• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except service animals with the right paper work.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Discovery Place
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:116
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking available to registered guest

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:89
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:36
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:53
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:89
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Explore the Queen City from Our Charlotte Hotel

Matthews, NC is the perfect launching point to discover the heart of Charlotte. Our 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte Southeast - Matthews hotel is just off Independence Blvd and I-485 in Matthews. We're just 15 minutes from NASCAR Hall of Fame and downtown Charlotte, NC.

This hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. Catch a great game or concert at Bojangles' Coliseum, travel to uptown Charlotte to catch an NBA
View More

Explore the Queen City from Our Charlotte Hotel

Matthews, NC is the perfect launching point to discover the heart of Charlotte. Our 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte Southeast - Matthews hotel is just off Independence Blvd and I-485 in Matthews. We're just 15 minutes from NASCAR Hall of Fame and downtown Charlotte, NC.

This hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. Catch a great game or concert at Bojangles' Coliseum, travel to uptown Charlotte to catch an NBA Bobcats game or a concert at Time Warner Cable Arena. The Carolina Panthers provide NFL action at Bank of America Stadium. Because our hotel's in the Charlotte - Matthews, NC area, guests are close to terrific shopping at Carolina Place Mall or Concord Mills Mall. Families might enjoy a day at Carowinds, NASCAR Hall of Fame or Lowe's Motor Speedway.

Business guests appreciate this hotel's location in the Charlotte - Matthews, NC area. We're located near major businesses, such as Family Dollar Executive Offices and Harris Teeter Headquarters. We cater to the business needs of our corporate Matthews, NC guests with a conference room that is the largest in town at 1,600 sq ft. Our Business Center provides printing services. And there is free Wi-Fi access.

While a guest, enjoy a relaxing dip in the indoor, heated pool or warm up by the fireplace. Enjoy the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar throughout your stay at our Charlotte area hotel in Matthews, NC!

View Less
Features
Our hotel's convenient location in the Charlotte, NC area gives you access to all that Charlotte - Matthews has to offer, and we help you relax with our gorgeous decor and a large, indoor heated pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 87 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay Stay was nice, room was clean and staff very nice. The kitchen with the full size frig was great for the long stay. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Hotel This hotel was exactly what we needed for the night we stayed there. Although it is probably used for folks who stay longer than one night, it served it's purpose and was excellent. Room was big and bed was comfy. The only thing I would suggest would be to have the outside of the tub cleaned when cleaning. It didn't appear to have been wiped down or cleaned in a while. Otherwise, everything else was perfect! August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay We were pleasantly surprise by the condition of the hotel and the room. Would definitely book here again. August 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room with view Nice area though not very many stores or restaurants. Comfortable room with a nice quiet view. August 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Will not stay here again Unfortunately, this stay was doomed from check-in. There was just issue after issue after issue and was not a relaxing weekend with family and friends. Basically our reserved suite was given away, the choice we were left with was problematic for our group, there were amenities that were missing from our rooms, there were cleaning issues that were present, repairs that were needed, privacy issues, you name it. The front desk attendants were very nice but everything that was wrong was still wrong and an inconvenience. It's ironic that we paid more to stay at this sub-par location than we paid to stay at another of these properties that was absolutely wonderful. The other location was the one that made us feel comfortable selecting to stay at this property on this trip. I took pictures but don't have them on this computer to upload. August 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by beds ok towels cound be replaced at least daily and linenen when needeed August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great facility The facility is the best in town for cleanliness and value I have stayed few times and recommend it to friends, August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Staff Mandi and her staff are fantastic. The fitness center at the hotel is quite small, but they do offer kettle bells and other equipment for rent. If you require a more intense work out, the hotel works with a local gym and provides you with FREE access with your room key. You can also rent out different kitchen appliances for FREE at the front desk. The gazebo and grill were a great amenity and the on-site FREE laundry is the absolute BEST! Would stay here again. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Phish Easy and comfortable stay. Close to PNC Music Pavillion July 29, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointment I've stayed in Candlewood Suites in Omaha, New York, New Jersey and here. This by far was the least favorite of them all. Limited options in the cupboard, alarm clock issues, phone buttons not working, distinct odor when entering the room. Fitness center limited. I'll be in the area over the next 6-7 weeks, I'll be staying elsewhere. July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and smelled really clean and fresh. Our 1st time ever staying at Candlewood and we just loved it; when we entered our room, it was so nice to smell how clean and fresh the room was. The bed was very comfortable and relaxing and we heard No noise at all and that was such a Blessing after traveling and being extremely tired. I would most definitely recommend Candlewood Suites. July 15, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Air broken and check out time Didn't have a good experience this time with our stay. The air was broken so there was really no sleeping the first night. Next day we were able to move to a different room but it was very inconvenient moving from one room to another. Also because of my gold rewards status I was told during my previous stay that check-out time was 2pm but this stay I was told 12pm. I'm not sure why the change. July 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, Great Staff Staff was very friendly and accomadating. The Room however needed some TLC. If you need a suite for 2-3 nights at a good value, not a bad pick. If for an extended stay, check out the rrom first. My room wasn't the best. However, it was very quite and the airconditioner was very cold, for a hot summer night. July 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Just really dirty dirty and smelled really bad - smelled like bug spray June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and cleanliness Over all experience was great. I enjoyed lay out of the room. Very cozy bed and convenient area June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay This is a great place to stay. Clean, comfy and nice staff. Highly recommend !! . June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Internet speed, lacking in some areas Good location in what appears to be a new business development. Very little around it, so it was quiet. There's a Hungry Howie's pizza location in the same parking lot, which is convenient. It's close to numerous restaurants, multiple grocery stores and UNC Charlotte. Great Internet speed, among the best I've experienced, allowing me to stream video in HD. However, the TV selection is extremely poor, with only about 25 channels. No NBC Sports Network, Fox Sports 1, Golf Channel or local RSNs. Had issues with the laundry on a couple of occasions, once where the washer was broken, the other time when the dryer didn't work. The cupboard didn't have milk available the entire length of my stay, which was three weeks. Exchanging towels was often an ordeal, with the front desk clerks often pointing you to the laundry room rather than taking the towels from you and doing that job themselves. There were multiple occasions when there were no fresh towels or wash clothes available and I had to come back later for them. Amazingly, there is no guest printer. I twice tried to get things printed, and it involved emailing the document to the personal email address of the front desk clerk. One time she couldn't open the document, the other time I received the copy, but it was in landscape format. An unacceptable situation. There needs to be a printer available as there is in every other Candlewood Suites I've stayed. The room itself was fine and a standard Candlewood setup. The room was clean on arrival, with the exception of the toaster. When I removed it from the cupboard there were crumbs all underneath it and in the cupboard. But there was a good selection of plates, bowls, silverware, etc., and the refrigerator is large. Microwave was large and worked well. You needed to set the thermostat far below the actual temperature you wanted, but it worked fine and the room cooled quickly. The bed was comfortable, with multiple types of pillows. I got two full-service cleans during my stay. The first time the housekeeper didn't arrive until close to 6 p.m. and seemed rushed. She never vacuumed the floor, which needed it. The second time I was also present and it was a thorough cleaning in the morning, including vacuum. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good find I've stayed at extended stay hotels before. This one was the cleanest June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great price, nice accommodations Highly recommend printing out directions. GPS is unreliable and hotel is set back from road with minimal signage. Very difficult to find, but worth getting there. June 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Candlewood Suites a good deal Overall the experience was great and I will choose this hotel again. The alarm clock in the room did not work (it was 2 hours ahead and time could not be changed). Also, it would be nice for the hotel to offer a shuttle to the PNC Ampitheater which is less than 3 miles away. Would have gladly paid to have transportation available and not have to worry about flagging a cab. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay Great value for the area. Rooms very nicely furnished, bed very comfy. The hotel and our room was extremely quiet, no banging of doors or running water could be heard in our room from other rooms. Loved the fact that I could actually open the window, turn the a/c off and let in fresh air on a nice day. It was our first stay at a Candlewood and I will definitely consider staying again. Highly recommend this hotel. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great facility for long term stay We stayed at Candlewood Suites Charlotte-University for 6 weeks while searching for our new home in Charlotte. The staff was friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Pet friendly. June 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but horrible hotel The employees at this hotel gave excellent service but the cleanliness of the hotel was very disappointing to me and my family. Would not recommend to family and friends. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Speed Week Enjoyed the convenient location of the facility to various Charlotte attractions. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2014 Coca Cola 600 Stay The night I arrive there was a Barbeque for guests. Hamburgers, Hot Dogs, Cole Slaw, Chips and Iced Tea. The staff cooked for the guests. There were leftovers and I jokingly said how about lunch tomorrow (Thursday) and yes I was made lunch. The Barbeque was free but a donation of $5.00 was for a charity. I was told I didn't have to donate for the lunch but it was the least I could do. I help a cause but also saved myself a trip to a restaurant. GREAT JOB! June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Candlewood Suites Charlotte Nice area, good accomadations, good resturants in the are as well. June 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs updating Rooms need updating, laundry room needs work and dusting... Halls rugs dirty, curtain in room dirty and hem coming out.. lounge chair need replacing.. Bed not soft, missing silver ware, toilet too low, all but one staff was cool... (A older white lady with grey/brown hair...) You need to hire a person to travel to different states who is checking on the hotels, because the management you have is not doing their job, things falling off.... Needs indoor pool at all locations..... April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Candlewood suites always great place to stay Room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Safe location and restaurants nearby. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Everything is comfortable about Candlewood Suites! Iv'e always stayed at candlewood when I go to charlotte. It doesn't matter where I travel out of town. I will check to see if there is a Candlewood Suites because I have not 1 complaint about this place. Beds are very comfortable, check out time even makes it longer for me to rest. Exercise area, kitchen area, the atmosphere is great, it always smells fresh and clean. Movies you can check out if you do not want to watch cable. The regular rooms are just as nice as the suites. If I don't have to I will not choose to go anywhere else because Candlewood Suites has me spoiled. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Snowed in I've stayed at this location before. Good place, good value. We got snowed in and I had to stay over a couple of extra days. There was no problem with that. Staff gave helpful inforamtion regarding where we could get food. they provised a scrapper to clean the snow off my car. They were very helpful during this unusual snoe storm in Charlotte. The only thing I could complain about was charging $2.00 for a bottle of water in the cupboard. Thought that was too much. Otherwise I recommend this hotel. February 17, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk Reception Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading