• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MECHELEN
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+02:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Indonesian
  6. Dutch

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are not allowed. Only guide dogs

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
St. Rombouts Cathedral
Distance From Hotel:0.3KM
Attraction:
Castle Margaretha from Austria
Distance From Hotel:0.5KM
Attraction:
Toy museum
Distance From Hotel:0.7KM
Attraction:
Nekkerhallen (Exhibit Center)
Distance From Hotel:2.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:22
  • Car Parking Available
  • Price shown is per car per day.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  EUR)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:69
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:63
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel.

Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary continental
View More

Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel.

Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary continental breakfast at our brand new buffet.

Located halfway between both Brussels and Antwerp, Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is an ideal stop-off point. In Mechelen itself, the offices of Proctor & Gamble and Dupont are a short drive away. You can invite colleagues to gather in our air-conditioned meeting room.

Mechelen's scenic town square is a couple of minutes' walk from the hotel. You can take in the Gothic and medieval buildings, including St Rumbold's Cathedral. If you're a cyclist, you'll be able to stow your bike in our secured storage area after you've enjoyed rides around the city.

Help yourself to the complimentary continental breakfast buffet at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, and linger over coffee. Our new trendy hotel bar opens out onto a pretty terrace and is open 24 hours a day. Free Wi-Fi Internet is available throughout the entire hotel.

View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is a good-value Mechelen hotel. Enjoy a tasty complimentary breakfast, as well as complimentary high-speed Internet throughout the hotel. Our city-centre location means less spending on taxis and trains.
Announcements
Musical 14-18 is extended! Do not miss out show and book your accommodation in Holiday Inn Express Mechelen. Until 21st September 2014.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 100 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great airport hotel I booked this hotel as I had to catch an early flight. I can only say that my stay made sure that I was really relaxed in the morning. The bed was very good, the room was dark enough to sleep and the shuttle to and from the airport were as good as it could be. August 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reception Staff needs training in dealing with customers respectfully The hotel does not recognize IHG Platinum status. The reception staff have an attitude of I don't care. They are rude and disrespectful. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Holiday Inn at Brussels Airport Usually I stay only one or two nights but this time I was staying six nights. After an eight hour drive to get there it was kinda nice to be greeted with a smile and before I knew it I was checked in and sitting at the bar having my first beer. We were, in total, a group of 18 people all of whom had given up their week end to participate in a company inhouse training. We ate outside on the terrasse and the combination tapa's were off a high quality and the staff serving us were efficient and friendly. Breakfast in this hotel is good. A choice of continental or full on bacon beans on toast. Fresh fruits and yoguart readily available. Internet access day one was great but tends to become slow and on/off after the first day. There are PC's on the ground floor that one can use. Throughout the course of the next five days, everything was just as it should be. Effecient and good. No problem recommending this hotel to any weary traveller. Despite being right at the Airport, the rooms are quiet and the bed and pillows excellent. Thank you Holiday Inn. Until the next time. Tommy. August 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Acceptable Airport Hotel but not up to IHG standards I have stayed here a few times now while on business in the area. My stay this week will probably be the last as i will try to explain... Front entrance is spacious and quite impressive. The reception staff are variable depending on who you get and what time of day it is. For this particular stay a young lady called joanne was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. Other staff should learn from this girl. The rooms are a reasonable size with flat screen TV, work desk, free wifi and the usual bedroom amenities. What is difficult to understand is the difference between a standard room and a superior room. My last stay was in standard, this stay was in superior... the rooms were identical!!!! The pool and gm are a good size but certainly not health club standards. The gym is equipped with enough equipment to have a decent workout. The pool and sauna area is again a good size but looking a little tired now and in need of a facelift. There were some dubious looking stains in the jacuzzi and old towels lying around in the sauna area. The area to the back of the pool near the windows is tatty, looking out onto an unkempt lawn area. As i usually have to work into the evening i usually take room service so i can eat and work. The room service staff are ALWAYS unhelpful and in some circumstances quite rude. Despite the IHG website stating 24hr room service it is not. The in room menu which can be found on the TV is limited and also states available from 09:00 to 22:30. I suggest going back to a good old fashioned paper menu in the room as genrally the kitchen will prepare anything on the bar menu. This is in stark contrast to the "digital" menu on the TV. Today I was hungry having eaten very little after a 04:00 start, so i spent 10 mins trying to get through, only to be told the kitchen would not open until 18:00 before having the phone put down on me! If you advertise 24hr room service you need to provide it!!! you also need to retrain your staff AGAIN in how to treat your customers!!!! As there are limited eating options in the immediate vicinity one must put up with these issues... I am quite loyal to the IHG chain but as there are hotels in the area which offer a similar or even higher standard for less cost i am unlikely to stay here again for the forseeable future. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Atitude of Staff I have recently stayed for 4 1/2 weeks in the Brussels Airport Hoilday Inn whilst I relocated from the UK to Brussels. Throughout my stay I found the staff extremely helpful and accommodating, in particular the reception staff and specficilly Yannick who when I had a problem with the shuttle runs to & from NATO (the Taxi(s) didn't turn up!) and on one occasion got completely soaked through, take care of my needs and resolved the situation to my satisfaction. I would like to take this opportunity to thank him for making my stay a pleasent one. Regards Paul August 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Short bed and very bad service I am not quite happy about the design of the hotel. The reception is really inside the compound. You have to walk through the parking lot to get to the reception. Secondly, only 1 person managing the reception which is very inefficient. Customers would end up queuing and waiting to get in, so the check in process is not at all smooth. The rooms are not sound proof. I could hear the customer talking next door. I am about 175cms, which is not tall enough, and my legs come out of the bed while sleeping. I have never had this problem elsewhere, mind you I travel a lot, I have been to hotels elsewhere but never has such a thing ever occurred. To request for any service at the reception was a pain as you end up queuing for your chance. I really don't understand how come such a huge hotel has only 1 person managing the reception. Is it normal? Food at the restaurant was pathetic and over rated. Only saving grace, I believe, were the amenities that kept me going. A pool, jacuzzi, gym helped me relax after a long day's work. To be honest, I will not want to come back to this place except for the amenities. August 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Verlängertes Weekend Wir waren zu dem Zeitraum in Belgien als das Festival stattfand. So wurde ein Extraraum eingerichtet für das Frühstück, für die Festivalbesucher. Die Auswahl des Frühstücks war nicht besonders, dreckige Tischdecken wurden nicht gewechselt. Zimmer wurde nicht gereinigt. Für ein 4 Sterne Hotel haben wir mehr erwartet. Positiv können wir sagen, dass wir noch einen Extratag nicht über den Festivalveranstalter gebucht haben und hier sah das Frühstücksangebot ganz anders aus, sowie die Sauberkeit der Tische. July 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday period ! Not sure what service hotel is offering at the moment ? Car park full no spaces? , no restaurant but many people ?, not given room on priority floor , room not cleaned on 1 day . Feels like people who stay at this hotel 20 -> 30 times /year are not being treated same as holiday makers at the moment July 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Brussels Hotel used to be a classic holiday inn with good airport shuttle service, good bar with local character and superb breakfast. Now it is some ultra modern hotel (stupid theme of Swedish word for fun 'skoj' which no one understood) with a minimalist design. Unlike earlier days shuttle to and from airport not continuous (eg latest one in the morning from hotel to airport is 9:15am). Breakfast absolutely dreadful - cold plates for hot breakfast, disgusting hot breakfast items available just to name but 2) July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and close to Brussels Airport Nice hotel, comfortable room, good internet. Very close from Zaventem Brussels Airport and offering shuttle service. Food in restaurant needs improvement and it's a little overpriced. July 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst holiday inn ever! I was in Brussel for a festival weekend and stay in this hotel throughout my stay and it was a horrendous experience! There was a heat wave in brussel and the air conditioning wasnt working! We reported it on the very first night and I can understand it was a bit too late to get it fix but the hotel cannot even offer a fan or something to keep us going through the night. The receptionist was not friendly at all and didn't even apologize for it. I reported the incident again on saturday morning but came back to the same condition at night. It was a different receptionist but the same thing happened and i've been told no maintenance work over weekend. No one apologize to us about it at all and didnt even send anyone up until the 3rd time i rang. Shocking enough when the man came up to have a look he asked why did we not reported it earlier as there is usually someone here to do it during the day and there's no record of this problem has been lodge. We have to live in the hotel for 3 nights without air con during summer. This is not reasonable at all and i'm beyond disappointment with the service. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Brussels This hotel was great. Would like to have been able to stay longer . The hotel was clean, rooms were well appointed . with plenty of room for work/ eating. A large desk area at head of bed . Very nice fitness room. Staff very friendly. Shuttle to airport timely. Unfortunately the main dinning room was closed during our stay but the food provided was good. I hope we have an opportunity to stay here again. I wish all Holliday Inns were like this hotel. They are a great model. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great airport location Room was very clean, comfortable and was not noisy despite close proximity to Brussels Airport. Breakfast in the morning was great, with numerous items to select. Hotel shuttle bus was great both at hotel and airport pickup! July 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice staff and pool but poor sleeping Excellent swimming pool;staff friendly and helpful;location for airport excellent;bed not good:too small and with a hole; planes can be heard so sound isolation insufficient July 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Conmfortable but NOT SAFE Watch out for security in this hotel. There are thieves in lobby who stole things and the in-house security is very lacking with little or totally no security on watch at all in this hotel. Guests are also not being warned about any possible theft in this hotel. The assistance provided by this hotel during the time of needs is also very minimum except to call the police for you - that also takes time for them to do so when they are available as they will attending to incoming guests. I believe the priority is to get business rather to help when you are REALLY REALLY in need of help. July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A good quality hotel Better than your average Holiday Inn, clean modern and well presented. Good food, service a little slow though, check in at night was also slow as only one member of staff on. But small things in light of a great room, clean, well fitted and quiet. Will happily stay there again. July 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel A clean and well run hotel with friendly and polite staff. July 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A very good hotel The rooms are nice, I like personally the design used. Wished Rooibos would be also available. iHome is great and TV works fast. Restaurant is standard, nothing special but ok. The beach area is a great idea. Prices are reasonable. Gym is good, I especially like the two cross trainers.vwishlist is a proper sauna someday... Pool is one of the best in airport proximity hotels. Breakfast is ok, again missing Rooibos. Also showing clearly what is low-lactose and non-lactose would be nice (should be available). The layout of the breakfast area is somewhat bit strange (bread is 10 m away from cheese and ham), but one gets used to that pretty quick. Had no issues with the wireless internet, and beed was good quality. Sleep quality was ok (taking into account that the planes took off less than 2km away), ask for a room not facing the parking lot. Otherwise first planes take off at 5:30 and last at 23:30. July 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Restaurant Restaurant was closed; only option was to eat at the bar and the quality of the food was very poor. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by extraordinary The only problem with my most recent stay at the holiday Inn Brussels Airport is it wasn't long enough! I needed more time to fully enjoy the "beach", the gym, the pool, and the sauna! I'll be back. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Hotel caose to the Airport I would definitely staty at this hotel again, given the location was in my travel plans. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Responsive, friendly staff I frequently travel in and out of Brussels and use this Holiday Inn. The staff always goes out of its way to accommodate my needs and ensure my comfort. Getting the shuttle to and from the airport sometimes can be a challenge but that is the only (very minor) negative I have about this facility. June 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not a bad stay but did not enjoy it Was given a nice room to begin with. Did not get recognised for being Platinum member during the check in. Was staying in a room with a door separating the other. On my last night in the hotel, there was a couple making noises throughout the night. Was given complimentary taxi which was good. Food was not up to the mark. A busy hotel but small things may be missed out. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great transitional hotel After several weeks on the road in France, staying at B June 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Roach Infested Inadequate from Cuban waiter at restaurant in the lobby. We were removed from the restaurant our crew of 16, although we had a long duty day and was exhausted from flying. One crew member never received order and waited over 45 minutes before waiter acknowledge that order was not available . Restaurant close at 10pm no food was available for crew. My room was dirty , hair was found in the shower and on floors. Found a roach crawling on shower curtain contacted maintenance , he came and got roach , says this sometimes happens , was not offered by staff to change room. Very poor customer service , several wake up calls. June 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Brussels Airport - do not visit / stay Abnormal hotel staff, not sensative to Gold Members June 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good hotel to stay As mentioned earlier Courtesy of the restaurant staff is bad Breakfast is not good, stale food One of the days, there were no electricity in the restaurants and no one bothered to inform the reason, none of the equipment, coffee machine, toaster etc were working The restaurant was very noisy, the staff did not know how to clean plates, as they make constant noise the tables were not cleaned and guest have to inform staff to clean June 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Some improvements, some disappointments I have about 15 nights stay at this location over the past twelve months and on the seventh floor, the hallway wear was significant with stains from possibly someone being I'll, cracked mirrors, dented and scratch walls. Additionally, my first room the air wasn't working so I had to move. The last disappointment was being forced to eat breakfast in the bar because "other guest" received priority in the restaurant while I didn't. As a IHG Gold+, I received no recognition. On a positive, the dinner menu is a drastic improvement ! June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel but get sharper bar staff This is a good hotel to use for business in the airport area as the hotel offers everything at a good price however on my last visit the bar staff were poor, bad service at he bar, forgetting to order food and so on. This is an exception as it is usually very good. June 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by should double check the rate when you check in The staff work in the front dest do not speak good English. So if you book your room with no breakfast included. please do not try the breakfast there. Its cost 23 Euro per person per time. June 9, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen
Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Front Desk Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Entrance - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Hotel Lobby - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading