• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MECHELEN
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+02:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Indonesian
  6. Dutch

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are not allowed. Only guide dogs

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
St. Rombouts Cathedral
Distance From Hotel:0.3KM
Attraction:
Castle Margaretha from Austria
Distance From Hotel:0.5KM
Attraction:
Toy museum
Distance From Hotel:0.7KM
Attraction:
Nekkerhallen (Exhibit Center)
Distance From Hotel:2.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:22
  • Car Parking Available
  • Price shown is per car per day.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  EUR)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:69
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:63
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel.

Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary continental
View More

Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel.

Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary continental breakfast at our brand new buffet.

Located halfway between both Brussels and Antwerp, Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is an ideal stop-off point. In Mechelen itself, the offices of Proctor & Gamble and Dupont are a short drive away. You can invite colleagues to gather in our air-conditioned meeting room.

Mechelen's scenic town square is a couple of minutes' walk from the hotel. You can take in the Gothic and medieval buildings, including St Rumbold's Cathedral. If you're a cyclist, you'll be able to stow your bike in our secured storage area after you've enjoyed rides around the city.

Help yourself to the complimentary continental breakfast buffet at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, and linger over coffee. Our new trendy hotel bar opens out onto a pretty terrace and is open 24 hours a day. Free Wi-Fi Internet is available throughout the entire hotel.

View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is a good-value Mechelen hotel. Enjoy a tasty complimentary breakfast, as well as complimentary high-speed Internet throughout the hotel. Our city-centre location means less spending on taxis and trains.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 87 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good first impressions Booked accommodation at this place due to special discount and closeness to a venue of an event I was going to attend. I had very good first impressions, but unfortunately things did not go quite well afterwards. My main reasons for this negative comment are: lack of supplies of tea/coffee in the room with the kettle provided. The room was advertised as one with free WiFi - which is only true for very limited data traffic. Staff was impolite and incompetent at breakfast - no coffee, no cereals, no knives, long queuing to breakfast, very small variety of food, suspicious white bits were swimming in the orange juice, plus the breakfast area is too small for the size of the hotel. The external environment of the hotel is pretty shabby and the pavements are in such a bad condition that is a challenge to pull the wheelie suitcases on them. The chambermaid knocked on the door and woke me up despite the 'do not disturb' sign placed after a long night out. Thick layer of dust on surfaces on check-in, so I had to wipe around the room August 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by express inn for a reason not all works the phone didn't work no calls no wake up calls possible shower head broken August 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overnight stay The hotel is easy to find with convenient, although expensive, underground secure parking. As there are only stairs to/from the carpark, it is advisable to park at the front of the hotel when checking in, to save carrying heavy suitcases up stairs. The carpark is not suitable if you have a baby in a pram. We ended up carrying the pram with baby in up the stairs. The rooms are fairly clean and offer enough to cover your basic needs. We travelled as a family with 2 adults, 2 children and 1 baby, which made it a bit cramped, but ok as a one night stay. The bed is a standard double bed and the sofabed made the children roll into each other in the middle. The free wifi is rubbish and not worth logging into. The TV offers films, which you have to pay for, although there are BBC channels for English guests. The shower was lovely and warm with sufficient waterpower. Breakfast was included in the price. There is a selection, but the cereals on offer are pretty rubbish and the muesli was dreadful. We can't grumble as it was included in the price. The staff in the hotel are very friendly and their badges show what languages they speak, which is an excellent idea. We would stay here again as it is still excellent value and in a good location. We would only stay for 1 night as it is not big enough or comfortable enough to stay as a holiday August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay, changes needed Considering the low price and offer, this is a much better hotel than the Express badge would make you think. Clean, fresh, fairly modern, it was more than ample for our 2 night stay. Location is ok, harbour at the back much nicer than the surrounding area out front, so don't be put off. Just be aware it's a good 20+ min walk to the main centre/ old town, and the transport such as buses didn't seem as convenient round this way. Apart from that, great stay. Pillows not very comfortable, and limited supply of irons and ironing boards is a let down, as is the fact there are no drawers or safes in the room. And the shower gel etc isn't up to scratch so bring your own. Also, find a supermarket for things such as snacks, beers and water in the central area as there is a lack of shops around the hotel and everything is overpriced! Staff were absolutely great, apart from the night manager/ receptionist man who is rude, aggressive, and should be dealt with by management - considering it was pride, obviously people would be enjoying themselves but his aggression is absolutely unacceptable. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Hotel perfekt, Parken zu teuer Hotel in Bezug auf die Lage in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Jachthafen, auf die Zimmerausstattung, die Schlafqualität, die Qualität des Frühstücksbuffets, die Sauberkeit und die Freundlichkeit des Personals hervorragend und sehr zu empfehlen bei besonders gutem Preis-Leistungsverhältnis. Aber: Parkplatzgebühren in der Tiefgarage für 24 Stunden von 25% des Preises der Übernachtung für 2 Erwachsene und einem Kind im Familienzimmer inclusive Frühstück!! Da stimmt das Verhältnis sicher nicht!! Laut Auskunft der Rezeption sei das Parken auf dem öffentlichen Parkplatz gegenüber über Nacht nicht sicher, wenn der Wagen nicht völlig leergeräumt ist. Auf einer Durchreise nach längerem Urlaub nimmt man nicht gerne das ganze Urlaubsgepäck nur für eine Nacht auf sein Zimmer. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean Highly recommend this hotel, everyone was friendly and helpful July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value hotel - but bedding requires improvement My third stay in this hotel. Staff is always very friendly and helpful, as IHG Rewards Club Platinum member my room key, welcome letter and bonus points are always ready before check-in. Free 'upgraded' internet for Plats is also very much appreciated. Rooms are decent size, bathrooms typical HIX style. My main complaint is the bedding, queen beds are very small and the pillows are absolutely horrible - the weird shape (wide/narrow) makes them very uncomfortable to sleep on. They give you the choice of firm July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Safe Bet Good location and great value for money. Professional and courteous staff through and through. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, excellent staff service It was not first time at this hotel, but had not visited since the renewal of the lobby area, which has improved the general aspect of the property. Staff is very attentive and ready to solve any issues and to give some advice. Surprised that parking service is not give to Platinum members, as it happens in other properties. Hotel is very weel communicated for business purposes when you have to travel and take highways. Good hotel to be used as a base for some meetings in Belgium. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great location, great staff it was a great weekend. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room and good service Room was clean and comfortable. The free wireless internet was extremely slow. The breakfast was well presented and sufficient choice of food available. The staff were helpful and cheerful. July 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No air conditioning Too Many Mosquitos as no air conditioning available. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by optimales Hotel für Stadtbesichtigung Lage am Hafen, trotzdem gute Zentrumsanbindung (Busse direkt vor Hotel, 5 Minuten zu Hauptbahnhof und Zentrum, zu Fuß in etwa 15-20 Minuten im Zentrum) freundliches Personal, das auf Wünsche eingeht (früherer Check in möglich) gutes Frühstück Zimmer trotz Hauptstraße in der Nacht ruhig (hatte bei Buchung um ruhiges Zimmer gebeten, vielleicht kam ich deshalb in den neueren Teil) Das einzige was mir abgegangen ist, ist dass es im Zimmer keine Laden oder Kasten mit Tür gegeben hat. June 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, slow checkin Hotel was very average and breakfast did no offer much options and enviroment is quite Cold. The checking was so slow only 2 people at the desk at 5-6pm when i Think most people check in to the hotel and one person in the reception was on the phone 10 minutes and did not care about the queue of 15 people waiting to check in. Rooms was ok and i slept well. Easy walk to the harbour area with several restaurant options. All in all its an ok hotel as long as its taken in concideration its a Holiday inn express June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good nights sleep Efficient clean and friendly, lovely breakfast. Good location for sight seeing. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Guter Standard Bei der Buchung ein Zimmer zum Hafen buchen, da ansonsten zur Straße sehr, Frühstück eher einfach. Ansonsten alles da was man braucht. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by gutes Presi-/Leistungsverhältnis Ich nutze das Hotel seit Jahren, wenn ich geschäftlich in Antwerpen bin. Neben der Nähe zu meiner Firma, sind die unkomplizierte Buchung, der sichere Parkplatz, die Sauberkeit und die dem Preis angemessene Ausstattung Grund, es auch weiterhin zu nutzen. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Besserer HIX Standard alles im gruenen Bereich. Fruehstueck ueber Durchschnitt. Wunsch nach Verbindungszimmer wurde erfuellt. Toller Minisupermarkt in der Lobby. Ca. 1km zu Fuss zur Innenstadt June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by You will not be disappointed with this hotel ! I have been a rather frequent business guest to this hotel for a few years already. I am always impressed June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice City stay Hotel staff very professional and courteous and friendly attitude. Basic rooms but enough space to move around and open all bags. June 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Breakfast was busy, which is noted in the lift as well. The rest was good. June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beware of some guests Nothing wrong with this hotel, but during my stay there was something wrong with the guests: a bunch of young men having a bachelor party, making a lot of noise around 5 a.m. (loud shouting, banging on all the doors of my floor) and repeating this behaviour around 8.30 am. If you want to book in the weekend, I would advise to inquire if there is a party for a bachelor partyin the hotel. May 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Started good, ended bad Despite an agreement between the hotel an us over a late (after 4 pm) check out my wife got rudely told to evict the room as it was needed. When I returned from business I found her waiting for hours in the lobby including our luggage. I spoke to those involved and after many apologies we got our room key back so I could change for travel. Once arrived at at the room it was not even cleaned so " the need for this room" was not really evident. May 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Antwerp Holiday Inn's always live up to expectations. Clean, comfortable, staff are helpful and breakfast is included in room rate. What more could you ask for? This hotel has many restaurants and bars close by beside the modern museum building behind the hotel, ( in case you miss it, which I almost did) April 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, comfortable beds The location (near a little harbour) is nice and it's a 15 minute walk from the old centre. The beds were comfortable with two pillows and everything was clean. Parkingfee is a little high though, should be more a kind of service from the hotel. April 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Antwerp stay Pretty far from downtown. Bed way too soft. Very nice staff. Poor choice of TV channels, not even Cnn or Bbc! March 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable Very good experience, clean room, exactly as it looked like on the pictures on internet, clean shower, comfortable beds. Good breakfast too. March 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Antwerp and Canterbury Those are the Holiday Inn Express branches I stay in most! Antwerp is now refurbishing the rooms, and i like it! I'm always impressed by the way the staff welcomes you and makes your stay a very pleasant one! As good as in a privately run Bed & Breakfast. The price is great and in Antwerp I had two stays in a row and they offered me without asking if I would like to try one of the new rooms! March 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good nights stay on Antwerp Everything we expected. Good valuable. Good staff and an excellent location March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location & Value for money Reception has been renovated since last year and the whole hotel is looking smarter. I was in town for Antwerp (gay) leather pride, so the hotel was very busy but they coped well. The breakfast buffet was very good this year and was kept well stocked during breakfast times. Unfortunately the number of people put a strain on the WiFi which couldn't cope, so I was forced to switch to G3 - I would prefer to pay for WiFi and get the service than be given something free that can't cope. We also had an issue with the heating & hot water one morning - however the staff dealt with this very well, kept everyone informed and after an engineer visit the issue was resolved. Things do go wrong so I'd give then 5 stars for they way they dealt with this situation. I would recommend this Hotel and will stay again next year. February 17, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen
Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Entrance - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Reception - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Hotel Lobby - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading