• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MADISON
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

One pet per room is allowed for a fee. The size of the pet cannot exceed 25 pounds. Pet cannot be left unattended. They are required to wear a leash in public areas and are not allowed in the breakfast or pool area. There is no fee for service animals.
Pet fee amount  20.00  USD  per night

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Alliant Energy Center
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
State Capital Building
Distance From Hotel:1.25MI
Attraction:
Wisconsin Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.25MI
Attraction:
Wisconsin Veteran's Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.25MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:95
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is free. No trucks or trailers are allowed. Vehicle guest is traveling in may not take up more than one parking space. No extended parking allowed. Must be a registered guest of the hotel to park.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:92
  • Total number of suites:4
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:29
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:63
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:92
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:WI0448
Explore Madison, WI from our Hotel's Downtown Location In Madison, WI, nestled among the sparkling, glacier-created lakes, the recently remodeled Holiday Inn Express® hotel puts you near everything the capitol city has to offer. We're located in the heart of downtown, minutes from the Capitol Building and the University of Wisconsin, making us the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Corporate travelers love our hotel's location in Madison, WI. We're within walking distance of the
View More
Explore Madison, WI from our Hotel's Downtown Location In Madison, WI, nestled among the sparkling, glacier-created lakes, the recently remodeled Holiday Inn Express® hotel puts you near everything the capitol city has to offer. We're located in the heart of downtown, minutes from the Capitol Building and the University of Wisconsin, making us the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers alike. Corporate travelers love our hotel's location in Madison, WI. We're within walking distance of the Alliant Energy Center and Veterans Coliseum; and just minutes from Monona Terrace Convention Center. You'll have everything you need to stay productive with high speed wireless Internet access and a business center in the hotel. In Madison, Wisconsin, you can cheer on the Badgers at Camp Randall Stadium or the Kohl Center. Take in the area's beautiful scenery by visiting Turville Park or riding one of the many nearby biking trails. Other nearby attractions includes Olbrich Botanical Gardens, Henry Vilas Zoo and Taliesin. To welcome you to Madison, WI, our hotel's staff offers an evening reception Monday through Thursday nights for our adult guests. We have perks like an indoor pool, whirlpool, high definition television programming with HBO and a fitness center. Top off your stay with our free, hot Express Start breakfast. We look forward to making our hotel in Madison, Wisconsin your home away from home on your next visit.
View Less
Features
Join us every morning for a mouthwatering breakfast buffet. While other Madison, WI hotels might provide breakfast, we provide a hot buffet breakfast that includes pancakes, eggs or omelettes, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, four choices of cereal, our signature cinnamon rolls, 100% Arabica bean coffee, and many more items to get your day off on the right foot.
Announcements
Our Interior Renovation is complete! While we still have a few finishing touches to add, these will not cause any disruption of service or noise issues. We invite you to come and experience our
View More
Announcements
Our Interior Renovation is complete! While we still have a few finishing touches to add, these will not cause any disruption of service or noise issues. We invite you to come and experience our newly renovated inn. Areas renovated include, our guest rooms, hallway corridors, lobby, breakfast area, business center, and public restrooms.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 192 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay stayed recently and now staying again with a friend. great front desk team August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great room, pool awesome! Great value for the room and pool/waterpark. Brought 6 and 7 year old boys and the pool/waterpark was absolutely perfect. Big enough for them to have a blast but not too huge that we couldn't see them at all times. Staff were very attentive when we needed blankets, even called back to make sure we got them OK. Great experience! August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by kids had great time We had a very good time, the kids really enjoyed the water park. The staff was excellent and it was more kid friendly then we had expected it to be. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, needs wifi help Nice place, good rooms, great staff, but needs updating August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Family Stay We had the family suite with bunk beds and our kids loved it. Nice sized room with direct access to the pool area. It was very noisy, but you have to expect that with the water park and all the fun the kids are having. Things settled down by 10:30 and we got a good nights rest. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for Business Great choice for the business traveler; only issue is that some of the rooms are in need of updates. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family Fun I felt that this was a good place to stay with my boys. The waterpark had many fun things to do. It wasn't as big as couple other Holiday Inns that we have stayed at but was still good. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HI Madison West This property was very nice. The kid suite was nice for the family to all enjoy. The water park was enjoyable for everyone. The restaurant had a good variety for dinner. The only issue was the hotel appeared to be understaffed the night we checked in as we had to wait quite a while until the front desk person came back from helping a guest. Then later in the evening I tried to call down for a wake up call and the phone went unanswered for three tries then I finally just went down to front desk. The sign was up again that she was helping a guest and would be back. Four other guests got in line behind me and had to continue to wait. Then I needed additional pillows and it took quite a long time as the front desk woman was who finally brought them up. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Happy and Relaxed Nice pool and game area. Excellent pizza and a good nights rest. August 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor room Room was definitely not ready for guests. No towels July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by vacation stay The only downside I saw to this stay is that my credit card was charged a fee, based on 20% of the bill that had already been paid when I booked the room months in advance. I understand that this is a hold for future charges while staying in the hotel, but I was not informed of this charge and it has still not been refunded to me 5 days after my stay. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick getaway My family and I had to travel to pick up my car from the repair shop and we wanted to make it a nice little getaway for the evning. July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just Average For the price and the name, we expected an above average hotel stay. We stayed one night and we chose Holiday Inn because of the Pool/Water Park area. In one evening, there was an elevator issue (luggage to the third floor by stairs) and an internet issue (no internet for most of our stay), and the pool had to be closed for an hour because of a broken glass (enforce the no carry-in rule). My overall impression is that either the hotel is ready for a facelift or the cleanliness leaves much to be desired. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great night sleep and relaxing We had a nice, relaxing stay. The staff was friendly, food was great, and it was quiet. We slept great as the beds were comfy. Great place to bring your family! We will definitely return, the location is great and easy to get around the city. Very clean hotel! July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, spacious room for the price, but... My husband and I had a king room for two nights. The room was very clean, spacious, and had a large bathroom, kitchenette with a refrigerator, sink, and microwave. The attached restaurant had good food and service. My husband went down for breakfast one morning, loaded up his plate, and began to walk up stairs with it. A staff member stopped him and said that he needed to pay for it or use a breakfast voucher. He went to the front desk to see if we were supposed to have been given vouchers since we did not receive any. He was told that we had an option to purchase them when we reserved our room. I do not recall. Either way, the breakfast was $12. Definitely overpriced and not worth it, I have had better free continental breakfast at much cheaper hotels. Later at the bar, my husband and his two friends ordered three shots, one for each of them. A young, inexperienced bartender (who was the only one there) ask to them how to prepare the shot, proceeded to over pour, offered them the extra SIX shots he'd made, then charged them for all 9 shots. Unfortunately I was not there, and they paid for all nine after being told by the bartender that his manager said they needed to pay for all of them. I would have refused to pay for them and asked to have spoken to a manager. Other than the buffet and the bartender we had a comfortable stay, very friendly staff and clean hotel. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great bed & pillows Room was a little dark. Being poolside didn't let in any light. The area tables outside of our room were too dark to read. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Rooms, Kids had fun but Noisy! We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. The kids enjoyed the waterpark but when it was time for bed the noise level in the hallway was unacceptable. We happen to be on a corner room (pool access) and heard people running up and down the hall all night. The room service was quick however we hated the pizza. The menu could have been a little more kid friendly considering the waterpark was what attracted us to the hotel. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel, but some opportunity to improve Overall the stay was adequate. Was very disappointed with internet service, cooling system sound level, and after leaving and forgetting an iPad charger in the wall outlet, it wasn't turned in by housekeeping. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very accomodating, friendl and curtious staff Our hotel stay was very nice. The biggest drawback was trying to get this room booked through IHG.It was a very frustrating hour and a half issue on the phone. Partially due to language barrier and other part due to misunderstandings. We finally asked for a manager and got it straightened out. The hotel itself was very nice. It is a little older and could use a few updated but overall is very comfortable. The pool area has a play area for kids, a pool and a hot tub it is smaller than it appears in the photos, we went during the week so it was not overcrowded. The staff here is very friendly and the manager was very understanding of the issue we had experienced. As a platinum member he saw to it that we received a nice room upon arrival. July 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Quality control has declined at this property We have stayed at this property three consecutive years. We will be looking for another property for our event next year. We were disappointed with our rooms. We requested non smoking rooms. Our room had extremely strong smoke odors, and had some cleanliness issues. We were moved to several different room before we could find a room that did not have smoking issues. Customer service skills of the front desk staff were lacking. Staff was friendly, but not equipped with adequate customer service skills. I travel for a living and have a realistic expectation of hotel properties. In my opinion this property did not meet that expectation. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, nice hotel This was a nice hotel and we enjoyed staying there while we were in town for a wedding reception. July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable Hotel Hotel was good. We stayed here because of pool, in lobby bar and on site restaurant. The bar was closed all week we were there. The food from the Italian restaurant had great selection but tasted like it was all food service. I had one meal it was cold in the center and burnt on the outside. I would stay again and hope there is an improvement on the restaurant side of the business. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing family fun and great value Passed through while moving from coast to coast. Had an excellent time at the pool. The restaurant was good and the kids ate free with vouchers from the front desk. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! Fun water park and pool for kids!! We had a great time at the water park and our 4 year old loved it. Clean nice hotel with all that you need! July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Service The staff were very friendly. They took care of my needs and answered questions promptly. Our kids loved the pool area. The water was nice and warm which was great. The down fall was our room was 80 degrees upon check in and took hours to fall to a comfortable temperature. The shower water trickled out and took approximately 5-10 minutes to get warm. The beds were comfortable but the one bed kept moving when sleeping and had to get up to continue to push back to the wall. I thought the price was expensive for what we received. The food was great but expensive for other restaurants around that we utilized. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience We stayed in the room with the King bed and bunk bed. The room This was a great layout with children. The room was exceptionally clean. My six year old grand son enjoyed the water park area and we were very pleased with the attentiveness of the attendant. All of the staff gave exceptional service July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and service We stayed for a family wedding. Room was great, staff and food wonderful. July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bad bed but Amazing Hospitality We travel quite a bit, and my husband is a over the road driver. We choose Holiday inn for the comfort of the room-expecially the beds. As a matter a fact we now search them out. And in Madision, WI, a college town, our choices were unlimited. Unfortunatly this was not one of the hotels we will vist again simply because the bed was so uncomfortable. The Service at the desk was first rate...some of the best we have ever had, and considiering there were computor problems and a very long line to check in, the hostess was so cheerful and helpful and called us by our first names when we walked back thru the lobby. That alone impressed us.The resturant was delicous. But the bed was horrible. Neither of us slept at all. I'm sorry to say., we will not be back due to that reason alone June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Indoor pool and whirlpool Our current stay in your hotel is rated as overall "Excellent". June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good pillows, comfortable bed = adequate sleep. I rarely sleep well while travelling due to hard mattresses and firm pillows. I found the bed and pillows to be very comfortable, so slept reasonably well. June 23, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express of Madison
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express of Madison
Select to close.
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express of Madison State Capital of Wisconsin within 2 miles of the inn Enjoy Badger Football at Camp Randall Stadium Part of our newly renovated lobby Capital City State Bike Trail adjacent to inn Exhibition Hall within walking distance of inn Visit the Monona Terrace, within two miles of the inn See WI basketball at the Kohl Center Come to the Farmer's Market in Madison, WI Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express of Madison Free admission awaits you at Henry Vilas Zoo Tour the State Capital of Wisconsin Enjoy the Summer on the Capital City Bike Trail Attend an event at the Kohl Center in Madison, WI Holiday Inn Express of Madison, WI April thru September the Farmer's Market in Madison, WI Alliant Energy Center is one half mile from the inn. Visit Henry Vilas Zoo in Madison, WI
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading