• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: MEMPHIS
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sun's Recording Studio
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Liberty Bowl Stadium
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Orpheum Theatre
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
National Civil Rights Museum
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • No charge for parking/open lot.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:125
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:44
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:81
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:95
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Midtown Memphis, Tennessee

Let us welcome you to Memphis and spoil you with our Southern hospitality while you are lodging at our Midtown Memphis, TN hotel that is located close to I-240 and is just minutes from downtown Memphis. The hotel property is adjacent to Methodist University Hospital and near nine other major medical centers.

Leisure travelers will love our close proximity to downtown Memphis with Beale Street, the
View More

Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Midtown Memphis, Tennessee

Let us welcome you to Memphis and spoil you with our Southern hospitality while you are lodging at our Midtown Memphis, TN hotel that is located close to I-240 and is just minutes from downtown Memphis. The hotel property is adjacent to Methodist University Hospital and near nine other major medical centers.

Leisure travelers will love our close proximity to downtown Memphis with Beale Street, the Peabody Ducks, Mud Island and Graceland just minutes away. Our Union Street access also means it's just a short drive to the FedEx Forum or AutoZone Park, which are the perfect locations for a family day trip.

Business travelers will appreciate our midtown Memphis hotel's easy access to I-240, I-55 and I-40. Our hotel is just eight miles from Memphis International Airport, and the Amtrak Station is two miles away. Our premium business amenities include a Business Center and free Internet access.

This newly renovated Memphis hotel offers you unparalleled hotel services. You'll enjoy our Southern charm as much as the free high-speed, wireless Internet access in our inviting rooms. With a fitness center and outdoor pool, you'll feel completely at home. We also offer a special rate for guests with a loved one at Methodist Hospital. Call our choice hotel in Memphis, Tennessee today, and take advantage of our great hotel deals and rates.

View Less
Features
Our Midtown Memphis, Tennessee hotel offers you the best location in the city. Close to the Interstates, major Memphis airports and the medical district, we're all about location.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 268 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by dead bed but great people Unfortunately, the bed had reached the end of its useful life years ago. By the second day, back was very painful. Staff had to reach out to a contractor to get a piece of plywood to try to bridge the sinkhole. Business center was limited - fortunately there was a fedex nearby. Ventilation system was extremely noisy. April 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location, location, location If it wasn't for the location, I probably wouldn't come back. They are currently remodeling which is good cause it's an older hotel and the rooms reflect it. April 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Graceland visit. The Hotel was fine. Probably no more or less than one should expect for the price and the Holiday Inn Group. We were a little disappointed to be in a room directly overlooking the car park, but it was a very big sporting weekend in Memphis (unknown to us when we booked). Room was quite a good size. Amenities were as advertised and location is good (although not Beale St). However, we wouldn't have wanted to be any closer to Beale, which is very busy and very loud - definitely a younger, partying street. No facility to make anything but coffee in the room - tough on tea drinkers (not uncommon in the US). We did not eat any meals (other than breakfast) in the hotel, but the bar was pleasant and all staff very friendly and helpful. April 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Construction noise and terrible tv reception I was very disappointed in this hotel. I was not informed when I booked it that there was construction going on 7 days a week. In addition, not a single TV channel came in clear. I wanted to spend a few hours on Saturday resting before a big party evening, and with the noise from the construction and the snow/ white noise on the TV it was impossible. March 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness & Staff Friendliness Our room was not up to the standards we have become accustomed to when staying at Holiday Inn Properties. The room was not as clean as we would expect. The front desk staff was only as helpful as they had to be and with the exception of one young lady on Saturday morning, we felt they were rude. They also made no recognition of the fact that we are Priority Club Members. On March, 2014 road trip, we stayed in 9 Holiday Inn Properties and this was the only one in which we were not satisfied. March 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Inattentive staff during check-in. Constantly interrupted by telephone and other staff members. Parking garage was too small and poorly lit. Room was poorly maintained with poor caulking around sink and toilet. Furnishing was old and worn out in the room. Elevators were noisy and interior was scratched and poorly cleaned. March 26, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I have stayed here on business trips in the past, besides for the remoding preiod, I had a good experience. This trip was a geataway for my husband and I. When arriving, I asked the front desk clerk if she had a room facing the Peabody. I had stayed in a room like that when on business, it was a a great view and wanted to share this with my husband. The clerk didnt know which rooms faced that direction, then asked someone else. We we ended up on the 12th floor facing the opposite direction with the view being the roof top of an abbonded building. Ok, we will make the best of it, just don't look out the window. My husband sat on the end of the bed and the front of the bed came up, it was not secured to the wall or headboard. The room was not clean, it was run down, I dont think the renocation has reached that floor yet. The ice machine was right next to our door. We could hear it running all night and everyone getting ice out of it. I have learned my lesson, do NOT ask for anything special when checking in. The staff is not friendly at all. March 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortablet bed We stayed 2 nights in Memphis, the hotel is in a great location, across from the Peabody hotel and just a couple blocks from Beale street. We asked for a street view room, and at 1st that is not what we received, but after calling it was not problem switching to another room, in fact they upgraded us to a suite, which was nice. Checking in went well, what we didn't like was that the elevators are very slow!!. And to have to take the service elevator from the parking ramp was AWFUL. That is not right!. I know they are doing renovations, but having a different elevator from ramp would be nice, instead of having to get off on a different floor and walking down to ramp. didn't like that at all. Overall, service was pretty good, everyone seemed friendly and helpful, just not impressed with elevator system. March 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service and location Check-in staff was great and room was nice. Elevator was only issue being slow and heard broke down from other guests. March 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you for a great weekend I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in downtown Memphis. It is in a wonderful location as it is in walking distance to most of the downtown attractions. There is also a great trolly that picks up 1 block away from the hotel for those who do not want to walk. The staff was amazing. They were very friendly and made us feel right at home. They had some great suggestions and tips for making the most of our stay and were an absolute delight with every interaction. As far as the amenities, it is pretty much what you expect from a Holiday Inn. It isn't quite as nice as a luxury hotel, but it is very very comfortable. No complaints whatsoever. The only downside to the hotel was that it was under construction. This was almost unnoticeable except that the elevators were a little dirty and didn't seem to be running as efficiently as you might expect. Overall, I would say the Holiday Inn is a great place to stay and would absolutely stay there again. March 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by First time to Memphis I gave conservative stars in the ratings. Its all about location and this one is walking distance to Beale St. Can't compare other hotels but friends with us say the Peabody had much bigger rooms (probably priced considerably higher). Small double beds, Very Tight Bathroom quarters, Furniture ok, but feels dated in hotel with small ceilings and bathroom. Didn't eat the food in hotel, walked to restaurants nearby. Its unfair to give a bad rating for the hotel as I can't compare it to others yet. I would tell friends, "ITS OK".....they won't be staying in the room much anyway. March 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by always ask if there is construction going on! It would have been just fine and the location was excellent, but the construction going on was awful! Especially after a night out on the town! March 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by one night Good.. great breakfast. get the western somethng? the location is great. the nicest holiday i have ever stayed at. March 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful and Friendly Staff This Holiday Inn on Union St. in Memphis, TN is well located, has a nearby trolley stop and is not too far off Beale St. My party and I were there at spring break and they were very busy. Our car could not be valet parked. Our confirmed reservation met a snag and we were put into a room, but found someone in it. We were put in another room which was close to the elevator and the ice machine. The problem was solved with a smile and in a short time. Everyone working there was very nice. Our tours were set up for us. The restaurant/bar was nice and there was a snack bar with exotic coffees and treats if you didn't want a full breakfast. No complaints really, but I will say the bathrooms are tiny, and I was in a room with 2 other women, so we could have used one a bit bigger. Overall, the hotel was nice because they hired people who did their jobs with a smile. March 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Parking Hotel garage was full when arrived at 5 pm on Friday. Directed us to One Commerce Square parking garage across street at $6.00 per day per Holiday Inn parking staff. Sign at entrance to One Commerce Square also said $6.00 per day. At self checkout at 9:45 am on Sunday from the parking garage, the charge was $22.00. Confusing at best. Cleaning staff also did not completely finish cleaning the room Saturday. Had to remind them twice to get it corrected. March 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Renovation This hotel really looks great. The recent renovation updates this hotel and makes it very competitive with newer hotels in the area. The front desk staff was excellent and the bell staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great Value! March 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Issues were dealt with / great statff We had some issues, as the staff will remember. We had driven 12 hours. I had asked for a renovated room after reading reviews. I never had a clue that my mom, who was traveling with me, would be sensitive to the paint fumes. She has terrible allergies. At 2:30 the first morning after that evening we checked in, she woke me up and we were moved to a new room.The staff gave us a free breakfast. Breakfast, by the way was VERY good. The next night we stayed was coming back through, after we traveled through MS. They gave us a room up on the 14th floor so the allergy thing would not be an issue. It wasn't, but the carpet in front of the door was wet. I did call the front desk. They offered to move us again. We didn't move this time. They very graciously gave us another free breakfast and lowered our bill. THE STAFF is AMAZING. They are working in less than perfect surroundings, as it is an old buildking. Beale St is close by and a big draw for the hotel. Keep improving. I know the place will be great after it is renovated. The rooms that have been redone are very nice. They are small but nice. If you do need more room, I would recommend asking for a suite. We were put in one at 2:30 AM the first morning and it was roomy and comfortable.The double room is really only good for probably two people. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel and staff I enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn. The staff were always smiling, cheeful, greeted me by name and always asking to help. Makes my stay a lot more enjoyable and fun. This hotel is also in a perfect location to enjoy the Beale St. experience. Just a couple of blocks from where they close off the stree to pedestrian traffic. I will always come back here when staying in Memphis. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by WOW The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much for them. Close to Beale Street and good restaurants. I cannot say enough to recommend this hotel. My only criticism was that their king beds are soooooo comfortable we didn't want to get up and stayed in bed for as long as we could. Our stay wasn't long enough. January 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quality Hotel, good location and value We found the Holiday Inn Memphis-Downtown to be well located for seeing Memphis (Ducks at the Peabody, Beale Street, Rendevous Restaurant). The staff was helpful, room nice sized and comfortable - good bedding. And free use of computer for e-mail and internet. January 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Elevator problems and restaurant issues The rooms were fine and the hotel staff was great. The problems were that parking is in a separate building and the elevator to get up to your car sometimes worked and sometimes didn't. Trying to eat in the restaurant was a disaster. I could not get a waitress to take an order and could not get the bartender to help. All she could say was she was overwhelmed. She did say the kitchen was backed up for at least an hour and a half. Since the stay was for the Liberty Bowl rates were triple the normal rate. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience We stayed at this hotel on 12/29/13. This was a very busy time in Downtown Memphis, since there was an NBA game going on, a major college football bowl game going on, and New Year's Eve around the corner. The staff was so nice and courteous to work with. The bellman was very helpful and seemed very interested in making us happy. The front desk staff was great and they really worked with us when we needed to check out a day earlier than planned. We will definitely stay at this hotel again and will recommend it to our friends. It is only a block or so from Beale Street, the FedEx Forum, and lots of interesting tourist attractions. January 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Over priced This Hotel is not worth the price , its decor is stuck in the 60's Had problems with elevator. No coffe in the room Breakfast isnt really free Location was only good thing about it, only 3 block walk to beale st. will not stay again because of drab envirment and high cost January 1, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Train your staff! The rooms were fine and the location cannot be beat. What made my experience memorable for the wrong reasons was the incredibly rude woman who checked my family in. One of our two rooms was occupied by someone else. Our keys didn't work. During my third visit to the reception, all would have been forgiven with a simple apology, but for some reason she felt the need to blame us, the clients. She was insulting. December 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and helpful staff I have been very impressed with the friendly staff. As they say, it's the people that make the business. Van drivers are safe, waitresses are friendly, the front desk folks are very helpful. I would like to put in a good word for Tina. She is very outgoing and has a calming, warm personality who welcomes me back week after week. Also, Cindy, marketing director/salesperson is very appreciated in making me feel welcome when I see her in the lobby/manager reception or near the parking area. I believe I speak for all the Mountain Air Cargo pilots in this regard. I realize that the hotel is still being updated/renovated, and when I sleep on a floor that has had the reno work, I like it. To be helpful, I believe the glass on the showers could be extended another 12 inches or so to cut down on the water getting on the bathroom floor. Maybe you could consider this before performing work on the other floors. Chairs could be more comfortable. Thanks for a great experience this year. December 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel Staff The room was an average room. It was very clean just a little small. The location of this hotel was perfect!!! What made this hotel stand out was the staff. They were so very very friendly from the moment I walked into the hotel. I would recommend this hotel for the value. The hotel bar is fun and the food is good. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accommodating staff We appreciate the last minute reservation during the marathon weekend, and also appreciate the flexibility shown by your staff with people who arrived in Memphis to run the marathon, but suddenly did not need a room when the marathon was canceled. I am sure this is not an easy financial decision, but do appreciate allowing those changes for people as a great business choice. Thanks! December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk staff! Very professional and helpful. She was very busy but was able to handle multiple customers at the same time. December 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Don't stay on the 12th floor! The room was lovely and the staff friendly. Unfortunately, the hotel was full, and only one of three elevators was working - and that elevator was erratic. It did not stop on every floor, even when the buttons were pushed. Many people were frustrated and used the stairs - difficult for us because we were on 12 and had luggage. November 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by 664 I was very disappointed. We were almost afraid to get on the elevators and the last day only one was working. The employee's were fine and very helpful but for the rest of it, the place is over priced….and needs to be rework from the ground up….There are to many nice places to stay to have what you have there. November 27, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express.  Enjoy free wifi, free breakfast, and your choice of pillows.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading