• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except service animals with the right paper work.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Discovery Place
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:116
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking available to registered guest

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:89
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:36
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:53
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:89
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Explore the Queen City from Our Charlotte Hotel

Matthews, NC is the perfect launching point to discover the heart of Charlotte. Our 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte Southeast - Matthews hotel is just off Independence Blvd and I-485 in Matthews. We're just 15 minutes from NASCAR Hall of Fame and downtown Charlotte, NC.

This hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. Catch a great game or concert at Bojangles' Coliseum, travel to uptown Charlotte to catch an NBA
View More

Explore the Queen City from Our Charlotte Hotel

Matthews, NC is the perfect launching point to discover the heart of Charlotte. Our 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte Southeast - Matthews hotel is just off Independence Blvd and I-485 in Matthews. We're just 15 minutes from NASCAR Hall of Fame and downtown Charlotte, NC.

This hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. Catch a great game or concert at Bojangles' Coliseum, travel to uptown Charlotte to catch an NBA Bobcats game or a concert at Time Warner Cable Arena. The Carolina Panthers provide NFL action at Bank of America Stadium. Because our hotel's in the Charlotte - Matthews, NC area, guests are close to terrific shopping at Carolina Place Mall or Concord Mills Mall. Families might enjoy a day at Carowinds, NASCAR Hall of Fame or Lowe's Motor Speedway.

Business guests appreciate this hotel's location in the Charlotte - Matthews, NC area. We're located near major businesses, such as Family Dollar Executive Offices and Harris Teeter Headquarters. We cater to the business needs of our corporate Matthews, NC guests with a conference room that is the largest in town at 1,600 sq ft. Our Business Center provides printing services. And there is free Wi-Fi access.

While a guest, enjoy a relaxing dip in the indoor, heated pool or warm up by the fireplace. Enjoy the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar throughout your stay at our Charlotte area hotel in Matthews, NC!

View Less
Features
Our hotel's convenient location in the Charlotte, NC area gives you access to all that Charlotte - Matthews has to offer, and we help you relax with our gorgeous decor and a large, indoor heated pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 99 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not a good place to stay I had seven rooms for a business trip. the price was very high. we did receive a gift card with the rooms so it did make the price a little better. we stayed one night. the next morning we had to be at our meeting early but when we got up there was no hot water. the guys had to have a cold shower or no shower. the iron in my room did not work so I had to go to another room and get one so I could iron my clothes before the cold shower. when I called the front desk there was little to no concern for the water issue. only we are having trouble. we had never stayed with this chain before on a business trip but my daughter is a member of your group and assured me it was always good. well it did not turn out that way for us on the 18th of feb. anyway would not stay with this chain again. sk March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Quiet Up to standards. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Good location with easy access to restaurants and highway system. No complaints, second time I have stayed, will do so again. January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific Staff! I absolutely adore the good people working there. Even though I stayed only for 7 nights, I couldn't be any happier for the lady that serviced the breakfast room, the housekeeping ladies and the lobby staff. If there are 2 complaints I have they would be: 1) Despite the hotel rating and rates, it doesn't provide Guest Laundry service. 2) To lesser extent: I had a bit trouble getting help when I couldn't get into my room because it was way past midnight and there was no one at the lobby. That happened once. Would definitely consider coming back to the hotel! January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good sleep and great breakfast. Everything I expected was realized. The bed was fine, the heat as I wished, and the room was enough. I will surely use your hotel when visiting NC again. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My first trip to Charlotte Thank you for such a great experience during my first trip to Charlotte! The hotel staff were very friendly and were able to answer all of my "first time visitor" questions! The location was close to shopping, dining and an easy drive to downtown Charlotte. Nice and quiet, yet near everything I needed. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff Great facility and very helpful front desk staff on the evening of our arrival who was extremely helpful in recommending local places to eat(many) and even printing off directions for us. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience Very easy access from I485, quiet and confortable! November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, great location Staff is fantastic. Plenty of good places to eat very close. November 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by SLOW Elevator The hotel was okay. The heater blew incredibly dry air. It was so bad I turned it off in the middle of the night. I'd rather be cold than parched. The elevator was unacceptably slow. I waited about 5 minutes in the morning. There is only one elevator that runs extremely slowly. This was exacerbated by the maids moving their carts in and out during the time when everyone is trying to get to breakfast and off to work. No healthy choices for breakfast. At minimum it would be nice to have some light yogurt. How about some fresh fruit? The wine choices for happy hour were horrible. Barefoot Merlot and Muscato. Who drinks that? YUK! November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Charlotte are option Very clean hotel. Nice friendly staff that greeted me upon my arrival. Room was automatically upgraded and was perfect. Easy access to 485. Thank you to this location. Will stay here again. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel, very friendly staff the hotel was clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and courteous. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Great Value This hotel was in a great location for catching public transportation to get downtown to the convention center for the conference I was attending. The current public train system serves a limited area and this hotel was very near the 2 'end of the line' public train stations. Very convenient! Also dining and shopping were extremely close (walking distance). No need to get a hotel downtown, stay here and use public transportation. Great hotel, friendly service. November 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Accomadations Rooms are too small. Also amenities like bath soap were given out like it was rationed.. The toilet tissue was awful. It had to be the cheapest you can buy. coffee was not replenished in the room and something as menial as a shower cap was omitted. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service I am always treated with polite and professional service. November 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room and Great Guest Service This hotel had a very friendly, accomodating front desk staff They were knowledgable about the area and events happening during the time I was there. The room was about what I expected, no surprises, good or bad. My only complaint was that over the weekend, the cleaning staff were very late in getting the room put back together. On Sunday I arrived back at the hotel at 5 PM and no one had been in to do anything with the room. October 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Satisfied Clean and well furnished in good, safe location. Staff was able to provided requested adjoining rooms. Several nice restaurants in walking distance. Nice breakfast. October 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location for the night Did not stay until breakfast so can't comment on that, but the room was clean, comfortable and we were able to relax. We were traveling and friends live near the hotel, so we chose this one for our stop instead of going on for another two hours into NC. The hotel was good, but not as nice as some of the other Holiday Inn Express hotels we have stopped at during this road trip. Staff was courteous and seemed to be all business which was a little out of character from all the other places we have stayed. We would recommend the hotel, but will probably not go back unless our friends need us. October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Couldn't have been happier! I had the pleasure of staying at your hotel last weekend and was extremely pleased with the experience. The room as well as the public areas were clean and well maintained. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty and hot. I also liked the fact that the dining area was on the second floor and away from any noise from the lobby. That was a nice feature. One of the things that most impressed me was the friendliness of the staff. Everyone we came in contact with from the front desk to the housekeeping staff was extremely polite and courteous. They each had a smile and friendly word when we saw them. Based on the positive experience we had and the cost of the room, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend your hotel. Keep up the good work and I hope to be back soon! October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value for the price Very comfortable bed, clean room, excellent free breakfast - probably the best free one we've ever had. Staff were very pleasant September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Small but Nice This is one of the smaller HI Express locations that I've stayed at, but it was very nice. Even though it's relatively close to the highway, I heard ZERO noise in my room at night. The check-in was spot-on, the staff friendly, and the room was cleaned well every day. September 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel This hotel was clean and modern. I got a great nights sleep. And the breakfast was quite satisfying. It was a "no-surprises" stay. September 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay! This was one of the best Holiday Inn Express experiences we've had. Service was friendly and welcoming. The room was immaculate and comfortable. The bed was comfortable. The TV and internet connection worked well, as advertised. The icing on the cake was an afternoon reception. Wine, beer, and soda and an appetizer from Chick-fil-a was served between 5:30 pm and 6:30 pm! Breakfast the next morning was excellent, and a travel bag was provided upon request. The service was excellent! September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, good service Nice clean room, quiet, good breakfast. Good location near a variety of shopping including the Carolina Mall. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 #1 Staff!!!!!!! Got a call from front desk 5min after getting into my room to make sure everything was up to our standards. I stayed at this hotel a few years ago and was looking forward to our stay and they even exceeded our expectations. Worth staying south of Charlotte. Would stay here every time I come to Charlotte!!! Nice area lots of restaurants and shopping. September 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Property I have stayed at this property twice while on business in Charlotte. It is in a great location and convenient to restaurants and mall. the hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and attentive. the breakfast was filling and had lots of selections. The ladies that worked in the breakfast area were very nice and did a great job. I will stay at this hotel again. September 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Clean, Comfortable, Excellent! Nice well maintained hotel conveniently located near numerous venues in the South Charlotte area. Highly recommended! August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good I had a great time,the service and breakfast was great.Thank you. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just What We Were Looking For My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pineville HIEX. I have been staying with this brand for many years, and I am encouraged to see the direction that you are headed in. Breakfast service was EXCELLENT, with a very conscientious lady who kept the whole thing stocked, cleaned up and running smoothly through the meal hours. Thank You! The Italian restaurant across the street would not make a custom pizza for me though. Someone ought to let them know that restricting customers to varieties on the menu is not scoring any points. (would not make a pepperoni, sausage and green pepper pizza; had to have either pepperoni or a supreme) I realize that's not in your lane, but it falls under location and amenities, so I mention it. August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service The hotel was very clean and the staff extremely nice. I think maybe the bed matresses need to be a bit more comfortable. Also there is no exhaust fan in the bathroom so when you take a shower the mirror gets all steamed up. Excellent location and very close to the interstate. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday inn Hospitality! My husband and I are thinking about relocating to the Charlotte area. We booked the Holiday Inn Express in Pineville for the first part of our trip (beginning July 27th 2013). . .and ended up returning for a few additional nights before heading home. This was the first time we had stayed in a Holiday Inn Express. I'm sure as with any chain, there is a range of quality and satisfaction. The Holiday Inn Express in Pineville; however, was top-notch! The room was clean and spacious. . . and after long days of being car bound driving around, it was nice to "come home". The complimentary breakfast was wonderful each morning. I never caught the woman's name who prepared it for us sadly, but she did a nice job! There was an often ignored self operated pancake machine. . .yogurt, milk, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juice, bagels, bread/toast, english muffins, bananas, cold cereal, oatmeal, hot prepared eggs and some version of sausage or gravy and biscuits, daily. Being vegan, I was thrilled to find peanut butter. . .the oatmeal and bagels and bananas were perfect for me! (during the day, there was always coffee and tea in the lobby) And if the clean room and breakfast weren't enough. . .be sure to say hello to "Gloria" behind the front desk! She was an absolute treasure! Very friendly and helpful with a genuine smile every time we came and left! August 19, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk Reception Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading