• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except service animals with the right paper work.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Discovery Place
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:116
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking available to registered guest

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:89
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:36
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:53
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:89
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Explore the Queen City from Our Charlotte Hotel

Matthews, NC is the perfect launching point to discover the heart of Charlotte. Our 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte Southeast - Matthews hotel is just off Independence Blvd and I-485 in Matthews. We're just 15 minutes from NASCAR Hall of Fame and downtown Charlotte, NC.

This hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. Catch a great game or concert at Bojangles' Coliseum, travel to uptown Charlotte to catch an NBA
View More

Explore the Queen City from Our Charlotte Hotel

Matthews, NC is the perfect launching point to discover the heart of Charlotte. Our 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte Southeast - Matthews hotel is just off Independence Blvd and I-485 in Matthews. We're just 15 minutes from NASCAR Hall of Fame and downtown Charlotte, NC.

This hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. Catch a great game or concert at Bojangles' Coliseum, travel to uptown Charlotte to catch an NBA Hornets game or a concert at Time Warner Cable Arena. The Carolina Panthers provide NFL action at Bank of America Stadium. Because our hotel's in the Charlotte - Matthews, NC area, guests are close to terrific shopping at Carolina Place Mall or Concord Mills Mall. Families might enjoy a day at Carowinds, NASCAR Hall of Fame or Lowe's Motor Speedway.

Business guests appreciate this hotel's location in the Charlotte - Matthews, NC area. We're located near major businesses, such as Family Dollar Executive Offices and Harris Teeter Headquarters. We cater to the business needs of our corporate Matthews, NC guests with a conference room that is the largest in town at 1,600 sq ft. Our Business Center provides printing services. And there is free Wi-Fi access.

While a guest, enjoy a relaxing dip in the indoor, heated pool or warm up by the fireplace. Enjoy the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar throughout your stay at our Charlotte area hotel in Matthews, NC!

