• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MECHELEN
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT+02:00

Check In: 2:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 2:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:1
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Spanish
  4. French
  5. Indonesian
  6. Dutch

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pets are not allowed. Only guide dogs

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
St. Rombouts Cathedral
Distance From Hotel:0.3KM
Attraction:
Castle Margaretha from Austria
Distance From Hotel:0.5KM
Attraction:
Toy museum
Distance From Hotel:0.7KM
Attraction:
Nekkerhallen (Exhibit Center)
Distance From Hotel:2.0KM

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:22
  • Car Parking Available
  • Price shown is per car per day.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  EUR)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:69
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:63
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:1
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel.

Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary continental
View More

Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel.

Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary continental breakfast at our brand new buffet.

Located halfway between both Brussels and Antwerp, Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is an ideal stop-off point. In Mechelen itself, the offices of Proctor & Gamble and Dupont are a short drive away. You can invite colleagues to gather in our air-conditioned meeting room.

Mechelen's scenic town square is a couple of minutes' walk from the hotel. You can take in the Gothic and medieval buildings, including St Rumbold's Cathedral. If you're a cyclist, you'll be able to stow your bike in our secured storage area after you've enjoyed rides around the city.

Help yourself to the complimentary continental breakfast buffet at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, and linger over coffee. Our new trendy hotel bar opens out onto a pretty terrace and is open 24 hours a day. Free Wi-Fi Internet is available throughout the entire hotel.

View Less
Features
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is a good-value Mechelen hotel. Enjoy a tasty complimentary breakfast, as well as complimentary high-speed Internet throughout the hotel. Our city-centre location means less spending on taxis and trains.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 101 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not great Failed on a number of points Broken TV in room No WIFI in room as it was not working Poor quality iron provided March 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente relación calidad - precio Conseguimos un buenísimo precio al realizar la reserva con bastante antelación y ser miembros de Welcome Rewards. La ubicación del hotel es perfecta, cercano al metro para ir al centro (3 paradas) y del autobus que lleva al aeropuerto, así como de otras atracciones como la comisión y el parlamento europeos o el arco del cinquentenario. La habitación asignada a la llegada fue espaciosa y con cama de tamaño king muy cómoda; el único inconveniente es que estaba adaptada para minusválidos, por lo que no poseía plato de ducha o bañera, sino directamente el grifo y el propio suelo del baño. También habría agradecido que el wifi fuese gratuito para los socios de Welcome Rewards como en el resto de continentes, pero en Europa habrá que esperar hasta Julio para tenerlo. February 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GOOD VALUE AT WEEKENDS As the area is dead when the bureaucrats leave town, take advantage of this conveniently located hotel. The movie package is good but needs updating as it hasn't changed for over a year! February 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Gutes Hotel, aber Lift langsam und Frühstück mittelmäßig Gutes Hotel, aber Lift langsam und Frühstück mittelmäßig; die Loby könnte attraktiver gestaltet werden. Die Lage ist für die Europäischen Institutionen ideal. February 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and great service I originally chose this hotel due to it's location with closeness to airport bus stop, meeting locations, and a large park. I have returned several times, and as the hotel has been renovated over the last year it has become even better. Staff is very helpful, breakfast ok, rooms comfortable and now there is free wifi throughout. I'll be back! February 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 4 day biz trip Very friendly staff, very clean room with up-to-date furniture and window towards back of the hotel (=silent) on 7th floor, allowing to relax. Would definitely choose it again! February 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Kalt Das Zimmer war ausgekühlt (eiskalt), es gibt keinen Heizkörper, die Klimaanlage hat es grad mal bis zur Früh geschafft, die Temparatur auf ein erträgliches Niveau zu bringen. February 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent location easy access to every place I was able to walk to metro and is one block from the airport buss stop February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Empfehlenswert Das Hotel glänzt durch seine Mitarbeiter in allen Bereichen. Die Nähe zu Metro und dem EP verkürzt die Wege, January 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good business hotel Convenient for the Commission and Schuman area offices. Hotel comfortable but lacks character. January 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Ein gutes Hotel Ein ruhiges Hotel mit kurzen Wegen zur Metro und dadurch schnelle Anbindung in das Zentrum. Sehr freundliches Personal, sauber unruhig, Es ist zu empfehlen. Die Nähe zum Europaparlament und nicht zu vergessen zum Maisen Antoine ist sehr von Vorteil. January 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place Friendly reception, quiet bedroom, good breakfast, excellent location, food available for latecomers. January 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman The room was clean, nice staff and service. The wireless internet was not for free and terrible slow. Its crazy you have to pay an internet fee nowadays. I had to use the tv internet instead which costs me another 5 bucks. The hotel is located in a business area, so dont expect something special. The best part is free parking during the weekends. This saved me 24 bucks. January 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel It is in a good location very close to Schuman metro station and ideal for people in need for a place to stay near the European Commission buildings. It is very close to Autoworld as well. The room is average size and some things need to be changed. the internet and tv stopped working several times during my three days stay and the elevator is very slow. The breakfast is excellent and offers a great variety of options. January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location near EU/Belgium Parliament Quaint little hotel located within walking distance of the European Union and Belgium Parliament. Reasonably accessible to public transit options. The Grand Place and other tourist destinations are within reasonable walk but if you are looking to be close to the more traditional tourist destinations, this property may not be for you. If you are looking to split your time between the more touristy destinations and the more business/government destinations, this hotel is excellent. Several local eating establishments nearby - excellent food! Most close relatively early (8pm) so be sure to plan for that. In hotel dining was reasonably priced and quality. Very convenient for later dining. January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly environment & great service The hotel's location is convenient both for access to direct transport to the central town. The rooms, staff, service and food is great. The hotel is quiet and convenient for all occasions including retreats and reflection. January 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff It is a shame that the Hotel website still shows the lobby as it was, with the Picasso prints, rather than the very bland pictures it now displays - not sure I like the photos of modern buildings, even though the EU buildings are nearby, it makes it look like an impersonal conference room. The bedroom was a reasonable size although the ONE armchair was wedged in next to the bed so that sitting in it was not comfortable. The bathroom was a good size although the sink was placed in the middle of the counter which meant leaning a long way over to keep water from splashing every where. Not impressed by the coffee machine or the quality of coffee provided - water was not very hot and if you wanted to use alternative tea bags it was not possible. You also had to keep topping up the water yourself with no jug provided. We found a pile of sheets and duvets when we arrived and had to make up the bed ourselves. This was rectified after a complaint but we still found the system of having to unfurl the duvet and spread it out every night strange. On the plus side after complaining action was taken and we were given a complimentary drink voucher (for 1 drink between the two of us). There were no drawers in the room and the hanging wardrobe had a fuse box in it so that there was only room to hang 2 coats properly. The TV volume was very limited making it very difficult to hear the TV across the room. We booked the room as part of a package and paid extra for a superior room. As far as I can see the only superior part was the espresso machine which was not wonderful - rather have had a kettle. Be warned the nearest Metro is being renovated and has about 70 concrete steps - OK if you like climbing stairs. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice available. January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location This hotel is tucked away in a street which is really close to Schuman station and EU district. Lots of restaurants nearby. Walking distance from Brussels Central (if you like walking). Close to a really beautiful park as well. The hotel is small but what it lacks in amenities and looks, it makes up with the location. January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 convenient location Good location near metro. Very quit in the hotel. When we entered the room at 23.00 room was not made. Lobby is not very cosy December 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel close to the Metro Small and very nice Holiday Inn, very close to the metro station Schumann. Staff is very friendly and helpful, very good breakfast. I got one of the renovated rooms, which was of excellent quality. December 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend in Brussels Hotel is in a good location, decor is dated and there a only basic facilities. Mr room had a TV with no sound and the hotel could not solve this. November 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 3.5 nice place, for the price i had expected to check in around noon, i knew it was early but i figured it would be ok. Well, my plane arrived 2 hrs early and customs let us out in minutes so i arrived around 10am. by the way if you jump on the airport bus (12/or 21) it takes you literally 3 blocks away from the hotel so it was very easy to navigate to ** but you need euros in coins to by the ticket at the machines fyi.** and the train station is around the corner to take you into the city center which was about 4 stops away very easy place to stay and transit between. So we go inside at 10 am, i was pretty sure the minute I got in they would say no its to early and thats exactly what happened. She told us to return around 2pm, but after she realized I was a gold member she said 12pm. Which was fine, we had plans to go around the city anyway we just wanted to drop our stuff off. And it seems everyone else checking in that day did the same thing, the front desk had at least 20bags they were holding, and quite a few people sitting around looking bored. So we headed out and came back a little while later, a bit early but at 1130 we had a room. I noticed a week before coming to Brussels my reservation had been upgraded, but I was staying with friends on a different reservation and they asked if we wanted to be next to each other at check in so I got downgraded to what I had originally paid for which by the way was a very cute room, small space but it was nice even the bathroom was spacious considering its size. The best part... there were 2 blankets on the bed for 2 people. I HATE sharing either someone gets sheets or the blankets and we had 2 fluffy comforters. Which made up for the lack of rooms at 10am. seriously the little things that can make someone happy :) We checked out early, around 730am with no issues, didnt try the breakfast but i thought it was a bit overpriced anyway 15 euros a person for cold items is a little high. Overall i did enjoy my stay, and would stay here again if ever in Brussels. November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Simple but very good, cheap during weekends Looking at the prices during the week, this hotel is very expensive because of the accesibility to the European Parliament etc... However, during the weekend the hotel functions excellent for relaxation. Upon arrival, I was upgraded to a business room. They are very comfortable and up to date. Breakfast is very nice, with a variety of warm and cold foods to choose from. As with most IHG properties, book your breakfast in advance, as this is much cheaper than on site. Location is good to visit some places, but not all. (Close to Parlamentarium, Jubelpark etc.) A metro line very close will take you to the Nieuwstraat in less than 10 min. November 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice front desk and housekeeping staff and a horrible breakfast attendant. We arrived early and were accommodated with an early check in. In the meanwhile we were invited to have breakfast until our room became available. Elly ; the breakfast attendant was rude, not welcoming and stared at us every time we went to get something, if was not a very comfortable look. The wifi did not work until the afternoon and the signal kept coming and going. The room was comfortable but would not return to this property , overall my worst experience yet at an IHG property. November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great personnel Very friendly staff. Rooms are renovated very nice. November 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by wi-fi fee To pay for a wi-fi internet access in a not-budget hotel is unusual and unfair. The cost for the hotelis negligible so the fee is only a way to take advantage of a need of (most of) the clients. sincerely November 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, central hotel Staff very helpful and friendly at this well located hotel; some problems with the lift were expertly handled by the staff who ensured the minimum of disruption to my stay. Room spacious, quiet and clean. Would return. November 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Centrally located and good night sleep The hotel is relatively small, but well located in the European buildings area. It provided good night sleep. wifi in the room is paid, but it has free access in the lobby. Network was good enough to have a Skype talk. October 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Basic Very basic room. Surprised to have to pay for many TV channels. surprised to have to pay for wifi in room. October 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Awesome first visit to Brussels We had two days in Brussels and were concerned about a good location and a place to get rest when needed. The staff at this hotel could not be anymore generous and accommodating to our needs. From the time we checked in to the time we left, the staff took care of every request we had and good directions to where we wanted to go. This hotel is very conveniently located and the room was clean, quiet, and well stocked. Thanks to everyone for a great visit to your city from the couple from Alabama, USA! October 16, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen
Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Front Desk - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen Entrance - Holiday Inn Express Mechelen
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Stay for Less
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-26-2014)
Check Availability
Loading