• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MANCHESTER
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.9KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:14
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only Guide Dogs or Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Print Works
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:192
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:192
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:14
  • Total number of floors:8

Modern and contemporary hotel situated right in the heart of Manchester.

The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena is just minutes walk from all major attractions including The Phones 4 U Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Deansgate and Piccadilly Gardens. The hotel is located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers and art galleries. The Manchester Central Convention Centre, Man United & Man City
View More

Modern and contemporary hotel situated right in the heart of Manchester.

The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena is just minutes walk from all major attractions including The Phones 4 U Arena, Printworks, Arndale Centre, Deansgate and Piccadilly Gardens. The hotel is located in the vibrant Northern Quarter with its cosmopolitan mix of boutique shops, captivating nightlife, fashion designers and art galleries. The Manchester Central Convention Centre, Man United & Man City Football Stadiums are all within easy reach with the use of the Metro Line. Ideally located for the business and leisure traveller the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer.

All our rates include a continental breakfast with freshly baked pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurts and much more. In addition we also offer 3 hot breakfast items including sausages, scrambled egg and beans.

Hotel guests benefit from many local business discounts including 24 hour city centre parking for only £4.50, restaurant & bar discounts in food and drink and even reduced spa treatments. Please enquire at check-in for more details.

View Less
Features
Enjoy Manchester for less! Guests receive discounts from local attractions, restaurants, bars and spa treatments. Book an attraction package and enjoy discounted entry to Legoland & Sea Life. Request a room with a view to see Manchester at a height through one of our incredible floor to ceiling windows. Use our patio area to spend some time relaxing with a drink from our fully stocked bar.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 207 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Brilliant location Chose this hotel due to cheapest price and best location for being close to Oxford Road station and Manchester uni. Stay was excellent apart from dreadful night's sleep as there was no air in the room. You can't open the window and we couldn't get the air conditioning to give us any air. Well done Holiday Inn though for allowing children under 18 to share a room rather than the usual under 16. This enabled our 16 year old to share our room on a sofa bed - excellent! Wish all chain hotels did this! Breakfast was ok and being free made it even better. Shame no bacon though - not sure why not? This seems to be something that a lot of reviewers are asking for! Very good poster in lift telling us what times to avoid breakfast if we didn't want to queue. Would have been useful to have this info in the room though too. Fabulous shower - best we've ever come across in a hotel and room was clean. Bed was comfortable too. If Holiday Inn could just sort out some sort of air flow in the bedrooms we would have given this hotel a definite thumbs up! As it is, we will give it another try because everything else was really good, but if we can't sleep again next time due to lack of air we will have to seriously reconsider and try somewhere else which would be a great shame as it is so close to our daughter's uni and train station and she is in Manchester for 3 years so we will potentially be visiting lots of times! November 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good room, bad breakfast I would definitely recommend this hotel for its location and rooms as we thought the room was excellent for the price. The thing that lets this hotel down is the breakfast. They offer a hot breakfast but this only includes 3 items, sausage beans and scrambled eggs. Would expect if a hot breakfast if offered then it would have a better choice. Also the beans were cold and sausages and eggs did not taste nice. The service wasn't good either as although their were staff there I had to go and ask for some knives as they had run out and weren't replaced. Would have rather paid less for the room and not had breakfast included. Bit of a let down after a good stay. November 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Friendly staff, big room, big bathroom. Great location for gig at The Ritz round the corner. If noise bothers you then not for you. Music playing outside until about 3 am but it was Saturday night and this didn't bother us. Also dining area full in the morning so had to take breakfast and eat elsewhere, again not a problem for us. November 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff I arrived late - 2am - after an horrendous train journey and was met by a very helpful receptionist who quickly got me booked in and comfortable. Room was clean and inviting with free, instantly accessible WiFi! Breakfast choice was great! 5+ *s! November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Central in Manchester I have just returned home from an overnight stay in the Holiday inn Express, Oxford Road. Very central for pubs, shops, and night clubbing. I was down for Man Utd game, tram approx 300 yards from hotel straight to Trafford Stadium. Hotel very modern, clean and well maintained, free wi-fi throughout. Breakfast room is spacious with a good variety of choice, scrambled egg, sausage, fruit, croissants and much much more. Staff were very friendly and helpful also if you forget and toiletaries they will provide free of charge. A recommended hotel that you wont be disappointed with! November 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by sort the breakfast out! Badly organised breakfast area means that long queues form very easily. Separate the tea/coffee area from the food November 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overall comments Freindly and helpful staff. Simple, clean and confortable room. Choices for free breakfast. Very helpfully allowed me to leave my luggage both the day I arrived prior to booking in time and the day I left after booking out. Great convenient location right near station and the universities. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by short stay Well me and my hubby cannot fault this hotel never heard a thing great sleep,staff happy and helped us in every way. And I am a person to tell you if there was any thing wrong that's why they call me honest Sue.Me and my hubby is coming back.thanks to the staff for a good break away. November 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for 1-2 night stay When we arrived we were given our keycard but when we got to our room the door was open and the cleaner was still cleaning the bathroom. Not sure how this lack of communication could have happened. Apart from that everything else was great, ideal location as the concert we went to was in the same street (about a 15 minute walk). Approx 15 min walk into the city centre but lots of things to look at in passing, if you can't be bothered walking there is a free shuttle bus from the Revolution bar (next door to Holiday Inn# which drops you off at Marks and Spencer and same for return. Breakfast is buffet style, usual stuff, croissants, toast, cereal, fruit, jam, marmalade etc... if you want a fry up then you would have to have scrambled egg as fried eggs were not available. Also, strangely they don't have bacon at all. Not sure about everyone else but when I think of a fry up bacon is the best bit!. The bathroom was nice, the shower cubicle is the biggest I've ever been in, plenty of room to move and has a glass door so no clingy curtain, the shower is powerful which was superb #my home shower just trickles). You need to use your keycard when you go in the lift, bit confusing at first as we put the card in the slot, the door shut and nothing happened, re-tried with the card for about 5 mins and again nothing happened, you need to enter what floor you want after you have used the card, we assumed the floor we needed would be activated with the card, just as well my fear of lifts isn't as bad as it used to be!. Like us not many people would have used a lift in this way so there should have been a notice with instructions or have been told when checking in, just a minor criticism but a massive issue for claustrophia sufferers. Reception staff were great. If you park on the Euro Car Park which is over the road and to the left then you will get a discount on checkout at the hotel, reception will put your ticket into a system and I think we had a discount of approx. £3. Would definitely recommend staying here! November 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Corner room and great location Arrived via Oxford Road Railway Station-just around the corner! Staff very helpful. Keycard to use lifts a bit fiddly but managed. Room (5th floor) was a corner room-great layout; TV, kettle and enough tea and coffee for one drink but would be sure could ask for more. View from our room was of Palace theatre showing Wicked. We were going to see Peter Gabriel at Arena and wasn't too far (could have booked nearer but kept costs down by booking here). Breakfast (included) in the morning was cereals etc but hot selection was sausages, scrambled egg and beans, which I enjoyed. Dining room was busy (coach trip) but by the time we had our food tables were available. Definitely recommend Hotel. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and good welcome Ideal location for Manchester concert scene...good welcome from staff and very helpful in guiding me in by car. October 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by a treat Our stay at this hotel was a great experience due to the staff, reception was both welcoming and extremely helpful, a member off staff appeared at our door within 5 mins with map and directions to our afternoon venue.the staff at breakfast were equally welcoming. The best treatment we have had from hotel staff in a long time. Rooms were small but very comfortable and very clean, would have liked more teabags and separate shampoo. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location and clean We thought most things about the hotel were excellent.liked the neat hot drinks making set.bit more choice on breakfast i.e no bacon!the shower cubicle was huge could fit 4 people in if you wished....this possibly affected size of room though.Staff helpful. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely hotel, clean rooms and great staff! Fantastic hotel, close to the shops, friendly staff and they recommended places to eat for dinner. Thanks for the welcoming stay! October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet room and helpful staff I recommend a room on the top floor. Our room was quiet and had a great city view from the floor-to-ceiling window. Graham on reception was extremely helpful to us, as he was very knowledgeable about local transport. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location for Palace Theatre & Oxford Rd train station I stayed in room 708 (on 7th floor) in a twin room. The room was very clean and the bathroom was lovely with a massive shower cubicle. Unfortunately the shower was not powerful and so the big shower cubicle seemed pointless. The beds were uncomfy with a spring mattress (although I might think it was uncomfy as I have memory foam at home) I would recommend the hotel though as the staff were helpful and friendly and the location was perfect for both oxford road train station and the palace theatre as they were both only minutes walk away. I would stay here again if I was visiting the theatre October 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New, Clean & Modern This hotel is new, clean and very modern. Breakfast was very enjoyable with a decent selection of cereals, cooked foods and hot and cold drinks. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The only negative was the lack of ventilation in the room - which could be compared to being smothered in a sealed room. The air conditioning made no effect, even on full. October 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy bed but small room and no fresh air I stayed here with a friend last weekend but as I just had positive experiences so far with Holiday Inn, I was a bit shocked with the room we had: Very small, no fresh air so after the shower I felt like I just need to go out the room as soon as I can (air conditioning worked, but was noisy and not very efficient). Breakfast was disappointing, no nice choice as in the other ones I've been so far, all very small.. :( October 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Clean toilet and good location. I will definitely stay there again as it is very close to the universities September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good stay Good stay. Location is good. Service is acceptable on most counts. Cleaning of room was not properly done on one day. Wonder why. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for a short stay We were visiting Manchester overnight. No problem finding hotel very central for our theatre needs. Room was comfortable and very clean. Staff excellent I would definitely recommend this hotel September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay @ Central location, all transport hub (Oxford station 3 min walk round corner) University and Polytechnic just up the road. Restaurants, pubs and entertainment, all within 5 min walking radius. If you need accommodation that is value for money and accessible by public transport and on foot- this is it. All of Manchester is easy to reach and yet - here you can rest at night,see a show,do pub crawling and eat well - without leaving you in penury . September 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Rooms and secure building My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn last weekend. Staff were friendly and polite, the rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was self service offering sausage, beans and scrambled eggs, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, toast, muffins, croissants, bread rolls, juices tea and coffee. We thought it was great value for money. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overnight stay We stayed here for one night (Friday) as we were attending a concert in Manchester. We had a twin room on the eighth floor. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and we both slept well. The hotel is located very close to Manchester Oxford Rd train station, so it is ideal in terms of location. Extremely friendly staff with a speedy and flawless check in and check out. I had read a few reviews about noise from a club next to the hotel but I honestly heard nothing (then again we were on the eighth floor)The breakfast was fine but as has been previously noted - NO BACON! A minor grump was that there was no shampoo and only a couple of tea bags! Fantastic shower and comfortable bed. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely use it again. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and views We had a 10th floor room with a great view over the city. Triple room was a little cosy but fine for a short stay. Breakfast was awful so we skipped it the second day. Generally no complaints though. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The room and location are fantastic Generally the This hotel is very good, it is located in the middle between the university of Manchester, city centre and Piccadilly train station, if they can put a small fridge in the rooms this will be perfect. September 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by V good value Stayed in room with twin beds. Excellent value. Shower was great. Arrived at 2 pm to check in. Rooms not ready. After 10 minutes, that was sorted. Breakfast OK. Some hot stuff (toast, sausages) - bit limited but adequate. Overall, comfy, pleasant room and nice hotel. Would stay again. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Manchester Pride Weekend August 2013 my husband and I checked in for four nights over this years Pride Weekend. Very convenient for the village and the city centre only a few minutes walk. Lovely modern hotel with excellent facilities. Pleasant room with large shower and air conditioning. Staff all welcoming, pleasant and helpful. Certainly will return and would recommend to others. Thank You August 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean Myself and partner stayed here for one night in August. Overall we were happy with the experience, the staff were very nice and polite but on checking out we were left waiting for quite a while as the general manager had a chat to some people in the lobby area but a nice member of staff came out of the kitchen to check us out and apologised as she thought the manager would be helping us. The room was very nice and very clean. August 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms exelant Center location in Manchester, area a bit of a dump. Hotel rooms & service exerlant. August 29, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Front Desk and hotel lobby
Front Desk and hotel lobby
Select to close.
Front Desk and hotel lobby Reception Hotel Exterior along side the Crown Plaza Hotel Hotel Exterior with glass elevator upto the 8th floor Hotel Exterior with out side patio area. Hotel Exterior Entrance at Holiday Inn Express Manchester Arena Exterior At Night Hotel Exterior at Holiday Inn Express Manchester Arena
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading