• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except service animals with the right paper work.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Discovery Place
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:116
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking available to registered guest

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:89
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:36
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:53
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:89
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Explore the Queen City from Our Charlotte Hotel

Matthews, NC is the perfect launching point to discover the heart of Charlotte. Our 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte Southeast - Matthews hotel is just off Independence Blvd and I-485 in Matthews. We're just 15 minutes from NASCAR Hall of Fame and downtown Charlotte, NC.

This hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. Catch a great game or concert at Bojangles' Coliseum, travel to uptown Charlotte to catch an NBA
View More

Explore the Queen City from Our Charlotte Hotel

Matthews, NC is the perfect launching point to discover the heart of Charlotte. Our 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte Southeast - Matthews hotel is just off Independence Blvd and I-485 in Matthews. We're just 15 minutes from NASCAR Hall of Fame and downtown Charlotte, NC.

This hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. Catch a great game or concert at Bojangles' Coliseum, travel to uptown Charlotte to catch an NBA Hornets game or a concert at Time Warner Cable Arena. The Carolina Panthers provide NFL action at Bank of America Stadium. Because our hotel's in the Charlotte - Matthews, NC area, guests are close to terrific shopping at Carolina Place Mall or Concord Mills Mall. Families might enjoy a day at Carowinds, NASCAR Hall of Fame or Lowe's Motor Speedway.

Business guests appreciate this hotel's location in the Charlotte - Matthews, NC area. We're located near major businesses, such as Family Dollar Executive Offices and Harris Teeter Headquarters. We cater to the business needs of our corporate Matthews, NC guests with a conference room that is the largest in town at 1,600 sq ft. Our Business Center provides printing services. And there is free Wi-Fi access.

While a guest, enjoy a relaxing dip in the indoor, heated pool or warm up by the fireplace. Enjoy the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar throughout your stay at our Charlotte area hotel in Matthews, NC!

View Less
Features
Our hotel's convenient location in the Charlotte, NC area gives you access to all that Charlotte - Matthews has to offer, and we help you relax with our gorgeous decor and a large, indoor heated pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 125 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Outdoor appearance The customers created an exterior issue as they hung out in the parking lot at the rear of the property and it appeared they were drinking as alchol bottles were placed by the rear exit door. This was noted as I left around 8:00 am from the property. September 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Really Surprised We went for the weekend to attend a football game. When we got to the hotel after driving for 5 hours we checked in and went to our room. The hallways were hot and stuffy like the a/c was not working. We tried to enter our room but the key did not work. So my boyfriend went back down to the front desk and came back up with the prgrammed key. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The next day we went to the game and upon returning from the game we tried to enter through the side door. Again our key did not work, we went to the front desk and my boyfriend voiced his mind about having to come back to the front desk. He did speak to the manager, I dont know what was discussed but he was upset and told me never to book at this hotel again. I was really surprised September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff, clean room and good value. I travel for business a lot and this say was a pleasure at a fair price. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sweet H/I Express Great little place to stay. Convenient to several chain restaurants, clean and quiet rooms, and nice little courtyard to enjoy a cigar! My only complaint and this is for ALL Holiday Inn Express - The breakfast is REALLY BORING and the pancake machine is a 50-50 proposition as to whether it will work or not. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Clean, new hotel convenient to activities on southeast side of Charlotte. Only problem is the busy highway. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Nice room - temp good - wish there had been a mini-fridge in the room. That was the only amenity lacking. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Nice hotel Staff was very attentive. Rooms were clean and spacious. Look forward to using the pool next time if the water is warm. August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Road trip to Myrtle Beach Great curb appeal. Staff made you feel welcome at check-in. Room was clean and inviting. I slept well and felt rested when I woke the next morning. August 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room -- Inattentive Staff The property is new, the room is nice, but the staff was completely inattentive to my needs, offered little or no help to iron out my difficulties, and rarely moved from behind the counter. If you stay here, expect to fin for yourself. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conference in Matthews I booked rooms for fifteen people for three nights and this hotel was an excellent choice for us. All were quite pleased with their rooms and the staff were very helpful making sure each person's room was ready when we began arriving. The rock quarry behind the hotel was no problem at all and we never heard anything from it during the evening/night/morning. Note: the only reason I did not give a full five stars in all categories was that my bed was a little firm for my liking. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff & Property The staff was very helpful and the quality of the property is really great. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, Comfortable This visit was for a funeral so it was a big relief to stay at a hotel that was close to family, the funeral home and the cemetery. The staff at the Charlotte/Matthews property had no idea why we were there but they were very friendly and helpful when needed. The room was clean, comfortable and modern. The breakfast area was also well stocked and clean. The staff was very attentive and quick to clear away tables. We will absolutely consider this property for future visits. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Met my expectation No complaints here, they provided for all my needs.. August 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Friendly I just wished they would keep the pool open later and the breakfast food needs to be better. I tried the eggs and had to spit them out. Overall, the room was clean (that's very important). August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Super Friendly Staff Everyone who works at the HIE here in Matthews is friendly and pleasant. We were in town for a wedding and were very pleased with our accommodations. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Family retreat This hotel was great for us....too many people to fit at our son's house. Everything at the hotel made it easy for us so we had no worries. It was nice to know that our room would be waiting for us when we got there and everything would be perfect. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean, friendly, comfortable Enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and woke up to a good breakfast just steps away. The only thing I didn't like were the pillows, they were too soft for me. August 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by We would stay here again - clean room - clean bathroom - very comfortable bed/pillows - friendly helpful staff - great cleaning service Had a nice stay, slept well, easy to shops, restaurants, and parks. My only real complaint was that the pool was way to cold for me to swim. The staff tried to warm the pool but to no avail. The elevator was broken 2/3 of our stay due to an influx of kids going up and down constantly. The staff worked quickly every time to fix the problem. I really look forward to swimming on vacation, so hopefully the next time we come it will be fixed. The cleaning lady, which we had for the 3 days we stayed, was awesome. She made sure we always had a clean bathroom and fresh towels. Overall good stay. Thank you to the staff for working hard to keep things as pleasant as possible. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business/Leisure trips The staff was very friendly at check-in and at anytime that we passed the front desk entering or leaving the hotel. I can always count on this hotel for cleanliness and excellent accommodations, it so close to anything a visitor would need if they were not familiar to the area.. August 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A nice stay I would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff was great, the room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was good. The only thing that would have made our room better would have been a microwave and mini fridge. July 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good Stop over booking your down town hotel in Charlotte an sending people an send your customer 11 mile away to stay at your hotel. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cannon Review Excellent hotel with a wonderful staff of friendly, helpful people. Not ideal for those that may want to sleep in - housekeeping is up early looking to clean your room unless you have the do not disturb on your door. Great continental breakfast with a large variety of choices - something for everyone. Clean, clean, clean! July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, clean rooms and great breakfast!!!!! Our 3 night stay was very relaxing and comfortable, loved the beds and pillows. I honestly had one of the best hotel experiences at this location. Thanks to the staff and management. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and yummy breakfast! The staff were friendly from the point of inquiry to the point of departure. I was presently surprised by the spread of the continental breakfast, much better than I have experienced at comparable hotels before. The only minor complaints that I have are that the fan on the air conditioning unit was noisy (perhaps just in that specific room), there was no cover to the peephole on the inside of the door and that some noise from the road could be heard (did not really bother me, was expected due to the location of the hotel). The staff, the breakfast and the size of the room made my stay comfortable and pleasant and I will be sure to stay at this HI Express in Matthews again when I am in the area. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff! We were treated like royals. They were so nice to us we were riding our Goldwing Trike and it was kinda late so to keep us from dragging out the cover, we were allowed to leave our bike under the canopy! They gave us bottled water and were Very, Very Kind in every way. Even told us where the resturants were and SMILES when doing it. Thank you to the Staff At Matthews (South East Charlotte) Yea'll get the Gold Star!!! July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel We stopped here to break up a long drive on a family road trip from the Outer Banks of NC to GA. The hotel was perfect for what we needed and the breakfast and coffee helped us wake up before getting on the road to head back. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great to Visit the Old Home Town I wanted to stay in the HIE I had seen grow from "birth" during my 24 years living in Matthews. I now live 100 miles away. Soooo when a personal reason came up for me to return to Matthews, I wanted to stay in the HIE! July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not exceptional but good A little disappointed after having spent the previous night at an exceptional Inn near Savannah at a much lower rate. No kitchenette, no couch, smaller TV, rate about 40% higher. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and quiet Convenient access to East Charlotte, next to Cracker Barrel, good restaurant choices close by. July 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value We were with a hockey tournament group, and the hotel was totally quiet, never a problem with a bunch of 7-11 year old kids. July 3, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk Reception Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading