• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except service animals with the right paper work.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Discovery Place
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:116
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking available to registered guest

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:89
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:36
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:53
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:89
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Explore the Queen City from Our Charlotte Hotel

Matthews, NC is the perfect launching point to discover the heart of Charlotte. Our 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte Southeast - Matthews hotel is just off Independence Blvd and I-485 in Matthews. We're just 15 minutes from NASCAR Hall of Fame and downtown Charlotte, NC.

This hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. Catch a great game or concert at Bojangles' Coliseum, travel to uptown Charlotte to catch an NBA
View More

Explore the Queen City from Our Charlotte Hotel

Matthews, NC is the perfect launching point to discover the heart of Charlotte. Our 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte Southeast - Matthews hotel is just off Independence Blvd and I-485 in Matthews. We're just 15 minutes from NASCAR Hall of Fame and downtown Charlotte, NC.

This hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. Catch a great game or concert at Bojangles' Coliseum, travel to uptown Charlotte to catch an NBA Hornets game or a concert at Time Warner Cable Arena. The Carolina Panthers provide NFL action at Bank of America Stadium. Because our hotel's in the Charlotte - Matthews, NC area, guests are close to terrific shopping at Carolina Place Mall or Concord Mills Mall. Families might enjoy a day at Carowinds, NASCAR Hall of Fame or Lowe's Motor Speedway.

Business guests appreciate this hotel's location in the Charlotte - Matthews, NC area. We're located near major businesses, such as Family Dollar Executive Offices and Harris Teeter Headquarters. We cater to the business needs of our corporate Matthews, NC guests with a conference room that is the largest in town at 1,600 sq ft. Our Business Center provides printing services. And there is free Wi-Fi access.

While a guest, enjoy a relaxing dip in the indoor, heated pool or warm up by the fireplace. Enjoy the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar throughout your stay at our Charlotte area hotel in Matthews, NC!

View Less
Features
Our hotel's convenient location in the Charlotte, NC area gives you access to all that Charlotte - Matthews has to offer, and we help you relax with our gorgeous decor and a large, indoor heated pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 116 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall great stay, excluding key cards Overall great stay, excellent customer service at the Front desk, by clerk, LaQuinta. Had restful nights sleep. Filling breakfast. Downside: Defective key cards, broken bathroom sink, slow draining. July 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by quality for price I felt we received a good quality for the price we paid. Beds were comfortable, we had a new bathroom, and could see that the rest of the rooms were also being modernized. We appreciated privacy wall around pool (not visible from parking lot). July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk helpfulness The TV in my room lost service. Someone from the front desk was up in just a few minutes to fix it. July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Pineville Stay I am use to staying in more modern and updated holiday inns. This hotel was very out dated. I picked this location for cost and location of my event. I reservation for 2 rooms, to my surprise one room was on the 1st floor the other on the 3rd flooor asked if they could be atleast on the same floor, was not given that request. Next time if I have to a will further away to get a nice hotel. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by accomodations, staff rooms very clean, ,comfortable beds, good breakfast options,friendly staff June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and very nice staff, but small problems The staff members were all very nice. The room and bath were very clean, and it was quiet all during my stay. The room, though, was noticably humid. Also, I had problems with the key cards every time I used them to get in the door. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great end to holiday We stayed here on our return to Charlotte ready to fly out next day. It was in a convenient location and we dined at the Asian Bistro next door which was excellent. The beds are to die for and great sleep was had. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel and staf My husband and I spent six nights at this lovely hotel. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast choices were very plentiful. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Very convenient to so many things. Loved the afternoon cookies. June 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bed to soft Day we checked in there was a two inch waterbug running around in the bathroom. We did not have hot water in the bathroom sink for two of the three days we stayed there. June 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet nights sleep Nice clean room, but the furniture could use a little updating. This is the first Holiday in that I have stayed in where there was absolutely no recognotion of my status as a Platinum member and the desk clerk even asked me if I was a rewards memeber on check in. She acted as she was not even aware of it when I told her. The staff was pleasant and friendly, but they have the slowest elevator I have ever encountered. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay at Holiday Inn Express in Pineville,NC We were in town for the weekend to help our daughter move and needed a place to sleep. It was better than a place to sleep, as we also enjoyed a nice breakfast. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone, anytime. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best Holiday Inn Expresses Recently stayed at the Pineville location and had to write a review. Staff was very friendly, the hotel was very clean, and it was the quietest Holiday Inn Express I've ever stayed in. The breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn fare, but it was cooked well. Great value. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service & Staff This was our second stay at this location and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay both times. Everything was clean and the staff was outstanding both times. The breakfast was good and hot and a very nice selection. Close to everything we were looking for and close to good restaurants. Thanks to your staff. May 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed to the point of never staying at another Holiday Inn location I have been staying at Holiday Inn locations over the past 10yrs steadily...and with an average of 1 week a month in hotels - obviously staying at other hotels brands as well. However, following my recent scheduled trip to Charlotte, I do not plan to stay in Holiday Inn locations again. I made an error. No question there. My trip planned for 1 night was actually originally planned for 2 and I did not show up the first night. Yes, my error. However it is evidently Holiday Inn policy to cancel the entire booking - with no notification whatsoever. Therefore I arrived at what I thought (again, mistakenly) my night to stay at Holiday Inn and was informed that I had been billed for my room the night of the "no show" (understood) and my remaining night was cancelled and they were sold out. Sorry - not much convo...too bad so sad. Not only am I a rewards member (can get me a bottle of water but not any consideration evidently) but I stay at this particular hotel consistently, despite it being small, off the beaten path (I have actually convinced others to stay here over the years, but they do not return). Charging for the night I did not arrive, I get that..but the rest of the policy is poor customer service. Thank You and Goodbye. April 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cozy The staff, furniture quality, room cleanliness, and breakfast were good or excellent. As others have indicated the room is a little small for the price, but not much the hotel can do about that at this point. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home for a month Gloria and her staff made my home away from home a wonderful stay. A big thank you to all. Brady March 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, tiny room, etc. The King bed room was smaller, and more cramped than any we have ever experienced with other Holiday Inn Express hotels across the US. We stayed for one week and noticed that our carpeting was not vacuumed. Pillows were in bad condition, and the sheets not changed. The coffee and tea service in the lobby was not tended to. All hot drinks were lukewarm at best. In addition, the fire alarm went off. We immediately left our room. It is a loud, and piercing sound. Very frightening frightening We were out of our room for about 30 minutes. The staff said someone was fixing the security system? We would have switched to another hotel if we weren't so busy with business. Not a pleasant experience. March 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not a good place to stay I had seven rooms for a business trip. the price was very high. we did receive a gift card with the rooms so it did make the price a little better. we stayed one night. the next morning we had to be at our meeting early but when we got up there was no hot water. the guys had to have a cold shower or no shower. the iron in my room did not work so I had to go to another room and get one so I could iron my clothes before the cold shower. when I called the front desk there was little to no concern for the water issue. only we are having trouble. we had never stayed with this chain before on a business trip but my daughter is a member of your group and assured me it was always good. well it did not turn out that way for us on the 18th of feb. anyway would not stay with this chain again. sk March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Quiet Up to standards. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Good location with easy access to restaurants and highway system. No complaints, second time I have stayed, will do so again. January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Terrific Staff! I absolutely adore the good people working there. Even though I stayed only for 7 nights, I couldn't be any happier for the lady that serviced the breakfast room, the housekeeping ladies and the lobby staff. If there are 2 complaints I have they would be: 1) Despite the hotel rating and rates, it doesn't provide Guest Laundry service. 2) To lesser extent: I had a bit trouble getting help when I couldn't get into my room because it was way past midnight and there was no one at the lobby. That happened once. Would definitely consider coming back to the hotel! January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good sleep and great breakfast. Everything I expected was realized. The bed was fine, the heat as I wished, and the room was enough. I will surely use your hotel when visiting NC again. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My first trip to Charlotte Thank you for such a great experience during my first trip to Charlotte! The hotel staff were very friendly and were able to answer all of my "first time visitor" questions! The location was close to shopping, dining and an easy drive to downtown Charlotte. Nice and quiet, yet near everything I needed. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful staff Great facility and very helpful front desk staff on the evening of our arrival who was extremely helpful in recommending local places to eat(many) and even printing off directions for us. December 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good experience Very easy access from I485, quiet and confortable! November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, great location Staff is fantastic. Plenty of good places to eat very close. November 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by SLOW Elevator The hotel was okay. The heater blew incredibly dry air. It was so bad I turned it off in the middle of the night. I'd rather be cold than parched. The elevator was unacceptably slow. I waited about 5 minutes in the morning. There is only one elevator that runs extremely slowly. This was exacerbated by the maids moving their carts in and out during the time when everyone is trying to get to breakfast and off to work. No healthy choices for breakfast. At minimum it would be nice to have some light yogurt. How about some fresh fruit? The wine choices for happy hour were horrible. Barefoot Merlot and Muscato. Who drinks that? YUK! November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Charlotte are option Very clean hotel. Nice friendly staff that greeted me upon my arrival. Room was automatically upgraded and was perfect. Easy access to 485. Thank you to this location. Will stay here again. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice hotel, very friendly staff the hotel was clean and comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and courteous. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Great Value This hotel was in a great location for catching public transportation to get downtown to the convention center for the conference I was attending. The current public train system serves a limited area and this hotel was very near the 2 'end of the line' public train stations. Very convenient! Also dining and shopping were extremely close (walking distance). No need to get a hotel downtown, stay here and use public transportation. Great hotel, friendly service. November 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Accomadations Rooms are too small. Also amenities like bath soap were given out like it was rationed.. The toilet tissue was awful. It had to be the cheapest you can buy. coffee was not replenished in the room and something as menial as a shower cap was omitted. November 4, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk Reception Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading