• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MEMPHIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sun's Recording Studio
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Liberty Bowl Stadium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Orpheum Theatre
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
National Civil Rights Museum
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • No charge for parking/open lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:125
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:81
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:95
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Midtown Memphis, Tennessee

Let us welcome you to Memphis and spoil you with our Southern hospitality while you are lodging at our Midtown Memphis, TN hotel that is located close to I-240 and is just minutes from downtown Memphis. The hotel property is adjacent to Methodist University Hospital and near nine other major medical centers.

Leisure travelers will love our close proximity to downtown Memphis with Beale Street, the
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Midtown Memphis, Tennessee

Let us welcome you to Memphis and spoil you with our Southern hospitality while you are lodging at our Midtown Memphis, TN hotel that is located close to I-240 and is just minutes from downtown Memphis. The hotel property is adjacent to Methodist University Hospital and near nine other major medical centers.

Leisure travelers will love our close proximity to downtown Memphis with Beale Street, the Peabody Ducks, Mud Island and Graceland just minutes away. Our Union Street access also means it's just a short drive to the FedEx Forum or AutoZone Park, which are the perfect locations for a family day trip.

Business travelers will appreciate our midtown Memphis hotel's easy access to I-240, I-55 and I-40. Our hotel is just eight miles from Memphis International Airport, and the Amtrak Station is two miles away. Our premium business amenities include a Business Center and free Internet access.

This newly renovated Memphis hotel offers you unparalleled hotel services. You'll enjoy our Southern charm as much as the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in our inviting rooms. With a fitness center and outdoor pool, you'll feel completely at home. We also offer a special rate for guests with a loved one at Methodist Hospital. Call our choice hotel in Memphis, Tennessee today, and take advantage of our great hotel deals and rates.

View Less
Features
Our Midtown Memphis, Tennessee hotel offers you the best location in the city. Close to the Interstates, major Memphis airports and the medical district, we're all about location.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 75 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service There were only 2 issues. 1. The bathroom has no fan/vent 2. I was told they wouldn't hold a fee each night for incidentals by 3 different people only to find out that they did actually hold money. The guy at the desk did reduce the fees though. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Service! My stay at the Holiday Inn-Univ of Memphis was nothing less than amazing! Thanks to staff members Lamarcus and Latricia, I encountered the most enjoyable stay at a hotel in my life. This is an all-suite hotel and offers a spectacular Kemmons Wilson Museum on the second floor; two more reasons why my experience at the Holiday Inn-Univ of Memphis was nothing less than amazing. Check-in with Lamarcus was seamless; his professionalism and friendly demeanor was a great introduction to the property. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and clean upon arrival. Before getting settled in, I went down to the grill for the Sunday special, chicken philly and fries. Latricia created magic on the grill. Instead of taking my dinner to my room, Latricia's personality compelled me to dine downstairs at the grill. To complete my amazing stay, before going to bed, I perused the Kemmon's Wilson museum located inside the hotel. I was inspired, educated, and compelled while reading all that the Father of the Holiday Inn brand had done in his life. I will stay here again and will recommend it to any and everyone looking for accommodations in Memphis, TN. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and excellent guest service I really appreciate the service and staff at the Holiday Inn. The food was great and the suite we stayed in was clean and efficient. I would honestly suggest this hotel for overnight stays. July 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Front desk would not acknowledge my priority club platinum status even after I reminded them. The hotel was empty.- no upgrade, no thank you. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Experience Very clean and attractive hotel. Staff went above and beyond to make out stay as comfortable as possible. We left with a great impression of the hotel and staff. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable with great service The room was very comfortable, clean and provided easy access in the mid-town area. July 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by College students just don't clean well I think the hotel staff is predominantly made up of college students. The room was not very clean and the staff I saw that should have been cleaning rooms seemed to be busy on their cell phones. The beds were comfortable. The shuttle was great. The business center was nice and provided paper and printer. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk was helpful to find a place to eat. Surprised that the were two separate rooms. Very nice stay. June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location - Poor Value The location of this Holiday Inn is perfect for our purposes but the beds are extremely uncomfortable, the price is higher than its competitors, our room was not cleaned even though we left the hotel in plenty of time for it to be done June 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Time for new mattresses This was my third stay at this facility, primarily because it is a convenient location and I considered it a good value. Unfortunately, the mattress was worn out, the AC not efficient, and I couldn't get my morning coffee from either the in-room coffee maker, which wasn't working, or the lobby coffee service which emptied out quickly. It seemed slow and staff seemed too complacent. June 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No pool! The hotel is very convenient to the University of Memphis, and that is what sold us on staying there. Otherwise, we would have chosen a hotel with a pool and laundry facilities. We were surprised at the small size of the suite, but it worked for us, and we appreciated the micro and minifridge. I marked it down on cleanliness because the carpet was very dirty. We were on third floor, where a conference or banquet happened almost every evening, which provided entertainment for the kids. If you want a quieter stay, I'd suggest a different floor. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised accomadations The hotel was very beautiful.. interior looks like a museum. Tastefully filled with artifacts. trivia, pictures, and quotes. The sitting room is a huge plus included in the rate of the suite. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, All-suite hotel Enjoyed my stay and the convenient location. The suite was set up nicely and would be comfortable for a small family. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Customer Service Thank you! The view was beautiful and the room was very nice! June 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful clean hotel, bed too soft Overall stay was great. Bed was too soft, but I find that to be true of most hotels. Would stay here again in a heart beat. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and great breakfast!! We spent a Friday night in the Holiday Inn-University of Memphis. We've stayed there several times and each time has been just fine. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Very good - with an omelet station where you can have omelets made to your liking. Very good stay. June 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, comfortable bed and excellent service. I was very much pleased with the cleanliness, comfort, and service at your Hotel. I was made to feel like a king. I was there for my graduation, and you made it extra special. I will be back someday. Again thank May 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, almost fantastic service The rooms were perfect, pillows super soft, and beds oh so comfortable. The lobby was a great place for my family to relax and hang out all afternoon. Everything was perfect. Except for one thing. We attended the graduation ceremony for the University of Memphis on Saturday at 10am. We got back to the hotel just a few minutes past 1pm and we were STARVING! We had 12 people, and were going to go through the buffet. Everything on the food line looked awesome. The restaurant worker seemed very reluctant to even talk to us when they told us that they stopped refreshing the buffet at 1pm. We told them that was not a problem at all, and that we could just eat what was there. But they were quite simply rude and unenthused with the idea of us staying. They acted like they just wanted us to go somewhere else so they could go home. So we went somewhere else to eat. Everything else was absolutely wonderful about our stay. But because of the restaurant workers, this hotel lost some business. May 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 No upgrade Used points, but no upgrades & no acknowledgment of priority club status. May 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disarray As I went to my room, I found visibly nasty laundry piled outside the door. Upon entry, I saw what I thought was a robe thrown over a chair and was afraid I'd keyed into a room that was still occupied. Thankfully, it wasn't. The "robe" was bedding from an unmade bed. There were dirty towels and washcloths piled in the bathroom and the tub had about three inches of standing dirty water. I went downstairs and the apologetic clerk assigned a different room and gave me a coupon for 2 free breakfasts, even though I was staying alone. When I asked for credit toward an evening meal, I was told that wasn't possible. When I finally reached the second room, I tried phoning the restaurant for room service; I reached the same desk clerk who said she could connect me but promptly disconnected me instead. By this time, I was ready to just call for pizza delivery but could find no telephone books in the room. And the "security tips" placard on the nightstand led me to believe that maybe that wasn't the best idea. So I walked back downstairs to the restaurant and placed my order for room service. The next morning I discovered the wall-mounted hair dryer didn't work. At checkout, a second desk clerk apologized, and, after negotiation, reduced my bill -- but only for the cost of one uneaten breakfast, not two. I will not recommend this establishment to friends, but will caution them to stay elsewhere if possible. May 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great House keeping Service, Nice Rooms, Quite Had room with separate sitting room and sleeper sofa. The beds were very comfortable, sleeper sofa was also comfortable. Need linens for the sleeper sofa as there were none in the room. One call to House keeping and they were there very quickly with everything needed and brought back an extra blanket. Real friendly. There is on onsite restaurant but not it is not open on Sunday, wish that was made clear up front. The room had a room service menu and that was it. No information on the hotel and it's facilities or the local area in the room, something that is oretty standard in most hotels. The front desk did provide a list of restaurants in the area that was very helpful. I will stay here again when in the area. May 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best Holiday Inn Ever! I travel extensively for my job. 50% of the time, I'm on the road. My responsibilities are nation-wide, and since I stay at Holiday Inns exclusively, I see a lot of them. The Holiday Inn-University is, without a doubt, the best Holiday Inn that I've ever stayed at. It's a beautiful facility, far more contemporary than most of the hotels in the Holiday Inn group. My recent four-day stay was absolutely wonderful, from start to finish. I'd called ahead to arrange for the hotel's airport shuttle. My flights were delayed several times, but the hotel tracked their status and I couldn't believe it when I walked out of the airport and found the shuttle waiting for me, a welcome sight after a tedious day of travel. The driver even greeted me by name. BTW...both of the shuttle drivers that I encountered were absolutely wonderful. Either could host their own late-night TV show. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and attentive. They were happy, almost eager, to provide insight into the sights and activities available in Memphis. The housekeeping staff was courteous, conscientious and efficient. But the best part of my stay was the hotel's restaurant. It was far superior to any Holiday Inn in-house restaurant that I have experienced in the past. The dinner menu and the quality of preparation far surpassed my expectations. This was completely unexpected, as the hotel is situated in a city known for its dining. The prices were very modest, given the quality of the meal, a welcome change for one constrained by an employer's expense policy. Being without a vehicle and too tired to deal with a taxi or the hotel shuttle after a day in the field, I elected to eat dinner each evening in the hotel. The staff was friendly, attentive and above all, "chatty", which served as a catalyst for conversation among those dining in the restaurant. All of this made what would normally have been just one more boring hotel meal an enjoyable social experience. To those that may dine in the hotel's restaurant, here's a suggestion: Order the Nut-crusted Rack of Lamb! (It's unbelievable). If this isn't the best Holiday Inn on the planet, I would be very surprised. The Holiday Inn-University of Memphis should be the model upon which all Holiday Inns are based. If any of the hotel staff happens to read this review, please accept my sincere thanks for an absolutely wonderful stay. Trust me, I'll be back! April 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place. Reasonable price I was pleased with my stay at this HI. I was close to other ,meetings I had, the room was very nice, clean and quiet. Food was good as well. April 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient location across from Un of Memphis We always stay at this Holiday Inn when in Memphis. The restaurant is excellent, the beds are very comfortable. My only complaint is no bellhops to help upon arrival. April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience I was wowed the moment I walked into the lobby. I had never stayed in such an elegant Holiday in hotel before. I had no Idea that this facility was not only a hotel but a cultural center. The Staff was impeccable, very courteous and friendly. My room, a two room suit was very nice and very quite even though it was on the first floor. The price of the room was very good as well I went to the Holiday Inn website and booked it. My company had a training class there and I was the instructor. The conference room was great, the food served during the meeting was a Tasty lunch ant the staff took very good care of my class. My Thanks to The Holiday Inn Memphis-Univ. Of Memphis for a wonderful stay and meeting. April 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Enjoyed our stay at HI Univ of Memphis. Easy to access the places I need to be in Memphis. Very clean and comfortable place to stay at a very reasonable price. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place To Stay Last week was our second stay in Memphis-Univ of Memphis. It was a very pleasant experience. The rooms are comfortable and clean and staff is excellent. I would certainly stay there again. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great customer service and great room This was a very pleasant erexperience from the front desk personnel to the shuttle drivers thst took me over to the University. All the housekeeping staff were very accommadating. The food was great. The breakfast buffet is worth the price and the staff was great always smiling. Enjoyed the little grill too. Outstsnding burgers! The room was clean, comfortable anf quiet. The price was right it just made my stay for business very comfortable I can't thank you enough and I can't wait until this fall when I will be back! March 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I ate at the in house restaurant, the Lamb plate I received was superb, completely above expectations. If you get a chance I fully recommend this facility March 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable and quiet room Our room was very clean and quiet. The hotel's proximity to midtown and the University of Memphis can't be beat. February 27, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading