• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MECHELEN
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+01:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Indonesian
  6. Dutch

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are not allowed. Only guide dogs

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
St. Rombouts Cathedral
Distance From Hotel:0.3KM
Attraction:
Castle Margaretha from Austria
Distance From Hotel:0.5KM
Attraction:
Toy museum
Distance From Hotel:0.7KM
Attraction:
Nekkerhallen (Exhibit Center)
Distance From Hotel:2.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:22
  • Car Parking Available
  • Price shown is per car per day.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  EUR)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:69
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:63
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel.

Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary Continental
View More

Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel.

Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary Continental breakfast at our brand new buffet.

Located halfway between both Brussels and Antwerp, Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is an ideal stop-off point. In Mechelen itself, the offices of Proctor & Gamble and Dupont are a short drive away. You can invite colleagues to gather in our air-conditioned meeting room.

Mechelen's scenic town square is a couple of minutes' walk from the hotel. You can take in the Gothic and medieval buildings, including St Rumbold's Cathedral. If you're a cyclist, you'll be able to stow your bike in our secured storage area after you've enjoyed rides around the city.

Help yourself to the complimentary Continental breakfast buffet at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, and linger over coffee. Our new trendy hotel bar opens out onto a pretty terrace and is open 24 hours a day. Free Wi-Fi Internet is available throughout the entire hotel.

View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is a good-value Mechelen hotel. Enjoy a tasty complimentary breakfast, as well as complimentary high-speed Internet throughout the hotel. Our city-centre location means less spending on taxis and trains.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 123 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at Holiday Inn Brussel Airport Nice hotel with good room layout. Breakfast expense for value. November 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Misleading name - Not at the airport This hotel includes the word Airport in its name. But it is not at all near the airport, it is located in an industrial area, so the name is highly misleading. You will have to use a taxi to go between the airport and this hotel, which will cost you fifteen to twenty euros each way. They say that they have a free airport shuttle. But it runs only in the mornings and in the evenings. Despite this hotel is far from any area with restaurants it does not have a proper restaurant in operation all days. In my room I had to choose between temperatures of 25-27 oC (by heater of American type) or no heater at all (15-19 oC), since the heater's temp regulation did not work. I changed to another hotel in the IHG family after the first day. October 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New food in restaurant Have been staying in this hotel for many years now.more recently I can see there has been some focus for quality of food in the restaurant. Ate twice in there last week, very good both times ! October 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel an d convenient for airport Very comfortable and well kept. Staff provides great service. Easy to catch shuttle to/from airport, takes about 10 minutes - be sure to check schedule as it runs at set times in the morning and evening. Quiet and has food available in fridge in lobby in case you need late-night food and the restaurant is closed. I've stayed here twice and will stay again if I travel through. October 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Near the airport I guess airport hotels are only designed for an overnight stay but I was there for a week for a conference. The room is comfortable and the hotel is in walking distance of the Diegem train station. The bar is tiny and soulless and the restaurant is totally soulless and gloomy. A good breakfast but always overwhelmed by airline crew who are there by the dozen. I've been there several times and one day they might finally fix the lift! October 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average Average Staff not interested in providing a good customer experience - Bartenders arguing in front of customers Waiters cleaning dishes vey loudly in dining area Large 'American' breakfast was a glorified continental bkfast Room was nice , beds comfortable but price and experience don't match October 21, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Cold, damp, dirty... I've stayed at this hotel before on one of the upper floors and my recollection is that the stay was absolutely fine. On this occasion i was given a room with 2 double beds rather than the standard room id booked and this meant i was placed in a room on the ground floor along one of the least appealing corridors i've ever walked through in a hotel. My room was cold as i entered and I soon realised why, the room in question was at the end of the hotel so had 2 outside walls... one of which had a very bad and clearly visible damp problem. The air conditioner/ heater was situated very near the damp area and was woefully inadequate to heat the room either due to the ambient cold temperature or poor placement of thermostat, so having turned it on to make the room warmer, i just ended up with a very warm corner of the room, and the rest (especially the bathroom) freezing. Following that unpleasant find, and the generally unwelcoming and unrelaxing nature of the room i began to notice the poor refurbishment and poor repair of the room... and then to top it all the lack of cleanliness. The lights were so gloomy that it was hard to tell if the room had been cleaned very well but when i saw the cobwebs (spiders webs) i wondered if id been put in a room that was hardly ever used. There were cobwebs everywhere, i counted 4 large and dirty ones, before i stopped looking... It was around 1am at this point and i needed rest and didn't have time for a discussion at reception, I assumed the cleanliness would be solved the next day and i would speak to reception on my return from the office. So I went to bed, and slept badly due to the either very hot or very cold room depending on whether the heater kicked in... When i returned from the office the next evening my room was not cleaned, that is to say all the cobwebs were still in place, and it was of course still cold and damp due to the poor heating. When i made a representation to reception about the state of my room (photos in hand) i was immediately moved down the corridor to an identical room (minus the damp and cobwebs), this solved the problem, but the replacement room was still pretty unpleasant and when you consider the price there is a mismatch. So what id say about this hotel is that its inconsistent, there is a lack of attention to detail and clearly an issue with cleaning. The staff are very helpful but it seems understaffed otherwise these issues wouldn't happen in the first place. Photos attached. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Transport from airport & Dinner service Shuttle or bus until 22:30 and available dinner all night at reception hall. Staff amability. Comfortable rooms. October 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by a good place to stay A comfortable room with good facilities. The hotel was quiet despite being fairly crowded and close to airport. Only difficulty was that shuttle service does not run all day. October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Brussels Airport Hotel, more yhen you expect. The Holiday Inn hotel in Brussels airport is close to the airport, but not so close that you suffer from disturbing traffic. You can hear the take off of the airplanes sometimes, but not really disturbing. I use the hotel because it is also close to the office area of Diegem where most Global companies have their HQ for Belgium or Europe. In the evening after rush hour you are in the city center within 10-12 minutes drive. The rooms are rather big, flat screen TV with an enormous number of channels, simple bathroom good desk to do some work, or write reviews for hotels. The Gym and Swimming pool (indoor) are good and as far as I know included in the price Staff is very friendly and multilingual. Restaurant has a good chose in fish, meat and pasta's. One drawback and that is that it is situated in a non Window area, so better not have a romantic dinner with your partner.... October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BED GREAT HOTEL THE STAFF EXCELLENT ONE OF THE BEST HOTELS IVE STAYED IN BELGIUM THANKS ONCE AGAIN CHEERS. October 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Clean professional Hi Guys Overall a pleasent experience Evening meals lets the team down badly. Poor menu, slow service, poor quality food. Sorry guys but this is the chink in your otherwise respectable armour. BR October 13, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Shocked business traveler This was the second time I was staying at this hotel and while my first stay (10 months before) was a very pleasant experience this one was the complete opposite. My overall review is very negative because of the following points: 1. The hallway carpet on my room floor (2nd floor) was extremely dirty with food and beverage stains all over the floor especially in front of rooms. It looked more like what I'd expect from a cheap motel. 2. The frames of the doors to several of the rooms were badly banged with chipped paint and scrapes on them and again lending to the overall cheap motel look 3. While the room itself looked very clean I was completely petrified when I saw a COCKROACH, yes a live cockroach in the bathroom. And that was pretty much it. I couldn't believe how much worse this could get but wait there was more: 4. The next morning (luckily I was only here for one night) during breakfast there were flies (I saw two) in the dining area not just flying around but feasting on the food. I noticed them and I am sure there were others who did too. I was waiting for IHG to contact me for feedback on the hotel but all I received was an invitation to write this review. Unfortunate as it may be I have to tell you as it. Btw, I have taken photographs of the hallway floor, the banged door frames and yes even the cockroach. Please contact me if you're interested. October 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good for short business stay, service staff could be better I stayed for a short business trip. Overall, satisfied with the stay for its value for money. Comfortable rooms just-right for single business travellers. But was disappointed with the courtesy of the staff at the time of check-in and before that while waiting for room to be ready. October 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not interested not so good . will not use again. very poor rooms aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa a a ad fs Fwef September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay Hotel has modern and clean feel. rooms are comfortable, clean and functional. The hotel is quiet and sleep rewarding. Restaurant and F September 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great hotel with a great staff. Charlie's is an excellent restaurant. I'd highly recommend this hotel September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Service If you want to experience amazing service when in Brussels, stay at the Holiday Inn Brussels Airport. September 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Stay A comfortable hotel with friendly staff and very convenient.for the office September 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy to access from motorway and a modern and up to date hotel Very comfortable overnight stay where I booked two rooms for my family. Check in was efficient as was check out but be prepared to wait for evening bar meals and service but the wait was worth it especially for the excellent pizza. August 17, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and reasonably priced hotel BUT with RUDE RECEPTION STAFF I have stayed here in August and I must say that the overall hotel is pleasant. Hotel - The guest room is quite clean. All the basic amenities are available, with free wifi and comfortable bed and pillows. The guest room is also spacious with good lighting. Customer Service - I had the worst customer service experience. My check in was fairly fine, though needs some improvement. I have seen better service when the staff explains the amenities available, how to set up your wifi, etc. The WORST that happened was during CHECKOUT. I checked out on 7 August and the reception staff (Male- forgot his name) was so rude that while on queue, he told me along these lines on a loud voice "Can you back off!? Can't you see I am still serving this guy in front of you?" So I tried to explain my self and say "Oh, I thought he's done because he already moved away (to the right) of the reception desk." But the reception staff still continued and told me "No! He's not finished yet!" On an early morning, the rudeness of the staff has seriously destroyed my day. I felt embarrassed as I was shouted in front of several other customers. YOU SHOULD TRAIN YOUR STAFF ON COURTESY. SHUTTLE SERVICE - It is 2 out of 3. On our last day, we were picked through a complimentary taxi service but the same rude reception staff did not give the voucher to the taxi operator and we end up paying for the fare instead. This was not the case on the first 2 days stay when the reception. I think there is really something wrong with this guy. Overall, other than the poor customer service, I am pleased with my stay. However, I don't think I will be staying in the same hotel should I go back to Brussels. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect family short getaway! Enjoyed a lovely stopover in Brussels with family in 2 interconnecting rooms. Very nice design, good location and friendly welcome. August 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, shuttle timetable sould be extended Excellent hotel good service. However the shuttle timetable between Brussels Airport and the hotel should be extented either in the morning either at night, giving more flexibility and value for money spent at this property. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great airport hotel I booked this hotel as I had to catch an early flight. I can only say that my stay made sure that I was really relaxed in the morning. The bed was very good, the room was dark enough to sleep and the shuttle to and from the airport were as good as it could be. August 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Reception Staff needs training in dealing with customers respectfully The hotel does not recognize IHG Platinum status. The reception staff have an attitude of I don't care. They are rude and disrespectful. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Holiday Inn at Brussels Airport Usually I stay only one or two nights but this time I was staying six nights. After an eight hour drive to get there it was kinda nice to be greeted with a smile and before I knew it I was checked in and sitting at the bar having my first beer. We were, in total, a group of 18 people all of whom had given up their week end to participate in a company inhouse training. We ate outside on the terrasse and the combination tapa's were off a high quality and the staff serving us were efficient and friendly. Breakfast in this hotel is good. A choice of continental or full on bacon beans on toast. Fresh fruits and yoguart readily available. Internet access day one was great but tends to become slow and on/off after the first day. There are PC's on the ground floor that one can use. Throughout the course of the next five days, everything was just as it should be. Effecient and good. No problem recommending this hotel to any weary traveller. Despite being right at the Airport, the rooms are quiet and the bed and pillows excellent. Thank you Holiday Inn. Until the next time. Tommy. August 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Acceptable Airport Hotel but not up to IHG standards I have stayed here a few times now while on business in the area. My stay this week will probably be the last as i will try to explain... Front entrance is spacious and quite impressive. The reception staff are variable depending on who you get and what time of day it is. For this particular stay a young lady called joanne was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. Other staff should learn from this girl. The rooms are a reasonable size with flat screen TV, work desk, free wifi and the usual bedroom amenities. What is difficult to understand is the difference between a standard room and a superior room. My last stay was in standard, this stay was in superior... the rooms were identical!!!! The pool and gm are a good size but certainly not health club standards. The gym is equipped with enough equipment to have a decent workout. The pool and sauna area is again a good size but looking a little tired now and in need of a facelift. There were some dubious looking stains in the jacuzzi and old towels lying around in the sauna area. The area to the back of the pool near the windows is tatty, looking out onto an unkempt lawn area. As i usually have to work into the evening i usually take room service so i can eat and work. The room service staff are ALWAYS unhelpful and in some circumstances quite rude. Despite the IHG website stating 24hr room service it is not. The in room menu which can be found on the TV is limited and also states available from 09:00 to 22:30. I suggest going back to a good old fashioned paper menu in the room as genrally the kitchen will prepare anything on the bar menu. This is in stark contrast to the "digital" menu on the TV. Today I was hungry having eaten very little after a 04:00 start, so i spent 10 mins trying to get through, only to be told the kitchen would not open until 18:00 before having the phone put down on me! If you advertise 24hr room service you need to provide it!!! you also need to retrain your staff AGAIN in how to treat your customers!!!! As there are limited eating options in the immediate vicinity one must put up with these issues... I am quite loyal to the IHG chain but as there are hotels in the area which offer a similar or even higher standard for less cost i am unlikely to stay here again for the forseeable future. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Atitude of Staff I have recently stayed for 4 1/2 weeks in the Brussels Airport Hoilday Inn whilst I relocated from the UK to Brussels. Throughout my stay I found the staff extremely helpful and accommodating, in particular the reception staff and specficilly Yannick who when I had a problem with the shuttle runs to & from NATO (the Taxi(s) didn't turn up!) and on one occasion got completely soaked through, take care of my needs and resolved the situation to my satisfaction. I would like to take this opportunity to thank him for making my stay a pleasent one. Regards Paul August 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Short bed and very bad service I am not quite happy about the design of the hotel. The reception is really inside the compound. You have to walk through the parking lot to get to the reception. Secondly, only 1 person managing the reception which is very inefficient. Customers would end up queuing and waiting to get in, so the check in process is not at all smooth. The rooms are not sound proof. I could hear the customer talking next door. I am about 175cms, which is not tall enough, and my legs come out of the bed while sleeping. I have never had this problem elsewhere, mind you I travel a lot, I have been to hotels elsewhere but never has such a thing ever occurred. To request for any service at the reception was a pain as you end up queuing for your chance. I really don't understand how come such a huge hotel has only 1 person managing the reception. Is it normal? Food at the restaurant was pathetic and over rated. Only saving grace, I believe, were the amenities that kept me going. A pool, jacuzzi, gym helped me relax after a long day's work. To be honest, I will not want to come back to this place except for the amenities. August 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Verlängertes Weekend Wir waren zu dem Zeitraum in Belgien als das Festival stattfand. So wurde ein Extraraum eingerichtet für das Frühstück, für die Festivalbesucher. Die Auswahl des Frühstücks war nicht besonders, dreckige Tischdecken wurden nicht gewechselt. Zimmer wurde nicht gereinigt. Für ein 4 Sterne Hotel haben wir mehr erwartet. Positiv können wir sagen, dass wir noch einen Extratag nicht über den Festivalveranstalter gebucht haben und hier sah das Frühstücksangebot ganz anders aus, sowie die Sauberkeit der Tische. July 30, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Front Desk - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen
Front Desk - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen
Select to close.
Front Desk - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Entrance - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-29-2014)
Check Availability
Loading