on going Golden wedding celebration. They were staying in the Crowne Plaza hotel, so decided to be with them. We had a comfortable stay, and the staff were very helpful. We were pleased with the complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee facilities. We hope to have an autumn break in London and will consider staying at the C.P again. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 London Great hotel and great location. Professional staff that are very friendly. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great hotel,excellant staff, good food 1st class hotel good location right next to Blackfriers tube station . The staff were really helpful ,the room was great very quiet would not have believed we were in London. Breakfast was very good and because my wife only had pancakes for breakfast the breakfast manager said hers was on the house . All of the staff in all areas of the hotel must be congratulated they are a credit to the hotel and to their trades, will definitely stop again when in London June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great short break! Extremely enjoyable short break in the most accessible area! Train direct from gatwick airport to Blackfriars train station. Hotel in view of station, about 60yards away. What a nice and pleasant hotel. Bed very comfortable, room clean and staff very efficientl and friendly. One little gripe was being promised by staff member at check in to be given "corner room with great view" I didn't request it but when we reached room it had no view except of offices. It didn't matter as who is going to spend much time there. Great break, would go back again no problem. Recommend trip on no 11bus for westminister and Trafalgar Square. No 23 for Oxford St shopping. Trains are in easy reach too. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous Stay Alas the weather during our stay in London was awful so we were grateful to have stayed in such a great hotel. We found the Crown Plaza to be a very convenient location for getting around the London attractions. It is a very clean and comfortable hotel and all the staff that we had dealings with were very helpful and friendly. The food and service we received were excellent as was the level of amenity. What was most impressive was the speed of service we received when we experienced the odd minor problem. All in all a splendid hotel which we would recommend to anybody. June 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Super staff but a few minuses on room We love London and come back for a weekend every spring. we come to relax and ecperience the city after a few days on conference. The interior in the hotel is flawless and the staff is ever so friendly and very service minded. The room however stank of either washing powder or something it was cleaned in. Most hotels today use non scented products for sheets and for cleaning the rooms so both people with allergies and everybody else can stand being in the rooms. The Crown Plaza didn't live up to that. The air quality in the room was very bad and all hour things still stink after being home a week. On top of the bad (chemical) air inside, it wasn't possible to open a window to get some fresh air. I love soft beds and the beds were big, but these beds were worn out soft. we both ended up sleeping on the floor, because it was impossible to sleep in the bed. I wish we could write a better review because of the kind personel but I must be honest so MCS people are warned in the future. I hope Crown Plaza changes their policy and goes Allergy friendly and non scented for everybody's sake. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and excellent facilities This hotel is perfectly situated for a short stay in London. Excellent transport links, tube, river, bus and taxie. The room are very comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast was first class ve very day and the staff a on reception could not be more helpfull. Overall our stay in London was topped off by the high standard of the facilities and the staff of the Crown Plaza. May 31, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Visit The Famous Tate Modern Museum, Only 5 Minutes Away London skyline Why Not Meet a Friend or a Colleague Over a Coffee or Drink Hotel Lobby WiFriendly Staff is Here to Help You Don't Miss Out and Visit Tower Bridge Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Southwark View of St Pauls Cathedral Stay Informed Watching the News in a Newly Refurbished Lobby View On The Green Wall Of The Hotel View on the Bankside Area and the Shard View Holiday Inn Express Southwark from Southwark Street Walk To The London Eye Along The Thames Riverside
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay revved up.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-11-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Availability
Loading