• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MEMPHIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sun's Recording Studio
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Orpheum Theatre
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Liberty Bowl Stadium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Brooks Museum of Art
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • No charge for parking/open lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:125
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:81
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:95
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Midtown Memphis, Tennessee

Let us welcome you to Memphis and spoil you with our Southern hospitality while you are lodging at our Midtown Memphis, TN hotel that is located close to I-240 and is just minutes from downtown Memphis. The hotel property is adjacent to Methodist University Hospital and near nine other major medical centers.

Leisure travelers will love our close proximity to downtown Memphis with Beale Street, the
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Midtown Memphis, Tennessee

Let us welcome you to Memphis and spoil you with our Southern hospitality while you are lodging at our Midtown Memphis, TN hotel that is located close to I-240 and is just minutes from downtown Memphis. The hotel property is adjacent to Methodist University Hospital and near nine other major medical centers.

Leisure travelers will love our close proximity to downtown Memphis with Beale Street, the Peabody Ducks, Mud Island and Graceland just minutes away. Our Union Street access also means it's just a short drive to the FedEx Forum or AutoZone Park, which are the perfect locations for a family day trip.

Business travelers will appreciate our midtown Memphis hotel's easy access to I-240, I-55 and I-40. Our hotel is just eight miles from Memphis International Airport, and the Amtrak Station is two miles away. Our premium business amenities include a Business Center and free Internet access.

This newly renovated Memphis hotel offers you unparalleled hotel services. You'll enjoy our Southern charm as much as the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in our inviting rooms. With a fitness center and outdoor pool, you'll feel completely at home. We also offer a special rate for guests with a loved one at Methodist Hospital. Call our choice hotel in Memphis, Tennessee today, and take advantage of our great hotel deals and rates.

View Less
Features
Our Midtown Memphis, Tennessee hotel offers you the best location in the city. Close to the Interstates, major Memphis airports and the medical district, we're all about location.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 137 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not Good I thought this would be a great place to stay and expected more since it was a Crowne Plaza. I was impressed with the check-in process. When we arrived, the person checking guests in was tied up and after a few min. wait the night manager said she would check us in. That was the best part of the stay. Room did not have a very fresh smell. There were only two towels in the bathroom and had to call for more. I took a shower that night and then did not have a blow dryer in the room to dry hair. Called down to housekeeping to see if I could get a hair dryer and was told there should be one in the cubby hole under the sink. I checked again and there was not a hair dryer or a cubby hole. Called back to housekeeping and told them this and after about 30 min. they brought me a hair dryer. The bad thing is the hair dryer did not even work. I gave up and just went to bed with my hair wet! I reserved a room on the quiet floor and don't know why it is called a quiet floor, because it is definitely not quiet. Traffic noice because of the interstate and the walls seem to be pretty thin. We had to get up early to catch the train, so needless to say, we did not have a very good nights rest. I really expected more for the price that I paid for this room. Don't think I will stay here again. November 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location to downtown Only a 5 min walk to downtown and 15 mins to Beale St. Great breakfast for purchase. Tons of space for paid parking October 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely Noisy I paid extra to reserve a room on the so called "quiet floor". Unfortunately the room was facing toward I-40. The noise from the highway was unbelievable. After 2 nights of trying to sleep through this I complained to the front desk. They initially told me there were no rooms available on the opposite side of the building but that they could send a pair of ear plugs up to my room. After waiting 10 minutes for the earplugs, which never arrived, I went down to the front desk where they suddenly changed their story and agreed to switch me to the opposite side of the hotel which was much quieter I realize this hotel is located in a downtown area and a certain amount of noise is unavoidable. If nothing can be done to dampen the sound from the highway the least that you can do is stop referring to the rooms as being on the "quiet floor" October 28, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Broken Heat, Bad Service I've stayed at this hotel often over the years, but it is going downhill. The last time I was here, my heat didn't work. The complimentary shuttle they claim to have wasn't actually running at dinner time when we needed it. The staff was not even slightly apologetic about either problem. We we were second in line when we came to check in, but the staff helped two people in line behind us (who were of the same race as the staff) before acknowledging us. When the front desk didn't give me my rewards club member "welcome bag" at check in, and I asked about it, she told me they were out of the ones for my "base level members" and I wasn't a high enough priority to get the one saved for the next reward level up. The bag itself wasn't a big deal (although couldn't they have just taken out whatever extra goodies the next level received in their bags), but the condescension was uncomfortable. The hotel is pretty and clean and the beds are comfortable, but the worst part was the bad service we got from the front desk staff this time. We reported our heating issue to two different people in order to get it fixed, but neither one of them was apologetic. A maintenance guy eventually got it to blow hot air, but it was making such an awful noise that we had to turn it off during the middle of the night to get to sleep. When we reported the noise issue upon our check out, he didn't seem to care or offer to do anything for us. When the courtesy shuttle was finally running, it arrived to pick us up 10-15 minutes after the driver promised. When it whizzed by us, and when I called to let the driver know he had missed us, he informed us that it was our fault because we were on the wrong side of the street, even though he had not told us which side of the street to stand on and it was a one-way street, so it shouldn't have mattered whether he pulled over to the left or right curb. There were probably 5 instances of staff being rude or unexpectedly unapologietic for mistakes. Add it up, and I'll probably stay somewhere else next time. October 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Totally underwhelming First, I am always offended when a hotel charges additional fees for parking. There would be no need for me to get the hotel room if I was within walking distance from my home. The room was not very clean. When I tried to use the blow dryer, it was covered in make-up hand prints. I left it on the bathroom counter thinking maid service would correct the crud but they just wrapped the cord around it and put it back under the sink. We reported to the front desk that TV remote was not working and that too was not corrected. At the time of booking we provided our IHG Rewards Club information but were not credited for the stay or welcomed as members. All in all, I've had far better experiences at Holiday Inn Express. I thought The Crown Royal was supposed to be a higher end establishment. What a shame. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Hotel for business or pleasure Staff very friendly and informative. On a scale of 1-10 I give this location a 7. Internet was slow, only had analog television signal which was odd because the TV's were digital. Sounds like the franchisee is saving a few bucks not allowing the cable company to send a digital signal. Hotel was safe and just 1 block from the convention center and also the trolley cars which can take you up and down main street to a variety of restaurants and Beale street. Also, when in the bathroom, I could hear the room next to me through the vent clear as day from the vent. If you looking for a hotel in the area for under $200 a night, this is a good choice. No real business center, just 2 PC's out in the open near the restaurant. Printer was out of ink. October 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, noisy hotel This was probably the loudest hotel I've ever stayed in. It began with the other guests running up and down the hallway around 11 pm, but once that stopped the mechanical noises of the hotel were overwhelming. I don't know if it was because my room was close to the elevators, but the constant grinding throughout the night made it difficult to sleep. The a/c was also louder than loud. I ended up turning the unit down to LOW but it still kicked on every 15 minutes with a grinding sound before evening out and working well. The "city view" was also not much of a view, so don't waste your money on that upgrade. The location left a lot to be desired. It was my own fault for assuming that a "Downtown" hotel would be near the downtown tourists would want to see, but not knowing the area I assumed that it wouldn't be a mile away from tourist attractions with a not so nice walk between the two. It's a great hotel if you're just planning on sleeping and don't mind ear plugs. It served me well on a business trip, I wouldn't spend my own money to stay there, though. October 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good service, air conditioner issue The room was very comfortable, but the air conditioner never quite keep the room at a nice level of comfort. It would come on and the room would cool down; however, the temperature would go way up before it came back on. October 11, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Laundry service I placed my shirts to laundry service, but they lost my shirts. I complaimed it to front desk but they stated they didn't receive my shitrs. They said they will keep to find them but no response stii now. I received the notice from my co-worker who stayed at the different room that he received my shitrs today. I had to buy new shirts because I didn't have any shirts for my business and my co-worker has to send my shirts from California to Georgia. And also bath room made a strange noise every 10 minutes. It is my worst experience. October 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointing Arrived at hotel at 4:30. Room that was to be available at 4 not ready. Told 20 minutes. Checked several times and room was not made available till almost 7 when I was vocal in my complaints. Internet was not available most of my stay. First day.....returned to room to find housekeeping did not come to my room. Received clean towels later after complaints This was very disappointing visit. The only bright spot was that the service staff was VERY friendly and tried to be helpful This is an upper management problem. I will not return to a Crown Plaza in future......just too much of an issue. I should not have to ask for service that should have been included! October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Out of towels and friendly staff We stayed 2 nights. On the second day we were away from the hotel the entire day and returned at 4:30 p.m to get showered and changed for a dinner reservation at 7:00. When we went to the shower, we noticed there were no linens AT ALL although housekeeping had already been to the room. We called down to the front desk and they told us that 'we are all out of clean towels, sorry'. We were shocked. Someone finally brought clean towels to our room a hour and a half later. Valets were very slow in retrieving the car each day. However, all the staff were extrememly nice and helpful. Nice bar. Clean property in good location October 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A mixed experience with a nice view of downtown Memphis The room was fine and the view over Mephis was great. The noice from the AC was at times very disturbing and could not be regulated, it was either AC on or AC off! The bed was firm which suited by back very well . The room (bathroom in particular) cleaning was very uneven and very little attention to details (e.g. corners in the bathroom and loose toilet seat). The staff competence and attitude varied greatly. Some staff were very helpful and attentative, whereas others gave an impression of not wanting to be bothered. I had expected a little better at a Crowne Plaza hotel September 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by First and last visit to Crowne Plaza When we pulled in to check in at the front entrance, we were immediately met by a bell hop who made us go around back and park/unload because as he said there were a lot of apparently more important guests arriving soon. Our room was not ready so we were "upgraded" from a king bedroom to a room with two small twin beds. Next time we will try the Sheraton across the street. Oh and get ready for loooong check in lines, while the manager sits at her desk, rather than opening another line. September 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Alright... I had enough This was my second time staying at the Crowne Plaza near downtown Memphis... stayed here for work, but chose CP due to their proximity to downtown... the beds were incredibly hard and uncomfortable... bathrooms were rundown... TV in the room didn't work for local network channels... and we encountered several service related issues as well: - We waited for 10 minutes for the shuttle bus around dinner time 5:30pm, only to be told afterwards by the bellhop that they were shutting down the shuttle for an additional 30 minutes so that the driver could clear away a bunch of luggage from a bus - we were told to go catch a trolly across the street at the Sheraton instead... - When I checked in, I wasn't greeted as an IHG Platinum member, when others in my group were. I had to actually pull out my membership card to prove my status with them... which is very odd since I was acknowledged as a Pt member back during my stay in August... - Called front desk regarding TV issue in the room - only to be told that engineering would look into it... I never heard anything back... Since there are a few other IHG options in the Memphis area, we checked out a day early to stay elsewhere. Sadly, we won't be coming back to this one... September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great beds and excellent service The staff was very helpful. Loved the shuttle service. September 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a Happy Customer I am a childhood cancer survivor. I was visiting st Jude for survivor day 2013. The only reason I selected your hotel is st judges reserved some rooms, when I called your hotel and made reservations I was not informed of the $17 parking fee per night and always failed to et me know that the shuttle could have picked me up at the hospital. I am disabled walking any distance is not a option. Also the bathroom ceiling was in bad shape there wasn't microwave or refrig in the room. Just not very happy September 12, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Old & Tired This hotel is old & tired the room was large & had 2 double bed&, free internet, the bathroom was small but fairly clean the chrome work was quite rusty and needed attention, but the aircon wasn't too noisy. Upside food in dining room excellent. The hotel is a reasonable walk from the shops etc and I would not advise walking around on your own at night, take a trolley which is just outside the hotel. September 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel right in downtown This was one of the Preferred Hotels in our company - which made me leary of what I would find at this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. We arrived around 1pm - and were promptly allowed to check-in early based on our IHG member status. The rooms were nice - typical for Crown Plaza's these days. The bar downstairs was very nice, and had a nice assortment available. The manager's reception that evening was a pleasant surprise. We also used the free shuttle to head down to Beale St. each night we stayed. Overall, a great place that I will be staying at again in the near future. September 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by time to totally renovate No at all up to Crowns Plaza standards. Not even Holiday Inn. Very old and tired property. Very disappointing. Bed was comfortable. Bell man was very helpful. August 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great ! Thanks for giving us a discount ! The St. Jude Children's Hospital thanks you !! August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, great service, convenient location to Interstate and Downtown. We had a wonderful time with our stay at the hotel. Can't complain about anything. The beds were great. I like the coffee pots instead of coffee makers that make only one cup at a time. Getting to your room from the parking lot is close. The employees were courteous and helpful. The rooms were clean, quiet and in the daytime, bright. Thank you. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very comfortable room, amenities and excellent service at all hours We stayed here two weekends in a row as we moved our daughter into medical school and then came back for her White Coat Ceremony. Both times, no matter what time of day we arrived we were greeted cheerfully with all staff consistently friendly and exceedingly helpful. We will stay here again when we return to Memphis! August 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff, comfortable but a little tired We were warmly greeted and the staff were great throughout. Hotel is in need of an update and the aircon is pretty noisy. On the edge of downtown. August 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unwelcoming and run down Our room was clean, but had cracked tiles in the bathroom. The hotel lobby and outside appearance are run down, and the few remodeling updates that had been done were poorly completed. August 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good Customer Service Only!!!! The hotel was not worth the money I paid to stay there, but the employees were real nice. Didn't like that I had to pay 20.00 for parking that is so supid!!!! August 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Musty rooms and wifi did not work The rooms were all humid and musty. The wifi never worked in the hotel. I was also double charged for my reservation and did not see it until my credit card bill came out. I had to call and leave a message twice before the accounting department would call me back. Also as a Platinum member, i figured they would at least acknowledge that, but they never did. As a premier IHG property I expected a LOT more. The restaurant was also rather disappointing, but was still super expensive. August 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a fair visit While exterior and lobby interior were above average in cleanliness and ambiance, the rooms were cleaned poorly. For the hotel to operate with the Crowne Plaza name I expected the rooms to represent the name of the hotel as being luxurious and most importantly cleaned. The bed sheets were cleaned, but severely snagged and unpleasant to the eye. There were no trash bags in the trash cans. The floor could use a good vacuum. There were items left on the floor from a previous guests. It is difficult to operate the air conditioning unit as the room was severely stuffy upon arrival. There was no television guide. The bathroom was dusty. The bathroom floor corners could have been swepted better. Overall, this was a lackluster Crowne Plaza experience. With the name of the hotel and price paid I expected a lot more. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay Enjoyed the stay. Room was clean, comfortable, relaxing. Other areas of hotel were also nice. August 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice roon Nice room and comfortable bed. Good room service. Valet parking attendants were very nice. Close walk to Beale Street. Highly recommended. July 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Perkins Family Reunion 1 of the receptionists at front desk was not too accommodating. Had reserved 2 rooms, 1 wasn't ready at check in. When 2nd room was ready daughter went to get key and she would not give key to her without me coming down to re-show my picture idea I had already shown at initial check in. Thought she was rude when I spoke with her on hotel phone, while in the other room!!!. I was not a good customer at that point, because none of it made sense from a security standpoint...AT ALL!...but she made me come down to desk to show my ID, again. Conversely...your associates in the restaurant and otherwise were absolutely awesome!!! July 22, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-01-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Availability
Loading