View Less
Features
Our hotel's convenient location in the Charlotte, NC area gives you access to all that Charlotte - Matthews has to offer, and we help you relax with our gorgeous decor and a large, indoor heated pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 100 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good find I've stayed at extended stay hotels before. This one was the cleanest June 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great price, nice accommodations Highly recommend printing out directions. GPS is unreliable and hotel is set back from road with minimal signage. Very difficult to find, but worth getting there. June 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Candlewood Suites a good deal Overall the experience was great and I will choose this hotel again. The alarm clock in the room did not work (it was 2 hours ahead and time could not be changed). Also, it would be nice for the hotel to offer a shuttle to the PNC Ampitheater which is less than 3 miles away. Would have gladly paid to have transportation available and not have to worry about flagging a cab. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing stay Great value for the area. Rooms very nicely furnished, bed very comfy. The hotel and our room was extremely quiet, no banging of doors or running water could be heard in our room from other rooms. Loved the fact that I could actually open the window, turn the a/c off and let in fresh air on a nice day. It was our first stay at a Candlewood and I will definitely consider staying again. Highly recommend this hotel. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great facility for long term stay We stayed at Candlewood Suites Charlotte-University for 6 weeks while searching for our new home in Charlotte. The staff was friendly. Room was clean and comfortable. Pet friendly. June 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Great service but horrible hotel The employees at this hotel gave excellent service but the cleanliness of the hotel was very disappointing to me and my family. Would not recommend to family and friends. June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Speed Week Enjoyed the convenient location of the facility to various Charlotte attractions. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2014 Coca Cola 600 Stay The night I arrive there was a Barbeque for guests. Hamburgers, Hot Dogs, Cole Slaw, Chips and Iced Tea. The staff cooked for the guests. There were leftovers and I jokingly said how about lunch tomorrow (Thursday) and yes I was made lunch. The Barbeque was free but a donation of $5.00 was for a charity. I was told I didn't have to donate for the lunch but it was the least I could do. I help a cause but also saved myself a trip to a restaurant. GREAT JOB! June 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Candlewood Suites Charlotte Nice area, good accomadations, good resturants in the are as well. June 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs updating Rooms need updating, laundry room needs work and dusting... Halls rugs dirty, curtain in room dirty and hem coming out.. lounge chair need replacing.. Bed not soft, missing silver ware, toilet too low, all but one staff was cool... (A older white lady with grey/brown hair...) You need to hire a person to travel to different states who is checking on the hotels, because the management you have is not doing their job, things falling off.... Needs indoor pool at all locations..... April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Candlewood suites always great place to stay Room was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Safe location and restaurants nearby. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Everything is comfortable about Candlewood Suites! Iv'e always stayed at candlewood when I go to charlotte. It doesn't matter where I travel out of town. I will check to see if there is a Candlewood Suites because I have not 1 complaint about this place. Beds are very comfortable, check out time even makes it longer for me to rest. Exercise area, kitchen area, the atmosphere is great, it always smells fresh and clean. Movies you can check out if you do not want to watch cable. The regular rooms are just as nice as the suites. If I don't have to I will not choose to go anywhere else because Candlewood Suites has me spoiled. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Snowed in I've stayed at this location before. Good place, good value. We got snowed in and I had to stay over a couple of extra days. There was no problem with that. Staff gave helpful inforamtion regarding where we could get food. they provised a scrapper to clean the snow off my car. They were very helpful during this unusual snoe storm in Charlotte. The only thing I could complain about was charging $2.00 for a bottle of water in the cupboard. Thought that was too much. Otherwise I recommend this hotel. February 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Safe Low Cost to stay After reading some of the reviews, I was worried to stay. I didn't have any issues with this hotel or area. I would stay there again. I didn't have any early morning wake-ups either. February 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not So Much I was not happy with the service. We had to get out of our Tim at about 3 or 4 in the morning with two infants because of a fire alarm; I could be a little of on the time. it made for a horrible thanksgiving weekend because it threw off our kids sleep time and made them cranky all weekend. We were doused to get a crib and we were given a pack and play, play pin. couldn't let the kids venture on the floor because the carpet was horribly dirty. they only has one person at the desk at all times. I needed a vacuum and had to go get it myself. We had to go and pickup or towels at the front desk January 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by BAD AREA OF CHARLOTTE, HIGH CRIME The hotel is fine, and I've stayed here 3 times. Though it is a non-smoking hotel, it reeks of cigarettes, most likely due to the construction-related personnel staying there who violate the policy. My vehicle was broken into at the nearby Outback restaurant, and Christmas gifts and other items were stolen. The police said that University City area is a BAD area. The Candlewood Suites brand is OKI, but I would not recommend staying anywhere in the University City area of Charlotte, nor eating out at nearby restaurants. December 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home Candlewood Suites is consistently a home away from home, well designed for comfort. It is amazing what they do in a limited amount of space. It is a must for folks who like to relax in the restroom and watch TV. There are complementary videos and a good selection of channels. The full-sized refrig complemented with all the necessary cooking utensils is great for cooking. For the outdoor person, there is always an available gas grill. I lived at the CS near Burlington Kansas twice for six months each stay and 10 months at the Charlotte North Carolina CS. The courtesy staff is always there ready to help. Dawn and I shared dinner (pizza at the front desk) as we greeted guest and offered a slice of pie. It was a fun time. I will return in January for another extended stay. December 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value All good at this property. Clean, comfortable. Nice staff. No negatives. December 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No cream for coffee and... The checking and check out process was great (Jose is very professional and courteous). The room was clean and comfortable. We were there just on night to wait for our flight the next morning. I was disappointed in the morning when I went down to drink coffee and and there was no cream. I ask the front desk and the lady said; "sorry we are out of cream". cupboard was together with the laundry room and it was hot and smell like detergent. The floor was filthy and there was papers on the floor. I never seen any hotel; not even other low price chains in this condition. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay Spacious room and bathroom. Tastefully decorated. The room was clean and inviting. Reasonably priced. The bed was SO comfortable. Having the kitchen was great and saved me some money on eating while I was there. Very thankful to have found this place. They are also pet friendly, which is important to me, as I am usually traveling with my 4-legged companion. The staff was polite and helpful. I received excellent treatment and service. I will definitely stay here again when I am in the Charlotte area. November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All the conveniences Nice updated Candlewood with all the usual convenience - full kitchen, fresh coffee, laundry, etc. Helpful, friendly staff. I love Candlewood. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well maintained property. Very pleasant recently remodeled room. Helpful front desk; permitted late check out as Priority Club member. November 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by My hotel stay Before my arrival to the hotel, my husband and I lost our way trying to find the hotel- it was dark and rainy, which made it harder to locate the hotel- so I called the hotel (4) times for assistance with no response. When we finally found the hotel, there was no one on the desk... I knocked on the office door- and finally the office person came to the desk- when giving us the room- we were tired after driving 11 hours to reach Charlotte NC- we wanted to rest- the room had the worst smell- it did not appear to have been cleaned- there were stains on the wall and toilet... the room was really gross!! I went down to get new linens and to complain about the room- the office personnel, offered me a different room- which also had an odor- the last room offered was where we stayed the night. The back stairwell was full of stains and did not appear to have been cleaned as well as the hallway and elevator... taking the elevator to my floor- I saw a hugh dog brought in by his owner, which immediately caused my allergies to flare... I am so disappointed in my stay in Charlotte and this hotel, words cannot describe....If anyone should need a place to stay when traveling to Charlotte- this hotel will not be on my list of best places to stay. There also appeared to be no one available in housekeeping- we had to wait for the office person to bring up linen, which took some time. November 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Over all the stay was nice. The front desk staff was very friendly and polite. The room was nice size and the kitchen area was great. My really only 2 complaints would be they don't offer king size beds and the bed spread had two cigarette holes. It was funny they stress the $250.00 charge an non smoking, but my blanket told a different story. I reported it so I would not be charged later. I have asthma so smoking is not my friend. Thought they would have came up an replaced it , but they didn't and I didn't think I needed to ask. We are an average size couple and the bed seem to be a full. It was very uncomfortable. I have Queen beds through out my home; so i didn't think it would be a problem, and we both rest comfortable. In our master is a King of course. I would not stay again simply because of the bed size. If you are sleeping alone it will be okay. Thanks November 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Affordable This hotel provided good value. The location was a bit far from downtown but maybe I should have researched this a little better. For anything in northern Charlotte it would be fine. November 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice place I was in Charlotte for business for 3 nights. I tried Candlewoods for the first time. I really enjoyed it. My room was great it was clean. My bathroom was not to spiffy. While getting ready to shower I found a used towel hanging behind the bathroom door. There was also a lot of long black hair on the bathroom floor. The sink and sink area was cleaned but the floor and behind the door was missed. Other then that it was all good. Great place for diabetics that cant go out and eat alot. Stay in and cook your own, I did and I loved it! November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Check-in was bumpy, but room was EXCELLENT At check-in, the clerk was having trouble logging into the system and couldn't find my confirmed reservation. I arrived about ten minutes before the 3pm check-in time, but I don't think that was the problem. Something was preventing her from doing her job, and it did not make a good first impression. Once in the room, I was completely satisfied with the decor, the cleanliness and the comfort of my room. The bathroom was HUGE! The shower was probably the biggest/best I've ever seen in a hotel room, and the towels were soft, luxurious and very absorbent. The linens on the bed were fabulously comfortable. The whole room was very stylish and functional. I VERY much enjoyed my stay, and will probably book again next year when I return to Charlotte. November 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Our "go to" Charlotte area hotel. We have been staying at this Charlotte location in October for about 8 years. The staff is wonderful and we are treated each year as long-lost family members (in a good way). The manager, Gale, always makes sure that our stay is enjoyable. Two of our favorite staff members had recently moved to different locations within the IHG brand; Mike and Sarah are missed by us. This location has gone through some changes the last few years. The renovation for the most part has been positive. This year I noticed the bedding had been upgraded and the overall look of the hotel has been improved. We will continue to stay at this location in the future (and have already booked our room for next October)! November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VERY SURPRISED IN A GOOD WAY I almost cancelled my reservation based on negative reviews. I am glad that I didn't. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the sheets and towels they use are wonderful. They are not your typical hotel sheet and towels. The room was very quiet. I think they painted the hall walls that day because when you walked in the hallway you could smell fresh paint, however, once in the room you did not smell the paint at all. I personally cannot say anything negative about this hotel. I really like the idea that I had a mini kitchen in the room and was surprised to see a dishwasher in the room. They are very pet friendly. I am definitely going to stay there on my next visit to Charlotte. October 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible Receiption Personality It was a horrible first experience I have ever had with IHG hotels worldwide over 10 years. The recceiption services was very bad, not friendly at all. A receiption woman was chatting on the phone for over 10 minutes while we were waiting at the front desk for checking in. Three other staffs were at the front counter doing nothing , but no one came to host us. I will NEVER recommend this nasty place to anyone. I will never come back to this place. October 12, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk Reception Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading