• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: MIDDLETOWN
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, no pets allowed. Exceptions will be made for service related animals.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Newport Mansions
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Newport Naval Base
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Newport Restaurants & Nightlife
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Newport/Middletown Beaches
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:200
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking on site available for all guests at no cost.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:117
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:59
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:58
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:117
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Middletown Hotel's Guests Close to Historic Newport, RI

Travelers seeking hotels on Aquidneck Island find that the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Middletown / Newport is the place to stay. Moments from historic downtown Newport, the many acclaimed Newport mansions and pristine Middletown beaches, this hotel's location makes it easy to explore all the area has to offer.

Boasting a legendary history, Newport, Rhode Island offers the hotel's guests countless sites of intrigue. Patrons
View More

Middletown Hotel's Guests Close to Historic Newport, RI

Travelers seeking hotels on Aquidneck Island find that the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Middletown / Newport is the place to stay. Moments from historic downtown Newport, the many acclaimed Newport mansions and pristine Middletown beaches, this hotel's location makes it easy to explore all the area has to offer.

Boasting a legendary history, Newport, Rhode Island offers the hotel's guests countless sites of intrigue. Patrons can stroll along the historic Cliff Walk, a scenic 3.5-mile pathway following Newport's shoreline in the historic district, or tour the opulent Gilded Age mansions of Bellevue Avenue, including Belcourt Castle and Chateau-sur-Mer. Downtown dining and attractions like The Newport Art Museum are other fun alternatives; and for a day outdoors, head to Newport Harbor, Atlantic Beach or Fort Adams State Park.

Professional and corporate destinations, including Naval Station Newport, Raytheon and KVH Industries, also call Newport, Rhode Island home. The hotel's guests can commute with ease or host meetings at the hotel in the 1,000-sq-ft event room.

While lodging here, guests enjoy every imaginable amenity from free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar to a heated, indoor pool and 24-hour Fitness and Business Centers. We're waiting to welcome you to historic Newport; book your room today!

View Less
Features
Lodging at this Middletown hotel ensures guests convenient access to top attractions and businesses in Newport, RI. The hotel's location paired with perks like an indoor pool ensures a terrific stay.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 131 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Happy We were very happy with our choice of hotels. The hotel is attractive and clean. All staff members are polite and helpful. The room looked like it was recently updated and was immaculate. We only dined in the restaurant for breakfast and to food and service was perfect. The restaurant staff was very pleasant and were quick to give local advise on local beaches and attractions. I have stayed in many hotels and this was absolutely the best in the class range. August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location Convince to beaches and Newport, pool area clean, parking convenient August 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A good experience I have been to this location twice now., a couple months apart. I like that the staff is familiar to me already. They were helpful and made useful suggestions for restaurants. While I did not use the pool, I sat outside by it for a time and felt that it was clean and the area was kept up well. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel great-room service not Everything about the stay was great except the room service. It arrived without a tray or condiments - just plates of food and nowhere to put them. The food was not very good and then we were stuck with the plates because there was no tray to leave in the hallway. August 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by room comfort confortable bedding is you can stop thinking about the lack of cleaniness of the room and the hall way was way noisy August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay and wonderful staff This hotel went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and welcome. It was very clean and everyone that we encountered was very helpful. We were able to relax and simply had a wonderful stay. Thank you Holiday Inn!! August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room and Hotel were fine - staff not so The hotel was clean, safe and comfortable. The front desk questioned my IHG membership status and this upset me as a loyal IHG member. The mentality that the customer is wrong, but the computer is correct is a bad customer policy. The area was safe as we had a bubble on top of our suv and in the morning everyone was intact and safe. I wish there were secure areas where vehicles with bubbles on top of the car can be parked with security available for safekeeping of these vehicles. Maybe a new product? It is worth a few bucks for peace of mind! Maybe free to Platinum members. The stay was good, we have 4 in our family and the room only had 3 towels and we were not asked at the front desk if we needed more towels. In my mind, the evening front desk personnel need more training and more thinking about the customer and his needs! I would stay again, a second chance, but I would expect a better reception and thoughtfulness upon arrival by the front desk. August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service We went for a quick overnight near the beach but enjoyed the hotel pool and breakfast the next day. The hotel staff was great and helped in all areas. The beds were very comfy so sleeping was good. The location was very handy too. Very nice experience. August 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by close to attractions The property needs an upgrade and will be getting one in the Fall. Food was still below average. New management coming soon too. Professional staff and clean rooms are still a hallmark of this Inn. Location is still one of the best in RI. August 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Cleanliness We were suprised at the lack of cleanliness in the bathroom when we checked in. Unfortunatley it continued throughout our stay, Front Desk Staff adjusted our rate due to the conditions, which we did not ask for. Our complaint was noted by the staff. August 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Defiintely read the bill before leaving! Overall the hotel is great, the staff is friendly, and it is in a good location, but be careful to check your bill the next morning!! Everything seemed fine at the hotel except when it came down to the bill. I was charged double the amount and tried to speak to the front desk about the issue and was told I would have to wait until the manager came in. I was part of a wedding booking and had my confirmation information for the correct price, yet I was still charged the regular amount of the stay. I left my information and still have not heard back from the hotel. I tried again to contact the manager and was unsuccessful- I also left my information again. I live in a different state and want to get this issue resolved immediately, yet so far there has been no one contacting me back and my credit card charge has not changed either. Completely ridiculous. Not worth the headache. August 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok hotel, but overpriced The facilities seem old but acceptable, the elevator is a little out of place. The hotel altogether is not bad but for the price is just high for a little below average place. I qualified the staff service poor since I didn't get the welcome package offer as a gold member, first time that happens so I believed I should point it out. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fine hotel for short stays The hotel is clean, comfortable with a great outdoor pool. A single elevator was a problem for me as I have diffic\ulty walking and climbing stairs. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL SERVICE VERY MUCH ENJOYED OUR STAY AT THIS HOTEL. THE POOL WAS GREAT. LOCATION OF HOTEL WAS WONDERFUL TOO, NOT TOO FAR TO THE BEACH. THE ONLY PROBLEM I FOUND WITH THIS HOTEL WAS THE BED WAS NOT THE MOST COMFORTABLE. AND WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO HAVE A FRIDGE IN OUR ROOM. THE FRONT DESK CLERKS ALL WENT OUT OF THEIR WAY TO HELP US WITH QUESTIONS WE HAD. ALSO THE AJOINING ROOMS WERE GREAT. WAS VERY IMPRESSED WITH THE CLEANLINESS OF THIS HOTEL. GREAT JOB TO HOUSEKEEPING! August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great Restaurant Great food at restaurant.Nice,clean rooms nicely decorated.Stayed over to visit Block Island,ferry was close and easy to get to. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience Everything was very enjoyable. this is a quiet Hotel, close enough to the beach. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and roomy Food was great,1st time ever I had a steak with NO grizzle on it, none,it was great.and price was very reasonable..people at front desk were real nice and helpful..also the hotel staff was all great..I would stay there again, when I am in the area... August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Had a great stay in this hotel. The only thing I didn't like was the internet would never load on our phones. I would still recommend staying here to anyone. Staff was very friendly. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel experience I stayed here for close to 3 weeks. The staff was very pleasant and the rooms were decent. The carpets could use a renewal but otherwise the room was pretty updated. The hotel pool was nice for a swim after work. The hotel restaurant and bar, "Lilliana's", was ok for meals and a beer. Overall a good experience for my extended stay for business. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Friendly Service Enjoyed the stay at the hotel. The outside pool was very nice and refreshing for swimming. The restaurant was very good for breakfast and drinks in the evening. Would suggest for the room to have a room darkening curtain to be available to keep out the morning sunshine. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by None I was very happy whenI stayed at the hotel. However, I am now sorry that I began this survey. You have too many questions, most people will stop half way through. August 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by loud and messy Excessive noise from the pool when roomed nearby. Check linens before crawling into bed. messy patio and pool area. July 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Pricing needs adjustment. Average room and services at above average prices. Priority and handicap guest not recognized as such. Room requests of placement and refridgerator refused. F+B still needs improvement. Lounge not open until 5:00 during "high season" is unheard of in the industry. Nice pool, and good location are the bonus. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Close to the university and the beaches down the road. July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by staff a plus The staff was very good and the room was very, very clean. However the age of the facility is telling and is need of a serious renovation. In particular, the carpet, which we assume was the source of a rather disagreeable odor, should be replaced. I wish to make it clear the staff, especially the cleaning staff, did an excellent job given the condition of the facility July 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Overpriced Room Love the area but you are in need of expanding the rooms to make them more comfortable. We did appreciate the dark window treatments .. July 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by disappointed We have stayed at this location many times and it doesn't seem to be getting better. Our room smelled like mildew upon arrival and throughout our stay. In the morning, the rug was moist in the entire room. The air conditioner would go on and off all night. This was no way to set it for continuous. The corners of the bathroom floor had mildew in them and I found a "chunk" of used soap in one corner...not from us. July 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay I had a discounted rate through the University of Rhode Island for an orientation event. It was a nice hotel . Very close to campus. I stayed on the ground floor which had a sliding glass door to a patio by the pool. I enjoyed that since I did not have that boxed in feeling I get sometimes when staying at hotels. The young staff was very nice and courteous. I only wish that there was complimentary coffee in the morning in the lobby. They have a coffee maker in the room but I need real milk and not the powder stuff. I paid way,way, too much money for a tiny cup of coffee at the attached restaurant. (Which is not owned by the hotel) I will be back in the area over the next 4 years while one of my daughter's attends the school. Although the hotel was fine I think I will explore other places that have more of a vacation feel. Newport is so close, why not? July 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Nasty and overpriced rooms. Needs a major updating. Avoid if at all possible July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly front desk staffI I feel that the elevator location is very inconvenient, located at the end of the hallway. The lighting also is very dim throughout the hallways. July 14, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Exterior View
Exterior View
Select to close.
Exterior View Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Availability
Loading