• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: CHARLOTTE
  • Distance From Hotel: 10.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except service animals with the right paper work.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Discovery Place
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:116
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free parking available to registered guest

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:89
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:36
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:53
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:89
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Explore the Queen City from Our Charlotte Hotel

Matthews, NC is the perfect launching point to discover the heart of Charlotte. Our 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte Southeast - Matthews hotel is just off Independence Blvd and I-485 in Matthews. We're just 15 minutes from NASCAR Hall of Fame and downtown Charlotte, NC.

This hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. Catch a great game or concert at Bojangles' Coliseum, travel to uptown Charlotte to catch an NBA
View More

Explore the Queen City from Our Charlotte Hotel

Matthews, NC is the perfect launching point to discover the heart of Charlotte. Our 100% smoke-free Holiday Inn Express® Charlotte Southeast - Matthews hotel is just off Independence Blvd and I-485 in Matthews. We're just 15 minutes from NASCAR Hall of Fame and downtown Charlotte, NC.

This hotel's location is ideal for leisure guests. Catch a great game or concert at Bojangles' Coliseum, travel to uptown Charlotte to catch an NBA Hornets game or a concert at Time Warner Cable Arena. The Carolina Panthers provide NFL action at Bank of America Stadium. Because our hotel's in the Charlotte - Matthews, NC area, guests are close to terrific shopping at Carolina Place Mall or Concord Mills Mall. Families might enjoy a day at Carowinds, NASCAR Hall of Fame or Lowe's Motor Speedway.

Business guests appreciate this hotel's location in the Charlotte - Matthews, NC area. We're located near major businesses, such as Family Dollar Executive Offices and Harris Teeter Headquarters. We cater to the business needs of our corporate Matthews, NC guests with a conference room that is the largest in town at 1,600 sq ft. Our Business Center provides printing services. And there is free Wi-Fi access.

While a guest, enjoy a relaxing dip in the indoor, heated pool or warm up by the fireplace. Enjoy the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar throughout your stay at our Charlotte area hotel in Matthews, NC!

View Less
Features
Our hotel's convenient location in the Charlotte, NC area gives you access to all that Charlotte - Matthews has to offer, and we help you relax with our gorgeous decor and a large, indoor heated pool.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 296 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by JJ is the best!!! JJ at the desk at Check in is amazing. He always goes above and beyond the call of duty. The girl that was working with him on the second shift Saturday, March 22 was great as well. I forgot her name though. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great From Valet check in to front desk, staff was cordial and made you feel welcome. Great breakfast as offered, the next morning. Superb location. On checkout, offered directions by Valet without even having to ask. Great experience all the way. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Staff The staff and location are great for Uptown Charlotte!!! March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great CIAA My past stay at this Holiday Inn Downtown was great. The entire team was great they were all so helpful. the nice little front desk girl helped me with my luggage and jj made me laugh and treated us like old friends. The buffet was great. I was happy to see fridges and microwaves in all of the guest rooms. I come every year and they never fail to disappoint. Even after all these years im still very satisfied with the service i receive at this hotel. March 18, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Beware! Awful Staff!!! Terrible Experience! The quality and cleanliness of the room was completely mediocre. However, the staff allowed someone who was not staying in my room to set a wake up call for my room! When traveling with 2 young children (3 & 1) this is one of the worst things that can possibly happen. When I confronted the front desk about this, they defended their actions and refused to accept any responsibility for the situation! They even yelled at me for being upset! I will NEVER stay at a Holiday Inn again and would highly discourage anyone from ever staying at this particular location. There are many other hotels in the area that offer better amenities and a much more competent staff. DO NOT STAY HERE!!! March 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Exceptional service, clean, friendly and great vibe and environment! Highly recommend this facility while in the charlotte area. March 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by “Fantastic room, great view, centrally located” This hotel is is centrally located. We love to just be able to walk out and be able to walk around to different restaurants and sights. The lobby is extremely impressive with a lot of charm. Staff was extremely accommodating. The room was very clean and the layout was well done. March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service service service I have been staying weekly for over 6 months and always receive great service no mater what the request, toothpaste, shaving cream, recommendations for restaurants. And always Comfortable beds, plenty of pillows, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, everything you need in the rooms. March 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good Hotel Good hotel, front desk staff are great. Centrally located to downtown. Only negative is that street noise was very audible 11 floors up and soundproofing between rooms is not so good. February 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and comfortable beds!!!! I truly enjoyed my stay! The staff really made sure I enjoyed my birthday celebration. The "no-cover" passes to the local clubs/bars were a big help! And so was the no-charge shuttle. Aside from the fact that the restroom needed some work, I look forward to staying at this hotel again in the near future! Thanks Nicholas, Dantay, JJ, and the night staff (whom I do not recall their names)!!!!! February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Close to everything downtown. Fanny at the front desk was fantastic! February 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My go to place I travel to CLT quite often and this is my go to hotel... This trip was not the best, the night manager was extremely rude and unaccommodating. I will however go back as the rest of my stays have been great. The location is great, the hotel is quiet and clean and the bar serves a fantastic chocolate martini. February 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Business Travel Overall, I have enjoyed staying at this hotel in the past. However, when I stayed there last week there were some disappointments. I was on the 15th floor away from the elevators and other usual noise suspects. Sleeping was a challenge though as a result of doors slamming up to about midnight and starting again at about 6AM. Guests, really??? Do you who door slam actually enjoy hearing that frequently? Please, next time you are in a hotel, consider gently shutting a door. Thinking of others is common courtesy where I come from. While an establishment cannot control all guest behavior, the HI could put governors on the doors. Good news is that I flew home and was able to sleep for 12 hours. Being in Charlotte for restaurant week, it was impossible to get in the hotel restaurant on Tuesday night. After a long day at work, I wanted nothing more than to grab dinner and relax. Room service was not my desired choice as the total bill is generally above company policy and a glass of water or soda cannot be refilled. Had I known that the restaurant was taking reservations, I would have made one when I checked in on Monday night. That tidbit would have been nice from the front desk. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place my first time at this hotel and my stay was excellent the bed was so comfortable and I really enjoyed all the pillows. the staff was friendly and the restaurant serving excellent meal it was perfect for what I wanted for the weekend and I will come back and visitthe next time I'm in Charlotte. January 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel This hotel is great! Whenever I come to Charlotte I always stay here. It is in a good location and the staff is excellent. Make sure to check out the pool and gym--it's on the roof! When in doubt in Charlotte stay at the Holiday Inn Charlotte-Center City!!! January 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and friendly staff. Great location central to many restaraunts and places of interest in Uptown Charlotte. I was able ot walk to anything I needed. Room was clean and comfortable. January 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Expectations I had a fantastic stay. The staff was on the money. They were attentive, pleasant, & down right nice! The hotel was clean, and in order. The room was nice & clean. I would definitely stay again! January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay I really enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Charlotte- Center City. I went to a wedding and I was treated with the best serve ever. The room was very comfortable and clean. When I return to Charlotte my next stay will defintely be at the Holiday Inn Charoltte-Center City. January 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent customer service and comfortable beds I enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Center City in Charlotte N.C. on 1/9 through 1/12/14. The staff was excellent, the bed was comfortable and I look forward to another stay in the future. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Good place I liked the overall experience. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgable. Staffs were always willing to offer guidance or shuttle us around in uptown since the weather was chilly. The only bad thing about this was the loud heater/ac unit in the room. It is pretty loud and seems outdated. However, it did keep us warm since it was cold while we were there. January 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Bowl game Well, we decided to stay up town to enjoy some dinning and night life after seeing the play Book of Mormons, what we didn't know when I book 2 months earlier was that the Belk bowl was in town along with a ton of young college party go'ers from Cincinnati who after getting there butts kicked decided to party all night in the hallways of the hotel. Security tried to control them and after 3 am finally got it under control. The hotel comped me some extra points and said their were sorry. Better luck next time. January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, nice room, terrible odors in common areas! The staff at this hotel were not only helpful but extremely friendly in doing so. The room was also very nice and clean; my only feedback would be to work on eliminating the marijuana odor in the hallways. Additionally a better pass thru from the parking garage to the hotel. Overall, super positive experience!! December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Value The Holiday Inn Charlotte-City Center is an excellent value for a prime downtown location. They are walking distance from all major sporting events and businesses. The hotel itself is one of the nicest Holiday Inns I've stayed in. I actually asked the staff why they're not a Crown Plaza; it's that nice. This was our third stay, and once again I highly recommend it. December 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 To go cups I stayed just one night and it was good. I believe if to go cups for coffee were in the room for guests that leave before breakfast opens would be so much better. Also if I'd conducted better research I would've stayed in a less expensive location. That room was not worth the price paid. Oh well. I will always still think of Holiday inn first before any other brand. December 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not to concerned Staff is not customer focused. Needed a spoon so I called the front desk and they sent me to the restaurant. I stood 10 minutes at the host desk only to be ignored by all workers including the manager. After I insisted for attention I was told that they could not spare a spoon. I advised the front desk and all they came up with was "sorry" (really!?!). Asked for a late check out and was told "No" then finally agreed to 30 minutes after I let them know that house keeping knocked at our door 3 times (not exaggerating) at 9a, 10a and 1015am. Room next door even yelled at them after the second time (obviously their policy to get everyone out 3 hrs prior to check out). Finally, ready to check out ? Well don t be in a hurry because they will ignore you, pretend that they are attending to important paperwork while you wait. December 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy comfort and good location Friendly, helpful and convenient hotel. Not in Epicenter which is a plus, but only 2 blocks away. I like this place. Have stayed there at least 6 times. December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great and Friendly Staff The staff was great and the overall hotel was great....except the pillows!!! December 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and convenient service. I enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Charlotte. The location was in the center of uptown Charlotte which made it convenient for us to walk to museums, fine dining and other attractions. The king size bed was very comfortable. I did not experience any back problems the next morning. The only one thing I did not like was that the 8th floor room we stayed in did not provide much of a view of the city..our view was the parking garage. But overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice! The room was very clean! The bed was so comfortable! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience From start to finish, this hotel was great. It was obvious that it was renovated because it did not look like any other Holiday Inn I have ever been to. The staff was great. I will be back. November 24, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Front Desk Reception Hotel Exterior Reception
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading